tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim

ALAN WHITE

Reclaim

Movie
ActionDrama

[63/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
02/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You will find charlatans anywhere, and people who want to adopt a child, are frequently the victims of unscrupulous characters who only know the color of money. It happens to the couple Steven (Ryan Phillippe) and Shannon (Rachelle Lefevre). They travelvto Haiti to adopt a child. Once they arrived there, it appears that they soon will be the proud parents of Nina (Briana Roy). The only thing that still needs to be worked on is her passport. The owner of the adoption centre, Mrs. Reigert (Jacki Weaver), proposes them to stay for another week in Puerto Rico, even in a beautiful luxurious hotel. By this, the young girl could get to know her new parents better. Once the drunkard Benjamin (John Cusack) comes in sight, we realize that Reclaim won’t be a romantic picture. Barely a few days later the girl disappears from the hotel. Even Police Commissioner (Luis Guzmán) doesn’t know where to look. Even more, when suddenly the adoption agency disappears from the map, it looks as if the couple has been fooled. They are shattered, but convinced that they want their child back.

Director Alan White got lots of criticism, and it will be hard to find a decent review of this action-drama. That is unjustified. You notice that you're watching a film that is doomed to end up directly on the DVD-market, nevertheless the performances are quite satisfactory and that makes Reclaim better than the average B-movie. Ryan Philippe is a decent actor, Rachelle Lefevre, who we know from Twilight and the science fiction series Under The Dome, has all the qualities to make it and even if John Cusack looks worse in every film, he remains a good actor. The action scenes are pretty exciting, even though it seems like White wants to make a Fast & The Furious with a tiny budget. We could fill pages why you should not put Reclaim on the top of your watch list, but we can also suggest lots of counter-arguments to include it on it. Now out on DVD and Blu-ray via Dutch Film Works.

Didier BECU
02/06/2015


NL

Charlatans vind je overal, en ook mensen die een kindje willen adopteren worden regelmatig het slachtoffer van malafide figuren die alleen maar de kleur van het geld kennen. Dat ondervindt ook het echtpaar Steven (Ryan Phillippe) en Shannon (Rachelle Lefevre) die naar Haïti trekken om een kind te adopteren. Eens ze daar zijn aangekomen lijkt alles in kannen en kruiken te zijn. Weldra zullen ze de trotse ouders van Nina (Briana Roy) zijn, het enige waaraan nog moet gewerkt worden is het paspoort. De eigenares van het adoptiecentrum, Mrs. Reigert (Jacki Weaver), stelt hun voor om nog een weekje in Puerto Rico te blijven, en dan nog wel in een mooi luxueus hotel. Op deze manier kan het jonge meisje haar kersverse ouders beter leren kennen en wordt ze niet meteen uit haar omgeving weggerukt. Van zodra de steeds ladderzatte Benjamin (John Cusack) in beeld komt, beseffen we dat Reclaim geen romantisch onderonsje zal worden. Amper enkele dagen later is het meisje uit de hotelkamer verdwenen. Ook politiecommissaris (Luis Guzmán) tast in het duister. Meer zelfs, plotseling blijkt het adoptiebureau van de kaart te zijn verdwenen waardoor het eruitziet alsof het echtpaar zich in de luren heeft laten leggen. Ze zijn wel ontredderd, maar ervan overtuigd dat ze hun kind terug willen.

Regisseur Alan White kreeg bakken kritiek en het zal moeilijk zijn om een recensie te vinden die geen brandhout van dit actiedrama heeft gemaakt. Ergens is dat onterecht. Je merkt wel dat je naar een film zit te kijken die vanaf de eerste minuten gedoemd is om rechtstreeks op de dvd-markt te belanden, desalniettemin zijn de acteerprestaties van een meer dan behoorlijk niveau waardoor Reclaim beter wordt dan de doorsnee B-film. Ryan Philippe is een degelijk acteur, Rachelle Lefevre die we kennen uit Twilight en de sciencefictionreeks Under The Dome heeft alle kwaliteiten om het te maken en ook al ziet John Cusack er in iedere film slechter uit, blijft hij wel goed acteren. De actiescènes zijn behoorlijk spannend, ook al lijkt het alsof White zin kreeg om een Fast & The Furious met een beperkt budget uit zijn mouw te schudden. We kunnen bladzijden vullen waarom Reclaim niet bovenaan je verlanglijstje hoort te staan, maar we kunnen evenveel tegenargumenten verzinnen om er hem wel in op te nemen. Best dus een kansje geven als je een actiedrama in je lader wil. Nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Dutch Film Works.

Didier BECU
02/06/2015


02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim

Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
19
05
42 years of The Man-Machine!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!
30
04
DAVID GEDGE (THE WEDDING PRESENT)
'I do like to make the song as personal as possible!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House
20
05
ELEFANT
Mumbo Jumbo