tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/09/2018 : A SLICE OF LIFE - Restless

A SLICE OF LIFE

Restless

MusicCD
Post Punk

[88/100]   

Wool-E Discs
01/09/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

A Slice Of Life proves Belgium is really into post-punk! The recipe of the Belgian band: a dark, melancholic post-punk sound with delicious slices of rock. Vocalist Dirk Vreys’ (The Obscure) voice lies somewhere in between the darkness of Andrew Eldritch, the melancholia of Robert Smith and the charisma of David Bowie. A Slice Of Life’s first EP was released in 2017, their first full album Restless - on Wool-E-Discs - was released on august 15. The band performed the new album for the first time live at W-festival in Amougies.

Opener Restless Gods puts the money where the mouth is: post-punk with a rock-’n-roll attitude! A song with a firm hook, a robust feel and loads of panache. Older is a lot more easy-going: heavenly guitar play, a song true to the post-punk spirit. The rhythm speeds up and slows down without hesitation, the sound of Dirk’s voice is almost identical to Robert Smith’s. If we didn’t know any better… Sorrow is cut from the same cloth, but has a more intimate, relaxed feel to it. The Marionette than carves even deeper into our soul. We can really feel the pain in Dirk’s voice.

Sweet Sin starts with a just as sweet bassline. Darkness surrounds this beautifully written song. Rock-’n-roll kicks in, the bone-dry drums push Sweet Sin towards post-punk/gothrock. Mic check: is Eldritch singing in the microphone? Sorry, my mistake. With Coraline, A Slice Of Life goes back to minimalistic, compelling post-punk with a touch of shoegaze. Be careful what you’re wishing for… I wish you all gave me a lot more. We were already very impressed, this one knocks us out.

Panic Attack, although there’s no need to panic, bursts with intelligent rhythm changes: straightforward one moment, chaotic and rocking the next. Again, we love the solo guitar play. It gives the album power and beauty. Restless hovers between the different subgenres of guitar driven goth. We Fight rocks, but feels pitchblack at the same time. A brilliant intermezzo halfway the record, before it all breaks loose again.

Life As It Is and Feels Like Crazy sound like early Cure, which in my opinion still is the best work the band had ever done: no fringes, ruthlessly compelling. The sting of Restless is in the tail. Liefde is Oorlog (the cd bonus track) is a sublime postpunksong written in dutch. Liefde is oorlog, liefde is oorlog, liefde doet pijn literally translates as Love is war, love is war, love hurts.

Love may hurt, love for post-punk doesn’t. And if it does, Restless offers a perfect way out. The whole album is a musical gem. One that dares to leave the beaten tracks and cuts its way - using a machete - to a wilderness of beauty. The way different influences, the different backgrounds of the artists and many many sounds are combined in just one album, is plain brilliant.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/09/2018


NL

Dat de post-punk ook voet aan de grond heeft in België, bewijst A Slice Of Life. De in 2016 opgerichte band brengt rauwe post-punk met een donkere melancholische sound, met duidelijke uithalen naar stevige rock. Na een gesmaakte EP in 2017, verschijnt in augustus hun eerste volwaardige album Restless op het Belgische Wool-E-Discs-label. Ze spelen diezelfde zomer op W-Fest. Het vocale deel is in handen van Dirk Vreys (The Obscure) en houdt het midden tussen het donkere van The Sisters Of Mercy, het weemoedige van Robert Smith en het charisma van Bowie.

Dat de rock meer dan voelbaar is in hun post-punk, bewijst meteen de openingssong Restless Gods. Een stevige hook, wat robuustheid en een zekere schwung worden niet gemeden. Older is dan meteen een stukje rustiger en bedient zich van zalig gitaarwerk dat de post-punk alle eer aan doet. Geweldig ook hoe het tempo in deze song alle richtingen uit gaat en hoé geweldig Dirk’s stem die van Robert Smith benadert. Mochten we niet beter weten , we zouden denken dat… Zo ook Sorrow, dat zich bedient van een innemende rustgevende sfeer. En of het misschien nog wat diepgaander kan? U vraagt, A Slice Of Life draait … met The Marionette dringt een mes nog net iets dieper in de wonde en is de pijn voelbaar in de manier van zingen.

Basgitaren trekken Sweet Sin op gang. Duisternis omarmt de song op alle vlak, zowel muzikaal als vocaal is dit een ongelooflijk sterke song. Waarmee we voor alle duidelijkheid niet gezegd hebben dat de andere minder zouden zijn! Niet dus! Het rockt weer iets meer, maar de kurkdroge ritmesectie houdt het nummer op de rails van de post-punk/gothrock. En is Eldritch de stand-in voor de stem… nee… je zou misschien denken van wel. Terug naar minimalistisch klinkende, zalig meeslepende post-punk met een vleugje shoegaze in Coraline. Be careful what you’re wishing for… I wish you all gave me a lot more. Was ik al heel erg onder de indruk van hetgeen A Slice Of Life brengt, slaat dit nummer me volledig knock-out.
Hoewel er geen enkel aanwijsbare reden is voor paniek, toch een Panic Attack. Dit juweeltje heeft alles van voorgaande in één: tempowissels, diepte, diepgang, strak op het ene moment, onwaarschijnlijk mooi chaotisch en rockend op het andere. Mooi sologitaarwerk ook, iets wat in meerdere nummers heel mooi tot zijn recht komt en het geheel nog meer pracht geeft.
Het album baant zich een weg tussen de verschillende gitaar-gerichte subregionen van de gothic. We Fight is meer rockend, hoewel sferisch gitzwart. Goed halfweg een schitterende tussenstap, voor alles weer uiteenbarst in een stortvloed van Rock met de grote ‘R’. Life As It Is klinkt weer als early-Cure (de in mijn beleving nog echt ‘goede’ Cure). Zonder veel franjes en meedogenloos meeslepend. Feel Like Crazy sluit daar perfect bij aan.
Het venijn zit hem in de staart. Het gezegde is toepasbaar op deze eersteling van A Slice Of Life, want met Liefde is Oorlog (de cd-only bonustrack) krijgen we een Nederlandstalige postpunksong van de sublieme soort. “Liefde is oorlog, liefde is oorlog, liefde doet pijn.”

Wat er ook van zij van die liefde uit de laatste song, de liefde voor het genre doet geen pijn. En zit er dan al pijn in, dan vindt die met Restless een perfecte uitweg. A Slice Of life schenkt de muziekminnende menigte een juweel van heel hoge waarde met dit album. Het is er niét eentje dat platgetreden paden bewandelt, maar zich machete-gewijs een weg baant in een wildernis van schoonheid. De manier waarop invloeden uit verschillende hoek samen komen is geweldig.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/09/2018


01/09/2018 : A SLICE OF LIFE - Restless 01/09/2018 : A SLICE OF LIFE - Restless

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls