tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim

ALAN WHITE

Reclaim

Movie
ActionDrama

[63/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
02/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You will find charlatans anywhere, and people who want to adopt a child, are frequently the victims of unscrupulous characters who only know the color of money. It happens to the couple Steven (Ryan Phillippe) and Shannon (Rachelle Lefevre). They travelvto Haiti to adopt a child. Once they arrived there, it appears that they soon will be the proud parents of Nina (Briana Roy). The only thing that still needs to be worked on is her passport. The owner of the adoption centre, Mrs. Reigert (Jacki Weaver), proposes them to stay for another week in Puerto Rico, even in a beautiful luxurious hotel. By this, the young girl could get to know her new parents better. Once the drunkard Benjamin (John Cusack) comes in sight, we realize that Reclaim won’t be a romantic picture. Barely a few days later the girl disappears from the hotel. Even Police Commissioner (Luis Guzmán) doesn’t know where to look. Even more, when suddenly the adoption agency disappears from the map, it looks as if the couple has been fooled. They are shattered, but convinced that they want their child back.

Director Alan White got lots of criticism, and it will be hard to find a decent review of this action-drama. That is unjustified. You notice that you're watching a film that is doomed to end up directly on the DVD-market, nevertheless the performances are quite satisfactory and that makes Reclaim better than the average B-movie. Ryan Philippe is a decent actor, Rachelle Lefevre, who we know from Twilight and the science fiction series Under The Dome, has all the qualities to make it and even if John Cusack looks worse in every film, he remains a good actor. The action scenes are pretty exciting, even though it seems like White wants to make a Fast & The Furious with a tiny budget. We could fill pages why you should not put Reclaim on the top of your watch list, but we can also suggest lots of counter-arguments to include it on it. Now out on DVD and Blu-ray via Dutch Film Works.

Didier BECU
02/06/2015


NL

Charlatans vind je overal, en ook mensen die een kindje willen adopteren worden regelmatig het slachtoffer van malafide figuren die alleen maar de kleur van het geld kennen. Dat ondervindt ook het echtpaar Steven (Ryan Phillippe) en Shannon (Rachelle Lefevre) die naar Haïti trekken om een kind te adopteren. Eens ze daar zijn aangekomen lijkt alles in kannen en kruiken te zijn. Weldra zullen ze de trotse ouders van Nina (Briana Roy) zijn, het enige waaraan nog moet gewerkt worden is het paspoort. De eigenares van het adoptiecentrum, Mrs. Reigert (Jacki Weaver), stelt hun voor om nog een weekje in Puerto Rico te blijven, en dan nog wel in een mooi luxueus hotel. Op deze manier kan het jonge meisje haar kersverse ouders beter leren kennen en wordt ze niet meteen uit haar omgeving weggerukt. Van zodra de steeds ladderzatte Benjamin (John Cusack) in beeld komt, beseffen we dat Reclaim geen romantisch onderonsje zal worden. Amper enkele dagen later is het meisje uit de hotelkamer verdwenen. Ook politiecommissaris (Luis Guzmán) tast in het duister. Meer zelfs, plotseling blijkt het adoptiebureau van de kaart te zijn verdwenen waardoor het eruitziet alsof het echtpaar zich in de luren heeft laten leggen. Ze zijn wel ontredderd, maar ervan overtuigd dat ze hun kind terug willen.

Regisseur Alan White kreeg bakken kritiek en het zal moeilijk zijn om een recensie te vinden die geen brandhout van dit actiedrama heeft gemaakt. Ergens is dat onterecht. Je merkt wel dat je naar een film zit te kijken die vanaf de eerste minuten gedoemd is om rechtstreeks op de dvd-markt te belanden, desalniettemin zijn de acteerprestaties van een meer dan behoorlijk niveau waardoor Reclaim beter wordt dan de doorsnee B-film. Ryan Philippe is een degelijk acteur, Rachelle Lefevre die we kennen uit Twilight en de sciencefictionreeks Under The Dome heeft alle kwaliteiten om het te maken en ook al ziet John Cusack er in iedere film slechter uit, blijft hij wel goed acteren. De actiescènes zijn behoorlijk spannend, ook al lijkt het alsof White zin kreeg om een Fast & The Furious met een beperkt budget uit zijn mouw te schudden. We kunnen bladzijden vullen waarom Reclaim niet bovenaan je verlanglijstje hoort te staan, maar we kunnen evenveel tegenargumenten verzinnen om er hem wel in op te nemen. Best dus een kansje geven als je een actiedrama in je lader wil. Nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Dutch Film Works.

Didier BECU
02/06/2015


02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
A Date In Camden | On this day 41 ago The Fall recorded Live At The Witch Trials!
14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
12
TAINA
Seelenfresser
14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes