tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

AEON SABLE

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
Dark WaveGothic RockMetal 25/08/2015, Benny CALUWE

Are you into dark rock? Then you have most certainly heare of Aeon Sable. The Essen based band released its critically aclaimed album Visionaers last year. I even gave it a spot in my top 10 albums of 2014. The duo mixes influences of gothic rock, metal and esotericism with a psychedelic touches.

When I contacted frontman Nino Sable to name 10 albums that changed his life, he asked me if he could share his list with his partner in crime Din Tah Aeon. I had no objections, of course. Nino and Din Tah took the time to compile their list while they are working on their new album that will be released next year. Something to look forward to.

Aeon Sable's Top Ten inspirational albums. The obvious and the not-that-obvious:

1. THE SISTERS OF MERCY– First and Last and Always
Lessons in timelessness.
Obvious#1... An instant classic. Everything here is perfect: the style, the riffs, the lyrics, the static drum loops. Every musician dreams of making such a timeless album.

2. FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM – Elizium
Lessons in cross-picking.
Obvious#2... The masters of guitar-wall-of-sound. Their guitar cross picking style and grooving bass guitar riffs are close to unequaled. Awesome artwork and visual style, too.

3. VINTERLAND – Welcome To My Last Chapter
Lessons in melodies.
Sweden and melodic black metal goes together like shark and teeth. Has earth ever heard such epic melodies anywhere else than on this album?

4. THE COVENANT– In Times before the Light
Lessons in darkness.
Since 1997, Covenant’s debut album had been a true companion through every winter. This black metal album is based on the main formula of auditory darkness.

5. BONDAGE FAIRIES – Bondage Fairies
Lessons in style.
If you have style, you don't need to be a Joe Satriani and have a million dollar recording studio to make an awesome album. Their stuff is soaked with attitude.

6. LUSTMORD – Heresy
Lessons in ambience.
A true teacher of patience. Not easy to plung in, but if you do, worlds unfold in the cinema of your head. Let go the harmonics and start feeling.

7. MONO – You Are There
Lessons in wall-of-sound.
Not the usual song structures... Starts with a single note, ends with a screaming-feedback-wall-of-sound.
Every song is like watching a mountain grow. Sweet as honey, melancholic as a movie from the 50s.

8. LONDON AFTER MIDNIGHT – Psycho Magnet
Lessons in electronics.
Including synthesizers and electronics in rock music is a thin line. These guys show how to perfectly integrate those tools without interfering with the “handmade” rock vibe.

9. UNTOTEN - Necropolis
Lessons in resources.
Similar to the number 4, this album proves that it isn't about the equipment and hi-end gear, but the ideas. Else these guys couldn't make such a perfect album with this limited equipment.

10. MISFITS– Static Age
Lessons in groove.
You just can't resist to nod your head to this grooves, thinking: yes, yes, yes.Let go the musician-ego and keep it simple!

Benny CALUWE
25/08/2015


25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Next reviews
TRACER • Water For Thirsty Dogs
MACHINISTA • Garmonbozia
RAYLAND BAXTER • Imaginary Man
PHILLIP NOYCE • Sliver
MARTIN BOWES (ATTRITION) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER ROBINSON • Asylum
JAUME COLLET-SERRA • Run All Night
MONOTONY • Monotony (EP)
GARY WALKER (DEFEAT) • Ten albums that changed my life
MIKA TAANILA • Erkki Kurenniemi : The Dawn of Dimi

 

Other reviews from AEON SABLE
AEON SABLE • Hypaerion
AEON SABLE • Visionaers
AEON SABLE • Visionears
AEON SABLE • Aequinoctium

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline