tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/07/2014 : ALESTORM - Sunset on the Golden Age

ALESTORM

Sunset on the Golden Age

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalHeavy MetalPost Punk

[90/100]   

Napalm Records
29/07/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Trumpets announces the start and I get a feeling of some Janez Dedt, but once the guitars, drums and the vocals jump in hell breaks out! 'Walk The Plank' has started a riot! At this point I like the promotional intro: 'Captain Christopher Bowes and his crazy crew are sailing through

`Bacon Powered Pirate Core´ with sleek keyboard riffs influenced by Folk Metal and classical Power Metal. The winner of the `Best New Pirate Metal Band-Grammy Award has again completed a brilliant performance in the studio and presents us a skillful follow-up to their third studio album with this new masterpiece. Cast off and Ship Ahoy!'

The razorsharp voice seems to be his trademark, just as the Irish accent and the punk/rebel attitude! It's true: the opening track has no happy lyrics, but somehow they turn a gray day into a sunny day! I enjoy the powerful backings and the synths mixed with the metal minded guitars! 'Drink' is what I call a 'Drunken Pirate Metal Party Anthem'! It reminds me a bit of 'Party on' (Funeral Dress) and 'As the Bottle runs dry' (The Wolfbanes). 'Magnetic North' has also party attributes and a slight flavor from the medieval times. The grunting and Irish Folk metal blends in perfectly!

'1741 (The Battle of Cartagena)' starts with a video game sound from the 80's and contains a great story telling once their own sound explodes into a powerful metal play! 'Mead from Hell' has a nice accordeon in it, fired up by enough alcohol! I feel the live vibe on this one very strongly and see a sea of human bodies rolling one over the other one until they reach the front stage! A real explosive track! 'Surf Squid Warfare' talks about a legendary fight and brings it to life, as if we are really taking part of it and that takes a lot of good crafting in the studio! 'Quest for ships' sounds like another party trip! Punk, folk and metal: all in one track! 'Wooden leg' has a great Irish Punk attitude. Once again the backings give it that extra push in the back that a great track needs to become an even greater track! I love the party vibe and it sounds to me as a must be on the track list of a concert! Once again the accordeon has a right place and adds that extra good sound needed to make it a great one! 'Hangover' (Taio Cruz Cover)

starts with an acoustic guitar and a great bass guitar. I feel that this one could have been a great last track or at least might be a great end of a gig! Just listen to the lyrics and feel the live vibe and lived through vocals! A fine jewel, perfectly crafted! It also sounds like a sing-a-long track and the more I listen to it, the more I adore it! Just perfect!

The title track closes this jewel with its epic sound and duration of 11:25! It contains every side-step and every direction taken on the previous songs, build up to come to one last explosive end before the final curtain close the show! It's a nice story to end with!

Alestorm proves that there is more around in the metalscene than just "metal" and build a great party! I hope to see them one day, in Belgium...

Both thumbs up!

Check the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d5P5Tz3VH94&feature=youtu.be

Filip VAN MUYLEM
29/07/2014


 

Next reviews
KALTHERZIG • Songs Made Of Solitude And Pain
TOUCHING THE VOID • Obsession EP
K-BEREIT • A Forest EP
JOHN FORD • The grapes of wrath
CONTROLSTATE • The Delta Pack
JOHN HUGHES • Uncle Buck
NULLVEKTOR • Marathonmann
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
GAME OVER • Burts Into The Quiet
E-CRAFT • Re-Arrested

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict

Music reviews

14
08
LUKE LUND
Hopium
13
08
KRALLICE
Mass Cathexis
09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AND ONE
Killing The Mercy
14
08
SEPTEMBER 87
Bad Dream Baby
13
08
KING DALTON
When The Bad Is Gone
12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands