tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/06/2011 : 5 F-X - Flight recorder 5.0

5 F-X

Flight recorder 5.0

MusicCD
ElectroElectronicsExperimentalIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)IndustrialTechnoUnclassifiable

[88/100]   

Hands Productions
29/06/2011, Didier BECU

EN

After having made some albums with Jurgen Hackmann under the name of 5F_55, Mike Burn decided to do it all by himself and after having released the two previous albums "The Xenomorphians, Your Friendly Invasion" and "5F_55 Is Reflected To 5F-X", he once again delivers his strange visions about the sky above us.

You see, Mike is the kind of guy who believes someone is up there and the title "Flight recorder" refers to his belief in UFO's.

Every song is introduced by strange radio messages that make you feel like you're in some cockpit and where as every flight is one that brings you to electroland in where all genres are melted as long as there is power around.

There are no songtitles, they're all named like "Audioautical file 001", "Audioautical file 002" till you reach the 10th track. It might be a bummer if you want to stick some song in your head but then again this approach explains in a good way what it's all about, as this is the kind of CD you have to take in one trip.

This German composer doesn't give his listeners any change to step into the trip as from the very beginning we're confronted with heavy powernoise that has influences from industrial, IMD or even more dance-oriented genres like drum 'n bass.

All in all, this composition is easier to listen to rather than writing about, as these tribal and industrial noise attacks are brutal, even sometimes harsh, but they never forget that it is more than just some noise.

A mighty release from an artist who shows that having an open mind can have interesting and mindblowing results, "Flight Recorder 5.0" is one.

Didier BECU
29/06/2011


NL

Vroeger was Mike Burn nog met Jurgen Hackmann actief onder de naam 5F_55, maar sinds enkele jaren verkiest hij het eenzame solopad en na albums als "The Xenomorphians, Your Friendly Invasion" en "5F_55 Is Reflected To 5F-X" te hebben uitgebracht is deze "Flight recorder 5.0" het derde werkstuk dat deze Mike op ons doet afkomen onder de naam 5F-X.

Hij blijft nog steeds de rare vogel die gelooft dat er ergens in het heelal andere wezens rond dwalen en het hoeft de lezer dan ook niet te verwonderen dat deze vluchtgegevens te maken hebben met UFO's.

De nummers worden ingeleid door allerlei vreemde radiotoespraken die je het gevoel geven dat je in één of andere cockpit bent beland waarbij elke vlucht er één is die je alle hoeken van het elektronische landschap laten zien. Inderdaad, 5FX is het soort van muzikaal project waar van hokjes denken geen sprake is, zolang het woord "kracht" er maar deel van uit maakt.

De nummers zijn ook niet voorzien van titels. Alles op deze cd heet "Audioautical file 001", "Audioautical file 002" tot op het punt dat ze nummer tien hebben bereikt.
Niet bepaald een prentje als je een bepaald nummer wil onthouden, maar tegelijkertijd onderstreept dit ook de gedachtegang van deze plaat want "Flight Recorder 5.0" is een trip die je van de eerste tot de laatste seconde moet uitzitten.

Burns is ook niet het soort componist die zijn luisteraars enige instaptijd gunt want meteen na de eerste radioboodschap wordt je meegezogen in een oase van pure powernoise waar zowel industrial, IMD of zelfs meer dansgerichte genres als drum 'n bass de ingrediënten van uitmaken.

Al bij al blijft dit een plaat die gemakkelijk te verteren is, ook al is het niet de eenvoudigste om dit op papier te gaan omtoveren.

Maar geloof ons vrij, wie zijn hart verpand heeft aan heerlijk ritmisch indus lawaai zal dit meer dan weten te pruimen en meteen is deze "Flight Recorder 5.0" een mooi bewijs van wat er kan gebeuren als een componist een ruime visie heeft.

Didier BECU
29/06/2011


 

Next reviews
IKON • Flowers for the gathering
CLAIR OBSCUR • Rock
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Surveillance culture
BLANCMANGE • Blanc Burn
AUSTRA • Feel It Break
THE GODFATHERS • Support De Brassers | Gent, Vooruit | 24/06/2011
THIS MORN' OMINA • L'unification Des Forces Opposantes
DREAM AFFAIR • Endless Days
TECH NOMADER • Domotica
BLUE STAHLI • Blue Stahli

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes