tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

20/04/2018 : ABYSS X - Pleasures Of The Bull

ABYSS X

Pleasures Of The Bull

MusicVinyl
AmbientExperimentalPost Industrial

[95/100]   

Danse Noire
20/04/2018, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

Danse Noire has just released the latest work by Greek producer and multidisciplinary artist Abyss X, 'Pleasures of the Bull'. The title is a reference to an ancient Cretan myth concerning the Minotaur and yes, there's a certain element of old mysteries and forbidden rituals here, aided by the seamless intermixing of electronic and acoustic elements, and the weird structure of both the album and the songs themselves.

Abyss X released her previous albums on mostly experimental electronic labels (Halcyon Veil, Infinite Machine, Extasis) and this new one is on Aïsha Devi's Danse Noire, which feels like a very natural match. As I said before, the music blends elements of experimental electronics and post-industrial (loads of sampling and strange beats) with acoustic and live instrumentation, mostly strings, some bass here and there, a traditional Cretan lyra, and most notably her vocals.

She's actually an outstanding and very complete vocalist, going from alien witch (Critical Path) to 80s popstar (Lyrical Waxing) in just two songs. This last track is worth mentioning because even though it includes some gorgeous vocal melodies over guitars and ocean wave samples (in that sense it reminds me of Cocteau Twins' Eperdu from 'Milk & Kisses') it feels completely natural as a part of this six-chapter-book of an album. The vocals are also a bit reminiscent of mid-80s Kate Bush, and indeed the entire album, with its smooth combination of strange experimentation and organic emotion, can perfectly sit side by side with 'The Dreaming' and especially the second half of 'Hounds of Love'.

This is an immersive experience, a beautiful, atmospheric, and sometimes truly uncomfortable little gem.

Available on vinyl and as a digital release. Extremely recommended.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
20/04/2018


20/04/2018 : ABYSS X - Pleasures Of The Bull 20/04/2018 : ABYSS X - Pleasures Of The Bull

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You