tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ALESKA - Aleska

ALESKA

Aleska

MusicCD
Post RockPost-hardcoreScreamo

[80/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You are looking at a beautiful clear skin and suddenly you discovered a festering wound. That's how I experienced Instaurer Le Vide from Aleska when I first heard this fine track. This French band trades in songs which sometimes sound as post-rock and then als screamo and post-hardcore. In plain language: quiet and pleasant-sounding pieces of music that turn into screams with heavy guitars, drums and bass.

There are seven such songs on this debut (Aleska has already released a few EPs). La Cime Au Cimetiere is an exception because it goes full speed from the start. The vocals/screams are mostly in French and they give the material a special cachet. Some songs are in English: Leaves and Trees and Me, which has a very beautiful and long intro with repetitive guitar strumming. At the end we hear the musical climax.

The album has tasteful and gothic looking artwork. Personally, I have a preference for the post-rock sounding tracks. A matter of taste. I have to admit that you have to love screamo to fully appreciate the material. It is a fine album for the fans of the genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Een mooie gave huid waarop je opeens een etterende zweer ontdekt. Dat is zo een beetje hoe ik Instaurer Le Vide van Aleska ervaar tijdens de eerste beluistering. Een fijne track trouwens. Deze Franse band grossiert in wat als post-rock klinkt en dan als screamo en post-hardcore. In gewone taal: rustige en aangenaam klinkende muziek die evolueert tot schreeuwen en zware gitaren, drums en bas.

Er staan zeven dergelijke songs op dit debuut (Aleska heeft wel al enkele ep's uitgebracht). De La Cime Au Cimetière wijkt enigzins af door meteen in volle vaart van start te gaan. De zang/screamo’s zijn grotendeels in het Frans en geven het materiaal wel een apart cachet. Enkele songs zijn in het Engels, o.a. Leaves en Trees and Me met een heel mooie en lange intro van repetitief gitaargetokkel en een muzikale climax op het einde.

Het album is gehuld in smaakvol en gothisch uitziend artwork. Persoonlijk vind ik de tracks met een groot post-rockaandeel de sterkste. Een kwestie van smaak. Ik moet wel toegeven dat je van screamo moet houden om de tracks helemaal te kunnen waarderen. Voor de rest is dit een fraai debuut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR