tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES

HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES

MovieTV series
ComedyTV Series
HBO
28/05/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If we have to be honest, then we would never name a series Hello Ladies. It was because of this lousy title that we had some anxiety to start this HBO series. Fortunately our fears proved to be unfounded after a few minutes. But then again, do you expect something bad from Stephen Merchant (the right hand of Ricky Gervais and also the creator of The Office and Extras)? Of course not. At least that’s what we think as HBO was so disappointed that it stopped this comedy after just one season. Would Americans still have another form of humor? Probably, because we rarely laughed so hard with a series like this one.

Since the concept of this series comes from a show of Ricky Gervais, it is perhaps no coincidence that the main character of this sitcom seems a lot like David Brent, the director of The Office. Stuart Pritchard (a role played by Stephen Merchant himself) is a web designer who does everything to be liked by the people who surround him. Pritchard lives in Los Angeles and is convinced that the Americans find it cool that he is an Englishman. He's trying to get into the hippest nightclubs on the pretext that he is a famous person in Britain. Obviously he is not, and within a few minutes he makes an idiot of himself. The only ones who like his company are the cozy stout Wade Bailey (Nate Torrence) and the disabled Kives (Kevin Weisman). Wade himself has a crisis because his wife has left him, while party animal Kives walks away with the beautiful women at the end of each episode.

Each episode lasts 25 minutes and has all the necessary ingredients, so we can speak of television at its best. The series is hilarious and you rarely will dislike a main character so much like Pritchard (unless you've just watched The Office). Unfortunately, there are only 8 episodes of this series, but to end in beauty HBO decided to make an extra long episode of 80 minutes that was sent into the world as Hello Ladies: The Movie, and is included on this release The first ( and sadly last) season is now available on DVD through Warner.

Didier BECU
28/05/2015


NL

Als we eerlijk mogen zijn, dan is er geen enkel haar op onze kaalkop dat er aan denkt om een serie Hello Ladies te dopen. Het was dan ook wegens deze flauwe titel dat we deze HBO-reeks met wat angst in de lader stopten, gelukkig bleek de vrees na een paar minuten snel ongegrond. Natuurlijk, want zeg nu zelf, verwacht je iets slechts van Stephen Merchant (de rechterhand van Ricky Gervais en tevens de bedenker van The Office en Extras)? Neen dus. Ten minste dat denken wij, HBO daarentegen was zo ontgoocheld dat ze na amper één seizoen het doek over deze komedie lieten vallen. Zouden die Amerikanen dan toch een andere vorm van humor hebben? Waarschijnlijk wel, want zelden hebben we zo gelachen met een serie als deze.

Omdat het concept van deze reeks uit een show van Ricky Gervais komt, is het wellicht geen toeval dat het hoofdpersonage van deze sitcom verdraaid veel op David Brent lijkt. Net als de directeur uit The Office, probeert ook webdesigner Stuart Pritchard (een rol die door Stephen Merchant zelf wordt vertolkt) alles om een wit voetje te halen bij de mensen die hem omringen. Pritchard leeft in Los Angeles en hij is ervan overtuigd dat de Amerikanen het cool vinden dat hij een Engelsman is. Hij probeert binnen te geraken in de meest hippe nachtclubs onder het voorwendsel dat hij in Groot-Brittannië een bekend persoon is. Dat is hij natuurlijk niet, en binnen een paar minuten valt hij iedere keer wegens zijn krenterigheid of slungelachtigheden door de mand. De enigen die zijn gezelschap zien zitten zijn de gezellige dikkerd Wade Bailey (Nate Torrence) en de invalide Kives (Kevin Weisman). Wade zit zelf in een crisis omdat zijn vrouw hem heeft verlaten, terwijl feestneus Kives er op het einde van iedere aflevering met het vrouwelijk schoon vandoor gaat.

 Iedere aflevering duurt zo’n 25 minuten en heeft alle ingrediënten om over sprankelende televisie te spreken. De serie is ontzettend grappig en zelden zal je zo’n afkeer krijgen van een hoofdpersonage als dat bij Pritchard het geval is (tenzij je naar The Office hebt gekeken). Helaas bestaan er maar 8 afleveringen van deze reeks, maar om alles toch nog enigszins in schoonheid af te sluiten besloot HBO om een extra lange aflevering van 80 minuten te maken. Die werd de wereld ingestuurd als Hello Ladies: The Movie, en vind je terug op deze release.

Hello Ladies lijkt op het eerste gezicht als een te mijden serie. Lekker niet, wedden dat je na een paar minuten verslaafd geraakt? Het eerste (en helaas laatste) seizoen is vanaf nu op dvd via Warner beschikbaar.

Didier BECU
28/05/2015


28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES 28/05/2015 :  - HELLO LADIES - THE COMPLETE SERIES

 

Next reviews
CABARET VOLTAIRE, CARTER TUTTI & ANDY STOTT • Paris, Villette Sonique (24/05/2015)
JOE DANTE • Burying The Ex
YOUNG KNIVES • Something Awful
ISOLATION/DIVISION • 7th Magpie
OLIVIER MEGATON • Taken 3
RED SUN REVIVAL • Identities
PINS • Wild Nights
FUNERARY CALL • The Mirror Reversed II
PHILIPPE FALARDEAU • THE GOOD LIE
MITSKI • Bury Me At Makeout Creek

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + TV SERIES
• ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK SEASON 2
BRUNO DUMONT • P'tit Quinquin
• SHAMELESS SEASON 2

 

Same genre: COMEDY
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3

Music reviews

25
03
UNKNOWN INSTRUCTORS
Unwilling To Explain
24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
03
The Soul Walker | Celebrating The Sound Of The Late Scott Walker
22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
03
BORGHESIA
Like Every Style Of Music, EBM Also Had A Limited Period Of Duration
16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
03
HOLE
Celebrity Skin
25
03
FAUNLET
Anatomy
24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)