tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

05/02/2013 :  - Review of the GRAUZONE Festival in Amsterdam on 1st February 2013

Review of the GRAUZONE Festival in Amsterdam on 1st February 2013

Concert
Cold WaveMinimalPost PunkPunk

[85/100]   
05/02/2013, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

It was the first edition of "GRAUZONE", "a young and ambitious, multi-disciplinary festival devoted to the best in ‘new wave’ music and art". On the program, no less than thirteen bands with a musical spectrum spanning punk, post-punk, synth pop, electro and cold/darkwave but also films, exhibitions and of course afterparties. Well, honestly, this festival was a huge success. The Melkweg venue was full with a majority of people in the 40s and 50s and it was even difficult to move around. There were three stages: the main stage was mainly devoted to the 'legendary' bands from the 80's, the 'Old Stage' was occupied by (mostly old) punk/post-punk bands and the third stage was a small exhibition room, all painted in white, where minimal-wave and cold-wave bands were scheduled to appear. It's true that these bands usually need less room to play but there was clearly a lack of comfort for the artists and the public in this room. A shame because the bands which played there were from far the most interesting bands, in my opinion.

The first act to appear in this Media Room, Linea Aspera, was eagerly awaited. In just a few months, the London duo, composed of Alison Lewis (Vocals/Synths) and Ryan Ambridge (Synths/Programming), had become one of the most promising bands in the synth-pop genre. Their music is very catchy eighties minimal wave topped by an amazing, sensual and haunting voice singing extremely intelligent and touching lyrics. Unfortunately, at the beginning of January, the band announced that they were calling it quits. Their show in Amsterdam was therefore the last opportunity to see them live on stage.

The room was packed when the band started playing "Synapse". Alison Lewis had a wonderful presence with her beautiful silhouette and her very sensual and mysterious voice. Ryan Ambridge was focused on his keyboards. I don't know whether it was because it was their last concert, but there was a lurking violence, a hidden tension during this set. Then the band played "Malarone", a song for which Alison Lewis directed a wonderful, very organic video and the hit "Eviction", a fantastic song she wrote about the death of her cat. During "Detachment", the violence I was talking about became tangible as Lewis started screaming like crazy. It became even crazier on the last song, "Kinabalu", a recent song, more experimental and more industrial. Lewis walked into the audience and moved frantically, screaming like a panther. Ambridge was making as much noise as he could by hitting his keyboard and the show ended in a complete fury. An amazing set, much too short but so intense! We are looking forward to hearing the new projects of these two amazing artists.

Setlist: Synapse, Malarone, Eviction, Lamanai, Syncretism, Detachment, Kinabalu.
Watch them perform "Kinabalu" below...
After the concert, I took the unique opportunity to talk to Alison Lewis about her passions and her future projects: read the interview here or watch it on Youtube here.

Meanwhile, on the main stage, A Certain Ratio gave an efficient show. This legendary band from Manchester created the funk-postpunk genre in the late 70s, together with Gang of Four and later Talking Heads. The band's name is taken from the lyrics of Brian Eno's song "The True Wheel" from the album Taking Tiger Mountain (By Strategy). On stage, a complete band with 5 musicians was accompanying the singer and bass player Jeremy "Jez" Kerr. The atmosphere was hot with soul and funk vibes, and the audience, though relatively quiet, was enjoying the music, especially on classics like "Do the Du" and the last two songs of the set: "Be What You Wanna Be" and "Shack Up". Have a look at an excerpt from their show ("Wonder Why"):

Due to the overlap with the previous concerts, I couldn't attend the show of Ulterior. But I've seen them three times, among others at the BIM Festival (review here), so I know them quite well. Their music is a mix of raw post-punk music à la Stooges and darkwave-electro. It is reminiscent of Sisters of Mercy but with more edge, more pure aggressivity. We were told that their show was less violent, less intense than previous shows.

In the Media Room, Das Ding, the project of Dutchman Danny Bosten, gave its first (!) concert. This electro-pioneer released dark and danceable electro in the 80s, through his cassette label Tear Apart Tapes. The band had technical problems but as a whole, they delivered an interesting set, making the link between past and present. A nice opportunity to go and listen to his recent album, H.S.T.A.

After a quick beer, it was time for Chameleons Vox, the project which Mark Burgess, the original singer of the legendary English band Chameleons, created to revive his repertoire with a new live band, which now includes also the original drummer, John Lever. I consider The Chameleons as one of the best postpunk bands, not only for the music but also for the extremely intelligent and poetic lyrics written by Burgess. On the main stage of the festival, Chameleons Vox played a wonderful set. Burgess was magnificent: he recently cut his hair, which made him look even more like in the 80s. Obviously he has decided to play bass on stage again and it looked and sounded great! After "Swamp Thing", the band played what I would call a 'classical Vox set' including hits but also rather less known songs, hidden jewels like "Soul In Isolation", which lasted more than 9 minutes! At the beginning, Burgess' voice was a bit drowned in the other instruments but as a whole, the sound was very good! I particularly appreciated "Monkeyland", a song that they don't play so often. Watch the live video below! At the end of the show, I had to leave but the band played the classic "Second Skin", one of my 10 favourite songs of all times. I was told that Burgess even indulged in some stage diving at the end: shit, I missed that!
Setlist: Swamp Thing, A Person Isn't Safe Anywhere These Days, Looking Inwardly, Perfume Garden, Monkeyland, In Answer, I'll Remember, Soul In Isolation, Singing Rule Britannia (While the Walls Close In), Caution, Second Skin.

Then I hurried up to the Media Room for another much expected minimal wave/cold-wave band: Lebanon Hanover. I had already seen them in Brussels at a concert organized by Romance Moderne and I was eager to see them again! This duo formed in 2010 includes Laurissa Iceglass, originally from Switzerland, on vocals, guitars and synths and William Maybelline, from England, on vocals, bass and synths. They take their girl/boy vocals, razor sharp guitars and brooding bass-lines to create some sort of synthetic apocalyptic pop, reminiscent of Siouxsie, Cure, Bauhaus or Xmal Deutschland. Some people compare them to The XX but they are much better! In fact, they should have the success that The XX has, in my opinion. Like the other bands in the Media Room, they struggled a bit to get a good sound but as a whole, the set was great! With their songs, they managed to create a very dark atmosphere, which took us in some sort of trance. After two widely acclaimed albums, they confirm their status of leaders on the minimal wave scene. Check them playing their latest single, "Gallow Dance", below:

Unfortunately, I didn't get the opportunity to see Zounds, Fehlfarben, Frank (Just Frank) and The Mob. Clearly, it wasn't a good idea to let so many bands play on three stages in such a short time. Maybe a lesson for next year's edition? After a short cigarette break, I hurried up to the main stage for the show of Echo & The Bunnymen. The famous postpunk band from Liverpool was playing a special long set, revisiting its classical albums from the 80s. As usual, the light show was minimal (Ian Mc Cullogh doesn't like spotlights) and the band was constantly playing in the dark. You could barely see Ian's face but with the camera flashes you could see that he was wearing a beard. Following "Going Up", the usual opening song, the band played "Rescue", the first highlights of the show and the fans began to move and to sing along: "Won't You Come to My... Rescue". The band went on to play "Villiers Terrace" and in the middle of the song, they played excerpts from "Roadhouse Blues" (Doors): fun! The first part of the concert ended with "Seven Seas" and the beautiful "Bring On The Dancing Horses". Then it was just a string of jewels, with "Over The Wall", "All That Jazz" and, to finish, the absolute classic "The Killing Moon", while "The Cutter" brought the final... cut to the concert and the audience seemed to be satisfied with the show. In the encore, they played "Nothing Lasts Forever", with the usual hint at Lou Reed's "Walk on the Wild Side" and "Lips Like Sugar". A great show musically but in terms of human contact with their audience, Echo & The Bunnymen are only an 'echo' of what they used to be....
Setlist: Going Up, Rescue, Do It Clean, Pride, Villiers Terrace / Roadhouse Blues, Seven Seas, Bedbugs and Ballyhoo, Bring On the Dancing Horses, Rust, Over the Wall, Never Stop, All That Jazz, The Killing Moon, The Cutter. Encore: Nothing Lasts Forever / Walk on the Wild Side (Lou Reed cover), Lips Like Sugar

Due to my planned interview with Alison Lewis (Linea Aspera), I only watched a few minutes of Newclear Waves: it sounded much more techno than minimal wave! Clearly Alessandro Adriani feels the need to let his music evolve. I am curious to discover his next releases!

At the end of this festival, the conclusion is that Grauzone has immediately earned its place among Europe's best 'dark' festivals, alongside Summer Darkness, BIM or Amphi. Let's hope that next year, there will be less schedule overlaps between acts and that the lineup will give a greater importance to young new bands, which represent the future of new-wave!

Thank a lot to GRAUZONE and to Natasja Alers aka Trish Trash for the perfect organisation!

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
05/02/2013


 

Next reviews
DIORAMA • even the DEVIL doesn't care
NICOLAS WINDING REFN • Bronson
THE GODSPEED SOCIETY • Killing Tale
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • The Goat
JOSH WHITEMAN • Shadowplay, The Making of Anton Corbijn
MS30 • T.I.A.
E-CRAFT • The roots
STEPHEN MILBURN ANDERSON • Cash
AN PIERLE • Strange days
MODULATE • Robots EP

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights

 

Same genre: PUNK
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
COCAINE PISS/SPLIT V/A • Cosmic Bullshit + Sex Weirdo’s
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
TACOCAT • Lost Time

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life