tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/07/2014 : ALESTORM - Sunset on the Golden Age

ALESTORM

Sunset on the Golden Age

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalHeavy MetalPost Punk

[90/100]   

Napalm Records
29/07/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Trumpets announces the start and I get a feeling of some Janez Dedt, but once the guitars, drums and the vocals jump in hell breaks out! 'Walk The Plank' has started a riot! At this point I like the promotional intro: 'Captain Christopher Bowes and his crazy crew are sailing through

`Bacon Powered Pirate Core´ with sleek keyboard riffs influenced by Folk Metal and classical Power Metal. The winner of the `Best New Pirate Metal Band-Grammy Award has again completed a brilliant performance in the studio and presents us a skillful follow-up to their third studio album with this new masterpiece. Cast off and Ship Ahoy!'

The razorsharp voice seems to be his trademark, just as the Irish accent and the punk/rebel attitude! It's true: the opening track has no happy lyrics, but somehow they turn a gray day into a sunny day! I enjoy the powerful backings and the synths mixed with the metal minded guitars! 'Drink' is what I call a 'Drunken Pirate Metal Party Anthem'! It reminds me a bit of 'Party on' (Funeral Dress) and 'As the Bottle runs dry' (The Wolfbanes). 'Magnetic North' has also party attributes and a slight flavor from the medieval times. The grunting and Irish Folk metal blends in perfectly!

'1741 (The Battle of Cartagena)' starts with a video game sound from the 80's and contains a great story telling once their own sound explodes into a powerful metal play! 'Mead from Hell' has a nice accordeon in it, fired up by enough alcohol! I feel the live vibe on this one very strongly and see a sea of human bodies rolling one over the other one until they reach the front stage! A real explosive track! 'Surf Squid Warfare' talks about a legendary fight and brings it to life, as if we are really taking part of it and that takes a lot of good crafting in the studio! 'Quest for ships' sounds like another party trip! Punk, folk and metal: all in one track! 'Wooden leg' has a great Irish Punk attitude. Once again the backings give it that extra push in the back that a great track needs to become an even greater track! I love the party vibe and it sounds to me as a must be on the track list of a concert! Once again the accordeon has a right place and adds that extra good sound needed to make it a great one! 'Hangover' (Taio Cruz Cover)

starts with an acoustic guitar and a great bass guitar. I feel that this one could have been a great last track or at least might be a great end of a gig! Just listen to the lyrics and feel the live vibe and lived through vocals! A fine jewel, perfectly crafted! It also sounds like a sing-a-long track and the more I listen to it, the more I adore it! Just perfect!

The title track closes this jewel with its epic sound and duration of 11:25! It contains every side-step and every direction taken on the previous songs, build up to come to one last explosive end before the final curtain close the show! It's a nice story to end with!

Alestorm proves that there is more around in the metalscene than just "metal" and build a great party! I hope to see them one day, in Belgium...

Both thumbs up!

Check the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d5P5Tz3VH94&feature=youtu.be

Filip VAN MUYLEM
29/07/2014


 

Next reviews
KALTHERZIG • Songs Made Of Solitude And Pain
TOUCHING THE VOID • Obsession EP
K-BEREIT • A Forest EP
JOHN FORD • The grapes of wrath
CONTROLSTATE • The Delta Pack
JOHN HUGHES • Uncle Buck
NULLVEKTOR • Marathonmann
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
GAME OVER • Burts Into The Quiet
E-CRAFT • Re-Arrested

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro