tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

02/06/2011 : AGENT SIDE GRINDER - The Irish Tape

AGENT SIDE GRINDER

The Irish Tape

MusicVinyl
ElectroPost Punk

[80/100]   

Enfant Terrible
02/06/2011, Didier BECU

We keep on repeating ourselves but after Principe Valiente en The Exploding Boy, there is another post-punk band from Sweden which is übercool: Agent Side Grinder.

We agree they're not immediately the most known name around, but then again their debut was printed (on vinyl only!) on 525 copies, so what do you want?

Another big difference with the aforementioned bands is that indeed Agent Side Grinder dig back in the past, but their favourite area seems to be the one from the Factory-stable as their sound is quite similar to the one which was made by Section 25 or Crispy Ambulance.

Agent Side Grinder contains just like all those Factory bass a dominating bass-sound (thank you Hooky!), a Martin Hannett-sound and a voice that seems to come straight from the tomb. Just like this ain't enough you can add some 80's electronics from bands like early Cabaret Voltaire, Hula and 23 Skidoo to that.

The Dutch based Enfant Terrible saw the genius of this band. The love was so big that they released two albums at the same time, "The Transatlantic Tape" and "The Irish tape".

Label manager Martijn Van Gessel had a very great confidence in these Swedish post-punkers. On the base from a gig which was organised by him in Amsterdam, he asked them to release a 7"inch. Since then, it looks like Agent Side Grinder can't get enough from this Dutch cult label which releases only vinyl, so this one too.

Are they retro? Yes sir, they are...but so what? The music history is already copying for forty years The Beatles and nobody seems to see this as some disturbing thing.

Excellent retro from a band that has an excellent future to look forward to.

Didier BECU
02/06/2011


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu