tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

08/12/2012 : ADAM ANT - Review of the concert at Zappa in Antwerp on 7 December 2012

ADAM ANT

Review of the concert at Zappa in Antwerp on 7 December 2012

Concert
GlampopPost PunkRock

[85/100]   
08/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Adam Ant told me in the interview he gave one week before this show: "Live shows are the last bastion of human beings over machines and involve blood, sweat and tears". Well, he clearly demonstrated this point of view at the Zappa in Antwerp. Together with his band, Adam gave a 'total show'! And make no mistake, Adam has NOTHING to do with the new romantics... Adam is about ROCK'N ROLL. It's fun, heavy postpunk with glam and tribal accents. No fuckin' synths, that's for sure!

On the stage, they are no less than six musicians and it's a very SEXY gang: on backing vocals, you get the very hot Georgina Baillie, nicknamed Georgie Girl, from the girly band Georgie Girl and Her Poussez Posse, which supports Adam during this tour. Georgie Girl is a real magnet for the eye, especially for men, with her tight robes and latex suits... Mmmm.. Further you have guitarist Tom Edwards, of Fields of the Nephilim and Edwyn Collins, who gives a heavy rocky edge to the act, then a certain Joe on bass, and finally no less than two drummers! Andy Woodward and the beautiful Jola, who has the typical, gorgeous blonde percussionist look, a bit like Kourtney Klein.

And in the middle, Adam... Of course, he's no longer the stunningly beautiful young man he was 30 years ago, but I cant tell you that he still rocks like hell! He is dressed as a pop Napoleon with his black bicorn hat and his famous brocade military jacket. All through the show, he gives a lot of energy, singing and dancing, moving constantly.

Check this video, in which he introduces the band and plays "Antmusic":

It was a long time since Adam's first visit to Belgium, it was in Leopoldsburg and Ninove back in 1978! In the interview, Adam told me that when he could not get any gigs or appreciation from the British music press (NME, Sounds, Melody Maker), the Belgian fans welcomed him with open arms! Well, 34 years later, the fans are still there. Of course, the Zappa venue is not full but in the first rows, you have people who know all the songs by heart and dance and scream all the way...

You can hear that Adam's major influences are definitely not in the new-wave/80s area. His idols are Franck Sinatra, Elvis Presley, Roxy Music, Miles Davis, Brian Eno and of course T. Rex. In the encore, he covered "Get It On" in a masterly manner... As a whole, Adam played all the songs fans were longing to hear, plus a few rarities, and of course a few new songs like “Vince Taylor” or the new single, "Cool Zombie"! As Adam describes it, "Cool Zombie is a song based on a standard blues progression, with a lot of swamp style blues influence from the time when I was in Tennessee in the late '90's".

But the highlights of the show were undoubtedly the 'MTV hits' from Adam's repertoire, especially "Stand And Deliver", "Antmusic", "Goody Two Shoes" and "Prince Charming", which was played in the encore. As a whole, the Ant band gave an impressive and thrilling performance and it was damned great to see Adam Ant back with a killer show!

Stay tuned for Adam's upcoming album, "Blueblack Hussar in Marrying The Gunners Daughter”, due in January 2013. Here is Adam's description: "It has 17 tracks, with double gatefold vinyl sleeve and a special edition CD with booklet. It was made in a very traditional way, unlike anything I've done before. It was recorded in a very analogue / old school manner. At last, I have the next addition to my catalogue!"

Here is the video of the band as they performed "Stand And Deliver":

Setlist
Press Darlings
Dog Eat Dog
Beat My Guest
Kick!
Cartrouble
Ants Invasion
Deutscher Girls
Room at the Top
Kings of the Wild Frontier
Wonderful
Whip in My Valise
Vince Taylor
Strip
Cool Zombie
Desperate but Not Serious
Cleopatra
Never Trust a Man (With Egg on His Face)
Zerox
Vive Le Rock
Antmusic
Goody Two Shoes
Lady/Fall In
Encore:
Christian Dior
Get It On (cover of T.Rex)
Prince Charming
Physical (You're So)

<img src="http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/photos/n-man-made-machine-577-1.jpg?1355316509" alt="MOTOR" title="MOTOR" align="left" border='0' class='reviewimage' height='265'>

A big thank you to Borg and the Bodybeats team for the perfect organisation!

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
08/12/2012


Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf