tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : 10CC - Leuven, Het Depot (28/02/16)

10CC

Leuven, Het Depot (28/02/16)

Concert
PopRock 09/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

On Sunday 28th February, the British legend 10cc played at Het Depot in Leuven (Belgium). In 2016, 10cc is just the remaining founding member Graham Gouldman (bass and vocals), drummer Paul Burgess (also in the band since 1976, replacing Godley and Creme), Mick Wilson (guitar, ukelele, percussion, lead vocals), Rick Fenn (guitar and vocals) and keyboard player Keith Heyman.

At about 8.45 pm The Wall Street Shuffle bursted through the speakers and at 10.10 pm the last shot of Rubber Bullets was fired. That's 15 hits in only one and a half hour or even less. But in that short period of time, the band put on a great show. The gentlemen clearly had fun playing all those 10cc hits for an enthusiastic audience. There were plenty of opportunities to sing-a-long with your favorite tunes! As happened.

We only can guess what a hell of show it would have been if Lol Creme, Kevind Godley or Eric Stewart were still part of the touring band.

Graham Gouldman might not be world's best singer, he surely did a good job. Mind you, it was Mick Wilson who did most of the lead vocals. At a certain point, it felt a bit like we were attending a concert by a 10cc tribute band, featuring Graham Gouldman. And an identical setlist during many years, doesn't help either. But 10cc surely played a great gig, let's not argue about that.

The best moments during the evening surely were Feel the Benefit, the opening song The Wall Street Shuffle, Art for Art's Sake, Life is a Minestrone and of course the rocker Rubber Bullets. And then there was that beautiful a-capella close harmony version of Donna.

During Silly Love, the band decided to do some hopping around and to afford a portion of pure stupidity. With Mick Wilson nearly missing the end of the song: now that was silly!

Oh, and of course everyone sang along during Dreadlock Holiday!

Setlist‬:
The Wall Street Shuffle / The Things We Do For Love / Goodmorning Judge / I'm Mandy, Fly Me / Life Is a Minestrone / Art for Art's Sake / Clockwork Creep / Silly Love / Feel the Benefit / The Dean And I / From Rochdale to Ochio Rios / I'm Not In Love / Dreadlock Holiday

Encores: ‬Donna (a capella) / Rubber Bullets.

Mark VAN MULLEM
09/12/2016


NL

Zondagavond 28 februari 2016 speelde de Britse band 10cc een sterk concert in Het Depot in Leuven. 10cc anno 2016 bestaat uit stichtend lid Graham Gouldman (bas en zang), als enige volhouder van de allereerste bezetting, met drummer Paul Burgess, toch ook al sinds 1976 aan boord, en versterkt met Mick Wilson (percussie, gitaar, ukelele, zang), Rick Fenn (gitaar en zang) en op de toetsen Keith Heyman.

Om 20.45 uur knalde The Wall Street Shuffle bijzonder overtuigend door de speakers en om 22.10 uur stierven de laatste tonen van Rubber Bullets uit. In anderhalf uur vuurde 10cc 15 hitsalvo's af op het gewillige publiek. De heren hadden er overduidelijk zin in. Vakmanschap en spelplezier gingen hand in hand. En natuurlijk kon zowat iedereen zich meermaals aan een sing-a-long wagen. Alle hits, puik gebracht.

Een mens vraagt zich stiekem natuurlijk af hoe dat zou zijn geweest met Lol Creme, Eric Stewart en Kevin Godley nog aan boord. Met ook deze kleine kanttekening: Graham Gouldman is niet 's werelds grootste zanger, al bracht hij het er zeker goed vanaf. De leadvocals nam Mick Wilson voor zijn rekening. Een vreemd gevoel bekroop jullie verslaggever - durf ik het zeggen? - soms voelde het aan of je naar een tributeband met Gouldman stond te kijken en luisteren. Dat de setlist al jaren exact hetzelfde is, helpt natuurlijk ook niet echt. Maar wel een fijn concert dus, zonder meer.

Fijnste momenten: het proggy Feel the Benefit, de opener Wall Street Shuffle, Art for Art's Sake, The Dean And I, Life is a Minestrone, de potige afsluiter Rubber Bullets en de close-harmony a capella-versie van Donna. Ja, natuurlijk zong de hele zaal Dreadlock Holiday mee, het ultieme samenzangmoment van de avond.

Het momentje vrolijk ronddollen tijdens Silly Love moet ook vermeld worden: aan sillyness, incluis het door Mick Wilson bijna gemiste einde, geen gebrek...

‪Setlist‬:
The Wall Street Shuffle / The Things We Do For Love / Goodmorning Judge / I'm Mandy, Fly Me / Life Is a Minestrone / Art for Art's Sake / Clockwork Creep / Silly Love / Feel the Benefit / The Dean And I / From Rochdale to Ochio Rios / I'm Not In Love / Dreadlock Holiday

Encores: ‬Donna (a capella) / Rubber Bullets.

Mark VAN MULLEM
09/12/2016


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 41 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 45 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 5 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 32 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
47 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 13 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
SHE PAST AWAY
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
ASH CODE
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
MERCIFUL NUNS
Cremation
26
01
MARSHEAUX
Safe Tonight
25
01
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
24
01
EMPUSAE
Cadence Chamanique
23
01
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
22
01
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
21
01
RABIA SORDA
King Of The Wasteland