tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

10/02/2015 : A/T/O/S AND TRICKY - AB Brussels 27th January 2015

A/T/O/S AND TRICKY

AB Brussels 27th January 2015

Concert
Trip Hop 10/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

It was with some curiosity that I went to Brussels to see Tricky. The concert at the AB was the kick off of his European tour. Especially because he made a good album (Adrian Thaws), my expectations were high.

The support act was the Antwerp duo A / T / O / S: slow and heavy dubstep with a very fine voice, only the sound made them a little goose. The downside of being a support I guess. It was too loud: the cymbals, hi-hats and synth bass did hurt my ears at times. The vocals were sometimes a little lost in the noise. The show was a little static too. Too bad as this band does have potential, especially What I Need and Valve Roses touched me.

Then it was time for Tricky. After the overture they played You Don’ t Wanna. Not really a surprise this opener. Tricky stood on stage with his back to the audience and the new singer K bleax in front. Then came I Live Alone. A song that was not released yet, but has been included in his setlist since last year. A good song though. In the first songs Tricky himself came to the microphone, but that was not really audible. Meanwhile, he said that it was his birthday and had never acted on that day before. A remark that was followed by some birthday singing from the audience. Although it was his birthday, it looked like if he wasn’t in for a musical party, but more for smoking his pot. Occasionally you saw K Bleax watching him and tbetween the songs there was much consultation between Tricky and the guitarist. First highlight was My Palestine Girl from his latest album. The crowd came up and Tricky was on steam. There was Karmacoma, and of course Black Steel that gave the audience another boost, but the performance was rather poor. The song was played like a garage rock song. You also saw K Bleax continually searching for Tricky. Strange.

After an hour the band went off the stage. It took a long time before they came back for an encore. I suspect that a few words were exchanged backstage. Tricky came back more focused, but he worked it out on the singer. He pushed her to the side, took her microphone several times and threw it on the ground. The poor child didn’t look happy. Each time he came near to her, she looked worried. It was disrespectful. But he took the task upon himself of being frontman. At last.

On By myself he called everyone on stage to dance. Those who wanted to take a selfie with him regretted it, as he took their phone and tossed it into the venue.

A performance that confirms his image of capricious, arrogant and difficult. The songs remain strong (also the new ones), but somehow I understand why he never achieved the status of Massive Attack or Portishead. He is unpredictable and he undermines his musical abilities. After this tour, he will undoubtedly look for another singer. I am glad to have seen him because in terms of entertainment the second half of the concert was worth it

The performed songs: You Don' t Wanna, I Live Alone, Nothing Changes, Why Do You Not, My Palestine Girl, Karmacoma, Black Steel, For Real, Nothing Mathers, Puppy Toy, Keep Me As an encore: By Myself

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/02/2015


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day