tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die

ADAM WINGARD

A Horrible Way To Die

Movie
Horror

[56/100]   

Filmfreaks
25/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Whether A Horrible Way To Die is a good movie or not, mainly depends on your taste. The movie is categorized as horror (because of the many bloody, violent scenes), but the second movie of director Adam Wingard differs from the traditional slasher genre. The film was for a while unnoticed, but is now back in the spotlight because Adam Wingard is indeed the director, who unexpectedly scored a big hit with You're Next. In this indie film, that is often compared to Henry Portrait Of A Serial Killer, Wingard has a much lower budget, but shows his talent to make decent horror films.

The film opens with a scene in which we see how serial killer Garrick Turrell (AJ Bowen) sadistically murders a defenseless woman. Once the psychopath is behind bars, you hope for humanity that he won’t return. But with such a movie title that can obviously not be the case, and we still have 70 minutes to go! The fiend can escape and does not regret his past deeds. Anyone he encounters is slaughtered in a brutal way. Turrell realizes that he is insane, but can’t control the urge to kill. At the same time, we follow the young woman Sarah (Amy Seimetz), who is part of the AA club and will do anything to get rid of her alcohol addiction. And yes, the two souls meet.

A Horrible Way To Die that is written by Simon Barrett (he also did the script for You're Next ) and contains some twists that look a bit unbelievable, but they make the film different than the rest. The cast (it returned to a large extent in You're Next) consists of unknown actors, but the performances are more than decent.

A Horrible Way To Die is not a classic to remember, but anyone who loves such movies can give it a try. In the Benelux A Horrible Way To Die is released on Filmfreaks.

Didier BECU
25/12/2014


NL

Of A Horrible Way To Die een goede film is of nie,t hangt voornamelijk af van je smaak. De film wordt wel gecategoriseerd als horror (door de vele bloederige, gewelddadige scènes is hij dat ook), toch wijkt regisseur Adam Wingard met zijn tweede film af van het traditionele slasher-paadje. De film bleef een tijdje onopgemerkt, maar staat nu weer volop in de belangstelling omdat Adam Wingard de regisseur is die onverwachts met You’re Next een monsterhit scoorde. In deze indiefilm (die trouwens vaak met Henry, Portrait Of A Serial Killer wordt vergeleken) beschikt Wingard over een veel lager budget, maar merk je toch zijn talent om degelijke griezelprenten te maken.

De film opent met een scène waarin we zien hoe seriemoordenaar Garrick Turrell (A.J. Bowen) zijn sadistische lusten botviert op een weerloze vrouw. Eens de psychopaat achter de tralies zit, hoop je voor de mensheid dat hij daar zal wegrotten. Maar met zo’n filmtitel kan dat natuurlijk niet, en we hebben trouwens nog 70 minuten film tegoed! Het onmens kan ontsnappen en heeft geen spijt van zijn vroegere daden. Iedereen die hij op zijn vlucht tegenkomt wordt op een brutale manier afgeslacht. Turrell beseft wel dat er een paar schroeven in zijn hoofd los ztten, maar hij kan desalniettemin de drang om te doden niet beheersen. Tegelijk volgen we de jonge vrouw Sarah (Amy Seimetz) die in de AA-club er alles aan doet om van haar drankverslaving af te geraken. En jawel, de twee zielen zullen elkaar ontmoeten.

A Horrible Way To Die, dat door Simon Barrett (You’re Next) is geschreven, bevat heel wat onverwachte wendingen die wel wat ongeloofwaardig lijken, maar ze maken de film wel anders dan de rest. De cast (die voor een groot stuk in You’re Next terugkeerde) bestaat uit onbekenden, maar de vertolkingen zijn meer dan degelijk.

A Horrible Way To Die is wel geen klassieker om te onthouden, maar wie van degelijke films houdt, mag hem zeker zonder aarzelen in de lader duwen. In de Benelux is A Horrible Way To Die uitgebracht op Filmfreaks.

Didier BECU
25/12/2014


25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures