tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

20/03/2015 : ALBERT PYUN - Cyborg

ALBERT PYUN

Cyborg

MovieCult movies
ActionScience Fiction

[20/100]   

MGM
20/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Although there is a huge choice, I think Cyborg of Albert Pyun is probably the worst movie ever. Too bad that it is a Jean-Claude Van Damme vehicle, and although the Belgian beefcake can’t act at all, he still has an irresistible charisma. But no mercy, the ego of the Belgian is so big that we can not imagine that he attachesany importance to what one writes about his movies.The film was released in 1989 by Cannon, the movie empire of Menahem Golan and Yoram Globus that already was in decline at the time. It has never been the intention to make Cyborg. The producers just did not know what to do with the sets and attributes of the sequel to The Masters Of The Universe (that was never made), and so they used it for the much cheaper Van Damme-film. Someone discovered that Van Damme pronounces sixteen (!) words in Cyborg. So you know what you can expect: beating the contender to death, nothing more! The title might frown eyebrows too, because the only cyborg you will see, is a female one that has to be taken to Atlanta by Gibson Rickenbacker (Van Damme). A very important task because her brain contains data that can put an end to a virus that plagues the planet. During the mission, the cyborg is kidnapped by Fender Tremolo (Vincent Klyn). Gibson soon realises that Fender is the same villain who massacred his family.

You can’t tell anything more about this script, in fact we even revealed all spoilers (if there are any). Pyun tries in vain to create a Mad Max atmosphere, but the story is so thin and the performances are so ridiculous, that despite its 80 minutes, Cyborg seems to last an eternity. You wonder whether Golan and Globus have read the scripts before approving them. The film is an 80’s-product, but the bad taste rules in a quite bizarre way. The idea to name all the characters to a guitar type, is downright laughable, and was there no one on the set who dared to say that Van Damme with a wig looks ridiculous?

Cyborg is now considered by some people as a cult classic. It is of course how you look at it!

Didier BECU
20/03/2015


NL

Alhoewel er een overvloed aan keuze is, denk ik toch dat Cyborg van Albert Pyun zowat de slechtste film is die ooit is gedraaid. Jammer genoeg gaat het om een Jean-Claude Van Damme-product, want alhoewel de Belgische spierbundel voor geen meter kan acteren, bezit hij toch een onweerstaanbaar charisma. Maar geen genade, het ego van de Brusselaar is zo groot dat we ons niet kunnen voorstellen dat hij ook maar één attoseconde zal wakker liggen van wat een filmfan denkt over één van zijn vehikels. De film verscheen in 1989 bij Cannon, maar ondertussen was het glorierijke imperium van Menahem Golan en Yoram Globus al lang in verval. Het was zelfs nooit de bedoeling om Cyborg te maken, maar omdat men niet wist wat te doen met de gebouwde decors en attributen van de sequel van The Masters Of The Universe die er nooit kwam, bedacht men maar gauw een knokfilm voor Van Damme. Een betere omschrijving kun je voor Cyborg niet bedenken, want één of andere brave ziel heeft ontdekt dat Van Damme welgeteld zestien (!) woorden in deze film spreekt. Ook de titel doet wenkbrauwen fronzen, want van een film die als Cyborg de wereld wordt ingestuurd, verwacht je toch op zijn minst wat robots of andere sciencefictioncreaturen. Maar ook dat is niet het geval. Het enige wat Gibson Rickenbacker (Van Damme) moet doen is een vrouwelijke cyborg naar Atlanta brengen. Een zeer belangrijke opdracht omdat zij in haar brein data heeft die een einde kunnen maken aan een virus dat de planeet teistert. Tijdens de missie wordt de cyborg ontvoerd door Fender Tremolo (Vincent Klyn). Het duurt niet lang vooraleer Gibson beseft dat het om dezelfde snoodaard gaat die ook zijn gezin uitmoordde.

Meer valt er niet er te vertellen over deze film, we hebben zelfs alle spoilers (als die er al zijn) onthult. Pyun probeert tevergeefs een Mad Max-sfeer te scheppen, en het verhaal is zo dun en de vertolkingen zijn zo ridicuul, dat Cyborg ondanks zijn 80 minuten een eeuwigheid lijkt te duren. Je vraagt je af of Golan en Globus de scripts wel nalazen alvorens ze goed te keuren. De film is wel een jaren 80-product, toch regeert de slechte smaak op een bijzondere bizarre manier. Het idee om alle personages naar een gitaarsoort te noemen is ronduit lachwekkend, en was er nu niemand op de set aanwezig die het lef had om te zeggen dat Van Damme er met een pruik ronduit belachelijk uitziet?

Cyborg wordt tegenwoordig met de mantel der liefde bedekt en sommige vinden zelfs dat de film alle recht heeft om als cultklassieker te worden bestempeld. Het is natuurlijk maar hoe je het bekijkt!

Didier BECU
20/03/2015


20/03/2015 : ALBERT PYUN - Cyborg 20/03/2015 : ALBERT PYUN - Cyborg 20/03/2015 : ALBERT PYUN - Cyborg 20/03/2015 : ALBERT PYUN - Cyborg 20/03/2015 : ALBERT PYUN - Cyborg 20/03/2015 : ALBERT PYUN - Cyborg 20/03/2015 : ALBERT PYUN - Cyborg 20/03/2015 : ALBERT PYUN - Cyborg 20/03/2015 : ALBERT PYUN - Cyborg 20/03/2015 : ALBERT PYUN - Cyborg 20/03/2015 : ALBERT PYUN - Cyborg 20/03/2015 : ALBERT PYUN - Cyborg 20/03/2015 : ALBERT PYUN - Cyborg 20/03/2015 : ALBERT PYUN - Cyborg 20/03/2015 : ALBERT PYUN - Cyborg 20/03/2015 : ALBERT PYUN - Cyborg

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On