tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ALESKA - Aleska

ALESKA

Aleska

MusicCD
Post RockPost-hardcoreScreamo

[80/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You are looking at a beautiful clear skin and suddenly you discovered a festering wound. That's how I experienced Instaurer Le Vide from Aleska when I first heard this fine track. This French band trades in songs which sometimes sound as post-rock and then als screamo and post-hardcore. In plain language: quiet and pleasant-sounding pieces of music that turn into screams with heavy guitars, drums and bass.

There are seven such songs on this debut (Aleska has already released a few EPs). La Cime Au Cimetiere is an exception because it goes full speed from the start. The vocals/screams are mostly in French and they give the material a special cachet. Some songs are in English: Leaves and Trees and Me, which has a very beautiful and long intro with repetitive guitar strumming. At the end we hear the musical climax.

The album has tasteful and gothic looking artwork. Personally, I have a preference for the post-rock sounding tracks. A matter of taste. I have to admit that you have to love screamo to fully appreciate the material. It is a fine album for the fans of the genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Een mooie gave huid waarop je opeens een etterende zweer ontdekt. Dat is zo een beetje hoe ik Instaurer Le Vide van Aleska ervaar tijdens de eerste beluistering. Een fijne track trouwens. Deze Franse band grossiert in wat als post-rock klinkt en dan als screamo en post-hardcore. In gewone taal: rustige en aangenaam klinkende muziek die evolueert tot schreeuwen en zware gitaren, drums en bas.

Er staan zeven dergelijke songs op dit debuut (Aleska heeft wel al enkele ep's uitgebracht). De La Cime Au Cimetière wijkt enigzins af door meteen in volle vaart van start te gaan. De zang/screamo’s zijn grotendeels in het Frans en geven het materiaal wel een apart cachet. Enkele songs zijn in het Engels, o.a. Leaves en Trees and Me met een heel mooie en lange intro van repetitief gitaargetokkel en een muzikale climax op het einde.

Het album is gehuld in smaakvol en gothisch uitziend artwork. Persoonlijk vind ik de tracks met een groot post-rockaandeel de sterkste. Een kwestie van smaak. Ik moet wel toegeven dat je van screamo moet houden om de tracks helemaal te kunnen waarderen. Voor de rest is dit een fraai debuut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death