tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

02/03/2015 :  - There is not such a thing as a 'wrong' movie. | Een film kan niet fout zijn

There is not such a thing as a 'wrong' movie.

Een film kan niet fout zijn

Article
02/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Last week, a discussion broke out in Belgium (or is it just in the world?) Yet another pointless discussion. The starting point was this time American Sniper by Clint Eastwood. It is probably his best film since The Unforgiven, and yet, moralists find that his movie should be banned. In his last biopic Eastwood paints the portrait of a loyal (albeit crazy) soldier who simply performs its task. We are not talking about whether Chris Kyle must be ashamed of his actions or not (as a pacifist, you may guess my answer), but the fact that Eastwood as director has the right to make such a film, and the right to express his opinion (even if it is for some downright objectionable). Without talking about the film itself, some found it even necessary to crucify Eastwood and a Flemish radio program even found it necessary to ask whether it is permissible to look at "bad" movies?

Pardon Me? Earlier this year we shouted that everyone has the right to draw cartoons in which Islam is ridiculized? We were convinced that censorship degrades the standards of our Western culture of which we are so proud. Should we ban a filmmaker for making a film about a person to whom he looks up? Besides, there is adequate attention for the fact that the sniper was at odds with himself. The story is not about the fantasy of a sick mind, it is a true story. And why should fans of this movie be ashamed? If we follow that path, we better abolish cinematography. Art may be controversial, you speak about things and you break taboos. Although we condemn this conservative world view (in this case America, and especially Texas), we surround ourselves
 with eerie circles of constricting moral laws.

It is a challenge to determine what is wrong and to try to do something about it. Besides, the most groundbreaking film of the pioneer days is probably the most racist ( The Birth of a Nation ). And what do you do with the genius Leni Riefenstahl, who gave cinema a different shape, but who was involved in filming Nazi propaganda ?

No, culture is not what it once was and still less how it was experienced. In the 70s, our parents went to the cinema for films about (fictional) sadistic Nazis who maltreated jews in concentration camps. That is no longer tolerated. Almost nothing is possible today. When a genius ( Lars Von Trier) portrays a woman who is sexually entangled (Nymphomaniac), we are shocked. We have freed ourselves from the yoke of the Catholic Church, but the resulting freedom has lasted only a few decades.

Once there was a time when a movie like American Sniper boosted our moral sense. Indeed, there is no better opportunity to see how some Americans think about the world than in this image of a patriot without borders,viewed through the eyes of a deeply conservative Republican. Facebook users and trashy papers reduce everything into
a meaningless one-liner. We accept that newspaper headlines are put on Facebook and discussed by people
who have never read the accompanying articles.
Do not let this happen to film. There are no "bad" movies, let alone people who would blame us that we look at them. Eastwood has shown his vision, it is up to the viewer to decide whether he agrees or not, and to the cinephile whether he has added something valuable. All the rest is superfluous...

Didier BECU
02/03/2015


NL

Deze week brak er in België (of is het gewoon in de hele wereld?) alweer een zinloze discussie uit. Het aanknopingspunt was deze keer American Sniper van Clint Eastwood. Het is wellicht zijn beste film sinds The Unforgiven, toch vinden moraalridders dat deze prent maar beter kan worden verbannen. In zijn nieuwste biopic schetst Eastwoodhet portret van een plichtstrouwe (weliswaar knettergekke) soldaat die gewoon zijn job doet. We gaan het niet hebben over het feit of Chris Kyle zich voor zijn daden moet schamen of niet (als pacifist kun je wellicht mijn antwoord raden), wel over het feit dat Eastwood als cineast het recht heeft om zo’n film te maken, en nog meer het recht heeft om zijn mening te uiten (ook al is die voor sommige ronduit verwerpelijk). Zonder het over de film zelf te hebben, vond iedereen het nodig om Eastwood te kruisigen en een Vlaams radioprogramma vond het zelfs nodig om de vraag te stellen of het wel geoorloofd is om naar “foute” films te kijken?

Sorry? Schreeuwden we begin dit jaar niet dat men het recht heeft om cartoons te tekenen waarin de islam in het belachelijke wordt getrokken? Waren we er niet van overtuigd dat censuur afbraak doet aan de normen van onze huidige westerse cultuur waarop we zo fier zijn? Moeten we dan een cineast verbieden om een film te maken over een persoon naar wie hij opkijkt? Trouwens, wie de film wél heeft gezien, zag ook dat er voldoende aandacht is besteed aan het feit dat de sluipschutter overhoop ligt met zichzelf. Het verhaal is trouwens niet de fantasie van één of andere zieke geest, het is gewoon een waargebeurd verhaal. Een portret van een man die echt heeft geleefd. En nog erger, waarom zou je je er als filmfan moeten voor schamen? Als we deze weg inslaan dan kunnen we de filmkunst gewoon aan de haak hangen. Kunst mag controversieel zijn, op deze manier spreek je erover en doorbreek je taboes. Ofschoon we een natie veroordelen wegens haar conservatieve wereldblik (in dit geval Amerika, en dan in het bijzonder Texas), omringen we onszelf met een angstaanjagende cirkel van morele wetten die ons denken alleen maar vernauwen. 

De uitdaging bestaat erin om dat foute te ontdekken en er als rechtschapen mens iets proberen aan te doen. Trouwens, de meest baanbrekende film uit de pionierstijd van de cinema is wellicht ook de meest racistische (The Birth Of A Nation). Of wat doe je met Leni Riefenstahl: het genie dat cinema een andere vorm gaf, maar dat wel deed door het draaien van nazipropaganda?

Neen, cultuur is niet meer wat het ooit was en nog minder hoe het wordt beleefd. In de jaren 70 hadden onze ouders plezier door in de bioscoop films te gaan bekijken hoe (fictieve) sadistische nazi’s in concentratiekampen joden behandelden. Dat zou je in 2015 niet meer kunnen zonder te worden gestenigd. Niets is mogelijk vandaag, zelfs wanneer een genie (Lars Von Trier) een portret maakt van een vrouw die seksueel in de knoop ligt met zichzelf (Nymphomaniac), steken we het moraliserende vingertje op. Men heeft zich misschien wel bevrijd van het juk van de katholieke kerk, maar de gewonnen vrijheid heeft het amper een paar decennia uitgehouden.

Ooit was er een tijd waarin een film als American Sniper ons moreel besef zou helpen groeien. Er bestaat immers geen mooiere gelegenheid om een indruk te krijgen van hoe sommige Amerikanen naar de wereld kijken dan in dit portret van een patriot zonder grenzen, bekeken door de ogen van een oerconservatieve Republikein. Facebookgebruikers en talrijke prulkranten maken tegenwoordig van alles een nietszeggende oneliner. We vinden het vandaag vanzelfsprekend dat we krantenartikels gewoon op Facebook plaatsen en wat over de titel palaveren zonder dat we het schrijfsel hebben gelezen. Laat dit niet met film gebeuren. Er bestaan geen “foute” films, laat staan dat er mensen zouden zijn die het ons kwalijk nemen dat we ernaar kijken. Eastwood heeft zijn visie getoond, het is aan de kijker om als mens uit te maken of hij het daarmee eens is of niet en als cinefiel om te besluiten of hij wat heeft bijgedragen aan de filmkunst. Al de rest is overbodig...

Didier BECU
02/03/2015


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real