tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

21/07/2018 : AFTER ABSENCE - Demotape 1

AFTER ABSENCE

Demotape 1

MusicDigital
Cold WaveDarkwave

[73/100]   
21/07/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

After Absence is an Italian-French coldwave duo with their home base in the city of light, Paris. They have released a first demo tape that is available via download. There we find 5 tracks.

A varied bouquet of cutting bass lines, self-challenging synths and female vocals. A mix of coldwave, darkwave, hints of shoegaze and minimal synth... and all that in 5 songs!

"Collide" is a robust opener that makes a quiet entry where the melancholy drips from it like sticky syrup. It turns out to be a danceable coldwave song. "Bakelite" connects seamlessly with this. The voice is not always tonal but that is something that we see with several bands in the genre and that does not detract from the power of the songs. "Daleth" is my favourite of this nice entrance from After Absence. Minimal with a coldwave edge, sharp, perstistant rhythm sections that go on endlessly and a pretty poppy, cutting voice in your ear. This is a song that you are content to let play on, regardless of the fact that it lasts more than 5 minutes.

With "Postmodern Prometheus" and "Fender Bender" we get two good coldwave songs.

The duo hands out a business card and sets foot on the coldwave island. Not immediately reaching the highest tops but it is clear that they have listened well to the grandmasters of the genre. This demo is a nice step up and with some maturation this will yield good wine, although tapped from older barrels.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/07/2018


NL

After Absence is een Italiaans-Frans coldwave-duo met als homebase de lichtstad Parijs. Ze releasten een eerste demotape die via donwload verkrijgbaar is. Daarop vinden we 5 tracks.

Een gevarieerd boeket van snedige baslijnen, zichzelf uitdagende synths en vrouwelijke vocalen. Een mix van coldwave, darkwave, vleugjes shoegaze en minimal synth.. en dat in 5 songs!

Collide is een robuuste opener die rustig intrede doet waarbij de melancholie er als kleverige stroop vanaf druipt. Het ontpopt zich tot een dansbare coldwave song. Bakelite sluit hier naadloos op aan. Het stemgeluid is niet steeds even toonvast, maar dat merken we wel bij meerdere bands in het genre, en het doet in deze totaal géén afbreuk van de kracht van de songs. Daleth is mijn favoriet van deze aardige binnekomer van After Absence. Minimal met een coldwave-randje, snedig vasthoudende ritmesecties die eindeloos doorgaan en een al bij al vrij poppy in het gehoor snijdende stem. Dit is een song die, ook al duurt hij ruim vijf minuten, mag blijven verder gaan.

Met Postmodern Prometheus en Fender Bender krijgen we nog twee goede coldwave-songs.

Het duo geeft bij deze een visitekaartje af en zet voet aan wal op coldwave-island. Nog niet meteen de hoogste toppen scherend, maar het is duidelijk dat ze de grootmeesters in het genre wel goéd beluisterd hebben. Deze demo is een mooie opstap en middels nog wat rijping zal dit goede wijn opleveren, hoewel getapt uit oudere vaten.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
21/07/2018


21/07/2018 : AFTER ABSENCE - Demotape 1 21/07/2018 : AFTER ABSENCE - Demotape 1

Music reviews

18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature
19
12
ORANGE SECTOR
Alles wird Gold

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 42 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
FREDRIK CROONA Condemns The Vain With New Project & Debut Single, 'Scum'
17
01
Today, 37 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
27 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 4 Year Anniversary
14
01
Today, 43 years ago, the Sex Pistols played their historic 'last' show! Watch it here!!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven
14
01
DI*OVE
Please Stop!
13
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Socopelli
12
01
AEX
Selected Memories