tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ALAN VEGA & MARC HURTADO - Sniper

ALAN VEGA & MARC HURTADO

Sniper

MusicCD
Electronics

[88/100]   

Munster Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

This year, Alan Vega died on 16th July, and it became clear which impact this New Yorker had on the music scene. Along with Martin Rev, he founded Suicide in the 70s, a duo that would forever influence the electro scene and it was actually the first EBM act. If you do not believe us, just ask Dirk Ivens.

The solo records by Vega or those with his many projects are myriad. Sniper from 2010 is one of them and is now reissued on CD by Munster Records. Marc Hurtado is half of the French duo Etant Donnes, which recorded tracks with icons like Genesis P-Orridge, Michael Gira, Mark Cunningham, Lydia Lunch and the French chansonnier Christophe.

Although Sniper is an accessible (say listenable) record, it certainly is not an easy one. The songs are dominated by thumping beats and the drums sound like lashes. Suicide, but never a Suicide copycat. Hurtado takes care of the electronics, while Vega shouts his usual primal screamings.

Obviously you won’t find hits here, but Sniper is a very varied album, a one hour trip that won’t bore you for a single minute. Sometimes experimental (Let The Blood Drip sounds very Psychic TV) and then referring to Vega’s rich musical past (the title Juke Bone Done is already Suicide). Lydia Lunch sings the guest vocals with her devilish, almost unearthly voice on Prison Sacrifice. The hardest track is undoubtedly Crazy Driver with its deafening techno sounds. The most beautiful track (but atypical for this release) is Saturn Drive Duplex as a synth never sounded so grim.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Op 16 juli dit jaar overleed Alan Vega en meteen werd duidelijk wat voor een impact deze New Yorker op de muziekscène had. Samen met Martin Rev richtte hij in de jaren 70 Suicide op, een duo dat de elektroscène voorgoed zou beïnvloeden en eigenlijk de allereerste EBM-act was. Als je ons niet gelooft, vraag het gewoon aan Dirk Ivens.

De platen die Vega solo of met één van zijn vele projecten opnam zijn bijna niet bij te houden. Sniper uit 2010 is er eentje van, en nu door Munster Records op cd heruitgebracht. Marc Hurtado is de helft van het Franse duo Etant Donnes dat muziek opnam met grootheden als Genesis P-Orridge, Michael Gira, Mark Cunningham, Lydia Lunch en de Franse chansonnier Christophe.

Hoewel Sniper een toegankelijke (zeg maar beluisterbare) plaat is, is het zeker geen gemakkelijke kost. De songs worden gedomineerd door dreunende beats en drums die eerder op zweepslagen lijken. Suicide dus, zonder dat het ooit echt Suicide wordt. Hurtado zorgt voor de elektronica, terwijl Vega zijn typische oerkreten op het publiek loslaat.

Hits vind je hier uiteraard niet, maar Sniper is wel een ontzettend gevarieerde plaat waardoor je je geen minuut tijdens deze één uur durende trip verveelt. Soms zeer experimenteel (Let The Blood Drip klinkt zeer Psychic TV) en dan weer lonkend naar Vegas rijkelijke verleden (alleen de titel Juke Bone Done is al Suicide pur sang). Lydia Lunch hoor je met haar duivelse, bijna onaardse stem op Prison Sacrifice. De hardste track is zonder twijfel Crazy Driver dat wordt onderdrukt door de oorverdovende technogeluiden. De mooiste track (maar atypisch voor deze release) is Saturn Drive Duplex waarin een synth nog nooit zo akelig klonk.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap