tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

24/12/2014 :  - BIMFEST 2014 DAY 1 FT. AGENT SIDE GRINDER, GAYTRON & BORGHESIA

BIMFEST 2014 DAY 1 FT. AGENT SIDE GRINDER, GAYTRON & BORGHESIA

Concert
Avant-gardeCold WaveDark ElectroDark WaveEBMElectro Rock

[85/100]   
24/12/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

To start with, the new BIMFEST location Zappa is really great! There's plenty of parking space and it’s a nice and safe place to hang out. The venue has also a great sound! For the early birds or people who didn't enjoy the band that was playing at that moment there was a market were I saw lots of artist snuffing and buying records. Something else that struck me was the sheer amount of foreign people is that you run into on BIMFEST. It's clear that Belgium needs those foreign countries and thus good promo machine is needed. Considering the mass of people coming from Spain, Germany, Sweden, and even Brazil...)... BodyBeats did a great job!

Edriver69 played with a live guitar player, presented beats on a low profile (a bit too much floating instead of hammering) and vocals that are pretty OK. Faithhealer was one of their best tracks, I even noticed a few people dancing. All in all it was a pretty slow starter and the first time I saw this band on stage. The cover at the end was pretty much fun, but I couldn't wait for the next band to start!

Der Klinke is for a lot of people a must see and for the first time I caught them on stage and could understand why. The folks are clearly having fun and share it with their fans (massively applauding and asking for more). Their cold way of rocking the audience made a lot of waves! I must admit their live sound is also pretty catchy. The melancholy and retro vibes felt real. The fans absolutely loved it & I can only confirm that it was great (as always)! Belgium has his bounds with old school music (EBM and New Wave) and this one is for sure one of those bands who could have get more recognition. Luckily they are hard working on a new phase in their career. Fingers crossed!

Gaytron was an absolute must see for me. Claus brought a live drummer on stage, creating a wider sound and extra fun. Kazim also joined him on stage. As expected we got a lot of the legendary Phase I album and the more than famous and very much expected cover Smalltown Boy of Bronski Beat. The crowd danced from the very first until the very last track. Gaytron didn't play much in Belgium, but this was a proof that it has to happen more. I hope that the message behind Gaytron is understood because gay bashing and homophobia are really not acceptable! Claus proved once again that he is a beast on stage, working his ass off to please his fans! 'Männerliebe' was the last track.

Agent Side Grinder is simply one of the best growing bands of the moments, conquering more and more hearts after each gig! I absolutely love the bass player and their great retro wave touch. The machines and synths create a magnificent sound and the singer knows how to create a party. It all sounded a bit like Joy Division goes disco with a touch of The Klinik. It's very clear that they have a huge fan base attending their today's concert, as the reactions where very warm. They played a few new tracks and I must say that the new album (to be released in spring 2015) must be even better than the previous one! The best moment was when Dirk Ivens was suddenly invited on stage and grabbed a microphone performing 'Go (Bring it) back'. The crowd went crazy, it was pure ecstasy!

A lot of people told me they would leave after such a great moment. I stayed longer and could notice that the place was indeed slowly getting empty. I must say that Borghesia has a very strange sound (hard to call it a name and easy to judge the wrong way) mixed with metal minded guitars, to women backing up a crazy priest on the microphone. It's not my cup of tea, but they have their fans and I honor them. The girls worked hard to present themselves at their best. But for me it was clear that this was not my cup of tea. I didn't feel any connection with the band, gave them a chance. Agent Side Grinder deserved an encore and presented the best gig of the night. What came after that great moment was simply disturbing the great feel of the evening.

Up to the next day.

Filip VAN MUYLEM
24/12/2014


 

Next reviews
BLIND ALLEY • Primal Howl
GARETH EVANS • The Raid 2
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
• THE MENTALIST SEASON 6
ASH CODE • Oblivion
LUKAS MOODYSSON • A Hole In My Heart
VODZ • Into the Woodz
JOHN TURTURRO • Fading Gigolo
NEONSOL • Ecliptic
• BIMFEST 2014 DAY 2 FT SERPENTS, COCKSURE AND DIE FORM

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY • On Common Ground
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: EBM
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life