tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : 30,000 MONKIES - I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big

30,000 MONKIES

I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big

MusicCD
Noisesludge

[83/100]   

ConSouling Sounds
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Ghent-based label Consouling Sounds explores all kinds of the different horizons in music. There are no limits in genres, there is no pigeonholing, only the quality is important. 30,000 Monkies from Beringen (Belgium) is probably a band that you would not associate with the label, simply because the lads make deafening noise.

You can paste a thousand styles on the seven tracks that are featured on this debut (from sludge metal to psychedelic noise in Liars or Melvins style). Each song sounds harsh, raw, but also dark. With all these elements, you run the risk to get a slurry sound dominated by clichés, but 30,000 Monkies knows exactly how to prevent this ievery time again.

Listen for example to the apocalyptic Mountainesque II IAMSICTB in which singer Ruben destroys his lungs. Apollo 10 (how could it be otherwise with such a name) has a more cosmic sound, while Mountainesque is more experimental.

I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big is a record that undoubtedly will end up in the noise rock department. That is not a mistake, because this album is just so much more than that!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het is overduidelijk dat het Gentse Consouling Sounds-label alle mogelijke stijlen opzoekt. Er zijn geen grenzen in genres, van hokjesmentaliteit is geen sprake, het is alleen de kwaliteit die telt. 30.000 Monkies is een band die je niet meteen met het label zou associëren, want deze band uit Beringen maakt loeiharde noise zonder enig compromis.

Je kan wel duizend stijlen plakken op de zeven tracks die je op dit debuut aantreft: van sludge metal tot psychedelic noise in pure Liars of Melvins-stijl. Iedere song klinkt verschrikkelijk hard, rauw, maar tevens ontzettend donker. Met zo’n elementen riskeer je natuurlijk dat je zonder dat je het weet in een oorverdovende geluidsbrij terecht komt waar clichés koning zijn, maar het is net dat wat 30.000 Monkies song na song kunnen vermijden.

Luister bijv. naar het apocalyptische Mountainesque II IAMSICTB waarin zanger Ruben zijn longen kapot schreeuwt. In Apollo 10 (hoe kan het ook anders met zo’n naam) wordt de atmosfeer meer kosmisch, terwijl men in Mountainesque volop experimenteert.

I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big is een plaat die zonder twijfel in de noiserockafdeling zal belanden. Fout is dit niet, alleen is deze release zo veel meer dan dat!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion