tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/09/2018 : A SLICE OF LIFE - Restless

A SLICE OF LIFE

Restless

MusicCD
Post Punk

[88/100]   

Wool-E Discs
01/09/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

A Slice Of Life proves Belgium is really into post-punk! The recipe of the Belgian band: a dark, melancholic post-punk sound with delicious slices of rock. Vocalist Dirk Vreys’ (The Obscure) voice lies somewhere in between the darkness of Andrew Eldritch, the melancholia of Robert Smith and the charisma of David Bowie. A Slice Of Life’s first EP was released in 2017, their first full album Restless - on Wool-E-Discs - was released on august 15. The band performed the new album for the first time live at W-festival in Amougies.

Opener Restless Gods puts the money where the mouth is: post-punk with a rock-’n-roll attitude! A song with a firm hook, a robust feel and loads of panache. Older is a lot more easy-going: heavenly guitar play, a song true to the post-punk spirit. The rhythm speeds up and slows down without hesitation, the sound of Dirk’s voice is almost identical to Robert Smith’s. If we didn’t know any better… Sorrow is cut from the same cloth, but has a more intimate, relaxed feel to it. The Marionette than carves even deeper into our soul. We can really feel the pain in Dirk’s voice.

Sweet Sin starts with a just as sweet bassline. Darkness surrounds this beautifully written song. Rock-’n-roll kicks in, the bone-dry drums push Sweet Sin towards post-punk/gothrock. Mic check: is Eldritch singing in the microphone? Sorry, my mistake. With Coraline, A Slice Of Life goes back to minimalistic, compelling post-punk with a touch of shoegaze. Be careful what you’re wishing for… I wish you all gave me a lot more. We were already very impressed, this one knocks us out.

Panic Attack, although there’s no need to panic, bursts with intelligent rhythm changes: straightforward one moment, chaotic and rocking the next. Again, we love the solo guitar play. It gives the album power and beauty. Restless hovers between the different subgenres of guitar driven goth. We Fight rocks, but feels pitchblack at the same time. A brilliant intermezzo halfway the record, before it all breaks loose again.

Life As It Is and Feels Like Crazy sound like early Cure, which in my opinion still is the best work the band had ever done: no fringes, ruthlessly compelling. The sting of Restless is in the tail. Liefde is Oorlog (the cd bonus track) is a sublime postpunksong written in dutch. Liefde is oorlog, liefde is oorlog, liefde doet pijn literally translates as Love is war, love is war, love hurts.

Love may hurt, love for post-punk doesn’t. And if it does, Restless offers a perfect way out. The whole album is a musical gem. One that dares to leave the beaten tracks and cuts its way - using a machete - to a wilderness of beauty. The way different influences, the different backgrounds of the artists and many many sounds are combined in just one album, is plain brilliant.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/09/2018


NL

Dat de post-punk ook voet aan de grond heeft in België, bewijst A Slice Of Life. De in 2016 opgerichte band brengt rauwe post-punk met een donkere melancholische sound, met duidelijke uithalen naar stevige rock. Na een gesmaakte EP in 2017, verschijnt in augustus hun eerste volwaardige album Restless op het Belgische Wool-E-Discs-label. Ze spelen diezelfde zomer op W-Fest. Het vocale deel is in handen van Dirk Vreys (The Obscure) en houdt het midden tussen het donkere van The Sisters Of Mercy, het weemoedige van Robert Smith en het charisma van Bowie.

Dat de rock meer dan voelbaar is in hun post-punk, bewijst meteen de openingssong Restless Gods. Een stevige hook, wat robuustheid en een zekere schwung worden niet gemeden. Older is dan meteen een stukje rustiger en bedient zich van zalig gitaarwerk dat de post-punk alle eer aan doet. Geweldig ook hoe het tempo in deze song alle richtingen uit gaat en hoé geweldig Dirk’s stem die van Robert Smith benadert. Mochten we niet beter weten , we zouden denken dat… Zo ook Sorrow, dat zich bedient van een innemende rustgevende sfeer. En of het misschien nog wat diepgaander kan? U vraagt, A Slice Of Life draait … met The Marionette dringt een mes nog net iets dieper in de wonde en is de pijn voelbaar in de manier van zingen.

Basgitaren trekken Sweet Sin op gang. Duisternis omarmt de song op alle vlak, zowel muzikaal als vocaal is dit een ongelooflijk sterke song. Waarmee we voor alle duidelijkheid niet gezegd hebben dat de andere minder zouden zijn! Niet dus! Het rockt weer iets meer, maar de kurkdroge ritmesectie houdt het nummer op de rails van de post-punk/gothrock. En is Eldritch de stand-in voor de stem… nee… je zou misschien denken van wel. Terug naar minimalistisch klinkende, zalig meeslepende post-punk met een vleugje shoegaze in Coraline. Be careful what you’re wishing for… I wish you all gave me a lot more. Was ik al heel erg onder de indruk van hetgeen A Slice Of Life brengt, slaat dit nummer me volledig knock-out.
Hoewel er geen enkel aanwijsbare reden is voor paniek, toch een Panic Attack. Dit juweeltje heeft alles van voorgaande in één: tempowissels, diepte, diepgang, strak op het ene moment, onwaarschijnlijk mooi chaotisch en rockend op het andere. Mooi sologitaarwerk ook, iets wat in meerdere nummers heel mooi tot zijn recht komt en het geheel nog meer pracht geeft.
Het album baant zich een weg tussen de verschillende gitaar-gerichte subregionen van de gothic. We Fight is meer rockend, hoewel sferisch gitzwart. Goed halfweg een schitterende tussenstap, voor alles weer uiteenbarst in een stortvloed van Rock met de grote ‘R’. Life As It Is klinkt weer als early-Cure (de in mijn beleving nog echt ‘goede’ Cure). Zonder veel franjes en meedogenloos meeslepend. Feel Like Crazy sluit daar perfect bij aan.
Het venijn zit hem in de staart. Het gezegde is toepasbaar op deze eersteling van A Slice Of Life, want met Liefde is Oorlog (de cd-only bonustrack) krijgen we een Nederlandstalige postpunksong van de sublieme soort. “Liefde is oorlog, liefde is oorlog, liefde doet pijn.”

Wat er ook van zij van die liefde uit de laatste song, de liefde voor het genre doet geen pijn. En zit er dan al pijn in, dan vindt die met Restless een perfecte uitweg. A Slice Of life schenkt de muziekminnende menigte een juweel van heel hoge waarde met dit album. Het is er niét eentje dat platgetreden paden bewandelt, maar zich machete-gewijs een weg baant in een wildernis van schoonheid. De manier waarop invloeden uit verschillende hoek samen komen is geweldig.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/09/2018


01/09/2018 : A SLICE OF LIFE - Restless 01/09/2018 : A SLICE OF LIFE - Restless

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)