tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : 10CC - Leuven, Het Depot (28/02/16)

10CC

Leuven, Het Depot (28/02/16)

Concert
PopRock 09/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

On Sunday 28th February, the British legend 10cc played at Het Depot in Leuven (Belgium). In 2016, 10cc is just the remaining founding member Graham Gouldman (bass and vocals), drummer Paul Burgess (also in the band since 1976, replacing Godley and Creme), Mick Wilson (guitar, ukelele, percussion, lead vocals), Rick Fenn (guitar and vocals) and keyboard player Keith Heyman.

At about 8.45 pm The Wall Street Shuffle bursted through the speakers and at 10.10 pm the last shot of Rubber Bullets was fired. That's 15 hits in only one and a half hour or even less. But in that short period of time, the band put on a great show. The gentlemen clearly had fun playing all those 10cc hits for an enthusiastic audience. There were plenty of opportunities to sing-a-long with your favorite tunes! As happened.

We only can guess what a hell of show it would have been if Lol Creme, Kevind Godley or Eric Stewart were still part of the touring band.

Graham Gouldman might not be world's best singer, he surely did a good job. Mind you, it was Mick Wilson who did most of the lead vocals. At a certain point, it felt a bit like we were attending a concert by a 10cc tribute band, featuring Graham Gouldman. And an identical setlist during many years, doesn't help either. But 10cc surely played a great gig, let's not argue about that.

The best moments during the evening surely were Feel the Benefit, the opening song The Wall Street Shuffle, Art for Art's Sake, Life is a Minestrone and of course the rocker Rubber Bullets. And then there was that beautiful a-capella close harmony version of Donna.

During Silly Love, the band decided to do some hopping around and to afford a portion of pure stupidity. With Mick Wilson nearly missing the end of the song: now that was silly!

Oh, and of course everyone sang along during Dreadlock Holiday!

Setlist‬:
The Wall Street Shuffle / The Things We Do For Love / Goodmorning Judge / I'm Mandy, Fly Me / Life Is a Minestrone / Art for Art's Sake / Clockwork Creep / Silly Love / Feel the Benefit / The Dean And I / From Rochdale to Ochio Rios / I'm Not In Love / Dreadlock Holiday

Encores: ‬Donna (a capella) / Rubber Bullets.

Mark VAN MULLEM
09/12/2016


NL

Zondagavond 28 februari 2016 speelde de Britse band 10cc een sterk concert in Het Depot in Leuven. 10cc anno 2016 bestaat uit stichtend lid Graham Gouldman (bas en zang), als enige volhouder van de allereerste bezetting, met drummer Paul Burgess, toch ook al sinds 1976 aan boord, en versterkt met Mick Wilson (percussie, gitaar, ukelele, zang), Rick Fenn (gitaar en zang) en op de toetsen Keith Heyman.

Om 20.45 uur knalde The Wall Street Shuffle bijzonder overtuigend door de speakers en om 22.10 uur stierven de laatste tonen van Rubber Bullets uit. In anderhalf uur vuurde 10cc 15 hitsalvo's af op het gewillige publiek. De heren hadden er overduidelijk zin in. Vakmanschap en spelplezier gingen hand in hand. En natuurlijk kon zowat iedereen zich meermaals aan een sing-a-long wagen. Alle hits, puik gebracht.

Een mens vraagt zich stiekem natuurlijk af hoe dat zou zijn geweest met Lol Creme, Eric Stewart en Kevin Godley nog aan boord. Met ook deze kleine kanttekening: Graham Gouldman is niet 's werelds grootste zanger, al bracht hij het er zeker goed vanaf. De leadvocals nam Mick Wilson voor zijn rekening. Een vreemd gevoel bekroop jullie verslaggever - durf ik het zeggen? - soms voelde het aan of je naar een tributeband met Gouldman stond te kijken en luisteren. Dat de setlist al jaren exact hetzelfde is, helpt natuurlijk ook niet echt. Maar wel een fijn concert dus, zonder meer.

Fijnste momenten: het proggy Feel the Benefit, de opener Wall Street Shuffle, Art for Art's Sake, The Dean And I, Life is a Minestrone, de potige afsluiter Rubber Bullets en de close-harmony a capella-versie van Donna. Ja, natuurlijk zong de hele zaal Dreadlock Holiday mee, het ultieme samenzangmoment van de avond.

Het momentje vrolijk ronddollen tijdens Silly Love moet ook vermeld worden: aan sillyness, incluis het door Mick Wilson bijna gemiste einde, geen gebrek...

‪Setlist‬:
The Wall Street Shuffle / The Things We Do For Love / Goodmorning Judge / I'm Mandy, Fly Me / Life Is a Minestrone / Art for Art's Sake / Clockwork Creep / Silly Love / Feel the Benefit / The Dean And I / From Rochdale to Ochio Rios / I'm Not In Love / Dreadlock Holiday

Encores: ‬Donna (a capella) / Rubber Bullets.

Mark VAN MULLEM
09/12/2016


Music reviews

24
04
THE MEMBRANES
What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

22
04
CHARLES DE GOAL
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
STILL PATIENT ?
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
THE INVICIBLE SPIRIT
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
21
04
JO QUAIL
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
04
DECODED FEEDBACK
Waiting For The Storm
23
04
AEX
Selected Memories
22
04
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE
Old Track
21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline