tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

20/04/2018 : ABYSS X - Pleasures Of The Bull

ABYSS X

Pleasures Of The Bull

MusicVinyl
AmbientExperimentalPost Industrial

[95/100]   

Danse Noire
20/04/2018, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

Danse Noire has just released the latest work by Greek producer and multidisciplinary artist Abyss X, 'Pleasures of the Bull'. The title is a reference to an ancient Cretan myth concerning the Minotaur and yes, there's a certain element of old mysteries and forbidden rituals here, aided by the seamless intermixing of electronic and acoustic elements, and the weird structure of both the album and the songs themselves.

Abyss X released her previous albums on mostly experimental electronic labels (Halcyon Veil, Infinite Machine, Extasis) and this new one is on Aïsha Devi's Danse Noire, which feels like a very natural match. As I said before, the music blends elements of experimental electronics and post-industrial (loads of sampling and strange beats) with acoustic and live instrumentation, mostly strings, some bass here and there, a traditional Cretan lyra, and most notably her vocals.

She's actually an outstanding and very complete vocalist, going from alien witch (Critical Path) to 80s popstar (Lyrical Waxing) in just two songs. This last track is worth mentioning because even though it includes some gorgeous vocal melodies over guitars and ocean wave samples (in that sense it reminds me of Cocteau Twins' Eperdu from 'Milk & Kisses') it feels completely natural as a part of this six-chapter-book of an album. The vocals are also a bit reminiscent of mid-80s Kate Bush, and indeed the entire album, with its smooth combination of strange experimentation and organic emotion, can perfectly sit side by side with 'The Dreaming' and especially the second half of 'Hounds of Love'.

This is an immersive experience, a beautiful, atmospheric, and sometimes truly uncomfortable little gem.

Available on vinyl and as a digital release. Extremely recommended.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
20/04/2018


20/04/2018 : ABYSS X - Pleasures Of The Bull 20/04/2018 : ABYSS X - Pleasures Of The Bull

Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl