tempobet yeni adresi
like this movie review

18/02/2019 : A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM - A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play

A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM

A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play

Movie
ComedyFantasy

[90/100]   
18/02/2019, Britta Tabrit

Lysander loves Hermia and Hermia loves Lysander. Helena loves Demetrius; Demetrius used to love Helena but now loves Hermia... maybe this story sounds familiar to some of you.

When I first heard about this movie I honestly had some severe doubts about this project. A Shakespeare classic play turned into a modern film without making it a boring slapstick comedy? Quite a risky adventure but it turned out to be way better than expected.

William Shakespeare's comedy A Midsummer Night's Dream, written in 1595/96, is one of his most popular romantic plays with its multilayered examination of love and its vagaries. It is mostly known for its humorous moments, its figurative language and dramatic frameworks - 4 seperate plots and 4 groups of characters all brilliantly woven together throughout the story.

Director Casey Wilder Mott's debut takes the characters from the partriachal society of Athens to the modern city of Los Angeles. He successfully overcomes the gap between a story from the Elizabethan Age and present-day problems.

The movie is an innovative, humorous journey through time taking the audience from the world of modern electronic devices to the old Shakespearean rhyme schemes and back again. Speaking of which, I would very much like to highlight one thing: besides the fact that actor Finn Wittrock (American Horror Story, American Crime Story, La La Land) grew up at the Shakespeare & Company in Massachusetts, all the other actors speak the Shakesparean language perfectly, too. Pretty impressive!

Even though I don't think Shakespeare necessarily needs a digital makeover, A Midsummer Night's Dream is not only for poets and bards. It definitely arouses interest among the young audience as well and introduces them to the mysterious world of the theatre in quite a fun way.

The movie celebrated its theatrical release last July at the Nuart Theatre in Los Angeles and is available via iTunes, Amazon Prime and on DVD.

Cast: Lily Rabe as Helena, Hamish Linklater as Lysander, Finn Wittrock as Demetrius, Rachael Leigh Cook as Hermia, Fran Kranz as Bottom, Avan Jogia as Puck, Ted Levine as Duke Theseus, Paz De La Huerta as Hippolyta, Saul Williams as Oberon, Mia Doi Todd as Titania, Charity Wakefield as Quince, Charlie Carver as Snout, Max Carver as Snug, Justine Lupe as Flute.

Britta Tabrit
18/02/2019


18/02/2019 : A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM - A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play 18/02/2019 : A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM - A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play 18/02/2019 : A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM - A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play 18/02/2019 : A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM - A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play 18/02/2019 : A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM - A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination