tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : 30,000 MONKIES - I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big

30,000 MONKIES

I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big

MusicCD
Noisesludge

[83/100]   

ConSouling Sounds
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Ghent-based label Consouling Sounds explores all kinds of the different horizons in music. There are no limits in genres, there is no pigeonholing, only the quality is important. 30,000 Monkies from Beringen (Belgium) is probably a band that you would not associate with the label, simply because the lads make deafening noise.

You can paste a thousand styles on the seven tracks that are featured on this debut (from sludge metal to psychedelic noise in Liars or Melvins style). Each song sounds harsh, raw, but also dark. With all these elements, you run the risk to get a slurry sound dominated by clichés, but 30,000 Monkies knows exactly how to prevent this ievery time again.

Listen for example to the apocalyptic Mountainesque II IAMSICTB in which singer Ruben destroys his lungs. Apollo 10 (how could it be otherwise with such a name) has a more cosmic sound, while Mountainesque is more experimental.

I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big is a record that undoubtedly will end up in the noise rock department. That is not a mistake, because this album is just so much more than that!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het is overduidelijk dat het Gentse Consouling Sounds-label alle mogelijke stijlen opzoekt. Er zijn geen grenzen in genres, van hokjesmentaliteit is geen sprake, het is alleen de kwaliteit die telt. 30.000 Monkies is een band die je niet meteen met het label zou associëren, want deze band uit Beringen maakt loeiharde noise zonder enig compromis.

Je kan wel duizend stijlen plakken op de zeven tracks die je op dit debuut aantreft: van sludge metal tot psychedelic noise in pure Liars of Melvins-stijl. Iedere song klinkt verschrikkelijk hard, rauw, maar tevens ontzettend donker. Met zo’n elementen riskeer je natuurlijk dat je zonder dat je het weet in een oorverdovende geluidsbrij terecht komt waar clichés koning zijn, maar het is net dat wat 30.000 Monkies song na song kunnen vermijden.

Luister bijv. naar het apocalyptische Mountainesque II IAMSICTB waarin zanger Ruben zijn longen kapot schreeuwt. In Apollo 10 (hoe kan het ook anders met zo’n naam) wordt de atmosfeer meer kosmisch, terwijl men in Mountainesque volop experimenteert.

I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big is een plaat die zonder twijfel in de noiserockafdeling zal belanden. Fout is dit niet, alleen is deze release zo veel meer dan dat!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)