tempobet yeni adresi
like this movie review

18/02/2019 : A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM - A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play

A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM

A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play

Movie
ComedyFantasy

[90/100]   
18/02/2019, Britta Tabrit

Lysander loves Hermia and Hermia loves Lysander. Helena loves Demetrius; Demetrius used to love Helena but now loves Hermia... maybe this story sounds familiar to some of you.

When I first heard about this movie I honestly had some severe doubts about this project. A Shakespeare classic play turned into a modern film without making it a boring slapstick comedy? Quite a risky adventure but it turned out to be way better than expected.

William Shakespeare's comedy A Midsummer Night's Dream, written in 1595/96, is one of his most popular romantic plays with its multilayered examination of love and its vagaries. It is mostly known for its humorous moments, its figurative language and dramatic frameworks - 4 seperate plots and 4 groups of characters all brilliantly woven together throughout the story.

Director Casey Wilder Mott's debut takes the characters from the partriachal society of Athens to the modern city of Los Angeles. He successfully overcomes the gap between a story from the Elizabethan Age and present-day problems.

The movie is an innovative, humorous journey through time taking the audience from the world of modern electronic devices to the old Shakespearean rhyme schemes and back again. Speaking of which, I would very much like to highlight one thing: besides the fact that actor Finn Wittrock (American Horror Story, American Crime Story, La La Land) grew up at the Shakespeare & Company in Massachusetts, all the other actors speak the Shakesparean language perfectly, too. Pretty impressive!

Even though I don't think Shakespeare necessarily needs a digital makeover, A Midsummer Night's Dream is not only for poets and bards. It definitely arouses interest among the young audience as well and introduces them to the mysterious world of the theatre in quite a fun way.

The movie celebrated its theatrical release last July at the Nuart Theatre in Los Angeles and is available via iTunes, Amazon Prime and on DVD.

Cast: Lily Rabe as Helena, Hamish Linklater as Lysander, Finn Wittrock as Demetrius, Rachael Leigh Cook as Hermia, Fran Kranz as Bottom, Avan Jogia as Puck, Ted Levine as Duke Theseus, Paz De La Huerta as Hippolyta, Saul Williams as Oberon, Mia Doi Todd as Titania, Charity Wakefield as Quince, Charlie Carver as Snout, Max Carver as Snug, Justine Lupe as Flute.

Britta Tabrit
18/02/2019


18/02/2019 : A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM - A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play 18/02/2019 : A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM - A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play 18/02/2019 : A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM - A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play 18/02/2019 : A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM - A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play 18/02/2019 : A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM - A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem