tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/09/2015 : AHAB - THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG

AHAB

THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG

MusicCD
Doom Metalsludge

[85/100]   

Napalm Records
01/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

AHAB is a German doom/sludge metalband that exist for more than a decade. What I like is the difference between the intro of their songs, which are rather acoustic, and the doomy middle parts. This contrast give the songs a wider palet than most doom metal music.

This is their fourth album, and maybe their best. It’s melodic and the vocals by Daniel Droste have a wide range: from grunting to pure clean vocals. The bonus track The Light in the Weed only has clean vocals. Red Foam (The Great Storm) is their fastest and shortest song and contains some nice riffs, while The Weedmen is their slowest and longest track, and also the most doomy song on the album. The opener ‘The Isle’ impresses me because of the contrasting styles and the nice melodies.

We can say they went for the extremes in music, but it is a varied album with no weak moments. The lyrics are inspired by William Hope Hodgson’ s novel The Boats of Glen Carrig. Six songs and more than an hour of music. When you buy the special edition, you get an 7" inch with an ‘Alan Parson Project’ cover (The Turn of a Friendly Card).

For lovers of doom and prog metal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/09/2015


NL

AHAB is een Duitse doom/sludge metalband die al tien jaar bestaat. Vooral de combinatie van atmosferische en akoestische intro's die overgaan in doom, zijn elementen waar ik van hou, gewoon omdat dit contrast de songs een wijder en breder palet geeft dan de muziek van de doorsnee doomband.

Dit is hun vierde fullalbum en wat mij betreft hun beste. De plaat is melodisch en Daniel Droste zingt op veel verschillende manieren: van grunts tot gewone zangstem, zoals bijv. in de bonustrack 'The Light in the Weed’. ‘Red Foam (The Great Storm)’ is hun snelste en kortste song en bevat enkele mooie riffs. ‘The Weedmen’ is dan weer hun traagste en langste, alsook het meest doomy nummer. Het openingsnummer ‘The Isle’ maakt indruk door de grote contrasten en de mooie melodieën.

We kunnen zeggen dat ze de meest extreme kanten hebben opgezocht, alhoewel het een aangenaam en varierend album zonder zwakke momenten is. De teksten zijn geïnspireerd door het boek ‘The Boats of the Glen Carrig’ van William Hope Hodgson. Zes nummers en meer dan zestig minuten muziek. Wie zich de special edition aanschaft, krijgt er een 7" inch bij met daarop een cover (The Turn of a Friendly Card) van The Alan Parson Project.

Een plaat die ik zeker zou aanraden aan de liefhebbers van doom en progmetal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/09/2015


01/09/2015 : AHAB - THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG 01/09/2015 : AHAB - THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995