tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : 10CC - Leuven, Het Depot (28/02/16)

10CC

Leuven, Het Depot (28/02/16)

Concert
PopRock 09/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

On Sunday 28th February, the British legend 10cc played at Het Depot in Leuven (Belgium). In 2016, 10cc is just the remaining founding member Graham Gouldman (bass and vocals), drummer Paul Burgess (also in the band since 1976, replacing Godley and Creme), Mick Wilson (guitar, ukelele, percussion, lead vocals), Rick Fenn (guitar and vocals) and keyboard player Keith Heyman.

At about 8.45 pm The Wall Street Shuffle bursted through the speakers and at 10.10 pm the last shot of Rubber Bullets was fired. That's 15 hits in only one and a half hour or even less. But in that short period of time, the band put on a great show. The gentlemen clearly had fun playing all those 10cc hits for an enthusiastic audience. There were plenty of opportunities to sing-a-long with your favorite tunes! As happened.

We only can guess what a hell of show it would have been if Lol Creme, Kevind Godley or Eric Stewart were still part of the touring band.

Graham Gouldman might not be world's best singer, he surely did a good job. Mind you, it was Mick Wilson who did most of the lead vocals. At a certain point, it felt a bit like we were attending a concert by a 10cc tribute band, featuring Graham Gouldman. And an identical setlist during many years, doesn't help either. But 10cc surely played a great gig, let's not argue about that.

The best moments during the evening surely were Feel the Benefit, the opening song The Wall Street Shuffle, Art for Art's Sake, Life is a Minestrone and of course the rocker Rubber Bullets. And then there was that beautiful a-capella close harmony version of Donna.

During Silly Love, the band decided to do some hopping around and to afford a portion of pure stupidity. With Mick Wilson nearly missing the end of the song: now that was silly!

Oh, and of course everyone sang along during Dreadlock Holiday!

Setlist‬:
The Wall Street Shuffle / The Things We Do For Love / Goodmorning Judge / I'm Mandy, Fly Me / Life Is a Minestrone / Art for Art's Sake / Clockwork Creep / Silly Love / Feel the Benefit / The Dean And I / From Rochdale to Ochio Rios / I'm Not In Love / Dreadlock Holiday

Encores: ‬Donna (a capella) / Rubber Bullets.

Mark VAN MULLEM
09/12/2016


NL

Zondagavond 28 februari 2016 speelde de Britse band 10cc een sterk concert in Het Depot in Leuven. 10cc anno 2016 bestaat uit stichtend lid Graham Gouldman (bas en zang), als enige volhouder van de allereerste bezetting, met drummer Paul Burgess, toch ook al sinds 1976 aan boord, en versterkt met Mick Wilson (percussie, gitaar, ukelele, zang), Rick Fenn (gitaar en zang) en op de toetsen Keith Heyman.

Om 20.45 uur knalde The Wall Street Shuffle bijzonder overtuigend door de speakers en om 22.10 uur stierven de laatste tonen van Rubber Bullets uit. In anderhalf uur vuurde 10cc 15 hitsalvo's af op het gewillige publiek. De heren hadden er overduidelijk zin in. Vakmanschap en spelplezier gingen hand in hand. En natuurlijk kon zowat iedereen zich meermaals aan een sing-a-long wagen. Alle hits, puik gebracht.

Een mens vraagt zich stiekem natuurlijk af hoe dat zou zijn geweest met Lol Creme, Eric Stewart en Kevin Godley nog aan boord. Met ook deze kleine kanttekening: Graham Gouldman is niet 's werelds grootste zanger, al bracht hij het er zeker goed vanaf. De leadvocals nam Mick Wilson voor zijn rekening. Een vreemd gevoel bekroop jullie verslaggever - durf ik het zeggen? - soms voelde het aan of je naar een tributeband met Gouldman stond te kijken en luisteren. Dat de setlist al jaren exact hetzelfde is, helpt natuurlijk ook niet echt. Maar wel een fijn concert dus, zonder meer.

Fijnste momenten: het proggy Feel the Benefit, de opener Wall Street Shuffle, Art for Art's Sake, The Dean And I, Life is a Minestrone, de potige afsluiter Rubber Bullets en de close-harmony a capella-versie van Donna. Ja, natuurlijk zong de hele zaal Dreadlock Holiday mee, het ultieme samenzangmoment van de avond.

Het momentje vrolijk ronddollen tijdens Silly Love moet ook vermeld worden: aan sillyness, incluis het door Mick Wilson bijna gemiste einde, geen gebrek...

‪Setlist‬:
The Wall Street Shuffle / The Things We Do For Love / Goodmorning Judge / I'm Mandy, Fly Me / Life Is a Minestrone / Art for Art's Sake / Clockwork Creep / Silly Love / Feel the Benefit / The Dean And I / From Rochdale to Ochio Rios / I'm Not In Love / Dreadlock Holiday

Encores: ‬Donna (a capella) / Rubber Bullets.

Mark VAN MULLEM
09/12/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void