tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

10/02/2015 : A/T/O/S AND TRICKY - AB Brussels 27th January 2015

A/T/O/S AND TRICKY

AB Brussels 27th January 2015

Concert
Trip Hop 10/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

It was with some curiosity that I went to Brussels to see Tricky. The concert at the AB was the kick off of his European tour. Especially because he made a good album (Adrian Thaws), my expectations were high.

The support act was the Antwerp duo A / T / O / S: slow and heavy dubstep with a very fine voice, only the sound made them a little goose. The downside of being a support I guess. It was too loud: the cymbals, hi-hats and synth bass did hurt my ears at times. The vocals were sometimes a little lost in the noise. The show was a little static too. Too bad as this band does have potential, especially What I Need and Valve Roses touched me.

Then it was time for Tricky. After the overture they played You Don’ t Wanna. Not really a surprise this opener. Tricky stood on stage with his back to the audience and the new singer K bleax in front. Then came I Live Alone. A song that was not released yet, but has been included in his setlist since last year. A good song though. In the first songs Tricky himself came to the microphone, but that was not really audible. Meanwhile, he said that it was his birthday and had never acted on that day before. A remark that was followed by some birthday singing from the audience. Although it was his birthday, it looked like if he wasn’t in for a musical party, but more for smoking his pot. Occasionally you saw K Bleax watching him and tbetween the songs there was much consultation between Tricky and the guitarist. First highlight was My Palestine Girl from his latest album. The crowd came up and Tricky was on steam. There was Karmacoma, and of course Black Steel that gave the audience another boost, but the performance was rather poor. The song was played like a garage rock song. You also saw K Bleax continually searching for Tricky. Strange.

After an hour the band went off the stage. It took a long time before they came back for an encore. I suspect that a few words were exchanged backstage. Tricky came back more focused, but he worked it out on the singer. He pushed her to the side, took her microphone several times and threw it on the ground. The poor child didn’t look happy. Each time he came near to her, she looked worried. It was disrespectful. But he took the task upon himself of being frontman. At last.

On By myself he called everyone on stage to dance. Those who wanted to take a selfie with him regretted it, as he took their phone and tossed it into the venue.

A performance that confirms his image of capricious, arrogant and difficult. The songs remain strong (also the new ones), but somehow I understand why he never achieved the status of Massive Attack or Portishead. He is unpredictable and he undermines his musical abilities. After this tour, he will undoubtedly look for another singer. I am glad to have seen him because in terms of entertainment the second half of the concert was worth it

The performed songs: You Don' t Wanna, I Live Alone, Nothing Changes, Why Do You Not, My Palestine Girl, Karmacoma, Black Steel, For Real, Nothing Mathers, Puppy Toy, Keep Me As an encore: By Myself

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/02/2015


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017