tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die

ADAM WINGARD

A Horrible Way To Die

Movie
Horror

[56/100]   

Filmfreaks
25/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Whether A Horrible Way To Die is a good movie or not, mainly depends on your taste. The movie is categorized as horror (because of the many bloody, violent scenes), but the second movie of director Adam Wingard differs from the traditional slasher genre. The film was for a while unnoticed, but is now back in the spotlight because Adam Wingard is indeed the director, who unexpectedly scored a big hit with You're Next. In this indie film, that is often compared to Henry Portrait Of A Serial Killer, Wingard has a much lower budget, but shows his talent to make decent horror films.

The film opens with a scene in which we see how serial killer Garrick Turrell (AJ Bowen) sadistically murders a defenseless woman. Once the psychopath is behind bars, you hope for humanity that he won’t return. But with such a movie title that can obviously not be the case, and we still have 70 minutes to go! The fiend can escape and does not regret his past deeds. Anyone he encounters is slaughtered in a brutal way. Turrell realizes that he is insane, but can’t control the urge to kill. At the same time, we follow the young woman Sarah (Amy Seimetz), who is part of the AA club and will do anything to get rid of her alcohol addiction. And yes, the two souls meet.

A Horrible Way To Die that is written by Simon Barrett (he also did the script for You're Next ) and contains some twists that look a bit unbelievable, but they make the film different than the rest. The cast (it returned to a large extent in You're Next) consists of unknown actors, but the performances are more than decent.

A Horrible Way To Die is not a classic to remember, but anyone who loves such movies can give it a try. In the Benelux A Horrible Way To Die is released on Filmfreaks.

Didier BECU
25/12/2014


NL

Of A Horrible Way To Die een goede film is of nie,t hangt voornamelijk af van je smaak. De film wordt wel gecategoriseerd als horror (door de vele bloederige, gewelddadige scènes is hij dat ook), toch wijkt regisseur Adam Wingard met zijn tweede film af van het traditionele slasher-paadje. De film bleef een tijdje onopgemerkt, maar staat nu weer volop in de belangstelling omdat Adam Wingard de regisseur is die onverwachts met You’re Next een monsterhit scoorde. In deze indiefilm (die trouwens vaak met Henry, Portrait Of A Serial Killer wordt vergeleken) beschikt Wingard over een veel lager budget, maar merk je toch zijn talent om degelijke griezelprenten te maken.

De film opent met een scène waarin we zien hoe seriemoordenaar Garrick Turrell (A.J. Bowen) zijn sadistische lusten botviert op een weerloze vrouw. Eens de psychopaat achter de tralies zit, hoop je voor de mensheid dat hij daar zal wegrotten. Maar met zo’n filmtitel kan dat natuurlijk niet, en we hebben trouwens nog 70 minuten film tegoed! Het onmens kan ontsnappen en heeft geen spijt van zijn vroegere daden. Iedereen die hij op zijn vlucht tegenkomt wordt op een brutale manier afgeslacht. Turrell beseft wel dat er een paar schroeven in zijn hoofd los ztten, maar hij kan desalniettemin de drang om te doden niet beheersen. Tegelijk volgen we de jonge vrouw Sarah (Amy Seimetz) die in de AA-club er alles aan doet om van haar drankverslaving af te geraken. En jawel, de twee zielen zullen elkaar ontmoeten.

A Horrible Way To Die, dat door Simon Barrett (You’re Next) is geschreven, bevat heel wat onverwachte wendingen die wel wat ongeloofwaardig lijken, maar ze maken de film wel anders dan de rest. De cast (die voor een groot stuk in You’re Next terugkeerde) bestaat uit onbekenden, maar de vertolkingen zijn meer dan degelijk.

A Horrible Way To Die is wel geen klassieker om te onthouden, maar wie van degelijke films houdt, mag hem zeker zonder aarzelen in de lader duwen. In de Benelux is A Horrible Way To Die uitgebracht op Filmfreaks.

Didier BECU
25/12/2014


25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die 25/12/2014 : ADAM WINGARD - A Horrible Way To Die

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)