tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

18/09/2014 :  - THICKER THAN WATER

THICKER THAN WATER

MovieTV series
CrimeTV Series

[77/100]   

Lumire
18/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

One month after the magnificent The Legacy  Lumière already is back with a brand new Swedish topper: Thicker Than Water (or Tjockare än vatten).

During ten episodes that all least one hour, the series fan is invited to take a look into the dark (not always) beautiful past from the Waldemar-family. Anna-Lisa (Stina Ekblad) runs with her dutiful son Oskar (Joel Spira) on the Sunnanö-island in the Swedish archipelago a very successful hotel. One day the mother invites her two other children. Oskar doesn’t understand what’s going on, as since year they had no contact with either brother Lasse (Björn Bengtsson) or sister Joanna (Aliette Opheim). Anna-Lisa has cancer, and just before the moment she takes her own life she gives her children an individual advice. It all has to do with her will. Oskar might be convinced that he’s the sole heir-at-law because he was the only one who cared about the hotel, his mom decides nonetheless that all three children have the right to claim the royal legacy. There is one strong condition though: the three children have to run the hotel for a full season.

That seems perhaps easy, but it isn’t. Not only there’s Oskar who thinks it’s an unfair decision, the two others have more important things to do than just running a hotel. Joanna is a well- respected actress on stage who misses her first film role. Lasse has problems with his rebellious teen daughter, and on top of that he has huge debts by criminal organisations. They can’t count on their father either. It’s been years since they heard from him, and so they assume he’s dead. Another option is unthinkable: if they refuse to join together, the hotel will be sold for a good cause.

This family sage might seem at first sight as ridiculous pulp that soon will get out of your head, you better not forget that once again the Swedish quality drifts above! It takes a while before you get a connection with the characters and the quality not always hits the spot, but apart from that is Thicker Than Water just another series you’ll watch in one row. Just like it should be, every episode ends with a mysterious cliffhanger that makes you curious what will happen next. We know very well that the offering these days is huge, not to say impossible, so you have to make choices (unless you want to spend your whole life in front of television). But good, fans from Scandinavian quality can put it on the huge heap that’s waiting for you!

Thicker Than Water is out on DVD on Lumière.

Didier BECU
18/09/2014


NL

Nog geen maand nadat het excellente The Legacy werd uitgebracht komt Lumière alweer met een nieuwe Zweedse knaller op de proppen: Thicker Than Water (of Tjockare än vatten).

In een tijdspanne van tien episodes die elk een klein uurtje duren wordt de seriefanaat uitgenodigd om een kijkje te nemen in het duistere (en niet altijd even mooie) familieverleden van de Waldemars.

Moeder Anna-Lisa (Stina Ekblad) runt samen met haar plichtsgetrouwe zoon Oskar (Joel Spira) op het Sunnanö-eiland in de Zweedse archipel een succesvol hotel. Op een dag nodigt de moeder haar twee andere kinderen uit voor een gesprek. Oskar weet niet wat er gaande is, want noch met broer Lasse (Björn Bengtsson) of zus Joanna (Aliette Opheim) hebben ze nauwelijks nog contact gehad. Anna-Lisa lijdt aan kanker en net op het moment voor ze uit het leven stapt geeft ze elk aan haar kinderen een raad mee. Die blijkt betrekking te hebben op haar testament. Oskar maant zich wel als de erfgenaam bij uitstek omdat hij zich als enige over het gasthuis heeft bekommerd, toch oordeelt de moeder dat alle drie kinderen erfrecht hebben. Er is wel een ijzersterke voorwaarde aan verbonden: gedurende een volledig seizoen moeten de drie kinderen samen het hotel runnen.

Een allesbehalve eenvoudige taak. Niet alleen vindt Oskar zich sterk benadeelt, ook hebben de andere twee wel iets meer belangrijk te doen dan voor hotelgasten te zorgen. Joanna is een gevierde toneelactrice die hierdoor een filmrol aan haar neus moet zien voorbijgaan. Lasse heeft niet alleen de nodige problemen met tienerdochter Kim (Molly Nutley), ook heeft hij torenhoge schulden bij malafide organisaties. Ook op hun vader kunnen ze niet rekenen. Omdat ze al jaren niet van hem hebben gehoord wanen ze hem doden. Een andere optie is er niet: werken de drie niet samen, dan gaat het hotel naar een goed doel.

Deze familiesaga lijkt misschien op het eerste gezicht op een melig stationsromannetje, toch mag je niet vergeten dat het wederom om een Zweedse productie gaat. Het duurt wel een paar afleveringen vooraleer je als kijker een band met de personages krijgt en ook het niveau bereikt niet altijd de hoogste ladder, toch is Thicker Than Water opnieuw zo’n serie geworden die je in één ruk wil uitkijken. Zoals dat bij iedere kwaliteitsserie hoort, verneem je op het einde een mysterieus kantje van één van de familieleden dat je naar het vervolg doet hunkeren. We beseffen ook wel dat het aanbod tegenwoordig zo hoog is dat je een keuze moet maken (tenzij je je leven lang voor de buis wil doorbrengen natuurlijk!), maar liefhebbers van Scandinavische kwaliteit mogen hem gerust op de ondertussen gigantische stapel leggen.

Thicker Than Water is nu uit op dvd via Lumière.

Didier BECU
18/09/2014


18/09/2014 :  - THICKER THAN WATER 18/09/2014 :  - THICKER THAN WATER 18/09/2014 :  - THICKER THAN WATER 18/09/2014 :  - THICKER THAN WATER 18/09/2014 :  - THICKER THAN WATER 18/09/2014 :  - THICKER THAN WATER 18/09/2014 :  - THICKER THAN WATER 18/09/2014 :  - THICKER THAN WATER 18/09/2014 :  - THICKER THAN WATER 18/09/2014 :  - THICKER THAN WATER 18/09/2014 :  - THICKER THAN WATER 18/09/2014 :  - THICKER THAN WATER 18/09/2014 :  - THICKER THAN WATER 18/09/2014 :  - THICKER THAN WATER 18/09/2014 :  - THICKER THAN WATER

 

Next reviews
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
RAYA MARTIN • Independencia
LONE • Reality Testing
NUCLEUS TORN • Street Lights Fail
MERCIFUL NUNS • Meteora
ZHANGKE JIA • A Touch Of Sin
SKEPTICAL MINDS • Run for your live 2014
JOHN FOXX • The Virgin Years 1981-1985 Box set
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Glaube Liebe Hoffnung
MARK REEDER • Colloborator

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same combination of genres: CRIME + TV SERIES
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
• HAPPY VALLEY SEASON 1
• THE TEAM SEASON 1
• LONGMIRE-SEASON 2
• THE FINDER
• BOARDWALK EMPIRE SEASON 5
• BROADCHURCH SEASON 1
• THE CODE SEASON 1
• FOYLE'S WAR-SEASON 8
• THE FALL SERIES TWO

 

Same genre: CRIME
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
ANDRE VAN DUREN • De Bende Van Oss
CRAIG ZOBEL • COMPLIANCE
RICHARD BROOKS • IN COLD BLOOD
DAVID BRADLEY • Harry Brown
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice

 

Same genre: TV SERIES
• GOTHAM SEASON 1
• STRIKE BACK SEASON 3
• 19-2 COMPLETE SERIES ONE
• DETECTIVE MONTALBANO SEASON 6
• HOUSE OF CARDS SEASON 3
• HELIX SEASON ONE
• RECTIFY SEASON 1
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
• THE LAST SHIP SEASON 1
• ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK SEASON 2

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel