tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

AEON SABLE

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
Dark WaveGothic RockMetal 25/08/2015, Benny CALUWE

Are you into dark rock? Then you have most certainly heare of Aeon Sable. The Essen based band released its critically aclaimed album Visionaers last year. I even gave it a spot in my top 10 albums of 2014. The duo mixes influences of gothic rock, metal and esotericism with a psychedelic touches.

When I contacted frontman Nino Sable to name 10 albums that changed his life, he asked me if he could share his list with his partner in crime Din Tah Aeon. I had no objections, of course. Nino and Din Tah took the time to compile their list while they are working on their new album that will be released next year. Something to look forward to.

Aeon Sable's Top Ten inspirational albums. The obvious and the not-that-obvious:

1. THE SISTERS OF MERCY– First and Last and Always
Lessons in timelessness.
Obvious#1... An instant classic. Everything here is perfect: the style, the riffs, the lyrics, the static drum loops. Every musician dreams of making such a timeless album.

2. FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM – Elizium
Lessons in cross-picking.
Obvious#2... The masters of guitar-wall-of-sound. Their guitar cross picking style and grooving bass guitar riffs are close to unequaled. Awesome artwork and visual style, too.

3. VINTERLAND – Welcome To My Last Chapter
Lessons in melodies.
Sweden and melodic black metal goes together like shark and teeth. Has earth ever heard such epic melodies anywhere else than on this album?

4. THE COVENANT– In Times before the Light
Lessons in darkness.
Since 1997, Covenant’s debut album had been a true companion through every winter. This black metal album is based on the main formula of auditory darkness.

5. BONDAGE FAIRIES – Bondage Fairies
Lessons in style.
If you have style, you don't need to be a Joe Satriani and have a million dollar recording studio to make an awesome album. Their stuff is soaked with attitude.

6. LUSTMORD – Heresy
Lessons in ambience.
A true teacher of patience. Not easy to plung in, but if you do, worlds unfold in the cinema of your head. Let go the harmonics and start feeling.

7. MONO – You Are There
Lessons in wall-of-sound.
Not the usual song structures... Starts with a single note, ends with a screaming-feedback-wall-of-sound.
Every song is like watching a mountain grow. Sweet as honey, melancholic as a movie from the 50s.

8. LONDON AFTER MIDNIGHT – Psycho Magnet
Lessons in electronics.
Including synthesizers and electronics in rock music is a thin line. These guys show how to perfectly integrate those tools without interfering with the “handmade” rock vibe.

9. UNTOTEN - Necropolis
Lessons in resources.
Similar to the number 4, this album proves that it isn't about the equipment and hi-end gear, but the ideas. Else these guys couldn't make such a perfect album with this limited equipment.

10. MISFITS– Static Age
Lessons in groove.
You just can't resist to nod your head to this grooves, thinking: yes, yes, yes.Let go the musician-ego and keep it simple!

Benny CALUWE
25/08/2015


25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 25/08/2015 : AEON SABLE - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Next reviews
TRACER • Water For Thirsty Dogs
MACHINISTA • Garmonbozia
RAYLAND BAXTER • Imaginary Man
PHILLIP NOYCE • Sliver
MARTIN BOWES (ATTRITION) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER ROBINSON • Asylum
JAUME COLLET-SERRA • Run All Night
MONOTONY • Monotony (EP)
GARY WALKER (DEFEAT) • Ten albums that changed my life
MIKA TAANILA • Erkki Kurenniemi : The Dawn of Dimi

 

Other reviews from AEON SABLE
AEON SABLE • Hypaerion
AEON SABLE • Visionaers
AEON SABLE • Visionears
AEON SABLE • Aequinoctium

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer