tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

21/07/2018 : AFTER ABSENCE - Demotape 1

AFTER ABSENCE

Demotape 1

MusicDigital
Cold WaveDarkwave

[73/100]   
21/07/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

After Absence is an Italian-French coldwave duo with their home base in the city of light, Paris. They have released a first demo tape that is available via download. There we find 5 tracks.

A varied bouquet of cutting bass lines, self-challenging synths and female vocals. A mix of coldwave, darkwave, hints of shoegaze and minimal synth... and all that in 5 songs!

"Collide" is a robust opener that makes a quiet entry where the melancholy drips from it like sticky syrup. It turns out to be a danceable coldwave song. "Bakelite" connects seamlessly with this. The voice is not always tonal but that is something that we see with several bands in the genre and that does not detract from the power of the songs. "Daleth" is my favourite of this nice entrance from After Absence. Minimal with a coldwave edge, sharp, perstistant rhythm sections that go on endlessly and a pretty poppy, cutting voice in your ear. This is a song that you are content to let play on, regardless of the fact that it lasts more than 5 minutes.

With "Postmodern Prometheus" and "Fender Bender" we get two good coldwave songs.

The duo hands out a business card and sets foot on the coldwave island. Not immediately reaching the highest tops but it is clear that they have listened well to the grandmasters of the genre. This demo is a nice step up and with some maturation this will yield good wine, although tapped from older barrels.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/07/2018


NL

After Absence is een Italiaans-Frans coldwave-duo met als homebase de lichtstad Parijs. Ze releasten een eerste demotape die via donwload verkrijgbaar is. Daarop vinden we 5 tracks.

Een gevarieerd boeket van snedige baslijnen, zichzelf uitdagende synths en vrouwelijke vocalen. Een mix van coldwave, darkwave, vleugjes shoegaze en minimal synth.. en dat in 5 songs!

Collide is een robuuste opener die rustig intrede doet waarbij de melancholie er als kleverige stroop vanaf druipt. Het ontpopt zich tot een dansbare coldwave song. Bakelite sluit hier naadloos op aan. Het stemgeluid is niet steeds even toonvast, maar dat merken we wel bij meerdere bands in het genre, en het doet in deze totaal géén afbreuk van de kracht van de songs. Daleth is mijn favoriet van deze aardige binnekomer van After Absence. Minimal met een coldwave-randje, snedig vasthoudende ritmesecties die eindeloos doorgaan en een al bij al vrij poppy in het gehoor snijdende stem. Dit is een song die, ook al duurt hij ruim vijf minuten, mag blijven verder gaan.

Met Postmodern Prometheus en Fender Bender krijgen we nog twee goede coldwave-songs.

Het duo geeft bij deze een visitekaartje af en zet voet aan wal op coldwave-island. Nog niet meteen de hoogste toppen scherend, maar het is duidelijk dat ze de grootmeesters in het genre wel goéd beluisterd hebben. Deze demo is een mooie opstap en middels nog wat rijping zal dit goede wijn opleveren, hoewel getapt uit oudere vaten.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/07/2018


21/07/2018 : AFTER ABSENCE - Demotape 1 21/07/2018 : AFTER ABSENCE - Demotape 1

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls