tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

21/07/2018 : AFTER ABSENCE - Demotape 1

AFTER ABSENCE

Demotape 1

MusicDigital
Cold WaveDarkwave

[73/100]   
21/07/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

After Absence is an Italian-French coldwave duo with their home base in the city of light, Paris. They have released a first demo tape that is available via download. There we find 5 tracks.

A varied bouquet of cutting bass lines, self-challenging synths and female vocals. A mix of coldwave, darkwave, hints of shoegaze and minimal synth... and all that in 5 songs!

"Collide" is a robust opener that makes a quiet entry where the melancholy drips from it like sticky syrup. It turns out to be a danceable coldwave song. "Bakelite" connects seamlessly with this. The voice is not always tonal but that is something that we see with several bands in the genre and that does not detract from the power of the songs. "Daleth" is my favourite of this nice entrance from After Absence. Minimal with a coldwave edge, sharp, perstistant rhythm sections that go on endlessly and a pretty poppy, cutting voice in your ear. This is a song that you are content to let play on, regardless of the fact that it lasts more than 5 minutes.

With "Postmodern Prometheus" and "Fender Bender" we get two good coldwave songs.

The duo hands out a business card and sets foot on the coldwave island. Not immediately reaching the highest tops but it is clear that they have listened well to the grandmasters of the genre. This demo is a nice step up and with some maturation this will yield good wine, although tapped from older barrels.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/07/2018


NL

After Absence is een Italiaans-Frans coldwave-duo met als homebase de lichtstad Parijs. Ze releasten een eerste demotape die via donwload verkrijgbaar is. Daarop vinden we 5 tracks.

Een gevarieerd boeket van snedige baslijnen, zichzelf uitdagende synths en vrouwelijke vocalen. Een mix van coldwave, darkwave, vleugjes shoegaze en minimal synth.. en dat in 5 songs!

Collide is een robuuste opener die rustig intrede doet waarbij de melancholie er als kleverige stroop vanaf druipt. Het ontpopt zich tot een dansbare coldwave song. Bakelite sluit hier naadloos op aan. Het stemgeluid is niet steeds even toonvast, maar dat merken we wel bij meerdere bands in het genre, en het doet in deze totaal géén afbreuk van de kracht van de songs. Daleth is mijn favoriet van deze aardige binnekomer van After Absence. Minimal met een coldwave-randje, snedig vasthoudende ritmesecties die eindeloos doorgaan en een al bij al vrij poppy in het gehoor snijdende stem. Dit is een song die, ook al duurt hij ruim vijf minuten, mag blijven verder gaan.

Met Postmodern Prometheus en Fender Bender krijgen we nog twee goede coldwave-songs.

Het duo geeft bij deze een visitekaartje af en zet voet aan wal op coldwave-island. Nog niet meteen de hoogste toppen scherend, maar het is duidelijk dat ze de grootmeesters in het genre wel goéd beluisterd hebben. Deze demo is een mooie opstap en middels nog wat rijping zal dit goede wijn opleveren, hoewel getapt uit oudere vaten.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/07/2018


21/07/2018 : AFTER ABSENCE - Demotape 1 21/07/2018 : AFTER ABSENCE - Demotape 1

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?