tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES

HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES

MovieTV series
ComedyTV Series
HBO
28/05/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If we have to be honest, then we would never name a series Hello Ladies. It was because of this lousy title that we had some anxiety to start this HBO series. Fortunately our fears proved to be unfounded after a few minutes. But then again, do you expect something bad from Stephen Merchant (the right hand of Ricky Gervais and also the creator of The Office and Extras)? Of course not. At least that’s what we think as HBO was so disappointed that it stopped this comedy after just one season. Would Americans still have another form of humor? Probably, because we rarely laughed so hard with a series like this one.

Since the concept of this series comes from a show of Ricky Gervais, it is perhaps no coincidence that the main character of this sitcom seems a lot like David Brent, the director of The Office. Stuart Pritchard (a role played by Stephen Merchant himself) is a web designer who does everything to be liked by the people who surround him. Pritchard lives in Los Angeles and is convinced that the Americans find it cool that he is an Englishman. He's trying to get into the hippest nightclubs on the pretext that he is a famous person in Britain. Obviously he is not, and within a few minutes he makes an idiot of himself. The only ones who like his company are the cozy stout Wade Bailey (Nate Torrence) and the disabled Kives (Kevin Weisman). Wade himself has a crisis because his wife has left him, while party animal Kives walks away with the beautiful women at the end of each episode.

Each episode lasts 25 minutes and has all the necessary ingredients, so we can speak of television at its best. The series is hilarious and you rarely will dislike a main character so much like Pritchard (unless you've just watched The Office). Unfortunately, there are only 8 episodes of this series, but to end in beauty HBO decided to make an extra long episode of 80 minutes that was sent into the world as Hello Ladies: The Movie, and is included on this release The first ( and sadly last) season is now available on DVD through Warner.

Didier BECU
28/05/2015


NL

Als we eerlijk mogen zijn, dan is er geen enkel haar op onze kaalkop dat er aan denkt om een serie Hello Ladies te dopen. Het was dan ook wegens deze flauwe titel dat we deze HBO-reeks met wat angst in de lader stopten, gelukkig bleek de vrees na een paar minuten snel ongegrond. Natuurlijk, want zeg nu zelf, verwacht je iets slechts van Stephen Merchant (de rechterhand van Ricky Gervais en tevens de bedenker van The Office en Extras)? Neen dus. Ten minste dat denken wij, HBO daarentegen was zo ontgoocheld dat ze na amper één seizoen het doek over deze komedie lieten vallen. Zouden die Amerikanen dan toch een andere vorm van humor hebben? Waarschijnlijk wel, want zelden hebben we zo gelachen met een serie als deze.

Omdat het concept van deze reeks uit een show van Ricky Gervais komt, is het wellicht geen toeval dat het hoofdpersonage van deze sitcom verdraaid veel op David Brent lijkt. Net als de directeur uit The Office, probeert ook webdesigner Stuart Pritchard (een rol die door Stephen Merchant zelf wordt vertolkt) alles om een wit voetje te halen bij de mensen die hem omringen. Pritchard leeft in Los Angeles en hij is ervan overtuigd dat de Amerikanen het cool vinden dat hij een Engelsman is. Hij probeert binnen te geraken in de meest hippe nachtclubs onder het voorwendsel dat hij in Groot-Brittannië een bekend persoon is. Dat is hij natuurlijk niet, en binnen een paar minuten valt hij iedere keer wegens zijn krenterigheid of slungelachtigheden door de mand. De enigen die zijn gezelschap zien zitten zijn de gezellige dikkerd Wade Bailey (Nate Torrence) en de invalide Kives (Kevin Weisman). Wade zit zelf in een crisis omdat zijn vrouw hem heeft verlaten, terwijl feestneus Kives er op het einde van iedere aflevering met het vrouwelijk schoon vandoor gaat.

 Iedere aflevering duurt zo’n 25 minuten en heeft alle ingrediënten om over sprankelende televisie te spreken. De serie is ontzettend grappig en zelden zal je zo’n afkeer krijgen van een hoofdpersonage als dat bij Pritchard het geval is (tenzij je naar The Office hebt gekeken). Helaas bestaan er maar 8 afleveringen van deze reeks, maar om alles toch nog enigszins in schoonheid af te sluiten besloot HBO om een extra lange aflevering van 80 minuten te maken. Die werd de wereld ingestuurd als Hello Ladies: The Movie, en vind je terug op deze release.

Hello Ladies lijkt op het eerste gezicht als een te mijden serie. Lekker niet, wedden dat je na een paar minuten verslaafd geraakt? Het eerste (en helaas laatste) seizoen is vanaf nu op dvd via Warner beschikbaar.

Didier BECU
28/05/2015


28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES

 

Next reviews
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
JOE DANTE • Burying The Ex
YOUNG KNIVES • Something Awful
ISOLATION/DIVISION • 7th Magpie
OLIVIER MEGATON • Taken 3
RED SUN REVIVAL • Identities
PINS • Wild Nights
FUNERARY CALL • The Mirror Reversed II
PHILIPPE FALARDEAU • THE GOOD LIE
MITSKI • Bury Me At Makeout Creek

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + TV SERIES
• ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK SEASON 2
BRUNO DUMONT • P'tit Quinquin
• SHAMELESS SEASON 2

 

Same genre: COMEDY
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3

Music reviews

04
12
MERZBOW
Screaming Dove
03
12
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Shadow Of Fear
02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
12
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven