tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/06/2011 : 5 F-X - Flight recorder 5.0

5 F-X

Flight recorder 5.0

MusicCD
ElectroElectronicsExperimentalIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)IndustrialTechnoUnclassifiable

[88/100]   

Hands Productions
29/06/2011, Didier BECU

EN

After having made some albums with Jurgen Hackmann under the name of 5F_55, Mike Burn decided to do it all by himself and after having released the two previous albums "The Xenomorphians, Your Friendly Invasion" and "5F_55 Is Reflected To 5F-X", he once again delivers his strange visions about the sky above us.

You see, Mike is the kind of guy who believes someone is up there and the title "Flight recorder" refers to his belief in UFO's.

Every song is introduced by strange radio messages that make you feel like you're in some cockpit and where as every flight is one that brings you to electroland in where all genres are melted as long as there is power around.

There are no songtitles, they're all named like "Audioautical file 001", "Audioautical file 002" till you reach the 10th track. It might be a bummer if you want to stick some song in your head but then again this approach explains in a good way what it's all about, as this is the kind of CD you have to take in one trip.

This German composer doesn't give his listeners any change to step into the trip as from the very beginning we're confronted with heavy powernoise that has influences from industrial, IMD or even more dance-oriented genres like drum 'n bass.

All in all, this composition is easier to listen to rather than writing about, as these tribal and industrial noise attacks are brutal, even sometimes harsh, but they never forget that it is more than just some noise.

A mighty release from an artist who shows that having an open mind can have interesting and mindblowing results, "Flight Recorder 5.0" is one.

Didier BECU
29/06/2011


NL

Vroeger was Mike Burn nog met Jurgen Hackmann actief onder de naam 5F_55, maar sinds enkele jaren verkiest hij het eenzame solopad en na albums als "The Xenomorphians, Your Friendly Invasion" en "5F_55 Is Reflected To 5F-X" te hebben uitgebracht is deze "Flight recorder 5.0" het derde werkstuk dat deze Mike op ons doet afkomen onder de naam 5F-X.

Hij blijft nog steeds de rare vogel die gelooft dat er ergens in het heelal andere wezens rond dwalen en het hoeft de lezer dan ook niet te verwonderen dat deze vluchtgegevens te maken hebben met UFO's.

De nummers worden ingeleid door allerlei vreemde radiotoespraken die je het gevoel geven dat je in één of andere cockpit bent beland waarbij elke vlucht er één is die je alle hoeken van het elektronische landschap laten zien. Inderdaad, 5FX is het soort van muzikaal project waar van hokjes denken geen sprake is, zolang het woord "kracht" er maar deel van uit maakt.

De nummers zijn ook niet voorzien van titels. Alles op deze cd heet "Audioautical file 001", "Audioautical file 002" tot op het punt dat ze nummer tien hebben bereikt.
Niet bepaald een prentje als je een bepaald nummer wil onthouden, maar tegelijkertijd onderstreept dit ook de gedachtegang van deze plaat want "Flight Recorder 5.0" is een trip die je van de eerste tot de laatste seconde moet uitzitten.

Burns is ook niet het soort componist die zijn luisteraars enige instaptijd gunt want meteen na de eerste radioboodschap wordt je meegezogen in een oase van pure powernoise waar zowel industrial, IMD of zelfs meer dansgerichte genres als drum 'n bass de ingrediënten van uitmaken.

Al bij al blijft dit een plaat die gemakkelijk te verteren is, ook al is het niet de eenvoudigste om dit op papier te gaan omtoveren.

Maar geloof ons vrij, wie zijn hart verpand heeft aan heerlijk ritmisch indus lawaai zal dit meer dan weten te pruimen en meteen is deze "Flight Recorder 5.0" een mooi bewijs van wat er kan gebeuren als een componist een ruime visie heeft.

Didier BECU
29/06/2011


 

Next reviews
IKON • Flowers for the gathering
CLAIR OBSCUR • Rock
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Surveillance culture
BLANCMANGE • Blanc Burn
AUSTRA • Feel It Break
THE GODFATHERS • Support De Brassers | Gent, Vooruit | 24/06/2011
THIS MORN' OMINA • L'unification Des Forces Opposantes
DREAM AFFAIR • Endless Days
TECH NOMADER • Domotica
BLUE STAHLI • Blue Stahli

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
09
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM
Command Control
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Mag 7
26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back