tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

16/07/2015 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3

HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3

MovieTV series
PoliticalTV Series
SONY SPHE
16/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

I have no subscription to Netflix myself, but thanks to this film channel (well, better say series channel) , there is House Of Cards. The characters of Francis Underwood ( Kevin Spacey ) and his shrew -like companion Claire (Robin Wright) are among the best series characters ever. That makes sense if you create a series with such a top cast, but of course you still need a great scenario to score and that is what creator Beau Willimon (who also wrote the script of The Ides Of March with Ryan Gosling and George Clooney) wrote.

Frank (Kevin Spacey) is a Democrat from South Carolina, who does everything to achieve the highest position in American politics.He uses people as if they were cards. Once they are no longer useful, they are mercilessly thrown away. For him, corruption and dirty games are commonplace. Even the man who can know whether it 's true or not (Barack Obama) is reported to be a big fan of the series.

In the last series we saw how the politician made his way to the top. By manipulating people (both the press and his colleagues) Underwood rose from congressman to president. Immediately after his election, the most powerful man in the world noticed that his victory wasn’t a gift. The not to be trusted Russian President (Lars Mikkelsen, who we saw in The Team with Veerle Baetens earlier this year), the Republicans and members of his own party want his skin. Frank Underwood wants to be the President of the United States for a 2nd time and so he must prepare for battle. It’s not an easy way. Douglas "Doug" Stamper (Michael Kelly), the man who did the dirty business for Underwood, appears to be alive, and there's a crisis between Frank and Claire. And everyone who saw the previous episodes, knows that Claire made his kingdom.

There was a lot of criticism on this third season. Some say the emphasis was too much on the relationship tensions between Frank and Claire, and too little on politics. The makers solved this by saying that this season was just a step. We witnessed the dirty road Underwood had to take to become the most powerful man in the world, and in the fourth season he will have to travel that path again. Maybe the third season is not as brilliant as the first one, but House Of Cards remains the best series of the moment!

The third part of House Of Cards is out on Sony SPHE, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
16/07/2015


NL

Zelf heb ik nog geen abonnement op Netflix, maar als we één zaak aan dit filmkanaal (nou ja, zeg maar seriekanaal) te danken hebben, dan is het wel House Of Cards. Het personage Francis Underwood (Kevin Spacey) en zijn feeksachtige metgezel Claire (Robin Wright) zijn in een recordtijd uitgegroeid tot twee van de beste seriepersonages ooit. Dat is natuurlijk logisch als je een serie met zo’n topcast maakt, maar je moet nog altijd een degelijk scenario hebben om te scoren en daar is bedenker Beau Willimon, die ook het script voor The Ides Of March met Ryan Gosling en George Clooney schreef, mooi in geslaagd.

Frank (Kevin Spacey) is een Democraat uit Zuid-Carolina, die er alles aan doet om de hoogste positie in de Amerikaanse politiek te bereiken. Hoe hij daar geraakt, speelt geen enkele rol. Frank gebruikt mensen alsof het spelkaarten zijn en eens ze geen nut meer hebben, worden ze genadeloos op de hoop gegooid. Voor hem zijn corruptie en vuile spelletjes schering en inslag. Zelfs de man die kan weten of het echt zo is (Barack Obama), zou naar verluidt een grote fan van de serie zijn.

In de vorige series zagen we hoe de politicus zijn weg naar de top maakte. Door het manipuleren van mensen (zowel de pers als zijn collega’s) klom Underwood op van congreslid tot president. Meteen na zijn verkiezing als de machtigste man van de wereld, merkt de sluwe polticus dat hij zijn ambt niet cadeau heeft gekregen. Hij heeft niet alleen af te rekenen met de al even gehaaide Russische president (Lars Mikkelsen die we dit jaar ook al in The Team met Veerle Baetens zagen), maar ook de Republikeinen en leden van zijn eigen partij willen zijn vel. Frank Underwood wil twee keer president van de VS zijn en dus moet hij zich daar nu al volop op voorbereiden. Gemakkelijk wordt het niet. Zo blijkt Douglas "Doug" Stamper (Michael Kelly), de man die de vuile zaakjes voor Underwood opknapt, niet dood te zijn, maar zit er ook een haar in de boter tussen Frank en Claire. En iedereen die de vorige episodes zag, weet dat hij zijn macht grotendeels aan haar te danken heeft.

Er was heel wat kritiek op dit derde seizoen. Zo vond men dat de nadruk iets te veel op de relatiespanningen tussen Frank en Claire lag, en te weinig op de politiek. De makers losten dit op door te stellen dat dit seizoen een tussenstap is. We hebben gezien welke vuile weg Underwood heeft afgelegd om de machtigste man ter wereld te worden, en binnenkort mag hij in het vierde luik dat parcours nog eens een tweede keer overdoen. Misschien is het derde seizoen niet zo briljant als het eerste, toch blijft House Of Cards nog altijd met stip de beste serie van dit moment!

Het derde deel van House Of Cards is nu uit op Sony SPHE, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
16/07/2015


16/07/2015 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3 16/07/2015 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3 16/07/2015 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3 16/07/2015 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3 16/07/2015 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3 16/07/2015 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3 16/07/2015 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3 16/07/2015 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3 16/07/2015 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3 16/07/2015 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3 16/07/2015 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3 16/07/2015 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3 16/07/2015 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3 16/07/2015 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3 16/07/2015 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3 16/07/2015 :  - HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3

 

Next reviews
MARC MARTINEZ (LARVA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LUC WAEGEMAN (KINKY STAR RECORDS, WAGONMAN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRUNO BAVOTA • Mediterraneo
DAVID GELB • THE LAZARUS EFFECT
REAPER • Der Schnitter
LOURENS BLOK • Boy 7
BERWYN WADDON (EXIT STRATEGY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DAN BROWN • Inferno
TRANSMIT • Radiation
• THE 100 SEASON 1

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: POLITICAL + TV SERIES
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
• VEEP SEASON 3
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 2
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 1
• Deadline 25/5

 

Same genre: POLITICAL
THE NEVILLE STAPLE BAND • Put Away Your Knives (Aka: Take Heed)
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride
RYAN MURPHY • The Normal Heart
ANTON CORBIJN • CINEMA: A Most Wanted Man
ANDRZEJ WAJDA • Man Of Marble

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE LAST SHIP SEASON 1
• THE TEAM SEASON 1

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown