tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : 30,000 MONKIES - I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big

30,000 MONKIES

I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big

MusicCD
Noisesludge

[83/100]   

ConSouling Sounds
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Ghent-based label Consouling Sounds explores all kinds of the different horizons in music. There are no limits in genres, there is no pigeonholing, only the quality is important. 30,000 Monkies from Beringen (Belgium) is probably a band that you would not associate with the label, simply because the lads make deafening noise.

You can paste a thousand styles on the seven tracks that are featured on this debut (from sludge metal to psychedelic noise in Liars or Melvins style). Each song sounds harsh, raw, but also dark. With all these elements, you run the risk to get a slurry sound dominated by clichés, but 30,000 Monkies knows exactly how to prevent this ievery time again.

Listen for example to the apocalyptic Mountainesque II IAMSICTB in which singer Ruben destroys his lungs. Apollo 10 (how could it be otherwise with such a name) has a more cosmic sound, while Mountainesque is more experimental.

I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big is a record that undoubtedly will end up in the noise rock department. That is not a mistake, because this album is just so much more than that!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het is overduidelijk dat het Gentse Consouling Sounds-label alle mogelijke stijlen opzoekt. Er zijn geen grenzen in genres, van hokjesmentaliteit is geen sprake, het is alleen de kwaliteit die telt. 30.000 Monkies is een band die je niet meteen met het label zou associëren, want deze band uit Beringen maakt loeiharde noise zonder enig compromis.

Je kan wel duizend stijlen plakken op de zeven tracks die je op dit debuut aantreft: van sludge metal tot psychedelic noise in pure Liars of Melvins-stijl. Iedere song klinkt verschrikkelijk hard, rauw, maar tevens ontzettend donker. Met zo’n elementen riskeer je natuurlijk dat je zonder dat je het weet in een oorverdovende geluidsbrij terecht komt waar clichés koning zijn, maar het is net dat wat 30.000 Monkies song na song kunnen vermijden.

Luister bijv. naar het apocalyptische Mountainesque II IAMSICTB waarin zanger Ruben zijn longen kapot schreeuwt. In Apollo 10 (hoe kan het ook anders met zo’n naam) wordt de atmosfeer meer kosmisch, terwijl men in Mountainesque volop experimenteert.

I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big is een plaat die zonder twijfel in de noiserockafdeling zal belanden. Fout is dit niet, alleen is deze release zo veel meer dan dat!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
11
COLD CAVE
Villains Of The Moon
19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring