tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/09/2015 : AHAB - THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG

AHAB

THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG

MusicCD
Doom Metalsludge

[85/100]   

Napalm Records
01/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

AHAB is a German doom/sludge metalband that exist for more than a decade. What I like is the difference between the intro of their songs, which are rather acoustic, and the doomy middle parts. This contrast give the songs a wider palet than most doom metal music.

This is their fourth album, and maybe their best. It’s melodic and the vocals by Daniel Droste have a wide range: from grunting to pure clean vocals. The bonus track The Light in the Weed only has clean vocals. Red Foam (The Great Storm) is their fastest and shortest song and contains some nice riffs, while The Weedmen is their slowest and longest track, and also the most doomy song on the album. The opener ‘The Isle’ impresses me because of the contrasting styles and the nice melodies.

We can say they went for the extremes in music, but it is a varied album with no weak moments. The lyrics are inspired by William Hope Hodgson’ s novel The Boats of Glen Carrig. Six songs and more than an hour of music. When you buy the special edition, you get an 7" inch with an ‘Alan Parson Project’ cover (The Turn of a Friendly Card).

For lovers of doom and prog metal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/09/2015


NL

AHAB is een Duitse doom/sludge metalband die al tien jaar bestaat. Vooral de combinatie van atmosferische en akoestische intro's die overgaan in doom, zijn elementen waar ik van hou, gewoon omdat dit contrast de songs een wijder en breder palet geeft dan de muziek van de doorsnee doomband.

Dit is hun vierde fullalbum en wat mij betreft hun beste. De plaat is melodisch en Daniel Droste zingt op veel verschillende manieren: van grunts tot gewone zangstem, zoals bijv. in de bonustrack 'The Light in the Weed’. ‘Red Foam (The Great Storm)’ is hun snelste en kortste song en bevat enkele mooie riffs. ‘The Weedmen’ is dan weer hun traagste en langste, alsook het meest doomy nummer. Het openingsnummer ‘The Isle’ maakt indruk door de grote contrasten en de mooie melodieën.

We kunnen zeggen dat ze de meest extreme kanten hebben opgezocht, alhoewel het een aangenaam en varierend album zonder zwakke momenten is. De teksten zijn geïnspireerd door het boek ‘The Boats of the Glen Carrig’ van William Hope Hodgson. Zes nummers en meer dan zestig minuten muziek. Wie zich de special edition aanschaft, krijgt er een 7" inch bij met daarop een cover (The Turn of a Friendly Card) van The Alan Parson Project.

Een plaat die ik zeker zou aanraden aan de liefhebbers van doom en progmetal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/09/2015


01/09/2015 : AHAB - THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG 01/09/2015 : AHAB - THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra
25
09
WULF 7
Porta Nigra
21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom