tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

24/12/2014 :  - BIMFEST 2014 DAY 1 FT. AGENT SIDE GRINDER, GAYTRON & BORGHESIA

BIMFEST 2014 DAY 1 FT. AGENT SIDE GRINDER, GAYTRON & BORGHESIA

Concert
Avant-gardeCold WaveDark ElectroDark WaveEBMElectro Rock

[85/100]   
24/12/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

To start with, the new BIMFEST location Zappa is really great! There's plenty of parking space and it’s a nice and safe place to hang out. The venue has also a great sound! For the early birds or people who didn't enjoy the band that was playing at that moment there was a market were I saw lots of artist snuffing and buying records. Something else that struck me was the sheer amount of foreign people is that you run into on BIMFEST. It's clear that Belgium needs those foreign countries and thus good promo machine is needed. Considering the mass of people coming from Spain, Germany, Sweden, and even Brazil...)... BodyBeats did a great job!

Edriver69 played with a live guitar player, presented beats on a low profile (a bit too much floating instead of hammering) and vocals that are pretty OK. Faithhealer was one of their best tracks, I even noticed a few people dancing. All in all it was a pretty slow starter and the first time I saw this band on stage. The cover at the end was pretty much fun, but I couldn't wait for the next band to start!

Der Klinke is for a lot of people a must see and for the first time I caught them on stage and could understand why. The folks are clearly having fun and share it with their fans (massively applauding and asking for more). Their cold way of rocking the audience made a lot of waves! I must admit their live sound is also pretty catchy. The melancholy and retro vibes felt real. The fans absolutely loved it & I can only confirm that it was great (as always)! Belgium has his bounds with old school music (EBM and New Wave) and this one is for sure one of those bands who could have get more recognition. Luckily they are hard working on a new phase in their career. Fingers crossed!

Gaytron was an absolute must see for me. Claus brought a live drummer on stage, creating a wider sound and extra fun. Kazim also joined him on stage. As expected we got a lot of the legendary Phase I album and the more than famous and very much expected cover Smalltown Boy of Bronski Beat. The crowd danced from the very first until the very last track. Gaytron didn't play much in Belgium, but this was a proof that it has to happen more. I hope that the message behind Gaytron is understood because gay bashing and homophobia are really not acceptable! Claus proved once again that he is a beast on stage, working his ass off to please his fans! 'Männerliebe' was the last track.

Agent Side Grinder is simply one of the best growing bands of the moments, conquering more and more hearts after each gig! I absolutely love the bass player and their great retro wave touch. The machines and synths create a magnificent sound and the singer knows how to create a party. It all sounded a bit like Joy Division goes disco with a touch of The Klinik. It's very clear that they have a huge fan base attending their today's concert, as the reactions where very warm. They played a few new tracks and I must say that the new album (to be released in spring 2015) must be even better than the previous one! The best moment was when Dirk Ivens was suddenly invited on stage and grabbed a microphone performing 'Go (Bring it) back'. The crowd went crazy, it was pure ecstasy!

A lot of people told me they would leave after such a great moment. I stayed longer and could notice that the place was indeed slowly getting empty. I must say that Borghesia has a very strange sound (hard to call it a name and easy to judge the wrong way) mixed with metal minded guitars, to women backing up a crazy priest on the microphone. It's not my cup of tea, but they have their fans and I honor them. The girls worked hard to present themselves at their best. But for me it was clear that this was not my cup of tea. I didn't feel any connection with the band, gave them a chance. Agent Side Grinder deserved an encore and presented the best gig of the night. What came after that great moment was simply disturbing the great feel of the evening.

Up to the next day.

Filip VAN MUYLEM
24/12/2014


 

Next reviews
BLIND ALLEY • Primal Howl
GARETH EVANS • The Raid 2
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
• THE MENTALIST SEASON 6
ASH CODE • Oblivion
LUKAS MOODYSSON • A Hole In My Heart
VODZ • Into the Woodz
JOHN TURTURRO • Fading Gigolo
NEONSOL • Ecliptic
• BIMFEST 2014 DAY 2 FT SERPENTS, COCKSURE AND DIE FORM

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY • On Common Ground
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7 • EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
MISERIA ULTIMA • Witch Heart Apparition
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
KMFDM • Hyena
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
43 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 44 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
79 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
30 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Rabbit Junk Brings Fatalism And Frustration To 'Apocalypse For Beginners'
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2

PHOTOS

08
12
TARJA TURUNEN
Christuskirche Bochum
05
12
SONAR
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TEST DEPT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
RADICAL G
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
FIX8:SED8
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TC75
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
SOFT RIOT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
LIZARD SMILE
State Of Void
08
12
HELENA HAUFF
Sworn To Secrecy Part II
07
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
06
12
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
05
12
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise