tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

09/05/2014 :  - The Legacy

The Legacy

MovieTV series
CrimeTV Series

[85/100]   

Lumire
09/05/2014, Didier BECU

EN

It's very hard to imagine, but did you know that in the Benelux alone 150.000 copies have been sold from Borgen? That's a normal evolution as it seems like the audience from today is longing for quality television. Due to the invention and victory of home cinema, the living room is taking over the traditional cinema theatre. Nobody knows what is put in Scandinavian water there, but it is the place to be if you want to have quality on your screen. On a very regular base we get series. Most of them, like Borgen and The Killing, get an (inferior) American remake. I really would bet a lot of money that one day this will happen with The Legacy too, or if you prefer its Danish title: Arvingerne. The Danish TV-station DR knew after the first episodes that they had another hit with The Legacy. 1.7 million people were watching and soon after, green light was given to direct a second season. Anyone who says Scandinavian quality says also Lumière too. This time it ain't different as the Belgian distributor has released The Legacy in the Benelux on both DVD and Blu-ray.

From the very first second you'll see that The Legacy is another winner. That's normal if you know that writer Maya Ilsoe took Festen by Thomas Vinterberg as an inspiration: the best family drama you
could witness on the silver screen. It's, like the title suggest, all about a legacy. So no dead body that is cut in half and put on some bridge. Nah, an old fashioned quarrelling, but one you haven't seen
that before!

The flamboyant and extremely rich artist Veronika Gronnegaard has lost her battle against cancer. Soon after the question arises who will get her gigantic house. Will it be the son who was always neglected by his mother? Or perhaps it will be the daughter who wants to make a museum from it. But no. Out of the blue comes Signe: a girl from the local flower shop with a wrapped paper in where Veronika claims that she will be the lucky one. Veronika was a child of the 1968-revolution and believed in free love. Signe was an unwanted baby and adopted by another family. As Veronika
regrets that decision now, she wants to make it good by giving her unknown daughter her left fortune. The other family members swear that they won't let this happen.

The Legacy is intriguing and is along with the second season of The Bridge the best thing we saw on our television so far this year. The directing is sublime. Some episodes are made by Pernilla August who directed the very underrated (but sublime) Beyond with Noomi Rapace. The cast is also kind of perfect, with well-known Scandinavian artists like Triune Dyrholm (Festen) and Jesper Christensen. At first sight you should swear the family is perfect, but that's only a facade as they're all harsh materialists. The sole exception is the naive Signe.

So yes, The Legacy is a genius work. Something that belongs in your collection. Now out on both DVD and Blu-ray on Lumière.

Didier BECU
09/05/2014


NL

Het blijft moeilijk om het te vatten, maar kan je je voorstellen dat er van Borgen in de Benelux alleen al zo’n 150.000 exemplaren over de toonbank zijn gegaan? Het publiek van vandaag is duidelijk in zijn nopjes naar kwaliteitsvolle televisieseries. Dat is normaal, de homecinema verovert stilletjes aan de traditionele bioscoop en het aanbod in de theaterzalen is tegenwoordig, om het zacht uit te drukken, vrij teleurstellend. Wat de juiste reden is mag Joost weten, maar Scandinavië laat alle andere continenten een poepje ruiken als het op kwaliteit aankomt. Met de regelmaat van de klok verschijnen er topseries die alle records verpulveren en die nadien (net zoals Borgen of The Killing) aan aangepast (inferieur) Amerikaans kleedje krijgen. We durven er verdomd veel geld op wedden dat dat ook het geval zal zijn met The Legacy, of indien je het liever in het Deens hoort: Arvingerne. De Deense omroep DR besefte na enkele afleveringen dat ze met The Legacy wederom een superhit in huis hadden. 1,7 miljoen Denen waren aan de buis gekluisterd en dat was meer dan reden genoeg om het licht op groen te zetten. Wie Scandinavische kwaliteit zegt, mompelt bijna gelijktijdig Lumière en dat is deze keer niet anders. Het Belgische productiehuis heeft The Legacy in de Benelux uitgebracht, en dit zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.


