tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

28/05/2011 : ALAN VEGA & MARC HURTADO - Sniper

ALAN VEGA & MARC HURTADO

Sniper

MusicCD
ElectroPost Punk

[83/100]   

Le Son Du Maquis
28/05/2011, Didier BECU

I never counted the amount of interviews I made in my life, but from one quantity I’m sure though. I always asked the artist if they could come up with the best album of all time and it’s kind of amazing how many artists seem to come up with the debut from Suicide.

You see, Martin Rev and Alan Vega are legends on their own and it makes me wonder if they are aware of it themselves, but they really caused some commotion in the history of music.

Alan Vega never disappeared but just like so many artists he was cursed with his own past.
It’s indeed a great thing if the audience is turning you into some icon but it’s a bit painful if those same people don’t care for what you’re actually doing.

Alan Vega got victimized by this as well and even if he can claim that he’s a cultfigure, he can also state that he’s stilling making music.

Alan recently found a new home in the Paris-based label Le Son Du Maquis and his latest work has become a collaboration with Marc Hurtado.

Marc is an artist from the 80’s who founded, along with his brother Eric, the band Etant Donnes, who were quite known in the French underground.

Later on he worked with icons like Lydia Lunch (who is appearing here on a track here as well), Genesis P-Orridge, Michael Gira, Gabi Delgado from DAF-fame and now it’s time to team up with Mr. Vega.

Musically, “Sniper” has become an album that has the same power as Suicide once captured.

While Marc is responsible for the instrumental side of things, Alan moves himself around like the punk he always used to be.
If you never liked what Vega did in 1977, it probably makes you puke but once you made a ride with the ghost rider we bet you will like this as well…

Didier BECU
28/05/2011


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu