tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ALAN VEGA & MARC HURTADO - Sniper

ALAN VEGA & MARC HURTADO

Sniper

MusicCD
Electronics

[88/100]   

Munster Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

This year, Alan Vega died on 16th July, and it became clear which impact this New Yorker had on the music scene. Along with Martin Rev, he founded Suicide in the 70s, a duo that would forever influence the electro scene and it was actually the first EBM act. If you do not believe us, just ask Dirk Ivens.

The solo records by Vega or those with his many projects are myriad. Sniper from 2010 is one of them and is now reissued on CD by Munster Records. Marc Hurtado is half of the French duo Etant Donnes, which recorded tracks with icons like Genesis P-Orridge, Michael Gira, Mark Cunningham, Lydia Lunch and the French chansonnier Christophe.

Although Sniper is an accessible (say listenable) record, it certainly is not an easy one. The songs are dominated by thumping beats and the drums sound like lashes. Suicide, but never a Suicide copycat. Hurtado takes care of the electronics, while Vega shouts his usual primal screamings.

Obviously you won’t find hits here, but Sniper is a very varied album, a one hour trip that won’t bore you for a single minute. Sometimes experimental (Let The Blood Drip sounds very Psychic TV) and then referring to Vega’s rich musical past (the title Juke Bone Done is already Suicide). Lydia Lunch sings the guest vocals with her devilish, almost unearthly voice on Prison Sacrifice. The hardest track is undoubtedly Crazy Driver with its deafening techno sounds. The most beautiful track (but atypical for this release) is Saturn Drive Duplex as a synth never sounded so grim.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Op 16 juli dit jaar overleed Alan Vega en meteen werd duidelijk wat voor een impact deze New Yorker op de muziekscène had. Samen met Martin Rev richtte hij in de jaren 70 Suicide op, een duo dat de elektroscène voorgoed zou beïnvloeden en eigenlijk de allereerste EBM-act was. Als je ons niet gelooft, vraag het gewoon aan Dirk Ivens.

De platen die Vega solo of met één van zijn vele projecten opnam zijn bijna niet bij te houden. Sniper uit 2010 is er eentje van, en nu door Munster Records op cd heruitgebracht. Marc Hurtado is de helft van het Franse duo Etant Donnes dat muziek opnam met grootheden als Genesis P-Orridge, Michael Gira, Mark Cunningham, Lydia Lunch en de Franse chansonnier Christophe.

Hoewel Sniper een toegankelijke (zeg maar beluisterbare) plaat is, is het zeker geen gemakkelijke kost. De songs worden gedomineerd door dreunende beats en drums die eerder op zweepslagen lijken. Suicide dus, zonder dat het ooit echt Suicide wordt. Hurtado zorgt voor de elektronica, terwijl Vega zijn typische oerkreten op het publiek loslaat.

Hits vind je hier uiteraard niet, maar Sniper is wel een ontzettend gevarieerde plaat waardoor je je geen minuut tijdens deze één uur durende trip verveelt. Soms zeer experimenteel (Let The Blood Drip klinkt zeer Psychic TV) en dan weer lonkend naar Vegas rijkelijke verleden (alleen de titel Juke Bone Done is al Suicide pur sang). Lydia Lunch hoor je met haar duivelse, bijna onaardse stem op Prison Sacrifice. De hardste track is zonder twijfel Crazy Driver dat wordt onderdrukt door de oorverdovende technogeluiden. De mooiste track (maar atypisch voor deze release) is Saturn Drive Duplex waarin een synth nog nooit zo akelig klonk.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me