tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

14/03/2014 : ALBERT & CHARLES BAND - Doctor Mordrid

ALBERT & CHARLES BAND

Doctor Mordrid

MovieCult movies
Horror

[55/100]   

88 Films
14/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

If you are familiar with the name of Doctor Mordrid then we guess that you're addicted to horror movies, or perhaps you're just having an old videotape from the movie in your collection. In the 90's the video market was overwhelmed with releases from Full Moon Entertainment, a movie company lead by Charles Band and founded with financial support from Paramount. The releases were straight released onto video and in all honesty, they're quite silly. But look, there's some strange theory that says silly movies are worth seeing, not? Is it cult, the lust for laughing or just a lost of time? Who knows...


The background from this movie is bizarre as well. In the early 90's Charles Band got green light for directing Doctor Strange, the Marvel Comics-character that's been created by Stan Lee and Steve Ditko in 1963. A big step forward for this director, but sadly enough for him, the studios put their plans in the feared refrigerator. Band has made so many preparations for this that he, along with his son, started directing Doctor Mordrid: say a cheap version from Doctor Strange.


The story of this modern fantasy tale is a bit ridiculous, but who had expected something else? Anton Mordrid (Jeffrey Combs) is already more than 100 years old. He earns his money as a psychologist in New York, but that's not the reason why this magician is here. He has to protect us from another wizard with very bad plans: Kabal (Brian Thompson).


So yes, a battle between magicians. The attraction of the movie is of course Jeffrey Combs whom we all know from horror classics as Re-Animator and From Beyond. We agree, in horror world fans are quickly satisfied. He surely has the right face, but be honest: he can't hardly act. The special effects are a bit dated, so all what's left is laughing. And you will if you love that type of movies.


Those who want to complete their Full Moon Entertainment-collection will be delighted to know that 88 Films has restored the movie and released it onto DVD.

Didier BECU
14/03/2014

)

NL

Heb je ooit al van Doctor Mordrid gehoord? Indien het antwoord ja is, dan ben je ongetwijfeld een onverbeterlijke horrorfanaat, ofwel heb je toevallig ergens een oude videotape van deze film liggen. In de jaren 90 werd de horrormarkt immers overspoeld door releases van Full Moon Entertainment, een maatschappij onder leiding van Charles Band waarin heel wat Paramount-geld zat. De releases raakten nooit in de bioscoop, en het moet worden gezegd: ze zijn tamelijk onnozel. Maar zoals iedereen weet is er een vreemde theorie in de filmwereld die stelt dat er een markt is voor slechte prenten. Het is niet voor niets dat Jan Verheyen opnieuw zijn Nacht Van De Wansmaak van stal heeft gehaald. Cult, dolkomisch of gewoon tijdsverlies? Wie zal het zeggen...


De achtergrond van het ontstaan van deze film is zeer merkwaardig. In het begin van de jaren 90 mocht Charles Band Doctor Strange, het Marvel Comics-personage dat in 1963 door Stan Lee en Steve Ditko werd ontworpen, verfilmen. Een grote stap voorwaarts voor deze B-filmer, maar helaas voor hem stopten de productiehuizen deze plannen na een tijdje in de koelkast. Band had echter al zo veel voorbereidingen gedaan dat hij besloot om al dat werk te gebruiken voor Doctor Mordrid, zeg maar een nepversie van Doctor Strange.


Het verhaal van deze moderne (nou ja) fantasyfabel is ronduit lachwekkend, maar wat had je anders verwacht? Anton Mordrid (Jeffrey Combs) is een vreemde tovenaar die al meer dan honderd jaar op moeder aarde rondloopt en als psycholoog in New York de kost verdient. Dat is evenwel niet meer dan een dekmantel. Hij moet de wereld beschermen tegen Kabal (Brian Thompson) die eveneens over magische kunsten beschikt, maar zijn doel is minder menslievend.


Een duel tussen twee tovenaars dus. De grote aantrekkingskracht van deze film is natuurlijk Jeffrey Combs die we kennen van horrorklassiekers als Re-Animator en From Beyond. Tja, in het bibberwereldje heeft men niet veel nodig om opgewonden van te raken. Een vent met een verschrikkelijke kop, die eigenlijk niet kan acteren. De special effects zijn hopeloos verouderd. Gelukkig kan je er nog mee lachen.


Mensen die alle (leuke) rommel van Full Moon in hun kast willen kunnen blij zijn, want het Britse 88 Films heeft de oude videotapes op een gerestaureerde dvd gegooid. Doctor Mordrid is daar eentje van.

 

Didier BECU
14/03/2014

)

14/03/2014 : ALBERT & CHARLES BAND - Doctor Mordrid 14/03/2014 : ALBERT & CHARLES BAND - Doctor Mordrid 14/03/2014 : ALBERT & CHARLES BAND - Doctor Mordrid 14/03/2014 : ALBERT & CHARLES BAND - Doctor Mordrid 14/03/2014 : ALBERT & CHARLES BAND - Doctor Mordrid 14/03/2014 : ALBERT & CHARLES BAND - Doctor Mordrid 14/03/2014 : ALBERT & CHARLES BAND - Doctor Mordrid 14/03/2014 : ALBERT & CHARLES BAND - Doctor Mordrid 14/03/2014 : ALBERT & CHARLES BAND - Doctor Mordrid 14/03/2014 : ALBERT & CHARLES BAND - Doctor Mordrid

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna