tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/07/2014 : ALESTORM - Sunset on the Golden Age

ALESTORM

Sunset on the Golden Age

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalHeavy MetalPost Punk

[90/100]   

Napalm Records
29/07/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Trumpets announces the start and I get a feeling of some Janez Dedt, but once the guitars, drums and the vocals jump in hell breaks out! 'Walk The Plank' has started a riot! At this point I like the promotional intro: 'Captain Christopher Bowes and his crazy crew are sailing through

`Bacon Powered Pirate Core´ with sleek keyboard riffs influenced by Folk Metal and classical Power Metal. The winner of the `Best New Pirate Metal Band-Grammy Award has again completed a brilliant performance in the studio and presents us a skillful follow-up to their third studio album with this new masterpiece. Cast off and Ship Ahoy!'

The razorsharp voice seems to be his trademark, just as the Irish accent and the punk/rebel attitude! It's true: the opening track has no happy lyrics, but somehow they turn a gray day into a sunny day! I enjoy the powerful backings and the synths mixed with the metal minded guitars! 'Drink' is what I call a 'Drunken Pirate Metal Party Anthem'! It reminds me a bit of 'Party on' (Funeral Dress) and 'As the Bottle runs dry' (The Wolfbanes). 'Magnetic North' has also party attributes and a slight flavor from the medieval times. The grunting and Irish Folk metal blends in perfectly!

'1741 (The Battle of Cartagena)' starts with a video game sound from the 80's and contains a great story telling once their own sound explodes into a powerful metal play! 'Mead from Hell' has a nice accordeon in it, fired up by enough alcohol! I feel the live vibe on this one very strongly and see a sea of human bodies rolling one over the other one until they reach the front stage! A real explosive track! 'Surf Squid Warfare' talks about a legendary fight and brings it to life, as if we are really taking part of it and that takes a lot of good crafting in the studio! 'Quest for ships' sounds like another party trip! Punk, folk and metal: all in one track! 'Wooden leg' has a great Irish Punk attitude. Once again the backings give it that extra push in the back that a great track needs to become an even greater track! I love the party vibe and it sounds to me as a must be on the track list of a concert! Once again the accordeon has a right place and adds that extra good sound needed to make it a great one! 'Hangover' (Taio Cruz Cover)

starts with an acoustic guitar and a great bass guitar. I feel that this one could have been a great last track or at least might be a great end of a gig! Just listen to the lyrics and feel the live vibe and lived through vocals! A fine jewel, perfectly crafted! It also sounds like a sing-a-long track and the more I listen to it, the more I adore it! Just perfect!

The title track closes this jewel with its epic sound and duration of 11:25! It contains every side-step and every direction taken on the previous songs, build up to come to one last explosive end before the final curtain close the show! It's a nice story to end with!

Alestorm proves that there is more around in the metalscene than just "metal" and build a great party! I hope to see them one day, in Belgium...

Both thumbs up!

Check the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d5P5Tz3VH94&feature=youtu.be

Filip VAN MUYLEM
29/07/2014


 

Next reviews
KALTHERZIG • Songs Made Of Solitude And Pain
TOUCHING THE VOID • Obsession EP
K-BEREIT • A Forest EP
JOHN FORD • The grapes of wrath
CONTROLSTATE • The Delta Pack
JOHN HUGHES • Uncle Buck
NULLVEKTOR • Marathonmann
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
GAME OVER • Burts Into The Quiet
E-CRAFT • Re-Arrested

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga

Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'
04
12
43 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 34 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty