tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

10/02/2015 : A/T/O/S AND TRICKY - AB Brussels 27th January 2015

A/T/O/S AND TRICKY

AB Brussels 27th January 2015

Concert
Trip Hop 10/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

It was with some curiosity that I went to Brussels to see Tricky. The concert at the AB was the kick off of his European tour. Especially because he made a good album (Adrian Thaws), my expectations were high.

The support act was the Antwerp duo A / T / O / S: slow and heavy dubstep with a very fine voice, only the sound made them a little goose. The downside of being a support I guess. It was too loud: the cymbals, hi-hats and synth bass did hurt my ears at times. The vocals were sometimes a little lost in the noise. The show was a little static too. Too bad as this band does have potential, especially What I Need and Valve Roses touched me.

Then it was time for Tricky. After the overture they played You Don’ t Wanna. Not really a surprise this opener. Tricky stood on stage with his back to the audience and the new singer K bleax in front. Then came I Live Alone. A song that was not released yet, but has been included in his setlist since last year. A good song though. In the first songs Tricky himself came to the microphone, but that was not really audible. Meanwhile, he said that it was his birthday and had never acted on that day before. A remark that was followed by some birthday singing from the audience. Although it was his birthday, it looked like if he wasn’t in for a musical party, but more for smoking his pot. Occasionally you saw K Bleax watching him and tbetween the songs there was much consultation between Tricky and the guitarist. First highlight was My Palestine Girl from his latest album. The crowd came up and Tricky was on steam. There was Karmacoma, and of course Black Steel that gave the audience another boost, but the performance was rather poor. The song was played like a garage rock song. You also saw K Bleax continually searching for Tricky. Strange.

After an hour the band went off the stage. It took a long time before they came back for an encore. I suspect that a few words were exchanged backstage. Tricky came back more focused, but he worked it out on the singer. He pushed her to the side, took her microphone several times and threw it on the ground. The poor child didn’t look happy. Each time he came near to her, she looked worried. It was disrespectful. But he took the task upon himself of being frontman. At last.

On By myself he called everyone on stage to dance. Those who wanted to take a selfie with him regretted it, as he took their phone and tossed it into the venue.

A performance that confirms his image of capricious, arrogant and difficult. The songs remain strong (also the new ones), but somehow I understand why he never achieved the status of Massive Attack or Portishead. He is unpredictable and he undermines his musical abilities. After this tour, he will undoubtedly look for another singer. I am glad to have seen him because in terms of entertainment the second half of the concert was worth it

The performed songs: You Don' t Wanna, I Live Alone, Nothing Changes, Why Do You Not, My Palestine Girl, Karmacoma, Black Steel, For Real, Nothing Mathers, Puppy Toy, Keep Me As an encore: By Myself

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/02/2015


Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)