tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

18/12/2012 :  - Stash House

Stash House

Movie


[60/100]   
18/12/2012, Didier BECU

EN

A thriller (or if you want a horrormovie) with Dolph Lundgren? Yeah, they still do exist. You’ll never hear us saying that the blonde god from Sweden can act, but at least he’s a very funny guy! And if you don’t believe us, you better hurry to the dvdshop and go rent The Expendables 2.

Most of his movies never saw any cinematheatre and that’s also the case with Stash House. This lowbudgetmovie is made by Eduardo Rodriguez who previously made an episode from the highly acclaimed Fear It Self-series

As it's always the case with this type of movies the story is a bit of a downer. David Nash (Sean Faris) has a good present for his wife Emma (Briana Evigan). Because of his job at the bank, he knows a lot of secrets from his clients and so it happens that he could buy a dreamhouse for a steal. His wife is happy about it but the joy doesn’t long that last as he soon finds out the house belonged to some drugsmuggler who has hidden tons of heroine inside it. As expected one Andy Spector (Dolph Lundgren) shows up to claim what’s his.

Stash House is a cheap movie and you can see that. Not that we have anything against it, but the suspenseful moments are spoiled by black and white-footage that come from the securitycameras. These cheap images have worked with the first Paranormal Activity, but we’re quite bored of it.

The star of the cast is of course Dolph Lundgren and he’s the man who makes this movie a watchable one. You’ll definitely find better things in this genre but those who can’t get enough from Lundgren will definitely dig it.

 

Didier BECU
18/12/2012


NL

 

Een thriller (of zo u het wil een horrorfilm) met Dolph Lundgren? Jawel, ze bestaan nog en ook al zal je ons nooit horen beweren dat de Zweed kan acteren is hij wel een grappige vent! Wie dat niet gelooft, moet zich maar naar de videotheek reppen en een exemplaar van The Expendables 2 uit de rekken halen.

De meeste films van deze spierbundel kwamen regelrecht op video uit, zonder dat ze ook maar één bioscoopzaal hadden gezien en dat is bij Stash House niet anders. Deze lowbudgetfilm werd in elkaar ingeblikt door ene Eduardo Rodriguez, een man die griezelfanaten misschien zullen kennen van de Fear It Self-reeks.

Het verhaal is zoals steeds vrij ongeloofwaardig. David Nash (Sean Faris) heeft voor zijn vrouwtje Emma (Briana Evigan) een bijzonder geschenk. Omdat de man een wit voetje bij de bankinstelling heeft, kan hij tegen een zacht prijsje een droomwoning kopen. Vrouwlief is in de wolken, doch is het geluk van zeer korte duur. Het huis werd namelik gehuurd door één of andere drugbaron die de vele zakjes heroïne in het huis heeft verstopt. Het duurt dan ook niet lang vooraleer de gewelddadige Andy Spector (wat een naam zeg!, Dolph Lundgren) komt opdraven.

Stash House is een goedkope film en dat merk je jammer genoeg net iets te veel. De spannende momenten worden verknoeid omdat Rodriguez gebruik maakt van de (goedkope) bewakingopnames. Zo’n zwart-witbeeld lukte wel in Paranormal Activity, maar ondertussen hebben we het wel gehad met dit soort beelden.

De cast loopt er een beetje zielloos bij, maar gelukkig redt Lundgren enigszins de meubelen. Je vindt zonder twijfel betere films in het genre, maar de Lundgren-fans zullen zonder meer in hun nopjes zijn met deze thriller die ondanks zijn origineel scenario net iets te veel clichés bevat.

Didier BECU
18/12/2012


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger