tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/02/2015 : ADAM COHEN - We Go Home

ADAM COHEN

We Go Home

MusicCD
Singer Songwriter

[80/100]   

V2
02/02/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

We Go Home is the fourth album by Adam Cohen, and it seems as if the artist will force a small international breakthrough, because for the first time one of his albums is successful outside Canada. It made ​​a cautious start in France (no. 178 in the top 200), but in Flanders everything went a lot smoother with a listing in the top 40 (no. 37) and in Wallonia in the top 100 (no. 93). Adam Cohen thus follows the same path as his famous father, who has always been quite popular in Belgium, while in the rest of the world (except in Canada), his success was rather limited.

We Go Home contains 11 songs and Adam Cohen wrote the material himself. Love is and What Kind of Woman immediately attract attention with their uptempo rhythm, but the rest of the material is also solid, melodic and easily accessible. With his low voice and lilting parlando, Adam Cohen sometimes sounds like his father, in Too Real and the title track We Go Home eg., and in that last composition, the presence of female voices reinforces that impression. But eventually the songs on We Go Home deviate enough. Adam Cohen has clearly his own style, but in terms of musical choices, he works in the same environment. His lyrics are a lot less dark and the subjects are more versatile than those of his father.

In terms of instrumentation Cohen keeps it simple: acoustic guitar for the love songs, the occasional violin to emphasize the atmosphere and a classic support with electric guitar, bass and drums for the up-tempo compositions. This is music of a singer-songwriter. The accompaniment is perfectly calculated, but never complicated. Adam Cohen has a beautiful and deep voice he uses in a versatile manner. In other words, it all sounds more liberal than on his father's albums. We Go Home is a beautiful and well-made album.

Playlist:
1. Song of Me and You
2. Too Real
3. We Go Home
4. Put Your BAgs down
5. So Much to Learn
6. Uniform
7. Love is
8. What Kind of Woman
9. Fall Apart
0. Swear I was There
1. Boats

 

William LIÉNARD
02/02/2015


NL

We Go Home is Adam Cohens vierde soloalbum en het heeft er alle schijn van dat de artiest een kleine internationale doorbraak kan forceren, want voor het eerst staat een album van zijn hand ook buiten Canada in de hitlijsten, nl. in België en Frankrijk. Wat Frankrijk betreft gaat het over een voorzichtige start, want het album raakte niet verder dan een 178ste plaats. Bij ons in Vlaanderen ging het een stuk vlotter en haalde We Go Home net de top 40 (nr. 37), in Wallonië net de top 100 (nr. 93). Daarmee gaat Adam Cohen z’n beroemde vader achterna, want die was jarenlang zeer populair bij ons, terwijl het in de rest van de wereld (behalve in vaderland Canada) niet zo heel erg wilde vlotten.

Op We Go Home staan 11 songs en Adam Cohen heeft ze allemaal zelf geschreven. Love is en What a Kind of Woman trekken met hun uptemporitme meteen de aandacht, maar ook de rest van het materiaal is degelijk, melodisch en makkelijk behapbaar. Met z’n lage stem en zangerig parlando klinkt Adam Cohen bij momenten heel erg zoals z’n vader, in Too Real en titelsong We Go Home bijv., en de aanwezigheid van vrouwenstemmen in die laatste compositie versterkt nog die indruk, maar uiteindelijk wijkt het materiaal op We Go Home meer dan voldoende af. Adam Cohen heeft zeer duidelijk een eigen stijl, maar hij grasduint muzikaal in dezelfde omgeving. Z’n teksten zijn gelukkig een stuk minder donker en de onderwerpen zijn veelzijdiger dan die van z’n vader.

Qua instrumentarium houdt Cohen het eenvoudig: akoestische gitaar voor de eenvoudige liefdesliedjes, af en toe een viool om de sfeer te benadrukken en voor de uptempocomposities de klassieke ondersteuning met elektrische gitaar, bas en drums. Dit is muziek van en door een singer-songwriter. De begeleiding is perfect becijferd en ze is aan de sobere kant. Adam Cohen heeft een mooie en diepe stem die hij op een veelzijdige manier gebruikt. Het klinkt m.a.w. allemaal wat ruimer dan op de albums van zijn vader. We Go Home is een mooi en goed gemaakt album.

Adam Cohen is op 6 februari te zien en te horen in De Roma.

William LIÉNARD
02/02/2015


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers