tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ALESKA - Aleska

ALESKA

Aleska

MusicCD
Post RockPost-hardcoreScreamo

[80/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You are looking at a beautiful clear skin and suddenly you discovered a festering wound. That's how I experienced Instaurer Le Vide from Aleska when I first heard this fine track. This French band trades in songs which sometimes sound as post-rock and then als screamo and post-hardcore. In plain language: quiet and pleasant-sounding pieces of music that turn into screams with heavy guitars, drums and bass.

There are seven such songs on this debut (Aleska has already released a few EPs). La Cime Au Cimetiere is an exception because it goes full speed from the start. The vocals/screams are mostly in French and they give the material a special cachet. Some songs are in English: Leaves and Trees and Me, which has a very beautiful and long intro with repetitive guitar strumming. At the end we hear the musical climax.

The album has tasteful and gothic looking artwork. Personally, I have a preference for the post-rock sounding tracks. A matter of taste. I have to admit that you have to love screamo to fully appreciate the material. It is a fine album for the fans of the genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Een mooie gave huid waarop je opeens een etterende zweer ontdekt. Dat is zo een beetje hoe ik Instaurer Le Vide van Aleska ervaar tijdens de eerste beluistering. Een fijne track trouwens. Deze Franse band grossiert in wat als post-rock klinkt en dan als screamo en post-hardcore. In gewone taal: rustige en aangenaam klinkende muziek die evolueert tot schreeuwen en zware gitaren, drums en bas.

Er staan zeven dergelijke songs op dit debuut (Aleska heeft wel al enkele ep's uitgebracht). De La Cime Au Cimetière wijkt enigzins af door meteen in volle vaart van start te gaan. De zang/screamo’s zijn grotendeels in het Frans en geven het materiaal wel een apart cachet. Enkele songs zijn in het Engels, o.a. Leaves en Trees and Me met een heel mooie en lange intro van repetitief gitaargetokkel en een muzikale climax op het einde.

Het album is gehuld in smaakvol en gothisch uitziend artwork. Persoonlijk vind ik de tracks met een groot post-rockaandeel de sterkste. Een kwestie van smaak. Ik moet wel toegeven dat je van screamo moet houden om de tracks helemaal te kunnen waarderen. Voor de rest is dit een fraai debuut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On