tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ALESKA - Aleska

ALESKA

Aleska

MusicCD
Post RockPost-hardcoreScreamo

[80/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You are looking at a beautiful clear skin and suddenly you discovered a festering wound. That's how I experienced Instaurer Le Vide from Aleska when I first heard this fine track. This French band trades in songs which sometimes sound as post-rock and then als screamo and post-hardcore. In plain language: quiet and pleasant-sounding pieces of music that turn into screams with heavy guitars, drums and bass.

There are seven such songs on this debut (Aleska has already released a few EPs). La Cime Au Cimetiere is an exception because it goes full speed from the start. The vocals/screams are mostly in French and they give the material a special cachet. Some songs are in English: Leaves and Trees and Me, which has a very beautiful and long intro with repetitive guitar strumming. At the end we hear the musical climax.

The album has tasteful and gothic looking artwork. Personally, I have a preference for the post-rock sounding tracks. A matter of taste. I have to admit that you have to love screamo to fully appreciate the material. It is a fine album for the fans of the genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Een mooie gave huid waarop je opeens een etterende zweer ontdekt. Dat is zo een beetje hoe ik Instaurer Le Vide van Aleska ervaar tijdens de eerste beluistering. Een fijne track trouwens. Deze Franse band grossiert in wat als post-rock klinkt en dan als screamo en post-hardcore. In gewone taal: rustige en aangenaam klinkende muziek die evolueert tot schreeuwen en zware gitaren, drums en bas.

Er staan zeven dergelijke songs op dit debuut (Aleska heeft wel al enkele ep's uitgebracht). De La Cime Au Cimetière wijkt enigzins af door meteen in volle vaart van start te gaan. De zang/screamo’s zijn grotendeels in het Frans en geven het materiaal wel een apart cachet. Enkele songs zijn in het Engels, o.a. Leaves en Trees and Me met een heel mooie en lange intro van repetitief gitaargetokkel en een muzikale climax op het einde.

Het album is gehuld in smaakvol en gothisch uitziend artwork. Persoonlijk vind ik de tracks met een groot post-rockaandeel de sterkste. Een kwestie van smaak. Ik moet wel toegeven dat je van screamo moet houden om de tracks helemaal te kunnen waarderen. Voor de rest is dit een fraai debuut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots