tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

AEON SABLE

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
Dark WaveGothic RockMetal 25/08/2015, Benny CALUWE

Are you into dark rock? Then you have most certainly heare of Aeon Sable. The Essen based band released its critically aclaimed album Visionaers last year. I even gave it a spot in my top 10 albums of 2014. The duo mixes influences of gothic rock, metal and esotericism with a psychedelic touches.

When I contacted frontman Nino Sable to name 10 albums that changed his life, he asked me if he could share his list with his partner in crime Din Tah Aeon. I had no objections, of course. Nino and Din Tah took the time to compile their list while they are working on their new album that will be released next year. Something to look forward to.

Aeon Sable's Top Ten inspirational albums. The obvious and the not-that-obvious:

1. THE SISTERS OF MERCY– First and Last and Always
Lessons in timelessness.
Obvious#1... An instant classic. Everything here is perfect: the style, the riffs, the lyrics, the static drum loops. Every musician dreams of making such a timeless album.

2. FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM – Elizium
Lessons in cross-picking.
Obvious#2... The masters of guitar-wall-of-sound. Their guitar cross picking style and grooving bass guitar riffs are close to unequaled. Awesome artwork and visual style, too.

3. VINTERLAND – Welcome To My Last Chapter
Lessons in melodies.
Sweden and melodic black metal goes together like shark and teeth. Has earth ever heard such epic melodies anywhere else than on this album?

4. THE COVENANT– In Times before the Light
Lessons in darkness.
Since 1997, Covenant’s debut album had been a true companion through every winter. This black metal album is based on the main formula of auditory darkness.

5. BONDAGE FAIRIES – Bondage Fairies
Lessons in style.
If you have style, you don't need to be a Joe Satriani and have a million dollar recording studio to make an awesome album. Their stuff is soaked with attitude.

6. LUSTMORD – Heresy
Lessons in ambience.
A true teacher of patience. Not easy to plung in, but if you do, worlds unfold in the cinema of your head. Let go the harmonics and start feeling.

7. MONO – You Are There
Lessons in wall-of-sound.
Not the usual song structures... Starts with a single note, ends with a screaming-feedback-wall-of-sound.
Every song is like watching a mountain grow. Sweet as honey, melancholic as a movie from the 50s.

8. LONDON AFTER MIDNIGHT – Psycho Magnet
Lessons in electronics.
Including synthesizers and electronics in rock music is a thin line. These guys show how to perfectly integrate those tools without interfering with the “handmade” rock vibe.

9. UNTOTEN - Necropolis
Lessons in resources.
Similar to the number 4, this album proves that it isn't about the equipment and hi-end gear, but the ideas. Else these guys couldn't make such a perfect album with this limited equipment.

10. MISFITS– Static Age
Lessons in groove.
You just can't resist to nod your head to this grooves, thinking: yes, yes, yes.Let go the musician-ego and keep it simple!

Benny CALUWE
25/08/2015


25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Next reviews
TRACER • Water For Thirsty Dogs
MACHINISTA • Garmonbozia
RAYLAND BAXTER • Imaginary Man
PHILLIP NOYCE • Sliver
MARTIN BOWES (ATTRITION) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER ROBINSON • Asylum
JAUME COLLET-SERRA • Run All Night
MONOTONY • Monotony (EP)
GARY WALKER (DEFEAT) • Ten albums that changed my life
MIKA TAANILA • Erkki Kurenniemi : The Dawn of Dimi

 

Other reviews from AEON SABLE
AEON SABLE • Hypaerion
AEON SABLE • Visionaers
AEON SABLE • Visionears
AEON SABLE • Aequinoctium

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.
21
01
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986
19
01
Electronic Band LUSCIOUS APPARATUS Addresses Domestic Violence With New Single, 'Infiltrate'
19
01
On this day, 31 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
Horror Punk Band CUT LIKE THIS Personifies Insomnia With Latest Single, 'The Boogeyman' Featuring ANGELSPIT

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven