tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die

ADAM WINGARD

A Horrible Way To Die

Movie
Horror

[56/100]   

Filmfreaks
25/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Whether A Horrible Way To Die is a good movie or not, mainly depends on your taste. The movie is categorized as horror (because of the many bloody, violent scenes), but the second movie of director Adam Wingard differs from the traditional slasher genre. The film was for a while unnoticed, but is now back in the spotlight because Adam Wingard is indeed the director, who unexpectedly scored a big hit with You're Next. In this indie film, that is often compared to Henry Portrait Of A Serial Killer, Wingard has a much lower budget, but shows his talent to make decent horror films.

The film opens with a scene in which we see how serial killer Garrick Turrell (AJ Bowen) sadistically murders a defenseless woman. Once the psychopath is behind bars, you hope for humanity that he won’t return. But with such a movie title that can obviously not be the case, and we still have 70 minutes to go! The fiend can escape and does not regret his past deeds. Anyone he encounters is slaughtered in a brutal way. Turrell realizes that he is insane, but can’t control the urge to kill. At the same time, we follow the young woman Sarah (Amy Seimetz), who is part of the AA club and will do anything to get rid of her alcohol addiction. And yes, the two souls meet.

A Horrible Way To Die that is written by Simon Barrett (he also did the script for You're Next ) and contains some twists that look a bit unbelievable, but they make the film different than the rest. The cast (it returned to a large extent in You're Next) consists of unknown actors, but the performances are more than decent.

A Horrible Way To Die is not a classic to remember, but anyone who loves such movies can give it a try. In the Benelux A Horrible Way To Die is released on Filmfreaks.

Didier BECU
25/12/2014


NL

Of A Horrible Way To Die een goede film is of nie,t hangt voornamelijk af van je smaak. De film wordt wel gecategoriseerd als horror (door de vele bloederige, gewelddadige scènes is hij dat ook), toch wijkt regisseur Adam Wingard met zijn tweede film af van het traditionele slasher-paadje. De film bleef een tijdje onopgemerkt, maar staat nu weer volop in de belangstelling omdat Adam Wingard de regisseur is die onverwachts met You’re Next een monsterhit scoorde. In deze indiefilm (die trouwens vaak met Henry, Portrait Of A Serial Killer wordt vergeleken) beschikt Wingard over een veel lager budget, maar merk je toch zijn talent om degelijke griezelprenten te maken.

De film opent met een scène waarin we zien hoe seriemoordenaar Garrick Turrell (A.J. Bowen) zijn sadistische lusten botviert op een weerloze vrouw. Eens de psychopaat achter de tralies zit, hoop je voor de mensheid dat hij daar zal wegrotten. Maar met zo’n filmtitel kan dat natuurlijk niet, en we hebben trouwens nog 70 minuten film tegoed! Het onmens kan ontsnappen en heeft geen spijt van zijn vroegere daden. Iedereen die hij op zijn vlucht tegenkomt wordt op een brutale manier afgeslacht. Turrell beseft wel dat er een paar schroeven in zijn hoofd los ztten, maar hij kan desalniettemin de drang om te doden niet beheersen. Tegelijk volgen we de jonge vrouw Sarah (Amy Seimetz) die in de AA-club er alles aan doet om van haar drankverslaving af te geraken. En jawel, de twee zielen zullen elkaar ontmoeten.

A Horrible Way To Die, dat door Simon Barrett (You’re Next) is geschreven, bevat heel wat onverwachte wendingen die wel wat ongeloofwaardig lijken, maar ze maken de film wel anders dan de rest. De cast (die voor een groot stuk in You’re Next terugkeerde) bestaat uit onbekenden, maar de vertolkingen zijn meer dan degelijk.

A Horrible Way To Die is wel geen klassieker om te onthouden, maar wie van degelijke films houdt, mag hem zeker zonder aarzelen in de lader duwen. In de Benelux is A Horrible Way To Die uitgebracht op Filmfreaks.

Didier BECU
25/12/2014


25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque