tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ALESKA - Aleska

ALESKA

Aleska

MusicCD
Post RockPost-hardcoreScreamo

[80/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You are looking at a beautiful clear skin and suddenly you discovered a festering wound. That's how I experienced Instaurer Le Vide from Aleska when I first heard this fine track. This French band trades in songs which sometimes sound as post-rock and then als screamo and post-hardcore. In plain language: quiet and pleasant-sounding pieces of music that turn into screams with heavy guitars, drums and bass.

There are seven such songs on this debut (Aleska has already released a few EPs). La Cime Au Cimetiere is an exception because it goes full speed from the start. The vocals/screams are mostly in French and they give the material a special cachet. Some songs are in English: Leaves and Trees and Me, which has a very beautiful and long intro with repetitive guitar strumming. At the end we hear the musical climax.

The album has tasteful and gothic looking artwork. Personally, I have a preference for the post-rock sounding tracks. A matter of taste. I have to admit that you have to love screamo to fully appreciate the material. It is a fine album for the fans of the genre.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Een mooie gave huid waarop je opeens een etterende zweer ontdekt. Dat is zo een beetje hoe ik Instaurer Le Vide van Aleska ervaar tijdens de eerste beluistering. Een fijne track trouwens. Deze Franse band grossiert in wat als post-rock klinkt en dan als screamo en post-hardcore. In gewone taal: rustige en aangenaam klinkende muziek die evolueert tot schreeuwen en zware gitaren, drums en bas.

Er staan zeven dergelijke songs op dit debuut (Aleska heeft wel al enkele ep's uitgebracht). De La Cime Au Cimetière wijkt enigzins af door meteen in volle vaart van start te gaan. De zang/screamo’s zijn grotendeels in het Frans en geven het materiaal wel een apart cachet. Enkele songs zijn in het Engels, o.a. Leaves en Trees and Me met een heel mooie en lange intro van repetitief gitaargetokkel en een muzikale climax op het einde.

Het album is gehuld in smaakvol en gothisch uitziend artwork. Persoonlijk vind ik de tracks met een groot post-rockaandeel de sterkste. Een kwestie van smaak. Ik moet wel toegeven dat je van screamo moet houden om de tracks helemaal te kunnen waarderen. Voor de rest is dit een fraai debuut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!
09
11
VIRGIN PRUNES
Hérésie

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)
09
11
MEANDER
This is Meander.