tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

07/12/2014 :  - HELL ON WHEELS SEASON 3

HELL ON WHEELS SEASON 3

MovieTV series
TV SeriesWestern
E1
07/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

No one will blame you if you can’t follow the extreme flow of television series you are supposed not to miss. The amount of AMC-series alone is enough to keep you dozens of hours in front of the screen (and yes, we know, life just goes on). Breaking Bad, The Walking Dead, Mad Men or the American version of The Killing are just some examples of series that were released by them, and of course you also have to include Hell On Wheels. Because a series on the Belgian railroad would only lead to images of strikes, they chose for the vicissitudes of the Transcontinental Railroad: the railway line that connected the east coast with the west coast of the United States and was opened in 1869.

The third season begins in 1867 and people were still working on the railway. It's no longer a secret that he who has control over this railway, will become a powerful man. Cullen Bohannon (Anson Mount) knows that better than anyone. In 1865, the former soldier started to work on the First Transcontinental Railroad, but he was particularly interested in finding the killers of his wife and son. In the third season Bohannon puts his revenge plans aside and focuses on his career. He can convince the railway bosses to be the right man for the construction. He is not the only one who wants the job, however, Doc Durant (Colm Meaney) wants to win his position again and does not fear the hard method, even if he is in prison. Bohannon is clever enough to realise that you can not get the job done on your own and he hopes to work together with Elam Ferguson (rapper Common). That is not so simple, because Elam has not forgotten that Cullen was once a slave driver. Enough problems, and then we have not even talked about the insane Thor Gundersen who is better known as The Swede (Christopher Heyerdahl) or bloodthirsty Indian.

It is certainly no coincidence that Hell On Wheels was broadcoasted on Sundance Channel, because although this western series is intended for a wide audience, it is clear that the makers wanted more than to create just another television show. Occasionally the western series misses some action, but thanks to the breathtaking photography and good performances, Hell On Wheels is a lot better than what you normally find in the programming of television channels.

The third season of Hell On Wheels is now out on DVD and Blu-ray via E One.

Didier BECU
07/12/2014


NL

Niemand zal het je kwalijk nemen als je de stroom van de te volgen televisieseries niet meer de baas kan. Het aanbod van AMC alleen al is genoeg om je tientallen uren aan het scherm te kluisteren (en ja we weten het, dat leven gaat gewoon door). Breaking Bad, The Walking Dead, Mad Men of de Amerikaanse versie van The Killing zijn maar enkele voorbeelden van series die uit hun stal komen, en natuurlijk moet je daar ook Hell On Wheels bij optellen. Omdat een serie over de NMBS alleen maar beelden van stakingen zou opleveren, koos men toch maar voor de perikelen van de Transcontinental Railroad: de spoorlijn die de oost- met de westkust van de Verenigde Staten verbindt en in 1869 werd geopend.

Het derde seizoen begint in 1867 en dus is men nog volop bezig aan het bouwen van de spoorweg. Het is ondertussen al lang geen geheim meer dat wie de controle krijgt over deze verbindingsweg, ook een machtig man wordt. Cullen Bohannon (Anson Mount) weet dat als geen ander. In 1865 begon de gewezen soldaat te werken bij de First Transcontinental Railroad, maar hij was vooral geïnteresseerd in het vinden van de moordenaars van zijn vrouw en zoon. In het derde seizoen laat Bohannon de wraakzucht varen en concentreert hij zich vooral op zijn carrière. Hij kan er de spoorwegmaatschappij immers van overtuigen dat hij de geknipte man is voor de constructie. Hij is echter niet de enige die deze opdracht wil, Doc Durant (Colm Meaney) heeft er alles voor over om zijn vroegere positie terug te krijgen en hij vreest geenszins de harde methode, ook al zit hij in de gevangenis. Bohannon is wel snugger genoeg om te beseffen dat je zo’n klus niet in je eentje kan klaren en wil daarom samenwerken met Elam Ferguson (hiphopper Common). Ook dat is niet zo eenvoudig, want Elam is nog niet vergeten dat Cullen ooit een slavendrijver was. Problemen genoeg dus, en dan hebben we het nog niet eens gehad over de krankzinnige Thor Gundersen, die beter bekend is als The Swede (Christopher Heyerdahl) of bloeddorstige indiaan.

Het is zeker geen toeval dat Hell On Wheels door Sundance Channel is uitgezonden, want alhoewel deze westernserie voor een breed publiek is bestemd, is het duidelijk dat de makers meer wilden dan zo maar opnieuw een televisieserie in het leven roepen. Af en toe mist de westernreeks wel wat vaart of voldoende actie, maar dankzij de adembenemende fotografie en de knappe vertolkingen is Hell On Wheels toch heel wat beter dan wat je normaliter in de programmering van televisiezenders tegenkomt.

Het derde seizoen van Hell On Wheels is nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray via E One.

Didier BECU
07/12/2014


07/12/2014 :  - HELL ON WHEELS SEASON 3 07/12/2014 :  - HELL ON WHEELS SEASON 3 07/12/2014 :  - HELL ON WHEELS SEASON 3 07/12/2014 :  - HELL ON WHEELS SEASON 3 07/12/2014 :  - HELL ON WHEELS SEASON 3 07/12/2014 :  - HELL ON WHEELS SEASON 3 07/12/2014 :  - HELL ON WHEELS SEASON 3 07/12/2014 :  - HELL ON WHEELS SEASON 3 07/12/2014 :  - HELL ON WHEELS SEASON 3 07/12/2014 :  - HELL ON WHEELS SEASON 3 07/12/2014 :  - HELL ON WHEELS SEASON 3 07/12/2014 :  - HELL ON WHEELS SEASON 3 07/12/2014 :  - HELL ON WHEELS SEASON 3 07/12/2014 :  - HELL ON WHEELS SEASON 3 07/12/2014 :  - HELL ON WHEELS SEASON 3 07/12/2014 :  - HELL ON WHEELS SEASON 3

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten