tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : 30,000 MONKIES - I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big

30,000 MONKIES

I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big

MusicCD
Noisesludge

[83/100]   

ConSouling Sounds
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Ghent-based label Consouling Sounds explores all kinds of the different horizons in music. There are no limits in genres, there is no pigeonholing, only the quality is important. 30,000 Monkies from Beringen (Belgium) is probably a band that you would not associate with the label, simply because the lads make deafening noise.

You can paste a thousand styles on the seven tracks that are featured on this debut (from sludge metal to psychedelic noise in Liars or Melvins style). Each song sounds harsh, raw, but also dark. With all these elements, you run the risk to get a slurry sound dominated by clichés, but 30,000 Monkies knows exactly how to prevent this ievery time again.

Listen for example to the apocalyptic Mountainesque II IAMSICTB in which singer Ruben destroys his lungs. Apollo 10 (how could it be otherwise with such a name) has a more cosmic sound, while Mountainesque is more experimental.

I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big is a record that undoubtedly will end up in the noise rock department. That is not a mistake, because this album is just so much more than that!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het is overduidelijk dat het Gentse Consouling Sounds-label alle mogelijke stijlen opzoekt. Er zijn geen grenzen in genres, van hokjesmentaliteit is geen sprake, het is alleen de kwaliteit die telt. 30.000 Monkies is een band die je niet meteen met het label zou associëren, want deze band uit Beringen maakt loeiharde noise zonder enig compromis.

Je kan wel duizend stijlen plakken op de zeven tracks die je op dit debuut aantreft: van sludge metal tot psychedelic noise in pure Liars of Melvins-stijl. Iedere song klinkt verschrikkelijk hard, rauw, maar tevens ontzettend donker. Met zo’n elementen riskeer je natuurlijk dat je zonder dat je het weet in een oorverdovende geluidsbrij terecht komt waar clichés koning zijn, maar het is net dat wat 30.000 Monkies song na song kunnen vermijden.

Luister bijv. naar het apocalyptische Mountainesque II IAMSICTB waarin zanger Ruben zijn longen kapot schreeuwt. In Apollo 10 (hoe kan het ook anders met zo’n naam) wordt de atmosfeer meer kosmisch, terwijl men in Mountainesque volop experimenteert.

I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big is een plaat die zonder twijfel in de noiserockafdeling zal belanden. Fout is dit niet, alleen is deze release zo veel meer dan dat!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition
13
03
STEREOSEAT
Heavenly Creatures

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s exactly 30 years ago that Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.
17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal
23
03
A;GRUMH
Danger Zone