tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/09/2015 : AHAB - THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG

AHAB

THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG

MusicCD
Doom Metalsludge

[85/100]   

Napalm Records
01/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

AHAB is a German doom/sludge metalband that exist for more than a decade. What I like is the difference between the intro of their songs, which are rather acoustic, and the doomy middle parts. This contrast give the songs a wider palet than most doom metal music.

This is their fourth album, and maybe their best. It’s melodic and the vocals by Daniel Droste have a wide range: from grunting to pure clean vocals. The bonus track The Light in the Weed only has clean vocals. Red Foam (The Great Storm) is their fastest and shortest song and contains some nice riffs, while The Weedmen is their slowest and longest track, and also the most doomy song on the album. The opener ‘The Isle’ impresses me because of the contrasting styles and the nice melodies.

We can say they went for the extremes in music, but it is a varied album with no weak moments. The lyrics are inspired by William Hope Hodgson’ s novel The Boats of Glen Carrig. Six songs and more than an hour of music. When you buy the special edition, you get an 7" inch with an ‘Alan Parson Project’ cover (The Turn of a Friendly Card).

For lovers of doom and prog metal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/09/2015


NL

AHAB is een Duitse doom/sludge metalband die al tien jaar bestaat. Vooral de combinatie van atmosferische en akoestische intro's die overgaan in doom, zijn elementen waar ik van hou, gewoon omdat dit contrast de songs een wijder en breder palet geeft dan de muziek van de doorsnee doomband.

Dit is hun vierde fullalbum en wat mij betreft hun beste. De plaat is melodisch en Daniel Droste zingt op veel verschillende manieren: van grunts tot gewone zangstem, zoals bijv. in de bonustrack 'The Light in the Weed’. ‘Red Foam (The Great Storm)’ is hun snelste en kortste song en bevat enkele mooie riffs. ‘The Weedmen’ is dan weer hun traagste en langste, alsook het meest doomy nummer. Het openingsnummer ‘The Isle’ maakt indruk door de grote contrasten en de mooie melodieën.

We kunnen zeggen dat ze de meest extreme kanten hebben opgezocht, alhoewel het een aangenaam en varierend album zonder zwakke momenten is. De teksten zijn geïnspireerd door het boek ‘The Boats of the Glen Carrig’ van William Hope Hodgson. Zes nummers en meer dan zestig minuten muziek. Wie zich de special edition aanschaft, krijgt er een 7" inch bij met daarop een cover (The Turn of a Friendly Card) van The Alan Parson Project.

Een plaat die ik zeker zou aanraden aan de liefhebbers van doom en progmetal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/09/2015


01/09/2015 : AHAB - THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG 01/09/2015 : AHAB - THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!
13
07
Exclusive BEAUTY IN THE SUFFERING Performance Featured In New Horror Film, CLOWN MOTEL

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
THE SAINT PAUL
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
11
07
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue