tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/09/2012 : AESTHETIC PERFECTION - A nice place to destroy (EP)

AESTHETIC PERFECTION

A nice place to destroy (EP)

MusicCD
CybergothElectroHarsh

[87/100]   

Out Of Line
20/09/2012, Peter DOLPHEN

The latest EP release from Aesthetic Perfection, “A nice place to destroy”, can be seen as 2 singles just put together on one disc… We have 10 tracks, bringing only 3 songs in various remixes, a small preview of what the next full album will be bringing (All beauty destroyed will come out in november).

First single is “A nice plate to visit”. A great medium-speed track with the well known aggressive vocals, spiced as usual with the necessary distortion. 3 remixes are brought to us on this EP: Formalin brings the track to a more poppy status and the Double Plus Ten-mix goes breakbeat. The ‘Of These Hope’-mix sounds the most commercial version of all 4, although I feel it cannot lift the original level up.

Second track is “All beauty destroyed”. This track blows me away. A wonderful ballad which I did not expect from a band more known for their harsh electronic clubtracks. But boy, was I wrong! The hoarse vocals are bringing the heart-tearing lyrics to life and let them touch a weak part in my mind… With a certain fear I started listening to the remixes… Remixing a ballad: what an assigment! But again, I was possitively surprised. The Daniel Myer remix is more easy-listening than the original (piano?) version. Comaduster-remix brings, for me, the level a bit down. Certain moments the sound of the breaks are disturbing the nice balance in the track… 2 Other remixes are brought forward, but none can reach the original (again)…

The EP finishes off with “She drives me crazy”. A nice little extra, electronic version of the hit by Fine Young Cannibals… I can't grasp this: is it a homage? Is it an ironic wink? Anyways: it’s funny!

What this EP has taught me is that Aethetic Perfection is more than just the Suicide Commando / Hocico rip-off a lot of people took them for in the beginning… Second lesson: remixes should lift up the original, which is definately not the case here. And third lesson: if these 2 tracks (the last extra not considered) set the standards for forthcoming releases, we can expect fireworks!

Peter DOLPHEN
20/09/2012


 

Next reviews
SATURMZLIDE • BeVor
IMPAKT! • Imperia
LAIBACH • Review of the concert 'We Come In Peace' in Oudenaarde on 17th September 2012
VNDL • Gahrena: Paysages Électriques
ROBERT HOOD • Motor: Nighttime World 3
S.P.O.C.K. • The Best of the Subspace Years
EWERT AND THE TWO DRAGONS • Good Man Down
THE BREATH OF LIFE • Whispering Fields
CRUISE [CTRL] • …Are Not What They Seem
PROMONIUM JESTERS • EP 2010

 

Other reviews from AESTHETIC PERFECTION
AESTHETIC PERFECTION • 'Till Death

 

Same combination of genres: CYBERGOTH + ELECTRO + HARSH
DR. KRANCK • Aus der Dunkelheit kommt das Licht

 

Same genre: CYBERGOTH
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era
HELALYN FLOWERS • Beware Of Light (feat. Chris Pohl) EP
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1
STEREO SIN • Monochrom
VARIOUS ARTISTS • MATRIX DOWNLOADED 02
ICON OF COIL • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
GRENDEL • Timewave : Zero
SKYLA VERTEX • Urwerk
DETROIT DIESEL • Coup d'état

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned

 

Same genre: HARSH
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SIN DNA • Iconoclast
SUICIDE COMMANDO • The Pain That You Like
NEONSOL • Ecliptic

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel