tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/02/2015 : ADAM COHEN - We Go Home

ADAM COHEN

We Go Home

MusicCD
Singer Songwriter

[80/100]   

V2
02/02/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

We Go Home is the fourth album by Adam Cohen, and it seems as if the artist will force a small international breakthrough, because for the first time one of his albums is successful outside Canada. It made ​​a cautious start in France (no. 178 in the top 200), but in Flanders everything went a lot smoother with a listing in the top 40 (no. 37) and in Wallonia in the top 100 (no. 93). Adam Cohen thus follows the same path as his famous father, who has always been quite popular in Belgium, while in the rest of the world (except in Canada), his success was rather limited.

We Go Home contains 11 songs and Adam Cohen wrote the material himself. Love is and What Kind of Woman immediately attract attention with their uptempo rhythm, but the rest of the material is also solid, melodic and easily accessible. With his low voice and lilting parlando, Adam Cohen sometimes sounds like his father, in Too Real and the title track We Go Home eg., and in that last composition, the presence of female voices reinforces that impression. But eventually the songs on We Go Home deviate enough. Adam Cohen has clearly his own style, but in terms of musical choices, he works in the same environment. His lyrics are a lot less dark and the subjects are more versatile than those of his father.

In terms of instrumentation Cohen keeps it simple: acoustic guitar for the love songs, the occasional violin to emphasize the atmosphere and a classic support with electric guitar, bass and drums for the up-tempo compositions. This is music of a singer-songwriter. The accompaniment is perfectly calculated, but never complicated. Adam Cohen has a beautiful and deep voice he uses in a versatile manner. In other words, it all sounds more liberal than on his father's albums. We Go Home is a beautiful and well-made album.

Playlist:
1. Song of Me and You
2. Too Real
3. We Go Home
4. Put Your BAgs down
5. So Much to Learn
6. Uniform
7. Love is
8. What Kind of Woman
9. Fall Apart
0. Swear I was There
1. Boats

 

William LIÉNARD
02/02/2015


NL

We Go Home is Adam Cohens vierde soloalbum en het heeft er alle schijn van dat de artiest een kleine internationale doorbraak kan forceren, want voor het eerst staat een album van zijn hand ook buiten Canada in de hitlijsten, nl. in België en Frankrijk. Wat Frankrijk betreft gaat het over een voorzichtige start, want het album raakte niet verder dan een 178ste plaats. Bij ons in Vlaanderen ging het een stuk vlotter en haalde We Go Home net de top 40 (nr. 37), in Wallonië net de top 100 (nr. 93). Daarmee gaat Adam Cohen z’n beroemde vader achterna, want die was jarenlang zeer populair bij ons, terwijl het in de rest van de wereld (behalve in vaderland Canada) niet zo heel erg wilde vlotten.

Op We Go Home staan 11 songs en Adam Cohen heeft ze allemaal zelf geschreven. Love is en What a Kind of Woman trekken met hun uptemporitme meteen de aandacht, maar ook de rest van het materiaal is degelijk, melodisch en makkelijk behapbaar. Met z’n lage stem en zangerig parlando klinkt Adam Cohen bij momenten heel erg zoals z’n vader, in Too Real en titelsong We Go Home bijv., en de aanwezigheid van vrouwenstemmen in die laatste compositie versterkt nog die indruk, maar uiteindelijk wijkt het materiaal op We Go Home meer dan voldoende af. Adam Cohen heeft zeer duidelijk een eigen stijl, maar hij grasduint muzikaal in dezelfde omgeving. Z’n teksten zijn gelukkig een stuk minder donker en de onderwerpen zijn veelzijdiger dan die van z’n vader.

Qua instrumentarium houdt Cohen het eenvoudig: akoestische gitaar voor de eenvoudige liefdesliedjes, af en toe een viool om de sfeer te benadrukken en voor de uptempocomposities de klassieke ondersteuning met elektrische gitaar, bas en drums. Dit is muziek van en door een singer-songwriter. De begeleiding is perfect becijferd en ze is aan de sobere kant. Adam Cohen heeft een mooie en diepe stem die hij op een veelzijdige manier gebruikt. Het klinkt m.a.w. allemaal wat ruimer dan op de albums van zijn vader. We Go Home is een mooi en goed gemaakt album.

Adam Cohen is op 6 februari te zien en te horen in De Roma.

William LIÉNARD
02/02/2015


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser