tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : 30,000 MONKIES - I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big

30,000 MONKIES

I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big

MusicCD
Noisesludge

[83/100]   

ConSouling Sounds
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Ghent-based label Consouling Sounds explores all kinds of the different horizons in music. There are no limits in genres, there is no pigeonholing, only the quality is important. 30,000 Monkies from Beringen (Belgium) is probably a band that you would not associate with the label, simply because the lads make deafening noise.

You can paste a thousand styles on the seven tracks that are featured on this debut (from sludge metal to psychedelic noise in Liars or Melvins style). Each song sounds harsh, raw, but also dark. With all these elements, you run the risk to get a slurry sound dominated by clichés, but 30,000 Monkies knows exactly how to prevent this ievery time again.

Listen for example to the apocalyptic Mountainesque II IAMSICTB in which singer Ruben destroys his lungs. Apollo 10 (how could it be otherwise with such a name) has a more cosmic sound, while Mountainesque is more experimental.

I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big is a record that undoubtedly will end up in the noise rock department. That is not a mistake, because this album is just so much more than that!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het is overduidelijk dat het Gentse Consouling Sounds-label alle mogelijke stijlen opzoekt. Er zijn geen grenzen in genres, van hokjesmentaliteit is geen sprake, het is alleen de kwaliteit die telt. 30.000 Monkies is een band die je niet meteen met het label zou associëren, want deze band uit Beringen maakt loeiharde noise zonder enig compromis.

Je kan wel duizend stijlen plakken op de zeven tracks die je op dit debuut aantreft: van sludge metal tot psychedelic noise in pure Liars of Melvins-stijl. Iedere song klinkt verschrikkelijk hard, rauw, maar tevens ontzettend donker. Met zo’n elementen riskeer je natuurlijk dat je zonder dat je het weet in een oorverdovende geluidsbrij terecht komt waar clichés koning zijn, maar het is net dat wat 30.000 Monkies song na song kunnen vermijden.

Luister bijv. naar het apocalyptische Mountainesque II IAMSICTB waarin zanger Ruben zijn longen kapot schreeuwt. In Apollo 10 (hoe kan het ook anders met zo’n naam) wordt de atmosfeer meer kosmisch, terwijl men in Mountainesque volop experimenteert.

I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big is een plaat die zonder twijfel in de noiserockafdeling zal belanden. Fout is dit niet, alleen is deze release zo veel meer dan dat!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand
13
10
VENTENNER
Killing Jar

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!
15
10
PEEK-A-BOO MAGAZINE N° 31 - OUT NOW!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn