tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

09/05/2014 :  - Nikita, Season 3

Nikita, Season 3

MovieTV series
ActionTV Series

[60/100]   

Warner Home Video
09/05/2014, Didier BECU

EN

I guess the name of Nikita sounds quite familiar, not? Nah, we're not talking about that famous tune by Elton John, but of course we're having the French classic by Luc Besson in mind that later got a second (American) life with Bridget Fonda in Point Of No Return (or if you prefer The Assassin). As it's usual the case with successful movies, producers smell money and so they decided to make a series out of the franchise. In Nikita's case it became two. Between 1997 and 2001 there was La Femme Nikita with Peta Wilson in the leading role. It seemed like they couldn't get enough from the female spy as from 2010 the Vietnamese beauty Maggie Q gave the series some new breath. Sadly enough the producers decided to put a final point after 6 episodes from the 4th season after Nikita's adventures. We did say "sadly enough" as Nikita deserved better. It's not top television, but the series has put us during 22 episodes on the edge of the chair and be honest about it: not every series can claim this!


In the meantime everybody knows the basic story about Nikita. She wasn't exactly a good girl in her younger days and so she ended up in jail. To avoid the fatal death row, she was raised by the government to become the ultimate spy and killer. She could stay alive, but lost all dignity or rights as it was even impossible for her to love someone. Back then she worked for the Section One-organisation. After a while the government discovered that the secret organisation played lots of dirty games. As the President thought it'd be shame to dismantle the organisation, he decided to give it a fresh name and a brand new boss. Section One became Division and the new leader became: former CIA-analyst Ryan Fletcher (Noah Bean). The rest of his team consists of Nikita (Maggie Q), Michael (Shane West), Alex (Lyndsy Fonseca), Sean (Dillon Casey) and hacker Birkhoff (Aaron Stanford).


Nikita's biggest enemy is Amanda (Melinda Clarke). Along with her friend Ari Tasarov (Peter Outerbridge) she's on the run, but her goal is crystal clear: to eliminate Nikita. Amanda has worldwide connections and so there's danger on every corner. And during the time that Nikita doesn't have to run for her life, she has some spare moments left for romance as Michael asks Nikita in the first episode to marry him.


I must confess by saying that I never saw La Femme Nikita. A human life is limited in time and it's simply impossible to see everything. Having said that, I never had any difficulties in following the stories. Okay, all by all they're rather simple, so you don't have to force your mind that much. Nikita is perfect popcorn fodder. Ideal stuff to fill some lost 40 minutes. There's tension, it's flashy and the acting is decent. Perhaps it's me, but I couldn't escape the feeling that Maggie Q. looks similar to French goddess Sophie Marceau. That means she gets some bonus points. But right, we were talking about the quality of the performances. Anyway, if you want to dive into the world of Nikita then you can grab the 3rd season as it's now out on Warner.

Didier BECU
09/05/2014


NL

Klinkt de naam Nikita je ook bekend in de oren? Neen, natuurlijk hebben we het niet over de hit van Elton John, wel over de Franse klassieker van Luc Besson die later met Bridget Fonda als Point Of No Return (of zo je wil The Assassin) een tweede Amerikaans leven kreeg. Zoals dat zo vaak gaat met succesvolle films roken producenten geld en werd een nieuwe televisieserie geboren. In het geval van deze superagente werden er dat zelfs twee. Tussen 1997 en 2001 verscheen La Femme Nikita met Peta Wilson in de hoofdrol. Blijkbaar kon men maar niet genoeg krijgen van deze spionne, want vanaf 2010 mocht de knappe Maggie Q de rol overnemen. Helaas waren de kijkcijfers aan de magere kant waardoor onlangs de producenten ten onrechte besloten om na zes afleveringen van het vierde seizoen definitief een punt achter haar avonturen te zetten. We schrijven wel degelijk "ten onrechte", want alhoewel Nikita geen toptelevisie is, kon de serie ons 22 afleveringen aan de buis kluisteren en dat kun je nu ook weer niet van alle series zeggen.


Iedereen weet ondertussen dat Nikita in haar jeugd een allesbehalve braaf meisje was. Na enige tijd in de bajes te hebben doorgebracht werd de vrouw tot spionne en moordenares opgeleid. Op deze manier kon ze wel aan de doodstraf ontsnappen, maar verloor ze ook al haar waardigheid. Zelfs het recht op liefde raakte ze kwijt. Ze heeft jarenlang gediend voor Section One, maar deze geheime organisatie bleek heel wat vuile spelletjes te hebben gespeeld. De Amerikaanse president vindt de organisatie evenwel te belangrijk om zo maar op te doeken daarom krijgt de afdeling een nieuwe naam (Division) en een nieuwe baas: de voormalige CIA-analist Ryan Fletcher (Noah Bean) die de opdracht krijgt om de warboel van weleer recht te zetten. Hij kan rekenen op een team dat bestaat uit (natuurlijk) Nikita (Maggie Q), Michael (Shane West), Alex (Lyndsy Fonseca), Sean (Dillon Casey) en computerfanaat Birkhoff (Aaron Stanford).


Nikitas grote vijand is Amanda (Melinda Clarke) die samen met haar vriend Ari Tasarov (Peter Outerbridge) op de vlucht is geslagen. Het doel van Amanda is overduidelijk: Nikita uit de weg ruimen. Geen enkele plek is nog veilig voor Nikita, want haar rivaal heeft overal mannetjes (of zelfs vrouwtjes) zitten. Tussen de vele actiescènes door is er ook nog plaats voor wat romantiek, want partner Michael vraagt Nikita ten huwelijk. Veel tijd voor vrijages is er evenwel niet.


Eerlijkheidshalve heb ik La Femme Nikita nog nooit gezien. Een mensenleven is nu eenmaal beperkt in tijd, en dus kun je niet alles zien. Toch heb ik op geen ogenblik moeite gehad om de (eenvoudige) verhaaltjes te kunnen volgen. 22 afleveringen lang die elk zo'n 40 minuten duren krijgt Nikita de opdracht om één van haar vijanden te elimineren. Veel gebeurt er niet, toch is het ideaal popcornvoer. Er is misschien niet bijster lang nagedacht over de inhoud, gelukkig zijn de acteerprestaties van een meer dan degelijk niveau. Het zal waarschijnlijk wel aan mij liggen, maar de Vietnamese Maggie Q. lijkt verdraaid veel op Sophie Marceau en daarmee scoort ze hoog op de schoonheidsladder. Maar juist, we hadden het over de acteerprestaties.


Wie 22 episodes lang in Nikitas spionagewereld wil doorbrengen kan vanaf nu het derde seizoen op Warner in huis halen. Sexy, flashy, spannend en zelfs niet eens zo slecht. Soms moet een serie niet meer zijn dan dat!

Didier BECU
09/05/2014


09/05/2014 :  - Nikita, Season 3 09/05/2014 :  - Nikita, Season 3 09/05/2014 :  - Nikita, Season 3 09/05/2014 :  - Nikita, Season 3 09/05/2014 :  - Nikita, Season 3 09/05/2014 :  - Nikita, Season 3 09/05/2014 :  - Nikita, Season 3 09/05/2014 :  - Nikita, Season 3 09/05/2014 :  - Nikita, Season 3 09/05/2014 :  - Nikita, Season 3 09/05/2014 :  - Nikita, Season 3 09/05/2014 :  - Nikita, Season 3 09/05/2014 :  - Nikita, Season 3 09/05/2014 :  - Nikita, Season 3 09/05/2014 :  - Nikita, Season 3 09/05/2014 :  - Nikita, Season 3

 

Next reviews
FOLK FOR THE PEOPLE • Folk for the People: a benefit compilation for the victims of repression in Ukraine
RYAN COOGLER • Fruitvale Station
STORY OFF • Amazing Conversations
IQ • The Road of Bones
PETER HYAMS • Enemies Closer
ISTVAN SZABO • Confidence (Bizalom)
HEZZEL • Exposure
HEARTSREVOLUTION • Ride or Die
RAHID NUGMANOV • The Needle
SHUICHI OKITA • The story of Yonosuke

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: ACTION + TV SERIES
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• Arrow-Season 2
• Chicago Fire Season 2
• NIKITA Season 4

 

Same genre: ACTION
GEORGE MILLER • Mad Max: Fury Road
JULIUS AVERY • Son Of A Gun
JAUME COLLET-SERRA • Run All Night
JAMES WAN • Fast & Furious 7
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
TERENCE YOUNG • Dr. No
JEAN-BAPTISTE LEONETTI • Beyond The Reach
GILLES BEHAT • Rue Barbare
• THE 100 SEASON 1
• PERSON OF INTERST SEASON 3

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
• THE LAST SHIP SEASON 1

Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me