tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/02/2015 : ADAM COHEN - We Go Home

ADAM COHEN

We Go Home

MusicCD
Singer Songwriter

[80/100]   

V2
02/02/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

We Go Home is the fourth album by Adam Cohen, and it seems as if the artist will force a small international breakthrough, because for the first time one of his albums is successful outside Canada. It made ​​a cautious start in France (no. 178 in the top 200), but in Flanders everything went a lot smoother with a listing in the top 40 (no. 37) and in Wallonia in the top 100 (no. 93). Adam Cohen thus follows the same path as his famous father, who has always been quite popular in Belgium, while in the rest of the world (except in Canada), his success was rather limited.

We Go Home contains 11 songs and Adam Cohen wrote the material himself. Love is and What Kind of Woman immediately attract attention with their uptempo rhythm, but the rest of the material is also solid, melodic and easily accessible. With his low voice and lilting parlando, Adam Cohen sometimes sounds like his father, in Too Real and the title track We Go Home eg., and in that last composition, the presence of female voices reinforces that impression. But eventually the songs on We Go Home deviate enough. Adam Cohen has clearly his own style, but in terms of musical choices, he works in the same environment. His lyrics are a lot less dark and the subjects are more versatile than those of his father.

In terms of instrumentation Cohen keeps it simple: acoustic guitar for the love songs, the occasional violin to emphasize the atmosphere and a classic support with electric guitar, bass and drums for the up-tempo compositions. This is music of a singer-songwriter. The accompaniment is perfectly calculated, but never complicated. Adam Cohen has a beautiful and deep voice he uses in a versatile manner. In other words, it all sounds more liberal than on his father's albums. We Go Home is a beautiful and well-made album.

Playlist:
1. Song of Me and You
2. Too Real
3. We Go Home
4. Put Your BAgs down
5. So Much to Learn
6. Uniform
7. Love is
8. What Kind of Woman
9. Fall Apart
0. Swear I was There
1. Boats

 

William LIÉNARD
02/02/2015


NL

We Go Home is Adam Cohens vierde soloalbum en het heeft er alle schijn van dat de artiest een kleine internationale doorbraak kan forceren, want voor het eerst staat een album van zijn hand ook buiten Canada in de hitlijsten, nl. in België en Frankrijk. Wat Frankrijk betreft gaat het over een voorzichtige start, want het album raakte niet verder dan een 178ste plaats. Bij ons in Vlaanderen ging het een stuk vlotter en haalde We Go Home net de top 40 (nr. 37), in Wallonië net de top 100 (nr. 93). Daarmee gaat Adam Cohen z’n beroemde vader achterna, want die was jarenlang zeer populair bij ons, terwijl het in de rest van de wereld (behalve in vaderland Canada) niet zo heel erg wilde vlotten.

Op We Go Home staan 11 songs en Adam Cohen heeft ze allemaal zelf geschreven. Love is en What a Kind of Woman trekken met hun uptemporitme meteen de aandacht, maar ook de rest van het materiaal is degelijk, melodisch en makkelijk behapbaar. Met z’n lage stem en zangerig parlando klinkt Adam Cohen bij momenten heel erg zoals z’n vader, in Too Real en titelsong We Go Home bijv., en de aanwezigheid van vrouwenstemmen in die laatste compositie versterkt nog die indruk, maar uiteindelijk wijkt het materiaal op We Go Home meer dan voldoende af. Adam Cohen heeft zeer duidelijk een eigen stijl, maar hij grasduint muzikaal in dezelfde omgeving. Z’n teksten zijn gelukkig een stuk minder donker en de onderwerpen zijn veelzijdiger dan die van z’n vader.

Qua instrumentarium houdt Cohen het eenvoudig: akoestische gitaar voor de eenvoudige liefdesliedjes, af en toe een viool om de sfeer te benadrukken en voor de uptempocomposities de klassieke ondersteuning met elektrische gitaar, bas en drums. Dit is muziek van en door een singer-songwriter. De begeleiding is perfect becijferd en ze is aan de sobere kant. Adam Cohen heeft een mooie en diepe stem die hij op een veelzijdige manier gebruikt. Het klinkt m.a.w. allemaal wat ruimer dan op de albums van zijn vader. We Go Home is een mooi en goed gemaakt album.

Adam Cohen is op 6 februari te zien en te horen in De Roma.

William LIÉNARD
02/02/2015


Music reviews

04
12
MERZBOW
Screaming Dove
03
12
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Shadow Of Fear
02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
12
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven