tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/06/2011 : 5 F-X - Flight recorder 5.0

5 F-X

Flight recorder 5.0

MusicCD
ElectroElectronicsExperimentalIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)IndustrialTechnoUnclassifiable

[88/100]   

Hands Productions
29/06/2011, Didier BECU

EN

After having made some albums with Jurgen Hackmann under the name of 5F_55, Mike Burn decided to do it all by himself and after having released the two previous albums "The Xenomorphians, Your Friendly Invasion" and "5F_55 Is Reflected To 5F-X", he once again delivers his strange visions about the sky above us.

You see, Mike is the kind of guy who believes someone is up there and the title "Flight recorder" refers to his belief in UFO's.

Every song is introduced by strange radio messages that make you feel like you're in some cockpit and where as every flight is one that brings you to electroland in where all genres are melted as long as there is power around.

There are no songtitles, they're all named like "Audioautical file 001", "Audioautical file 002" till you reach the 10th track. It might be a bummer if you want to stick some song in your head but then again this approach explains in a good way what it's all about, as this is the kind of CD you have to take in one trip.

This German composer doesn't give his listeners any change to step into the trip as from the very beginning we're confronted with heavy powernoise that has influences from industrial, IMD or even more dance-oriented genres like drum 'n bass.

All in all, this composition is easier to listen to rather than writing about, as these tribal and industrial noise attacks are brutal, even sometimes harsh, but they never forget that it is more than just some noise.

A mighty release from an artist who shows that having an open mind can have interesting and mindblowing results, "Flight Recorder 5.0" is one.

Didier BECU
29/06/2011


NL

Vroeger was Mike Burn nog met Jurgen Hackmann actief onder de naam 5F_55, maar sinds enkele jaren verkiest hij het eenzame solopad en na albums als "The Xenomorphians, Your Friendly Invasion" en "5F_55 Is Reflected To 5F-X" te hebben uitgebracht is deze "Flight recorder 5.0" het derde werkstuk dat deze Mike op ons doet afkomen onder de naam 5F-X.

Hij blijft nog steeds de rare vogel die gelooft dat er ergens in het heelal andere wezens rond dwalen en het hoeft de lezer dan ook niet te verwonderen dat deze vluchtgegevens te maken hebben met UFO's.

De nummers worden ingeleid door allerlei vreemde radiotoespraken die je het gevoel geven dat je in één of andere cockpit bent beland waarbij elke vlucht er één is die je alle hoeken van het elektronische landschap laten zien. Inderdaad, 5FX is het soort van muzikaal project waar van hokjes denken geen sprake is, zolang het woord "kracht" er maar deel van uit maakt.

De nummers zijn ook niet voorzien van titels. Alles op deze cd heet "Audioautical file 001", "Audioautical file 002" tot op het punt dat ze nummer tien hebben bereikt.
Niet bepaald een prentje als je een bepaald nummer wil onthouden, maar tegelijkertijd onderstreept dit ook de gedachtegang van deze plaat want "Flight Recorder 5.0" is een trip die je van de eerste tot de laatste seconde moet uitzitten.

Burns is ook niet het soort componist die zijn luisteraars enige instaptijd gunt want meteen na de eerste radioboodschap wordt je meegezogen in een oase van pure powernoise waar zowel industrial, IMD of zelfs meer dansgerichte genres als drum 'n bass de ingrediënten van uitmaken.

Al bij al blijft dit een plaat die gemakkelijk te verteren is, ook al is het niet de eenvoudigste om dit op papier te gaan omtoveren.

Maar geloof ons vrij, wie zijn hart verpand heeft aan heerlijk ritmisch indus lawaai zal dit meer dan weten te pruimen en meteen is deze "Flight Recorder 5.0" een mooi bewijs van wat er kan gebeuren als een componist een ruime visie heeft.

Didier BECU
29/06/2011


 

Next reviews
IKON • Flowers for the gathering
CLAIR OBSCUR • Rock
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Surveillance culture
BLANCMANGE • Blanc Burn
AUSTRA • Feel It Break
THE GODFATHERS • Support De Brassers | Gent, Vooruit | 24/06/2011
THIS MORN' OMINA • L'unification Des Forces Opposantes
DREAM AFFAIR • Endless Days
TECH NOMADER • Domotica
BLUE STAHLI • Blue Stahli

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Same genre: TECHNO
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis