tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this documentary review

09/09/2014 :  - APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1

APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1

MovieDocumentary
Documentary
TDM
09/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Of course you heard it before, but this year we remember the 100th anniversary of the First World War: the big battle that set the whole world on fire. It should have become an anniversary with the all saying message that history would/could never repeat itself, but the celebration was strongly overshadowed by another new threat. Everyone in West-Europe who takes life kind of seriously probably have asked himself that same question: can an event that is so far away create a world war he’ll becoming part of? So far the leaders keep their heads kind of cool, but the answer is a definite yes. Hundred years ago millions of soldiers were fighting in trenches because an archduke from whom they have never heard was murdered. Those soldiers couldn’t even point on a map with their finger Sarajevo, but it’s an event in that city that lead most of them to death…

Not only war has a perverse side, also the commercialisation from it. Everyone knows someone who is searching week in week out war souvenirs at flea markets, not? It can be different though: watching war documentaries for instance and as bonus you learn something about history! After the immense success that Apocalypse: World War II was, TDM now releases Apocalypse: World War I. The newest masterpiece from Isabelle Clarke and Daniel Costelle is considered by many critics as the best documentary that’s been made about the first world fire. A whole honour that is! And so it won’t surprise anyone that the most prestigious television channels (National Geographic is one of them) have bought it.

If you shrug your shoulders because you’re not keen on watching 5 hours old footage then we have to correct you by adding that all the material is fully restored and colorized, and more than the half of the material has never been shown before.

The documentary counts five parts with the titles: Fury, Fear, Hell, Rage and Deliverance. Five words that perfectly summarize the barbarian slaughter from 1914-18. The young men who were going to the front were sure that they’ll be home at Christmas. Europe that since Napoleon wasn’t fronted with a big war suddenly had to face bloody battles in where new techniques (especially transportation) made it possible that within an hour thousands of people were killed. The idea of just “playing war” soon got replaced by the terrible idea that a whole generation was stuck in a hell that became more and more brutal (poison gas). At 28th June 1919 The Peace Treaty of Versailles was signed. But throughout the documentary we already saw one corporal named Adolf Hitler who would lead his country (and especially the world) in short time into a second hell.

We know, you’ve seen it before, but never so beautiful (well, in a manner of speaking). Let’s hope humankind is not so dumb to let the world burn for a third time, who knows this work might help…

Didier BECU
09/09/2014


NL

Je hebt het ondertussen (natuurlijk!) al langer dan vandaag begrepen dat dit jaar een eeuw geleden de wereld voor het eerst in brand stond. Het zou een verjaardag moeten worden die als leuze zou hebben dat de geschiedenis zich nooit meer zou herhalen, maar de viering werd sterk overschaduwd door alweer een nieuwe dreiging. Iedere landgenoot die het leven min of meer serieus neemt stelde zich luidop de vraag of een conflict (de Krim) waarmee hij geen betrekking heeft (laat staan hem interesseert) hem zou kunnen meesleuren in een allesvernietigende wereldoorlog. Voorlopig is het verstand nog aan de winnende hand, maar de waarheid is dat dit wel degelijk mogelijk is. Honderd jaar geleden stonden miljoenen jonge mannen in loopgraven te vechten omdat een artshertog was vermoord waarvan ze nog nooit in hun leven hadden gehoord. De soldaten konden niet eens met een vinger Sarajevo op een kaart aanwijzen, maar het was wel een gebeurtenis in deze stad die de meeste van hun de dood hebben ingejaagd.

Niet alleen de oorlog zelf heeft verschillende perverse kantjes, ook de commercialisering die daarmee gepaard gaat: iedereen kent wel iemand die rommelmarkten afschuimt om op zoek te gaan naar oorlogsouvenirs, niet? Maar het kan ook anders: het bekijken van knappe oorlogsdocumentaires bijv. en zo leer je nog iets ook! Na het overdonderende succes dat Apocalypse: World War II was, komt TDM op de proppen met Apocalypse: World War I. Het nieuwste paradepaardje van Isabelle Clarke en Daniel Costelle wordt door heel wat critici beschouwd als de beste documentaire die ooit over de eerste wereldbrand is gedraaid. Een hele eer en het zal dan ook niemand verbazen dat de meest prestigieuze televisiestations (waaronder National Geographic) de serie hebben aangekocht.

Wie zijn schouders ophaalt omdat hij geen zin heeft om vijf uur lang naar stokoude filmpjes te zitten staren moeten we teleurstellen. Al het beeldmateriaal werd zowel volledig gerestaureerd als prachtig ingekleurd en minstens de helft van dit archiefmateriaal is nog nooit eerder vertoond.

De documentaire bestaat uit vijf delen met als titels Fury, Fear, Hell, Rage en Deliverance. Vijf woorden die deze barbaarse slachtpartij perfect omschrijven. De jonge mannen die naar het front trokken waren er namelijk rotsvast van overtuigd dat ze met kerstmis zouden thuis zijn. Europa die sinds Napoleon geen grote oorlog had gekend werd plots met de slagen bij Ieper, Passendale, de Marne en de Somme geconfronteerd. Nieuwe technieken (vooral voertuigen) maakten het mogelijk dat op een uur tijd duizenden mensen werden afgemaakt. De euforie van oorlogje spelen werd langzaam aan een uitzichtloze hel waarbij de vijand steeds brutaler te werk ging (gifgas). Op 28 juni 1919 werd het Verdrag van Versailles getekend, maar in de documentaire zagen we eerder het beeld van ene korporaal Adolf Hitler in de loopgraven die zijn land (en vooral de wereld) in korte tijd voor de tweede keer een onherstelbare deuk zou bezorgen.

Je hebt het inderdaad al eerder gezien (misschien wel nog nooit zo mooi, nou ja...je weet wat we bedoelen!), maar misschien kunnen we hopen dat de ezel zich geen derde keer aan dezelfde steen stoot. Dit naslagwerk kan op zijn minst een reden zijn om het niet te doen!

Didier BECU
09/09/2014


09/09/2014 :  - APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1 09/09/2014 :  - APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1 09/09/2014 :  - APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1 09/09/2014 :  - APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1 09/09/2014 :  - APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1 09/09/2014 :  - APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1 09/09/2014 :  - APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1 09/09/2014 :  - APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1 09/09/2014 :  - APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1 09/09/2014 :  - APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1 09/09/2014 :  - APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1 09/09/2014 :  - APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1 09/09/2014 :  - APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1 09/09/2014 :  - APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1 09/09/2014 :  - APOCALYPSE-WORLD WAR 1

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap