tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

04/01/2015 :  - BANSHEE SEASON 2

BANSHEE SEASON 2

MovieTV series
CrimeTV Series
Warner Home Video
04/01/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If a series reminds you from the very beginning of Twin Peaks, then that's a good sign, right? Indeed, Banshee is one of the last nurslings of HBO that has a Lynchian touch, although it will also appeal to action fans.

If you have not seen the first season, we recommend you to watch that first, because even though there are some flashbacks of the first season, it all goes pretty fast. Banshee is a fictional town in Pennsylvania. A strange town, because it is populated by all sorts of groups (from the Amish to Indians) who all have their own rules. In the series we follow a man (Antony Starr) whose real name we will never know. He has 15 years spent in jail after he stole a whole bag of diamonds from his former boss (The Rabbit). The mafia boss has not forgotten this and therefore he escaped to the remote village Banshee. This choice is not accidental, since his former sweetheart Carrie Hopewell (Ivana Milicevic ) lives there. She is now married to Mayor Gordon (Rus Blackwell ) with whom she has two children. An interesting detail: Carrie is the daughter of The Rabbit. Our unknown man has now adopted the identity of the deceased Luke Hood and (yes! ) becomes sheriff. Hood is still in love with Carrie, but he is at peace with the fact that she has chosen for her family. He begins a relationship with the officer Siobhan (Trieste Kelly Dunn).

A former crook who controls the law in a corrupt town naturally creates many difficulties, and that is what Luke Hood gets. It is becoming increasingly difficult for him to hide his true self, and the situation in Banshee is getting grimmer by the day.

Banshee possesses absolutely everything. The series is exciting and mysterious, it is packed with sex, it has exciting storylines and there are a lot of bad guys around that you better not meet. Especially Proctor (Ulrich Thomsen), who abandoned his faith for crime, knows no borders. The second season consists of ten episodes, each lasting about fourty minutes. It takes a while before you are familiar with the various characters, but once that is the case, Banshee is an irresistible rollercoaster.

The second season of Banshee is out on Warner, on DVD.

Didier BECU
04/01/2015


NL

Als een serie je van bij het begin doet denken aan Twin Peaks, dan is dat natuurlijk een goed teken, niet? Inderdaad, Banshee is één van de laatste troetelkinderen van HBO met Lynchiaanse trekjes, alhoewel het tegelijkertijd ook de actiefans zal aanspreken.

Mocht je het eerste seizoen niet hebben gezien, dan raden we je toch aan om dat eerst te bekijken, want ook al wordt er door middel van flashbacks teruggegrepen naar de inhoud van het eerste luik, gaat alles vliegensvlug. Banshee is een fictief stadje in Pennsylvania. Een vreemd stadje, want het wordt bevolkt door allerlei groepen (van de Amish tot Indianen) die allemaal zo hun eigen regeltjes hebben en daar voor geen geld willen van afwijken. In de serie volgen we een man (Antony Starr) wiens echte naam we nooit te weten komen. Hij heeft 15 jaar in de nor doorgebracht nadat hij een hele zak diamanten van zijn vroegere baas (The Rabbit) heeft gestolen. De maffiabaas is dat nog niet vergeten en daarom ontsnapt hij naar het afgelegen dorpje Banshee. Die keuze is niet toevallig, want zijn vroeger liefje Carrie Hopewell (Ivana Milicevic) woont daar. Ze is ondertussen getrouwd met burgemeester Gordon (Rus Blackwell) bij wie ze twee kinderen heeft. Een pikant detail: Carrie is de dochter van The Rabbit. Onze onbekende man heeft ondertussen de identiteit van de overleden Lucas Hood aangenomen en is (jawel!) sheriff geworden. Hood is wel nog altijd verliefd op Carrie, maar heeft er vrede mee genomen dat zij voor haar gezin koos. Veel reden om te treuren heeft hij niet. Regelmatig belandt de schone nog eens in zijn bed, en als toemaatje begint hij een relatie met de agente Siobhan (Trieste Kelly Dunn).

Een gewezen boef die de wet doet gelden in een corrupt stadje zorgt natuurlijk voor heel wat moeilijkheden, en dat is wat Lucas Hood krijgt. Het wordt voor hem steeds moeilijker om zijn ware ik te verbergen, en de situatie in Banshee wordt met de dag grimmiger.

Banshee bezit werkelijk alles. De reeks is spannend en mysterieus, zit boordevol seks, spannende verhaallijnen en er lopen een heleboel slechteriken rond die je maar beter niet tegenkomt. Vooral Proctor (Ulrich Thomsen) die zijn geloof liet varen voor de misdaad, kent geen grenzen. Het tweede seizoen bestaat uit tien afleveringen die elk zo’n drie kwartier duren. Het duurt wel eventjes vooraleer je vertrouwd bent met de diverse personages, maar eens dat het geval is, wordt Banshee een wervelende rit waarin weinig adempauze is voorzien.

Het tweede seizoen van Banshee is uit op Warner, op dvd.

Didier BECU
04/01/2015


04/01/2015 :  - BANSHEE SEASON 2 04/01/2015 :  - BANSHEE SEASON 2 04/01/2015 :  - BANSHEE SEASON 2 04/01/2015 :  - BANSHEE SEASON 2 04/01/2015 :  - BANSHEE SEASON 2 04/01/2015 :  - BANSHEE SEASON 2 04/01/2015 :  - BANSHEE SEASON 2 04/01/2015 :  - BANSHEE SEASON 2 04/01/2015 :  - BANSHEE SEASON 2 04/01/2015 :  - BANSHEE SEASON 2 04/01/2015 :  - BANSHEE SEASON 2 04/01/2015 :  - BANSHEE SEASON 2 04/01/2015 :  - BANSHEE SEASON 2 04/01/2015 :  - BANSHEE SEASON 2 04/01/2015 :  - BANSHEE SEASON 2 04/01/2015 :  - BANSHEE SEASON 2

 

Next reviews
OST+FRONT • Freundschaft EP
KLAAS VAN EIJKEREN • Patria
BRIAN ENO • Nerve Net- The Shutov Assembly - Neroli - The Drop
CHRISTOPHER NOLAN • The Dark Knight Rises
L'ORDRE DE HELOISE • Le Chaos De l’ Histoire
ULTRAMARINE • Every Man And Woman Is A Star
PATRICK SYVERSEN • Rovdyr/Manhunt
• WISHES FROM PEEK-A-BOO
• The best of 2014 by Smurf (Wool-E-Shop)
• The best of 2014 by Ward (writer)

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: CRIME + TV SERIES
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• THE TEAM SEASON 1
• LONGMIRE-SEASON 2
• THE FINDER
• BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 5
• BROADCHURCH SEASON 1
• THE CODE SEASON 1
• FOYLE'S WAR-SEASON 8
• THE FALL SERIES TWO

 

Same genre: CRIME
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
ANDRE VAN DUREN • De Bende Van Oss
CRAIG ZOBEL • COMPLIANCE
RICHARD BROOKS • IN COLD BLOOD
DAVID BRADLEY • Harry Brown
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
• THE LAST SHIP SEASON 1
• ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK SEASON 2

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf