tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim

ALAN WHITE

Reclaim

Movie
ActionDrama

[63/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
02/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You will find charlatans anywhere, and people who want to adopt a child, are frequently the victims of unscrupulous characters who only know the color of money. It happens to the couple Steven (Ryan Phillippe) and Shannon (Rachelle Lefevre). They travelvto Haiti to adopt a child. Once they arrived there, it appears that they soon will be the proud parents of Nina (Briana Roy). The only thing that still needs to be worked on is her passport. The owner of the adoption centre, Mrs. Reigert (Jacki Weaver), proposes them to stay for another week in Puerto Rico, even in a beautiful luxurious hotel. By this, the young girl could get to know her new parents better. Once the drunkard Benjamin (John Cusack) comes in sight, we realize that Reclaim won’t be a romantic picture. Barely a few days later the girl disappears from the hotel. Even Police Commissioner (Luis Guzmán) doesn’t know where to look. Even more, when suddenly the adoption agency disappears from the map, it looks as if the couple has been fooled. They are shattered, but convinced that they want their child back.

Director Alan White got lots of criticism, and it will be hard to find a decent review of this action-drama. That is unjustified. You notice that you're watching a film that is doomed to end up directly on the DVD-market, nevertheless the performances are quite satisfactory and that makes Reclaim better than the average B-movie. Ryan Philippe is a decent actor, Rachelle Lefevre, who we know from Twilight and the science fiction series Under The Dome, has all the qualities to make it and even if John Cusack looks worse in every film, he remains a good actor. The action scenes are pretty exciting, even though it seems like White wants to make a Fast & The Furious with a tiny budget. We could fill pages why you should not put Reclaim on the top of your watch list, but we can also suggest lots of counter-arguments to include it on it. Now out on DVD and Blu-ray via Dutch Film Works.

Didier BECU
02/06/2015


NL

Charlatans vind je overal, en ook mensen die een kindje willen adopteren worden regelmatig het slachtoffer van malafide figuren die alleen maar de kleur van het geld kennen. Dat ondervindt ook het echtpaar Steven (Ryan Phillippe) en Shannon (Rachelle Lefevre) die naar Haïti trekken om een kind te adopteren. Eens ze daar zijn aangekomen lijkt alles in kannen en kruiken te zijn. Weldra zullen ze de trotse ouders van Nina (Briana Roy) zijn, het enige waaraan nog moet gewerkt worden is het paspoort. De eigenares van het adoptiecentrum, Mrs. Reigert (Jacki Weaver), stelt hun voor om nog een weekje in Puerto Rico te blijven, en dan nog wel in een mooi luxueus hotel. Op deze manier kan het jonge meisje haar kersverse ouders beter leren kennen en wordt ze niet meteen uit haar omgeving weggerukt. Van zodra de steeds ladderzatte Benjamin (John Cusack) in beeld komt, beseffen we dat Reclaim geen romantisch onderonsje zal worden. Amper enkele dagen later is het meisje uit de hotelkamer verdwenen. Ook politiecommissaris (Luis Guzmán) tast in het duister. Meer zelfs, plotseling blijkt het adoptiebureau van de kaart te zijn verdwenen waardoor het eruitziet alsof het echtpaar zich in de luren heeft laten leggen. Ze zijn wel ontredderd, maar ervan overtuigd dat ze hun kind terug willen.

Regisseur Alan White kreeg bakken kritiek en het zal moeilijk zijn om een recensie te vinden die geen brandhout van dit actiedrama heeft gemaakt. Ergens is dat onterecht. Je merkt wel dat je naar een film zit te kijken die vanaf de eerste minuten gedoemd is om rechtstreeks op de dvd-markt te belanden, desalniettemin zijn de acteerprestaties van een meer dan behoorlijk niveau waardoor Reclaim beter wordt dan de doorsnee B-film. Ryan Philippe is een degelijk acteur, Rachelle Lefevre die we kennen uit Twilight en de sciencefictionreeks Under The Dome heeft alle kwaliteiten om het te maken en ook al ziet John Cusack er in iedere film slechter uit, blijft hij wel goed acteren. De actiescènes zijn behoorlijk spannend, ook al lijkt het alsof White zin kreeg om een Fast & The Furious met een beperkt budget uit zijn mouw te schudden. We kunnen bladzijden vullen waarom Reclaim niet bovenaan je verlanglijstje hoort te staan, maar we kunnen evenveel tegenargumenten verzinnen om er hem wel in op te nemen. Best dus een kansje geven als je een actiedrama in je lader wil. Nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Dutch Film Works.

Didier BECU
02/06/2015


02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim 02/06/2015 : ALAN WHITE - Reclaim

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis