tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

29/01/2015 :  - LOOKING SEASON 1

LOOKING SEASON 1

MovieTV series
GayTV Series
HBO
29/01/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Television makers try to push their limits as far as possible. The comedies with a special laugh track are far behind us, and so the producers no longer hesitate to include some experimentation. It is not the first time you read this, but HBO is one of the standards of new (better) television. New in the HBO-catalogue is Looking, a series that will undoubtedly have his supporters and opponents, because this creation by Michael Lannan has all the conditions of a hip television series. An American critic even found that Looking could be best described as a Sex & The City for the gay community. Yes, the further you get into the season (eight episodes), the more you think this argument holds sense.

Another reference the producers rather prefer to hear is of course Girls. This is certainly true in terms of structure, just as in the series of Lena Dunham, we play peeping Tom in every episode that last 25 minutes. We follow Patrick Murray (Jonathan Groff), Augustin (Frankie J Alvarez), Dom (Murray Bartlett), Kevin Matheson (Russell Tovey) and Richie Ventura (Raul Castillo). They are all gay and live in the fashionable San Francisco. The five adults already have found themselves and the only thing they worry about is whether they have the right hand cream in their shopping cart, or that they have chosen the right suit for the next upcoming Gay Parade. That might be the weak point of this series. It's not that we only want to see people who have a troubled life, but these five surely have it very easily. They rarely have headaches about daily problems, and they represent all the clichés that are specific for the gay scene (a soundtrack consisting of songs like Gloria Gaynor’s I Will Survive or the adoration for sailors, are just two examples).

But that of course are only details? No one wonders whether James Bond is the prototype of a real spy when he watches Goldfinger. If you can forget the clichés, Looking is a very enjoyable series. A contemporary romcom that goes with the speed of a train, with decent performances and funny moments. You won’t find a real story. In each episode, someone is looking for something (usually dates) and that happens on the base of conversations in a living room, on the street or at the disco. Due to the short running time you won’t get a real connection with the characters. Just like in real life, you only catch snatches of their existence that is controlled by the social media and especially the urge to always be present in the right place.

Looking might not be that new ultimate HBO-offer, nevertheless worth buying. Now out on DVD through Warner. We bet that once you start, you just keep on watching.

Didier BECU
29/01/2015


NL

Televisiemakers proberen (gelukkig maar) tegenwoordig om hun grenzen zo ver mogelijk te verleggen. De komedies waarbij een lachband aangaf dat het publiek moest schuddebuiken, ligt ondertussen ver achter ons en dus halen de producenten niet langer de neus op voor wat experiment. Het is niet de eerste keer dat je dit leest, maar HBO is één van de vaandeldragers van nieuwe (betere) televisie. Nieuw in de HBO-catalogus is Looking, een serie die ongetwijfeld zijn voor- en tegenstanders zal hebben, want deze creatie van Michael Lannan beantwoordt aan alle voorwaarden van een hippe televisieserie. Een Amerikaanse criticus vond zelfs dat Looking best kon doorgaan voor een Sex & The City voor de homogemeenschap. En tja, hoe verder je in het seizoen raakt (acht afleveringen) hoe meer je denkt dat deze stelling steek houdt.

Een andere referentie die de producers liever horen is natuurlijk Girls. Dat geldt zeker qua structuur, want net als de reeks van Lena Dunham spelen we ook in Looking in iedere aflevering 25 minuten een voyeur die wil zien hoe mensen leven. We volgen Patrick Murray (Jonathan Groff), Augustin (Frankie J. Álvarez), Dom (Murray Bartlett), Kevin Matheson (Russell Tovey) en Richie Ventura (Raúl Castillo). Ze zijn alle vijf homo en leven in het mondaine San Francisco. De vijf dertigers hebben zichzelf al lang gevonden en het enige waar ze zich zorgen over maken is of ze de juiste handcrème in hun winkelmandje hebben en of dat ze het juiste pakje voor de Gay Parade hebben gekozen. Dat is misschien het zwakke punt van deze serie. Het is niet zo erg met ons gesteld dat we alleen maar mensen willen zien die met zichzelf in de knoop liggen, maar deze vijf hebben het toch wel zeer gemakkelijk. Kopzorgen hebben ze zelden, en ze vertegenwoordigen alle clichés die eigen zijn aan het homomilieu (een soundtrack die bestaat uit nummers als I Will Survive van Gloria Gaynor of de verafgoding voor matrozen, zijn daar maar twee voorbeelden van).

Maar goed, dat is niet meer dan detailkritiek, niet? Geen mens die zich afvraagt of James Bond het protype van een echte spion is als hij in zijn luie stoel Goldfinger bekijkt. Als je de clichés kan vergeten, dan is Looking zelfs een zeer aangename serie. Een eigentijdse romcom die als een trein voorbijraast met degelijke vertolkingen en grappige momenten. Een echt verhaal moet je niet zoeken. In iedere aflevering gaat men op zoek naar iets (meestal dates) en dat gebeurt aan de hand van conversaties die zich ofwel op een kamer, op straat of in de disco afspelen. Door het torenhoog tempo krijg je geen echte band met de personages. Net zoals in het echte leven, vang je slechts flarden op van hun bestaan dat wordt gecontroleerd door sociale media en vooral de drang om steeds op de juiste plek aanwezig te zijn.

Looking is misschien niet de HBO-topper, desalniettemin het aanschaffen waard. Nu uit via Warner op dvd. Wedden dat eens je eraan begint je gewoon verder blijft kijken?

Didier BECU
29/01/2015


29/01/2015 :  - LOOKING SEASON 1 29/01/2015 :  - LOOKING SEASON 1 29/01/2015 :  - LOOKING SEASON 1 29/01/2015 :  - LOOKING SEASON 1 29/01/2015 :  - LOOKING SEASON 1 29/01/2015 :  - LOOKING SEASON 1 29/01/2015 :  - LOOKING SEASON 1 29/01/2015 :  - LOOKING SEASON 1 29/01/2015 :  - LOOKING SEASON 1 29/01/2015 :  - LOOKING SEASON 1 29/01/2015 :  - LOOKING SEASON 1 29/01/2015 :  - LOOKING SEASON 1 29/01/2015 :  - LOOKING SEASON 1 29/01/2015 :  - LOOKING SEASON 1 29/01/2015 :  - LOOKING SEASON 1 29/01/2015 :  - LOOKING SEASON 1

 

Next reviews
LIQUORICE RIVER • Russell
MARTIN HANNETT AND STEVE HOPKINS • The Invisible Girls
JOHAN TROCH • Enlightened
CHLOE ROBICHAUD • Sarah Prefers To Run
• LOW WINTER SUN
POPULARE MECHANIK • Kollektion 03 Compiled By Holger Hiller:
VARSOVIE • L'Heure Et La Trajectoire
PENELOPE ANTENA • Feel It Coming, You Keep, Come Home To Me
• BRAQUO - SEASON 3
• REVOLUTION SEASON 2

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same genre: GAY
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Dito Montiel: Boulevard
DEAN FRANCIS • Drown
KARIM ANOUIZ • Praia Do Futuro
MISCHA KAMP • Jongens (Boys)
KARIM ANOUIZ • Praia Do Futuro
ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK • Something Must Break
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride
RYAN MURPHY • The Normal Heart
ROBIN CAMPILLO • Eastern Boys
DAVID LAMBERT • Je Suis A Toi (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static