tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

21/07/2018 : AFTER ABSENCE - Demotape 1

AFTER ABSENCE

Demotape 1

MusicDigital
Cold WaveDarkwave

[73/100]   
21/07/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

After Absence is an Italian-French coldwave duo with their home base in the city of light, Paris. They have released a first demo tape that is available via download. There we find 5 tracks.

A varied bouquet of cutting bass lines, self-challenging synths and female vocals. A mix of coldwave, darkwave, hints of shoegaze and minimal synth... and all that in 5 songs!

"Collide" is a robust opener that makes a quiet entry where the melancholy drips from it like sticky syrup. It turns out to be a danceable coldwave song. "Bakelite" connects seamlessly with this. The voice is not always tonal but that is something that we see with several bands in the genre and that does not detract from the power of the songs. "Daleth" is my favourite of this nice entrance from After Absence. Minimal with a coldwave edge, sharp, perstistant rhythm sections that go on endlessly and a pretty poppy, cutting voice in your ear. This is a song that you are content to let play on, regardless of the fact that it lasts more than 5 minutes.

With "Postmodern Prometheus" and "Fender Bender" we get two good coldwave songs.

The duo hands out a business card and sets foot on the coldwave island. Not immediately reaching the highest tops but it is clear that they have listened well to the grandmasters of the genre. This demo is a nice step up and with some maturation this will yield good wine, although tapped from older barrels.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/07/2018


NL

After Absence is een Italiaans-Frans coldwave-duo met als homebase de lichtstad Parijs. Ze releasten een eerste demotape die via donwload verkrijgbaar is. Daarop vinden we 5 tracks.

Een gevarieerd boeket van snedige baslijnen, zichzelf uitdagende synths en vrouwelijke vocalen. Een mix van coldwave, darkwave, vleugjes shoegaze en minimal synth.. en dat in 5 songs!

Collide is een robuuste opener die rustig intrede doet waarbij de melancholie er als kleverige stroop vanaf druipt. Het ontpopt zich tot een dansbare coldwave song. Bakelite sluit hier naadloos op aan. Het stemgeluid is niet steeds even toonvast, maar dat merken we wel bij meerdere bands in het genre, en het doet in deze totaal géén afbreuk van de kracht van de songs. Daleth is mijn favoriet van deze aardige binnekomer van After Absence. Minimal met een coldwave-randje, snedig vasthoudende ritmesecties die eindeloos doorgaan en een al bij al vrij poppy in het gehoor snijdende stem. Dit is een song die, ook al duurt hij ruim vijf minuten, mag blijven verder gaan.

Met Postmodern Prometheus en Fender Bender krijgen we nog twee goede coldwave-songs.

Het duo geeft bij deze een visitekaartje af en zet voet aan wal op coldwave-island. Nog niet meteen de hoogste toppen scherend, maar het is duidelijk dat ze de grootmeesters in het genre wel goéd beluisterd hebben. Deze demo is een mooie opstap en middels nog wat rijping zal dit goede wijn opleveren, hoewel getapt uit oudere vaten.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/07/2018


21/07/2018 : AFTER ABSENCE - Demotape 1 21/07/2018 : AFTER ABSENCE - Demotape 1

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men