Vanaf de eerste seconde is het duidelijk dat The Legacy een schot in de roos is. Dat is ook normaal als je weet dat schrijfster Maya Ilsoe zich inspireerde op één van de knapste familiedrama’s die ooit op het witte doek is getoond: Festen van Thomas Vinterberg. Dus neen, in deze serie gaat het niet om een lichaam dat op een brug middendoor is gesneden, maar gewoon een ouderwetse (overheerlijke, jawel!) familieruzie waar de vonken vanaf vliegen. De inzet is een erfenis. De excentrieke en steenrijke Veronika Gronnegaard heeft de strijd tegen borstkanker verloren. Meteen luidt de vraag wie de gigantische villa zal erven. Wordt het de verwaarloosde zoon die aast op dat beetje geluk waarvan hij denkt dat hij er recht op heeft of wordt het de dochter die de woning wil omtoveren tot een heus museum? Neen, geen van beide. Plots komt bloemenverkoopster Signe met een gekreukeld briefje op de proppen. Zij krijgt het huis, want zij is Veronikas dochter die ze heeft afgestaan ter adoptie. De kunstenares was immers een kind van de 68-revolutie waarin vrije liefde hoog in het vaandel stond. De andere familieleden laten echter niet begaan en er ontstaat een bikkelharde ruzie over wie recht heeft op het huis.


The Legacy is ongelooflijk intrigerend en behoort samen met het tweede seizoen van The Bridge tot het beste van wat we op televisiegebied hebben gezien. De regie is fantastisch. Bepaalde afleveringen zijn gedraaid door Pernilla August die het lichtjes fantastische (maar ondergewaardeerde) Beyond met Noomi Rapace heeft gedraaid. Ook de cast is om van te snoepen. Je ziet onder meer Triune Dyrholm (jawel, uit Festen) en Jesper Christensen. De familie die op het eerste gezicht een toonbeeld van perfectie is, is rot tot op het bot. Ze hebben allen iets te verbergen, en vooral ze zijn allemaal verschrikkelijk materialistisch, op de naïeve Signe na.


The Legacy is geniaal. Een mustsee, een serie die je in huis moet hebben. Nu uit op Lumière.

Didier BECU
09/05/2014


09/05/2014 :  - The Legacy 09/05/2014 :  - The Legacy 09/05/2014 :  - The Legacy 09/05/2014 :  - The Legacy 09/05/2014 :  - The Legacy 09/05/2014 :  - The Legacy 09/05/2014 :  - The Legacy 09/05/2014 :  - The Legacy 09/05/2014 :  - The Legacy 09/05/2014 :  - The Legacy 09/05/2014 :  - The Legacy 09/05/2014 :  - The Legacy 09/05/2014 :  - The Legacy 09/05/2014 :  - The Legacy 09/05/2014 :  - The Legacy 09/05/2014 :  - The Legacy

 

Next reviews
• Nikita, Season 3
FOLK FOR THE PEOPLE • Folk for the People: a benefit compilation for the victims of repression in Ukraine
RYAN COOGLER • Fruitvale Station
STORY OFF • Amazing Conversations
IQ • The Road of Bones
PETER HYAMS • Enemies Closer
ISTVAN SZABO • Confidence (Bizalom)
HEZZEL • Exposure
HEARTSREVOLUTION • Ride or Die
RAHID NUGMANOV • The Needle

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: CRIME + TV SERIES
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• THE TEAM SEASON 1
• LONGMIRE-SEASON 2
• THE FINDER
• BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 5
• BROADCHURCH SEASON 1
• THE CODE SEASON 1
• FOYLE'S WAR-SEASON 8
• THE FALL SERIES TWO

 

Same genre: CRIME
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
ANDRE VAN DUREN • De Bende Van Oss
CRAIG ZOBEL • COMPLIANCE
RICHARD BROOKS • IN COLD BLOOD
DAVID BRADLEY • Harry Brown
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
• THE LAST SHIP SEASON 1
• ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK SEASON 2

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules