tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

06/08/2014 : AKIVA GOLDSMAN - Winter's Tale

AKIVA GOLDSMAN

Winter's Tale

Movie
Romantic

[32/100]   

Warner Home Video
06/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

The battle between good and evil probably always will be an inspiration for many directors but what Akiva Goldsman is doing in Winter’s Tale is beyond all limits. Who you say? Well, this New Yorker is mainly known as producer and scriptwriter for blockbusters. If we mention names like I Am Legend, The Da Vinci Code or A Beautiful Mind then you can imagine what a big influence this man has in tinseltown. After having read the 1000 pages long book from Mark Helprin, he knew that he would film this bestseller himself. Goldsman found a cast that most other directors would make dizzy, but how glamorous those names look on the poster, the result itself is rather disappointing. That’s also what the audience thought as this (too) romantic movie was worldwide ignored.


The story is set in two different times and deals about the same person: Peter Lake (Colin Farrell). Peter lands as a foundling in a boat (just like Moses) in New York. He grows up as a charming thug who accidentally falls in love with the very rich Beverly Penn (Jessica Brown Findlay, indeed from Downtown Abbey). It doesn’t result in a dream romance as the young woman suffers from tuberculose and has only some months left. How exactly is never explained by Avika Goldsman, but Peter is a sort of angel who is obliged to perform a miracle. The plan from devil’s servant Pearly Soames (Russell Crowe) works and poor Beverly dies. Hundred years later (2014 to be precisely) Peter returns to earth. This time he’s supposed to save the young sick kid from Virginia (Jennifer Connelly who shows up everywhere these days).


Indeed, a sort of cheap Christmas story that stimulates yawning. Such a thing can work, but not if it’s in the hands from Avika Goldsman. The script is too mellow, there are too many absurdities around, the special effects too stupid (a flying white horse that looks like the one from TriStar!) and very weak performances. Crowe seems to enjoy himself, Connelly is born for the silver screen, but Colin Farrell once again proves that he’s the worst A-actor from his time. Who knows that one day his place will be taken by Will Smith who plays as Lucifer (you read that right!) one of the most ridiculous roles ever! Romantic souls perhaps might fall for this nonsense, but real men (and of course real women too!) better put another disc in the player.


Winter’s Tale is released by Warner Home Video on DVD and Blu-ray. On both releases you can find the short featurette Winter's Tale: A Timeless Love in where the director explains why he wanted to direct this one. On the Blu-ray you also can find some deleted scenes and another short bonus Characters of Good and Evil: a title that speaks for itself!.

Didier BECU
06/08/2014


NL

De strijd tussen goed en kwaad zal wellicht een eeuwige inspiratiebron blijven voor heel wat filmmakers, desalniettemin maakt Akiva Goldsman het in Winter’s Tale wel zeer bont. Wie zeg je? Wel, deze New Yorker is vooral producer en scenarioschrijver van heel wat blockbusters. Als je weet dat het over films gaat als I Am Legend, The Da Vinci Code of A Beautiful Mind dan heb je onmiddellijk ook door dat deze man heel wat invloed in Hollywood heeft. Nadat hij het lijvige boek van Mark Helprin uit 1983 had gelezen, wist hij evenwel dat hij de verfilming van deze bestseller zelf zou uitvoeren. Goldsman kon wel op een cast rekenen die het budget vliegensvlug de hoogte injoeg, toch is het resultaat ervan allesbehalve overtuigend. Dat vertaalde zich ook in de box office-cijfers, want deze (te) romantische sprookjesfilm kon weinig of geen mensen naar de bioscoop lokken.


Het verhaal speelt zich in twee tijden af en gaat steeds om hetzelfde personage: Peter Lake (Colin Farrell). In 1886 belandt deze kerel als vondeling (alleen in een bootje zoals Mozes) in New York. Hij groeit op als kruimeldief, maar raakt door de speling van het lot verliefd op de jonge rijke Beverly Penn (Jessica Brown Findlay, inderdaad van Downtown Abbey). Een droomromance wordt het jammer genoeg niet, de vrouw lijdt namelijk aan tuberculose en heeft slechts een paar maanden te leven. Hoe het precies komt vertelt Avika Goldsman niet, maar Peter is een soort van engel wiens opdracht erin bestaat om een mirakel te verrichten. Dat lukt hem niet bij zijn geliefde, want het duivelsknechtje Pearly Soames (Russell Crowe) zorgt voor het nodige roet in het eten. Zo’n dikke honderd jaar later (2014 om precies te zijn) keert Peter terug naar aarde om zich te bekommeren over het zieke dochtertje van Virginia (de alom aanwezige Jennifer Connelly).


Inderdaad, een goedkoop kerstverhaal dat stimulerend voor de geeuwspieren werkt. Soms kan zoiets lukken, maar niet in de handen van Avika Goldsman. Het scenario is te melig, de ongerijmdheden net iets te talrijk, de special effects te dwaas (een vliegend wit paard dat als twee druppels water op het beest van de TriStar lijkt) en zeer zwakke vertolkingen. Crowe blijkt zich enigszins te amuseren, Connelly is voor het scherm geboren, maar Colin Farrell toont nog maar eens dat hij wellicht de slechtste A-acteur van dit moment is. Misschien kan Will Smith hem alsnog van de troon stoten, want zijn rol als Lucifer (ja dus!) is op zijn zachtst uitgedrukt tamelijk potsierlijk. Romantische zieltjes zullen misschien wel smelten voor dit fabeltje, mannen (of zo je wil vrouwen) met baarden gooien best een ander schijfje in de lader.


Winter’s Tale is uitgebracht door Warner Home Video en dit zowel op dvd als Blu-ray. Op zowel de dvd als Blu-ray vind je de korte featurette Winter's Tale: A Timeless Love terug waarin de regisseur uitlegt waarom hij absoluut dit boek wilde verfilmen. Wie het blauwe schijfje in huis haalt zal zich kunnen laven aan wat verwijderde scènes en Characters of Good and Evil: een titel die voor zich spreekt.

Didier BECU
06/08/2014


06/08/2014 : AKIVA GOLDSMAN - Winter's Tale 06/08/2014 : AKIVA GOLDSMAN - Winter's Tale 06/08/2014 : AKIVA GOLDSMAN - Winter's Tale 06/08/2014 : AKIVA GOLDSMAN - Winter's Tale 06/08/2014 : AKIVA GOLDSMAN - Winter's Tale 06/08/2014 : AKIVA GOLDSMAN - Winter's Tale 06/08/2014 : AKIVA GOLDSMAN - Winter's Tale 06/08/2014 : AKIVA GOLDSMAN - Winter's Tale 06/08/2014 : AKIVA GOLDSMAN - Winter's Tale 06/08/2014 : AKIVA GOLDSMAN - Winter's Tale 06/08/2014 : AKIVA GOLDSMAN - Winter's Tale 06/08/2014 : AKIVA GOLDSMAN - Winter's Tale 06/08/2014 : AKIVA GOLDSMAN - Winter's Tale 06/08/2014 : AKIVA GOLDSMAN - Winter's Tale 06/08/2014 : AKIVA GOLDSMAN - Winter's Tale 06/08/2014 : AKIVA GOLDSMAN - Winter's Tale

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)