tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

20/04/2018 : ABYSS X - Pleasures Of The Bull

ABYSS X

Pleasures Of The Bull

MusicVinyl
AmbientExperimentalPost Industrial

[95/100]   

Danse Noire
20/04/2018, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

Danse Noire has just released the latest work by Greek producer and multidisciplinary artist Abyss X, 'Pleasures of the Bull'. The title is a reference to an ancient Cretan myth concerning the Minotaur and yes, there's a certain element of old mysteries and forbidden rituals here, aided by the seamless intermixing of electronic and acoustic elements, and the weird structure of both the album and the songs themselves.

Abyss X released her previous albums on mostly experimental electronic labels (Halcyon Veil, Infinite Machine, Extasis) and this new one is on Aïsha Devi's Danse Noire, which feels like a very natural match. As I said before, the music blends elements of experimental electronics and post-industrial (loads of sampling and strange beats) with acoustic and live instrumentation, mostly strings, some bass here and there, a traditional Cretan lyra, and most notably her vocals.

She's actually an outstanding and very complete vocalist, going from alien witch (Critical Path) to 80s popstar (Lyrical Waxing) in just two songs. This last track is worth mentioning because even though it includes some gorgeous vocal melodies over guitars and ocean wave samples (in that sense it reminds me of Cocteau Twins' Eperdu from 'Milk & Kisses') it feels completely natural as a part of this six-chapter-book of an album. The vocals are also a bit reminiscent of mid-80s Kate Bush, and indeed the entire album, with its smooth combination of strange experimentation and organic emotion, can perfectly sit side by side with 'The Dreaming' and especially the second half of 'Hounds of Love'.

This is an immersive experience, a beautiful, atmospheric, and sometimes truly uncomfortable little gem.

Available on vinyl and as a digital release. Extremely recommended.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
20/04/2018


20/04/2018 : ABYSS X - Pleasures Of The Bull 20/04/2018 : ABYSS X - Pleasures Of The Bull

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
48 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
LOVELESSLUST
Fashion - David Bowie tribute
25
05
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
24
05
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT
Adrenaline
23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day