tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES

HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES

MovieTV series
ComedyTV Series
HBO
28/05/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If we have to be honest, then we would never name a series Hello Ladies. It was because of this lousy title that we had some anxiety to start this HBO series. Fortunately our fears proved to be unfounded after a few minutes. But then again, do you expect something bad from Stephen Merchant (the right hand of Ricky Gervais and also the creator of The Office and Extras)? Of course not. At least that’s what we think as HBO was so disappointed that it stopped this comedy after just one season. Would Americans still have another form of humor? Probably, because we rarely laughed so hard with a series like this one.

Since the concept of this series comes from a show of Ricky Gervais, it is perhaps no coincidence that the main character of this sitcom seems a lot like David Brent, the director of The Office. Stuart Pritchard (a role played by Stephen Merchant himself) is a web designer who does everything to be liked by the people who surround him. Pritchard lives in Los Angeles and is convinced that the Americans find it cool that he is an Englishman. He's trying to get into the hippest nightclubs on the pretext that he is a famous person in Britain. Obviously he is not, and within a few minutes he makes an idiot of himself. The only ones who like his company are the cozy stout Wade Bailey (Nate Torrence) and the disabled Kives (Kevin Weisman). Wade himself has a crisis because his wife has left him, while party animal Kives walks away with the beautiful women at the end of each episode.

Each episode lasts 25 minutes and has all the necessary ingredients, so we can speak of television at its best. The series is hilarious and you rarely will dislike a main character so much like Pritchard (unless you've just watched The Office). Unfortunately, there are only 8 episodes of this series, but to end in beauty HBO decided to make an extra long episode of 80 minutes that was sent into the world as Hello Ladies: The Movie, and is included on this release The first ( and sadly last) season is now available on DVD through Warner.

Didier BECU
28/05/2015


NL

Als we eerlijk mogen zijn, dan is er geen enkel haar op onze kaalkop dat er aan denkt om een serie Hello Ladies te dopen. Het was dan ook wegens deze flauwe titel dat we deze HBO-reeks met wat angst in de lader stopten, gelukkig bleek de vrees na een paar minuten snel ongegrond. Natuurlijk, want zeg nu zelf, verwacht je iets slechts van Stephen Merchant (de rechterhand van Ricky Gervais en tevens de bedenker van The Office en Extras)? Neen dus. Ten minste dat denken wij, HBO daarentegen was zo ontgoocheld dat ze na amper één seizoen het doek over deze komedie lieten vallen. Zouden die Amerikanen dan toch een andere vorm van humor hebben? Waarschijnlijk wel, want zelden hebben we zo gelachen met een serie als deze.

Omdat het concept van deze reeks uit een show van Ricky Gervais komt, is het wellicht geen toeval dat het hoofdpersonage van deze sitcom verdraaid veel op David Brent lijkt. Net als de directeur uit The Office, probeert ook webdesigner Stuart Pritchard (een rol die door Stephen Merchant zelf wordt vertolkt) alles om een wit voetje te halen bij de mensen die hem omringen. Pritchard leeft in Los Angeles en hij is ervan overtuigd dat de Amerikanen het cool vinden dat hij een Engelsman is. Hij probeert binnen te geraken in de meest hippe nachtclubs onder het voorwendsel dat hij in Groot-Brittannië een bekend persoon is. Dat is hij natuurlijk niet, en binnen een paar minuten valt hij iedere keer wegens zijn krenterigheid of slungelachtigheden door de mand. De enigen die zijn gezelschap zien zitten zijn de gezellige dikkerd Wade Bailey (Nate Torrence) en de invalide Kives (Kevin Weisman). Wade zit zelf in een crisis omdat zijn vrouw hem heeft verlaten, terwijl feestneus Kives er op het einde van iedere aflevering met het vrouwelijk schoon vandoor gaat.

 Iedere aflevering duurt zo’n 25 minuten en heeft alle ingrediënten om over sprankelende televisie te spreken. De serie is ontzettend grappig en zelden zal je zo’n afkeer krijgen van een hoofdpersonage als dat bij Pritchard het geval is (tenzij je naar The Office hebt gekeken). Helaas bestaan er maar 8 afleveringen van deze reeks, maar om alles toch nog enigszins in schoonheid af te sluiten besloot HBO om een extra lange aflevering van 80 minuten te maken. Die werd de wereld ingestuurd als Hello Ladies: The Movie, en vind je terug op deze release.

Hello Ladies lijkt op het eerste gezicht als een te mijden serie. Lekker niet, wedden dat je na een paar minuten verslaafd geraakt? Het eerste (en helaas laatste) seizoen is vanaf nu op dvd via Warner beschikbaar.

Didier BECU
28/05/2015


28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES

 

Next reviews
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
JOE DANTE • Burying The Ex
YOUNG KNIVES • Something Awful
ISOLATION/DIVISION • 7th Magpie
OLIVIER MEGATON • Taken 3
RED SUN REVIVAL • Identities
PINS • Wild Nights
FUNERARY CALL • The Mirror Reversed II
PHILIPPE FALARDEAU • THE GOOD LIE
MITSKI • Bury Me At Makeout Creek

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + TV SERIES
• ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK SEASON 2
BRUNO DUMONT • P'tit Quinquin
• SHAMELESS SEASON 2

 

Same genre: COMEDY
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3

Music reviews

02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion