tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/09/2015 : AHAB - THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG

AHAB

THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG

MusicCD
Doom Metalsludge

[85/100]   

Napalm Records
01/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

AHAB is a German doom/sludge metalband that exist for more than a decade. What I like is the difference between the intro of their songs, which are rather acoustic, and the doomy middle parts. This contrast give the songs a wider palet than most doom metal music.

This is their fourth album, and maybe their best. It’s melodic and the vocals by Daniel Droste have a wide range: from grunting to pure clean vocals. The bonus track The Light in the Weed only has clean vocals. Red Foam (The Great Storm) is their fastest and shortest song and contains some nice riffs, while The Weedmen is their slowest and longest track, and also the most doomy song on the album. The opener ‘The Isle’ impresses me because of the contrasting styles and the nice melodies.

We can say they went for the extremes in music, but it is a varied album with no weak moments. The lyrics are inspired by William Hope Hodgson’ s novel The Boats of Glen Carrig. Six songs and more than an hour of music. When you buy the special edition, you get an 7" inch with an ‘Alan Parson Project’ cover (The Turn of a Friendly Card).

For lovers of doom and prog metal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/09/2015


NL

AHAB is een Duitse doom/sludge metalband die al tien jaar bestaat. Vooral de combinatie van atmosferische en akoestische intro's die overgaan in doom, zijn elementen waar ik van hou, gewoon omdat dit contrast de songs een wijder en breder palet geeft dan de muziek van de doorsnee doomband.

Dit is hun vierde fullalbum en wat mij betreft hun beste. De plaat is melodisch en Daniel Droste zingt op veel verschillende manieren: van grunts tot gewone zangstem, zoals bijv. in de bonustrack 'The Light in the Weed’. ‘Red Foam (The Great Storm)’ is hun snelste en kortste song en bevat enkele mooie riffs. ‘The Weedmen’ is dan weer hun traagste en langste, alsook het meest doomy nummer. Het openingsnummer ‘The Isle’ maakt indruk door de grote contrasten en de mooie melodieën.

We kunnen zeggen dat ze de meest extreme kanten hebben opgezocht, alhoewel het een aangenaam en varierend album zonder zwakke momenten is. De teksten zijn geïnspireerd door het boek ‘The Boats of the Glen Carrig’ van William Hope Hodgson. Zes nummers en meer dan zestig minuten muziek. Wie zich de special edition aanschaft, krijgt er een 7" inch bij met daarop een cover (The Turn of a Friendly Card) van The Alan Parson Project.

Een plaat die ik zeker zou aanraden aan de liefhebbers van doom en progmetal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/09/2015


01/09/2015 : AHAB - THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG 01/09/2015 : AHAB - THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation