tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

18/03/2015 :  - DOMINION SEASON 1

DOMINION SEASON 1

MovieTV series
Science FictionTV Series
Universal Pictures
18/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Just when you think that Hollywood has explored all genres or stories, screenwriters come up with subjects you do not expect them to write. If you are a loyal viewer of SyFy (strange but true, they do exist!) you probably already know that Dominion is a series about angels! Yes, those winged creatures that have been created by God! This series is actually based on the movie Legion with Paul Bettany and Dennis Quaid, and the start was quite difficult, because the American public had mixed feelings about this science fiction series. But fans do not have to worry, after a first season with eight episodes, a new contract has been signed for 13 brand new episodes.

At the end of the day we really don’t know if a sequel was needed. The story is set 25 years after the Extinction War. God has abandoned our planet and our fate lies in the hands of the angels. Archangel Gabriel (Carl Beukes) has set up an army: almost all eight-balls (read: ordinary angels) have chosen his side and want to destroy humanity. However, there are still some good angels around like archangel Michael (Tom Wisdom). Mankind needs their help because it was a horrible war, that has destroyed much of the cities. One of the remaining ones is Las Vegas, although after the attack the gambling city is known as Vega.

In the lengthy pilot we see how Alex Lannon (Christopher Egan) plays a very important role. His body is full of tattoos that indicate that he is the chosen one, the Messiah who will save mankind. Neither General Edward Riesen (a kind of dictator who is emblazoned by the people because they feel safe with him), nor Consul David Whele (Anthony Head) are believers. The only one who does believe in Alex, is Riesen’s daughter Claire(Roxanne McKee), who is in love with him.

We honestly have seen a lot of Syfy series and most of them were not exciting. They are too American, the stories too childish and not good enough to keep you chained to the screen for hours. Claiming that Dominion is a breath of fresh air, would be too far fetched, because the series can’t compete one minute with other current top series. But this science fiction series posseses nonetheless an irresistible charm, that lies somewhere between Battlestar Galactica and Pink Floyd's The Wall by Alan Parker.

Fans of sci-fi action series can try out Dominion. Out on Universal, on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
18/03/2015


NL

Net op het moment dat je denkt dat zowat alle genres of verhalen zijn uitgeput, komen scenarioschrijvers met onderwerpen op de proppen die je niet meteen verwacht. Indien je een trouwe SyFy-kijker bent (raar maar waar, ze bestaan!) weet u wellicht dat Dominion een serie is over engelen! Jawel, de gevleugelde creaturen die door God zijn geschapen! Deze serie, die eigenlijk is gebaseerd op de film Legion met Paul Bettany en Dennis Quaid, heeft een moeilijke tijd achter de rug, want het Amerikaanse publiek had gemengde gevoelens over deze sciencefictionreeks. Maar niet getreurd, na een eerste seizoen met acht afleveringen, is er een nieuw contract getekend waardoor de popcornvreter zich mag voorbereiden op 13 gloednieuwe episodes.

Wij lusten wel popcorn, maar of we nu echt vinden of een vervolg nodig was, is een heel andere kwestie. Het verhaal speelt zich af 25 jaar na de Extinction War. God heeft de aarde de rug toegekeerd en het lot van onze planeet ligt in de handen van de engelen. Aartsengel Gabriel (Carl Beukes) heeft een leger opgericht. Het zijn vooral eight-balls (lees gewone engelen) die voor hem hebben gekozen en die de mensheid willen vernietigen. Er zijn echter ook nog goede engelen overgebleven, zoals bijv. aartsengel Michael (Tom Wisdom). De mens heeft hun hulp meer dan nodig, want het was een gruwelijke oorlog die een groot deel van de steden heeft verwoest. Eéntje daarvan is Las Vegas, alhoewel men het na de aanvallen gewoon op Vega houdt.

In de pilot, die anderhalf uur duurt, zien we Alex Lannon (Christopher Egan), die een zeer voorname rol speelt. Zijn lichaam staat vol tattoo’s die er op wijzen dat hij de nieuwe uitverkorene is, de Messias die de mensheid zal redden. Noch Generaal Edward Riesen (een soort van dictator die door het volk wordt opgehemeld omdat men zich veilig bij hem voelt), noch consul David Whele (Anthony Head) hechten daaraan geloof. De enige die dat wel doet is Riesens dochter Claire (Roxanne McKee) op wie Alex verliefd is.

We hebben eerlijk gezegd al heel wat SyFy-reeksen gezien en de meeste konden ons maar weinig bekoren. Ze zijn te Amerikaans, de verhaaltjes net iets te kinderachtig en vooral niet goed genoeg om je urenlang aan het scherm te kluisteren. Beweren dat Dominion een verademing is zou net iets van het goede te veel zijn, want de serie kan geen minuut opboksen tegen het niveau van andere recente topseries. Wel bezit de sciencefictionreeks een onweerstaanbare charme die ergens tussen Battlestar Galactica en Pink Floyd’s The Wall van Alan Parker ligt. De scenario’s zijn wat voorspelbaar en de vertolkingen degelijk, maar geen enkel personage dat evenwel een blijvende indruk nalaat.

Liefhebbers van sciencefictionreeksen met actie die de lat niet te hoog leggen, kunnen Dominion eens uitproberen. Vanaf nu uit op Universal, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
18/03/2015


18/03/2015 :  - DOMINION SEASON 1 18/03/2015 :  - DOMINION SEASON 1 18/03/2015 :  - DOMINION SEASON 1 18/03/2015 :  - DOMINION SEASON 1 18/03/2015 :  - DOMINION SEASON 1 18/03/2015 :  - DOMINION SEASON 1 18/03/2015 :  - DOMINION SEASON 1 18/03/2015 :  - DOMINION SEASON 1 18/03/2015 :  - DOMINION SEASON 1 18/03/2015 :  - DOMINION SEASON 1 18/03/2015 :  - DOMINION SEASON 1 18/03/2015 :  - DOMINION SEASON 1 18/03/2015 :  - DOMINION SEASON 1 18/03/2015 :  - DOMINION SEASON 1 18/03/2015 :  - DOMINION SEASON 1 18/03/2015 :  - DOMINION SEASON 1

 

Next reviews
EBERHARD WEBER • Encore
HECQ • Mare Nostrum
CARMEN COBOS • Imperfect Harmony
DAVID DOBKIN • The Judge
SAM MILLER • No Good Deed
TEXAS • Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions
THE BEACH • Thieves
DOSAGE • Adonis
DISTEL • Puur
SOFIE BENOOT • Desert Haze

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: SCIENCE FICTION + TV SERIES
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• THE LAST SHIP SEASON 1
• INTRUDERS - SEASON 1
• HAVEN SEASON 4
• CONTINUUM SEASON 2
• REVOLUTION SEASON 2
• STAR TREK, THE NEXT GENERATION SEASON 7
• UNDER THE DOME SEASON 2
• FALLING SKIES SEASON 3
• Defiance Season 2

 

Same genre: SCIENCE FICTION
• SUPERNATURAL SEASON 10
NEILL BLOMKAMP • Chappie
• THE 100 SEASON 1
ALAN TAYLOR • TERMINATOR GENISYS
ANDY & LANA WACHOWSKI • Jupiter Ascending
RIDLEY SCOTT • Blade Runner
ZAK HILDITCH • These Final Hours
SEBASTIEN CORDERO • Europa Report
DAVID HEWLETT • Debug
ADAM WINGARD • The Guest

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
• THE TEAM SEASON 1

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)