tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

17/02/2015 : ACYLUM - Zigeunerjunge (EP)

ACYLUM

Zigeunerjunge (EP)

MusicCD (EP)
ElectroElectronics

[96/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
17/02/2015, Britta Tabrit

The German project „Acylum“ has just publish the EP “Zigeunerjunge” as a foretaste of what is to come soon: their fifth album called “Pest”!

BE VERY AFRAID, THE PEST IS COMING!

This album will come up as a 2CD version, including various remixes by well-known artists such as Amduscia, XOTOX, C-Lekktor, Aengeldust, Cygnosic, Nano Infect, A7ie…

This time, Acylum (Pedro & Nadine Engel from Aengeldust and Totem Obscura) chose the 1967 song by Alexandra “Zigeunerjunge” (engl. “Gypsy Boy”) to create a complete different world around the almost romantic song about the Gypsy life, about being wild and free. The original song is about a young girl, returning to the sight where a gypsy boy had once been camping with his family, colourful wagons, horses and swinging music. But the fact that they have moved on, leaves the girl puzzled.

The Acylum version opens the fire on the brutal past of this minority, most of all during the 2nd World War. Hard industrial beats, the vocals presented in a dark tone and samples of a political anti-gypsy speech destroy everything of the former ideal world. Is it provocation? Is it about a past reality or still something in people’s heads?

Again, the song makes me think about my own knowledge. What do I know about these people? Who are they? What is my personal view on them?

The Amduscia-Remix is my favorite. The Mexican guys leave the oppressive atmosphere by adding their own danceable, electronic hardfloor beats. Really a well-made remix that is worth listening to again and again.

“Follow me” is a calm and slow track. It has a clear Wumpscut touch, which I appreciate a lot! It feels like a little rest after the overwhelming power of “Zigeunerjunge”.

The Benjamin’s Plague Remix is another high flyer. The energizing beat and the melodic elements bring you back to the main theme of this EP.

“My Knife” (INAKI KREATOR version) is a great dark electro song. Slow but kind of military-fashioned and heroic. Makes me want to hear more of this!

The last remix is by Cold Therapy from Poland. A new melody is introduced to the listener. The song is more sluggish, but nevertheless it combines an interesting new idea behind the song with the shattering vision of the original.

All I can say is that “Zigeunerjunge” makes you afraid of the “Pest”. Acylum will surely infect you!

Want to know more? Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Acylum.Music?fref=ts

Want to listen to “Zigeunerjunge”? https://alfamatrix.bandcamp.com/album/zigeunerjunge-ep

 

Britta Tabrit
17/02/2015


 

Next reviews
OLIVIER NAKACHE & ERIC TOLEDANO • Samba
DANIEL BORGMAN • The Weight Of Elephants
ROSCHDY ZEM • Bodybuilder
JESSICA PRATT • On Your Own Love Again
ALLES • Post
ATOM EGOYAN • The Captive
LISA CUTHBERT • Paramour
MARTIN WILLIAM • The Fascinating World of Plants/De Fascinerende Wereld van de Planten
PETER CHELSOM • Hector And The Search For Happiness
DARKHER • The Kingdom Field

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + ELECTRONICS
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
WIELORYB • Semantik
KOKO COHEN QUINTET • Kochenquit
GLENN LOVE • (R)age Electric (EP)
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
RESONANCE MAGNETIQUE • Revoke

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion