tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

AEON SABLE

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
Dark WaveGothic RockMetal 25/08/2015, Benny CALUWE

Are you into dark rock? Then you have most certainly heare of Aeon Sable. The Essen based band released its critically aclaimed album Visionaers last year. I even gave it a spot in my top 10 albums of 2014. The duo mixes influences of gothic rock, metal and esotericism with a psychedelic touches.

When I contacted frontman Nino Sable to name 10 albums that changed his life, he asked me if he could share his list with his partner in crime Din Tah Aeon. I had no objections, of course. Nino and Din Tah took the time to compile their list while they are working on their new album that will be released next year. Something to look forward to.

Aeon Sable's Top Ten inspirational albums. The obvious and the not-that-obvious:

1. THE SISTERS OF MERCY– First and Last and Always
Lessons in timelessness.
Obvious#1... An instant classic. Everything here is perfect: the style, the riffs, the lyrics, the static drum loops. Every musician dreams of making such a timeless album.

2. FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM – Elizium
Lessons in cross-picking.
Obvious#2... The masters of guitar-wall-of-sound. Their guitar cross picking style and grooving bass guitar riffs are close to unequaled. Awesome artwork and visual style, too.

3. VINTERLAND – Welcome To My Last Chapter
Lessons in melodies.
Sweden and melodic black metal goes together like shark and teeth. Has earth ever heard such epic melodies anywhere else than on this album?

4. THE COVENANT– In Times before the Light
Lessons in darkness.
Since 1997, Covenant’s debut album had been a true companion through every winter. This black metal album is based on the main formula of auditory darkness.

5. BONDAGE FAIRIES – Bondage Fairies
Lessons in style.
If you have style, you don't need to be a Joe Satriani and have a million dollar recording studio to make an awesome album. Their stuff is soaked with attitude.

6. LUSTMORD – Heresy
Lessons in ambience.
A true teacher of patience. Not easy to plung in, but if you do, worlds unfold in the cinema of your head. Let go the harmonics and start feeling.

7. MONO – You Are There
Lessons in wall-of-sound.
Not the usual song structures... Starts with a single note, ends with a screaming-feedback-wall-of-sound.
Every song is like watching a mountain grow. Sweet as honey, melancholic as a movie from the 50s.

8. LONDON AFTER MIDNIGHT – Psycho Magnet
Lessons in electronics.
Including synthesizers and electronics in rock music is a thin line. These guys show how to perfectly integrate those tools without interfering with the “handmade” rock vibe.

9. UNTOTEN - Necropolis
Lessons in resources.
Similar to the number 4, this album proves that it isn't about the equipment and hi-end gear, but the ideas. Else these guys couldn't make such a perfect album with this limited equipment.

10. MISFITS– Static Age
Lessons in groove.
You just can't resist to nod your head to this grooves, thinking: yes, yes, yes.Let go the musician-ego and keep it simple!

Benny CALUWE
25/08/2015


25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Next reviews
TRACER • Water For Thirsty Dogs
MACHINISTA • Garmonbozia
RAYLAND BAXTER • Imaginary Man
PHILLIP NOYCE • Sliver
MARTIN BOWES (ATTRITION) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER ROBINSON • Asylum
JAUME COLLET-SERRA • Run All Night
MONOTONY • Monotony (EP)
GARY WALKER (DEFEAT) • Ten albums that changed my life
MIKA TAANILA • Erkki Kurenniemi : The Dawn of Dimi

 

Other reviews from AEON SABLE
AEON SABLE • Hypaerion
AEON SABLE • Visionaers
AEON SABLE • Visionears
AEON SABLE • Aequinoctium

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
NORMORIA • Origin

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO
21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)