tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/10/2015 : ALELA DIANE & RYAN FRANCESCONI - Cold Moon

ALELA DIANE & RYAN FRANCESCONI

Cold Moon

MusicCD
CountrySinger Songwriter

[72/100]   

Believe Records
20/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You might know Alela Diane from her praised album About Farewell. Afterwards, Diane briefly disappeared from the music scene, but now she's back with at her side fellow countryman Ryan Francesconi, who has worked with people like Joanna Newson. Diane's return to music was anything but obvious, as in her own words, she was artistic bled to death, but the instrumental compositions of Ryan Francesconi gave her inspiration again.

The eight songs (well, it’s just that!) on Cold Moon are wonderful compositions that require the music lover to listen because of their minimal structure. The dark (sometimes hopeful, sometimes fearful) voice is reminiscent of Patti Smith, though you also can say she’s sounding a bit like Linda Rondstadt, but that’s probably because of the country style.

The compositions of these Portland musicians sometimes sound naked, sometimes a simple guitar will do, but if music is more than some sounds in the background, you will keep on listening to it and discover some new forms of beauty with every spin. Country with some Americana, and even dark too!

Didier BECU
20/10/2015


NL

Alela Diane ken je misschien wel van de plaat About Farewell, die op heel wat lovende woorden van critici kon rekenen. Nadien verdween Diane eventjes van het muziektoneel, maar nu is ze terug met aan haar zijde streekgenoot Ryan Francesconi, die eerder met mensen zoals Joanna Newson samenwerkte. Dianes terugkeer naar de muziek was allesbehalve vanzelfsprekend, want naar eigen zeggen was ze artistiek doodgebloed, maar de instrumentale composities van Ryan Francesconi gaven haar opnieuw inspiratie.

De acht nummers (tja, meer is het niet) op Cold Moon zijn wondermooie composities die door hun minimale opbouw de luisteraar verplichten om te luisteren. De donkere (soms hoopvolle, dan weer angstige) stem doet wat denken aan Patti Smith, alhoewel je daar door het hoge countrygehalte evengoed Linda Rondstadt bij kan verzinnen.

De composities van deze twee muzikanten uit Portland klinkt soms naakt, vaak volstaat een eenvoudig gitaartje, maar voor wie muziek meer is dan enkel wat geluiden op de achtergrond, zal dit schijfje meermaals in de lader geduwd worden om bij iedere speelbeurt schoonheid te ontdekken. Country met wat Americana, en nog donker ook! 

Didier BECU
20/10/2015


Music reviews

14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection