tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : 10CC - Leuven, Het Depot (28/02/16)

10CC

Leuven, Het Depot (28/02/16)

Concert
PopRock 09/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

On Sunday 28th February, the British legend 10cc played at Het Depot in Leuven (Belgium). In 2016, 10cc is just the remaining founding member Graham Gouldman (bass and vocals), drummer Paul Burgess (also in the band since 1976, replacing Godley and Creme), Mick Wilson (guitar, ukelele, percussion, lead vocals), Rick Fenn (guitar and vocals) and keyboard player Keith Heyman.

At about 8.45 pm The Wall Street Shuffle bursted through the speakers and at 10.10 pm the last shot of Rubber Bullets was fired. That's 15 hits in only one and a half hour or even less. But in that short period of time, the band put on a great show. The gentlemen clearly had fun playing all those 10cc hits for an enthusiastic audience. There were plenty of opportunities to sing-a-long with your favorite tunes! As happened.

We only can guess what a hell of show it would have been if Lol Creme, Kevind Godley or Eric Stewart were still part of the touring band.

Graham Gouldman might not be world's best singer, he surely did a good job. Mind you, it was Mick Wilson who did most of the lead vocals. At a certain point, it felt a bit like we were attending a concert by a 10cc tribute band, featuring Graham Gouldman. And an identical setlist during many years, doesn't help either. But 10cc surely played a great gig, let's not argue about that.

The best moments during the evening surely were Feel the Benefit, the opening song The Wall Street Shuffle, Art for Art's Sake, Life is a Minestrone and of course the rocker Rubber Bullets. And then there was that beautiful a-capella close harmony version of Donna.

During Silly Love, the band decided to do some hopping around and to afford a portion of pure stupidity. With Mick Wilson nearly missing the end of the song: now that was silly!

Oh, and of course everyone sang along during Dreadlock Holiday!

Setlist‬:
The Wall Street Shuffle / The Things We Do For Love / Goodmorning Judge / I'm Mandy, Fly Me / Life Is a Minestrone / Art for Art's Sake / Clockwork Creep / Silly Love / Feel the Benefit / The Dean And I / From Rochdale to Ochio Rios / I'm Not In Love / Dreadlock Holiday

Encores: ‬Donna (a capella) / Rubber Bullets.

Mark VAN MULLEM
09/12/2016


NL

Zondagavond 28 februari 2016 speelde de Britse band 10cc een sterk concert in Het Depot in Leuven. 10cc anno 2016 bestaat uit stichtend lid Graham Gouldman (bas en zang), als enige volhouder van de allereerste bezetting, met drummer Paul Burgess, toch ook al sinds 1976 aan boord, en versterkt met Mick Wilson (percussie, gitaar, ukelele, zang), Rick Fenn (gitaar en zang) en op de toetsen Keith Heyman.

Om 20.45 uur knalde The Wall Street Shuffle bijzonder overtuigend door de speakers en om 22.10 uur stierven de laatste tonen van Rubber Bullets uit. In anderhalf uur vuurde 10cc 15 hitsalvo's af op het gewillige publiek. De heren hadden er overduidelijk zin in. Vakmanschap en spelplezier gingen hand in hand. En natuurlijk kon zowat iedereen zich meermaals aan een sing-a-long wagen. Alle hits, puik gebracht.

Een mens vraagt zich stiekem natuurlijk af hoe dat zou zijn geweest met Lol Creme, Eric Stewart en Kevin Godley nog aan boord. Met ook deze kleine kanttekening: Graham Gouldman is niet 's werelds grootste zanger, al bracht hij het er zeker goed vanaf. De leadvocals nam Mick Wilson voor zijn rekening. Een vreemd gevoel bekroop jullie verslaggever - durf ik het zeggen? - soms voelde het aan of je naar een tributeband met Gouldman stond te kijken en luisteren. Dat de setlist al jaren exact hetzelfde is, helpt natuurlijk ook niet echt. Maar wel een fijn concert dus, zonder meer.

Fijnste momenten: het proggy Feel the Benefit, de opener Wall Street Shuffle, Art for Art's Sake, The Dean And I, Life is a Minestrone, de potige afsluiter Rubber Bullets en de close-harmony a capella-versie van Donna. Ja, natuurlijk zong de hele zaal Dreadlock Holiday mee, het ultieme samenzangmoment van de avond.

Het momentje vrolijk ronddollen tijdens Silly Love moet ook vermeld worden: aan sillyness, incluis het door Mick Wilson bijna gemiste einde, geen gebrek...

‪Setlist‬:
The Wall Street Shuffle / The Things We Do For Love / Goodmorning Judge / I'm Mandy, Fly Me / Life Is a Minestrone / Art for Art's Sake / Clockwork Creep / Silly Love / Feel the Benefit / The Dean And I / From Rochdale to Ochio Rios / I'm Not In Love / Dreadlock Holiday

Encores: ‬Donna (a capella) / Rubber Bullets.

Mark VAN MULLEM
09/12/2016


Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS