tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/07/2014 : ALESTORM - Sunset on the Golden Age

ALESTORM

Sunset on the Golden Age

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalHeavy MetalPost Punk

[90/100]   

Napalm Records
29/07/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Trumpets announces the start and I get a feeling of some Janez Dedt, but once the guitars, drums and the vocals jump in hell breaks out! 'Walk The Plank' has started a riot! At this point I like the promotional intro: 'Captain Christopher Bowes and his crazy crew are sailing through

`Bacon Powered Pirate Core´ with sleek keyboard riffs influenced by Folk Metal and classical Power Metal. The winner of the `Best New Pirate Metal Band-Grammy Award has again completed a brilliant performance in the studio and presents us a skillful follow-up to their third studio album with this new masterpiece. Cast off and Ship Ahoy!'

The razorsharp voice seems to be his trademark, just as the Irish accent and the punk/rebel attitude! It's true: the opening track has no happy lyrics, but somehow they turn a gray day into a sunny day! I enjoy the powerful backings and the synths mixed with the metal minded guitars! 'Drink' is what I call a 'Drunken Pirate Metal Party Anthem'! It reminds me a bit of 'Party on' (Funeral Dress) and 'As the Bottle runs dry' (The Wolfbanes). 'Magnetic North' has also party attributes and a slight flavor from the medieval times. The grunting and Irish Folk metal blends in perfectly!

'1741 (The Battle of Cartagena)' starts with a video game sound from the 80's and contains a great story telling once their own sound explodes into a powerful metal play! 'Mead from Hell' has a nice accordeon in it, fired up by enough alcohol! I feel the live vibe on this one very strongly and see a sea of human bodies rolling one over the other one until they reach the front stage! A real explosive track! 'Surf Squid Warfare' talks about a legendary fight and brings it to life, as if we are really taking part of it and that takes a lot of good crafting in the studio! 'Quest for ships' sounds like another party trip! Punk, folk and metal: all in one track! 'Wooden leg' has a great Irish Punk attitude. Once again the backings give it that extra push in the back that a great track needs to become an even greater track! I love the party vibe and it sounds to me as a must be on the track list of a concert! Once again the accordeon has a right place and adds that extra good sound needed to make it a great one! 'Hangover' (Taio Cruz Cover)

starts with an acoustic guitar and a great bass guitar. I feel that this one could have been a great last track or at least might be a great end of a gig! Just listen to the lyrics and feel the live vibe and lived through vocals! A fine jewel, perfectly crafted! It also sounds like a sing-a-long track and the more I listen to it, the more I adore it! Just perfect!

The title track closes this jewel with its epic sound and duration of 11:25! It contains every side-step and every direction taken on the previous songs, build up to come to one last explosive end before the final curtain close the show! It's a nice story to end with!

Alestorm proves that there is more around in the metalscene than just "metal" and build a great party! I hope to see them one day, in Belgium...

Both thumbs up!

Check the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d5P5Tz3VH94&feature=youtu.be

Filip VAN MUYLEM
29/07/2014


 

Next reviews
KALTHERZIG • Songs Made Of Solitude And Pain
TOUCHING THE VOID • Obsession EP
K-BEREIT • A Forest EP
JOHN FORD • The grapes of wrath
CONTROLSTATE • The Delta Pack
JOHN HUGHES • Uncle Buck
NULLVEKTOR • Marathonmann
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
GAME OVER • Burts Into The Quiet
E-CRAFT • Re-Arrested

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
DEMI LOVATO • HOLY FVCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'

PHOTOS

28
09
FADERHEAD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
GRENDEL
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
VANGUARD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
SYNTHATTACK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
THE JOKE JAY
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders