tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

09/02/2015 :  - THE CODE SEASON 1

THE CODE SEASON 1

MovieTV series
CrimeTV Series
Lumire
09/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Of course it will have something to do with us, but the only Australian series that we can come up with is Neighbours, or God forbid The Flying Doctors. Who thinks of Lumière, almost certainly adds the word crime to it. Thanks to the Flemish film house we can become acquainted with an Australian series that is something totally different: The Code. Granted, from the first moments it is obvious that the creators saw The Bridge or any other Scandinavian crime-highlight, but that is probably the strongest asset of The Code!

Apparently you can not trust any politician, not even in Australia. A young aboriginal is accused of murder because his girlfriend died after an accident with a stolen car. Accidentally internet journalist Ned Banks (Dan Spielman), a name that makes politicians tremble, comes in possession of a coded film. Ned's brother Jess (Ashley Zukerman) who suffers from the Asperger syndrome, is a genius behind the computer and can fix the broken file. The two discover that the car was hit by a truck with a secret cargo on board. Barely a few hours later, Jess is kidnapped and tortured. The two are involved in a dirty, dangerous game in which no one (even not politicians) can be trusted.

The Code consists of six episodes (each with a length of one hour) and as in the best series, everything gets more exciting and climbs to a climax that strikes the viewer totally numb. We hope for the Australians that their political representatives are the product of Shelley Birse’s fantasy, but The Code is surely one of the better Australian series. The performances are more than fine, and probably many boys hearts will beat faster when we tell them that Lucy Lawless is involved. No, it sounds like a name from some obscene film, but older readers know her as Xena The Warrior Princess.

The Code is released on Lumière and like most of their releases it is an outright winner!

Didier BECU
09/02/2015


NL

Het zal natuurlijk wel iets met ons te maken hebben, maar de enige Australische reeks die wij kunnen verzinnen is Neighbours, of godbetert The Flying Doctors. Wie Lumière zegt, voegt daar bijna zonder nadenken het woord crime aan toe. Het is dan ook dankzij het Vlaamse filmhuis dat we kennis kunnen maken met een Australische serie van een heel ander kaliber: The Code. Toegegeven, vanaf de eerste ogenblikken is het zonneklaar dat de makers ook naar The Bridge of andere Scandinavische toppers hebben gekeken, maar laat dat nu net de sterkste troef van The Code zijn!

Blijkbaar kun je geen enkele politicus nog vertrouwen en dat is in Australië niet anders. Een jonge aboriginal wordt van moord beschuldigd omdat hij met een gestolen auto zijn vriendin de dood injoeg. Per ongeluk komt internetjournalist Ned Banks (Dan Spielman), voor wie politici bibberen als ze zijn naam horen, in het bezit van een gecodeerd filmpje. Neds broer Jess (Ashley Zukerman) lijdt aan het aspergersyndroom, maar kan als geen ander overweg met de computer. Na het filmpje te hebben geformateerd, ontdekken de twee dat de auto van de weg werd gereden door een vrachtwagen met een geheime lading aan boord, waarvan niemand het fijne mag weten. Nauwelijks een paar uur later wordt Jess gekidnapt en gefolterd. De twee zijn betrokken bij een vuil, gevaarlijk spel waarin niemand is te vertrouwen (zelfs politici niet).

The Code telt zes afleveringen (elk een uur speeltijd) en zoals in de beste series, wordt alles met de minuut spannender om te ontladen in een climax die de kijker murw slaat. We hopen wel voor de Australiërs dat hun politieke vertegenwoordigers een verzinsel van Shelley Birse zijn, maar als visitekaartje voor de betere Australische serie kan het in ieder geval tellen. De vertolkingen zijn meer dan prima en wellicht zullen heel wat jongensharten sneller kloppen als we vertellen dat ook Lucy Lawless van de partij is. Neen, het klinkt wel als een naam uit één of andere schunnige film, maar oudere lezers weten natuurlijk dat zij Xena, The Warrior Princess is.

 The Code is uitgebracht op Lumière en zoals de meeste releases op dit label, een regelrechte aanrader!

Didier BECU
09/02/2015


09/02/2015 :  - THE CODE SEASON 1 09/02/2015 :  - THE CODE SEASON 1 09/02/2015 :  - THE CODE SEASON 1 09/02/2015 :  - THE CODE SEASON 1 09/02/2015 :  - THE CODE SEASON 1 09/02/2015 :  - THE CODE SEASON 1 09/02/2015 :  - THE CODE SEASON 1 09/02/2015 :  - THE CODE SEASON 1 09/02/2015 :  - THE CODE SEASON 1 09/02/2015 :  - THE CODE SEASON 1 09/02/2015 :  - THE CODE SEASON 1 09/02/2015 :  - THE CODE SEASON 1 09/02/2015 :  - THE CODE SEASON 1 09/02/2015 :  - THE CODE SEASON 1 09/02/2015 :  - THE CODE SEASON 1

 

Next reviews
TELLURION • Tellurion
ANNA ODELL • The Reunion (Återträffen)
NEON ELECTRONICS • Ne
AMAT ESCALANTE • Heli
JACK HILL • Spider Baby
CLAIRE DENIS • Trouble Every Day
SLEATER KINNEY • No Cities To Love
SIMUS • Vox Vult
DRY CAN • Meanwhile
• CONTINUUM SEASON 2

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: CRIME + TV SERIES
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• THE TEAM SEASON 1
• LONGMIRE-SEASON 2
• THE FINDER
• BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 5
• BROADCHURCH SEASON 1
• FOYLE'S WAR-SEASON 8
• THE FALL SERIES TWO
• BANSHEE SEASON 2

 

Same genre: CRIME
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
ANDRE VAN DUREN • De Bende Van Oss
CRAIG ZOBEL • COMPLIANCE
RICHARD BROOKS • IN COLD BLOOD
DAVID BRADLEY • Harry Brown
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
• THE LAST SHIP SEASON 1
• ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK SEASON 2

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna