tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/10/2011 : A THOUSAND SOCIETIES - Le Crépuscule Des Idoles

A THOUSAND SOCIETIES

Le Crépuscule Des Idoles

MusicCD
EBM

[80/100]   
13/10/2011, Chris KONINGS

A Thousand Societies is a French ebm band that exists since the beginning of the 90's. They had a few demo tapes, went completely onderground after that and after about fifteen years they proudly present their first album. They managed to get Len Lemeire for the production, who is well known for his work with both Implant and 32Crash.

Just like in Germany and Scandinavia, there seems to be a revival of old school ebm in France. Some time ago Void Kampf made a very good ebm album with all the right DIY principles.

But with this one it's not all earsplitting ebm, Action P4 finds itself somewhere between martial and synthpop and with the french lyrics is sounds a lot like Dernière Volonté's latest album, Immortel. Inspired lyrics by the way (Euthanasie/Etat Nazi). Le Crépuscule Des Idoles has an experimental side to it. The real DIY ebm is on it's way though, Keep Rockin and LSD are somewhat cheesy ebm anthems that could have been done better.

Fly With Me even goes to the harsh electro direction like Komor Kommando. Stop Again is very efficient with psychotic rhythms and powerful multiple voices that will urge everyone to the dancefloor. The vocoder effects remind me of Aiboforcen.

EBM! If the previous song didn't invite you to stand up en move your body, this ebm anthem guarantees succes. The lyrics are predictable but really catchy. (We dance to survive, let's get moving EBM! Let's get swinging EBM! Listen to the pulse EBM! A thousand BPM! A thousand societies in your fucking face!) Erreur Fatale is another cracking ebm killer track!

Another great thing about this band is that they switch between languages (Licht Im Licht) so plenty of variation in lyrics. Something we also heard from the fantastic debut album of Mekanik Disorder. Maybe the lyrics of that one were slightly better but the relentless beats make this a more energetic album than Mekanik Disorder.

I wouldn't call it better then Mekanik Disorder, their album is a bit more cohesive and the first few ebm songs on this one sound a bit too theatrical to me. But after a while you just can't ignore the energy that these guys will wake up inside you. The supertight production is another highlight. I wonder what other gems the ebm world has up it's sleeve...

A Thousand Societies

Chris KONINGS
13/10/2011


Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
ASHRR’S Dark Industrialized New Single, “ALL YOURS ALL MINE (DARKER DAYS MIX)” Is Streaming Now
25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
BIG TIME KILL
Again and Again
28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic