tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die

ADAM WINGARD

A Horrible Way To Die

Movie
Horror

[56/100]   

Filmfreaks
25/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Whether A Horrible Way To Die is a good movie or not, mainly depends on your taste. The movie is categorized as horror (because of the many bloody, violent scenes), but the second movie of director Adam Wingard differs from the traditional slasher genre. The film was for a while unnoticed, but is now back in the spotlight because Adam Wingard is indeed the director, who unexpectedly scored a big hit with You're Next. In this indie film, that is often compared to Henry Portrait Of A Serial Killer, Wingard has a much lower budget, but shows his talent to make decent horror films.

The film opens with a scene in which we see how serial killer Garrick Turrell (AJ Bowen) sadistically murders a defenseless woman. Once the psychopath is behind bars, you hope for humanity that he won’t return. But with such a movie title that can obviously not be the case, and we still have 70 minutes to go! The fiend can escape and does not regret his past deeds. Anyone he encounters is slaughtered in a brutal way. Turrell realizes that he is insane, but can’t control the urge to kill. At the same time, we follow the young woman Sarah (Amy Seimetz), who is part of the AA club and will do anything to get rid of her alcohol addiction. And yes, the two souls meet.

A Horrible Way To Die that is written by Simon Barrett (he also did the script for You're Next ) and contains some twists that look a bit unbelievable, but they make the film different than the rest. The cast (it returned to a large extent in You're Next) consists of unknown actors, but the performances are more than decent.

A Horrible Way To Die is not a classic to remember, but anyone who loves such movies can give it a try. In the Benelux A Horrible Way To Die is released on Filmfreaks.

Didier BECU
25/12/2014


NL

Of A Horrible Way To Die een goede film is of nie,t hangt voornamelijk af van je smaak. De film wordt wel gecategoriseerd als horror (door de vele bloederige, gewelddadige scènes is hij dat ook), toch wijkt regisseur Adam Wingard met zijn tweede film af van het traditionele slasher-paadje. De film bleef een tijdje onopgemerkt, maar staat nu weer volop in de belangstelling omdat Adam Wingard de regisseur is die onverwachts met You’re Next een monsterhit scoorde. In deze indiefilm (die trouwens vaak met Henry, Portrait Of A Serial Killer wordt vergeleken) beschikt Wingard over een veel lager budget, maar merk je toch zijn talent om degelijke griezelprenten te maken.

De film opent met een scène waarin we zien hoe seriemoordenaar Garrick Turrell (A.J. Bowen) zijn sadistische lusten botviert op een weerloze vrouw. Eens de psychopaat achter de tralies zit, hoop je voor de mensheid dat hij daar zal wegrotten. Maar met zo’n filmtitel kan dat natuurlijk niet, en we hebben trouwens nog 70 minuten film tegoed! Het onmens kan ontsnappen en heeft geen spijt van zijn vroegere daden. Iedereen die hij op zijn vlucht tegenkomt wordt op een brutale manier afgeslacht. Turrell beseft wel dat er een paar schroeven in zijn hoofd los ztten, maar hij kan desalniettemin de drang om te doden niet beheersen. Tegelijk volgen we de jonge vrouw Sarah (Amy Seimetz) die in de AA-club er alles aan doet om van haar drankverslaving af te geraken. En jawel, de twee zielen zullen elkaar ontmoeten.

A Horrible Way To Die, dat door Simon Barrett (You’re Next) is geschreven, bevat heel wat onverwachte wendingen die wel wat ongeloofwaardig lijken, maar ze maken de film wel anders dan de rest. De cast (die voor een groot stuk in You’re Next terugkeerde) bestaat uit onbekenden, maar de vertolkingen zijn meer dan degelijk.

A Horrible Way To Die is wel geen klassieker om te onthouden, maar wie van degelijke films houdt, mag hem zeker zonder aarzelen in de lader duwen. In de Benelux is A Horrible Way To Die uitgebracht op Filmfreaks.

Didier BECU
25/12/2014


25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die

Music reviews

16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London
21
12
RESISTOR
Ice Cold Gold
20
12
RADIOAKTIVISTS
Radioakt One

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!
14
01
Ryan Murphy announces main cast of his new TV show 'Ratched'
13
01
The Weathermen have remastered and released their live backing track instrumentals!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.
22
12
MICHAEL MCKEEGAN
'We had to approach the songs in a different manner.'

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You
14
01
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
13
01
RED ZEBRA
No Kitchen In The House
12
01
LENE LOVICH BAND
Lucky Number
11
01
OHMELECTRONIC
Everything Is Gone