tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

05/02/2015 :  - CONTINUUM SEASON 2

CONTINUUM SEASON 2

MovieTV series
Science FictionTV Series
Universal Pictures
05/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you are not a TV addict, then Continuum is probably the best science fiction series you have not seen yet. The fact that Universal only released it on DVD in the Benelux, says a lot about its popularity, but as we know, sometimes the public is wrong. Across the big ocean this Canadian series scored better though, as after a successful first season, a second one is made and it even has thirteen instead of ten episodes.

The basic concept sounds suspiciously like the one of The Terminator, because in Continuum it is all about time travelling and changing history. The story begins in 2077, and as it often happens in science fiction series, the future is not exactly a fun place to be. There is no freedom, giant companies have the power and the police knows everything about everyone. OK, this sounds more like today and less than a futuristic vision, but creator Simon Barry added lots of technological gadgets like the possibility of time travel. A group of rebels, named the Liber8, who are under the command of Edouard Kagame (Tony Amendola), want to return to the year 2012. They don't know that they carry agent Kiera (Rachel Nichols) along. She has a very special suit that is equipped with many technical features. It is bullet proof, it has an energy shield and it can make her invisible. Keira has to disable the Liber8, but she also wants to go back to her own age as she has a little son there. The man who can help her is Alec Sadler (Erik Knudsen). The implants in Keira seems to be his invention, but that (of course) he still has to design. Well, we said it already, the story of The Terminator is never far away. At the end of the first season Kagame sacrificed himself, and now Kiera begins to understand why the rebels want to return to the past.

Maybe Continuum is not as strong as Battlestar Galactica, but it is nonetheless one of the best science fiction series that we have seen in recent years, and that is mainly due to the clever scenarios that always have a cliffhanger that leaves us wondering, and as a result, we start the next episode without any hesitation. The second season of Continuum is available now on Universal.

Didier BECU
05/02/2015


NL

Als je geen televisieverslaafde bent, dan is Continuum waarschijnlijk de beste sciencefictionreeks die je nog niet hebt gezien. Het feit dat Universal deze release in de Benelux alleen maar op dvd uitbrengt zegt genoeg over de populariteit ervan, maar zoals we weten durft de grote massa zich ook wel eens te vergissen. Over de grote plas ging het heel wat beter met deze Canadese reeks. Na een succesvol eerste seizoen is een tweede gemaakt dat zelfs dertien ipv tien afleveringen telt.

Toegegeven, het basisconcept klinkt verdacht veel op dat van The Terminator, want ook in Continuum draait alles om tijdreizen en een poging om de geschiedenis te verdraaien. Het verhaal begint in 2077 en zoals vaak in sciencefictionreeksen is de toekomst niet bepaald een pretje. Van vrijheid is er geen sprake, het zijn gigantische bedrijven die de macht hebben en de politie weet van iedereen alles. Juist, zeer futuristisch klinkt dit allemaal niet, maar bedenker Simon Barry zorgde voor heel wat technologische snufjes en maakte het bijv. mogelijk dat de mensen in de tijd kunnen reizen. Een groep rebellen, de Liber8, die onder de leiding staan van Edouard Kagame (Tony Amendola), heeft er schoon genoeg van en keert terug naar het jaar 2012. Zonder dat ze het willen hebben ze wel de agente Kiera (Rachel Nichols) tijdens hun trip meegenomen. Die beschikt over een heel speciaal pak dat voorzien is van heel wat technische snufjes: het is kogelvrij, beschikt over een energieschild en ze kan er zich zelfs onzichtbaar mee maken. Keira heeft de opdracht om de Liber8 uit te schakelen, toch wil zij ook naar haar eigen tijdperk terug omdat ze daar een zoontje heeft rondlopen. De man die haar daarbij kan helpen is Alec Sadler (Erik Knudsen). De implantaten die bij Keira zijn ingebouwd blijken later trouwens zijn eigen uitvindingen te zijn die hij uiteraard nog moet ontwerpen. Tja, we zegden het al: het verhaal van The Terminator is nooit veraf. Op het einde van het eerste seizoen offerde Kagame zichzelf op, en Kiera begint stilletjes aan te begrijpen waarom de rebellen terug willen naar vroeger.

Misschien bezit Continuum net niet de aantrekkingskracht van pakweg Battlestar Galactica, toch is het één van de betere sciencefictionreeksen die we de laatste jaren hebben gezien en dat komt vooral door de pientere scenario’s die steeds met een cliffhanger eindigen, waardoor je zonder aarzelen naar de volgende aflevering doorklikt. Het blijft wel jammer dat we het in de Benelux moeten stellen met alleen een dvd-release, maar fans kennen natuurlijk de weg naar de importmarkt.

Het tweede seizoen van Continuum is vanaf nu verkrijgbaar op Universal.

Didier BECU
05/02/2015


05/02/2015 :  - CONTINUUM SEASON 2 05/02/2015 :  - CONTINUUM SEASON 2 05/02/2015 :  - CONTINUUM SEASON 2 05/02/2015 :  - CONTINUUM SEASON 2 05/02/2015 :  - CONTINUUM SEASON 2 05/02/2015 :  - CONTINUUM SEASON 2 05/02/2015 :  - CONTINUUM SEASON 2 05/02/2015 :  - CONTINUUM SEASON 2 05/02/2015 :  - CONTINUUM SEASON 2 05/02/2015 :  - CONTINUUM SEASON 2 05/02/2015 :  - CONTINUUM SEASON 2 05/02/2015 :  - CONTINUUM SEASON 2 05/02/2015 :  - CONTINUUM SEASON 2 05/02/2015 :  - CONTINUUM SEASON 2 05/02/2015 :  - CONTINUUM SEASON 2 05/02/2015 :  - CONTINUUM SEASON 2

 

Next reviews
ENTER SHIKARI • The Mindsweep
MICHAEL MANN • Thief
ACCOLADE • Catharsis of Rhetorik
MICHAEL DOWSE • What If
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Reverb Conspiracy Vol 3
MARK RONSON • Uptown Special
AIDAN BAKER/THISQUIETARMY • The Hypnodrone Ensemble
KARIM ANOUIZ • Praia Do Futuro
CHARNIA • Dageraad
JEAN-PAUL SALOME • The Chameleon

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: SCIENCE FICTION + TV SERIES
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• THE LAST SHIP SEASON 1
• INTRUDERS - SEASON 1
• DOMINION SEASON 1
• HAVEN SEASON 4
• REVOLUTION SEASON 2
• STAR TREK, THE NEXT GENERATION SEASON 7
• UNDER THE DOME SEASON 2
• FALLING SKIES SEASON 3
• Defiance Season 2

 

Same genre: SCIENCE FICTION
• SUPERNATURAL SEASON 10
NEILL BLOMKAMP • Chappie
• THE 100 SEASON 1
ALAN TAYLOR • TERMINATOR GENISYS
ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI • Jupiter Ascending
RIDLEY SCOTT • Blade Runner
ZAK HILDITCH • These Final Hours
SEBASTIEN CORDERO • Europa Report
DAVID HEWLETT • Debug
ADAM WINGARD • The Guest

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
• THE TEAM SEASON 1

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)