tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/04/2013 : ALEXANDR VATAGIN - Serza

ALEXANDR VATAGIN

Serza

MusicCD
AmbientElectronicsExperimental

[75/100]   

Valeot Records
01/04/2013, Didier BECU

Fans from experimental electronics might have heard from the Ukrainian musician Alexandr Vagatin who is currently living in Austria as he’s not only involved in well-known post-rockacts such as Tupolev and Port-Royal, but he’s also the founder of Valeot Records.

To celebrate the 5th anniversary the artist who worked with artists such as Steven Hess, Philippe petit or Stefan Nemeth is now releasing his third solo album Serza. Alexandr himself describes the sound as the combination of the analogue and tender atmosphere of Valeot  with the harsh, yet subtle digital electronics of "Shards". You want some explanation?

Well, even if I’m not quite able to describe the beauty of this minimal music, but the (short) opening track Elisa tells everything what’s this record is all about. It are drones, it’s experimental (but still accessible) and it’s a wonderful experience for the ears. The more you hear it, the more those different pieces fall together into one creation. I probably will be killed one day for comparing all the ambient-albums to Brian Eno but then again he’s the founder of this genre and is there something better than being compared to him?

I honestly have no idea if Alexandr made music for airports or whatever, but I just know that I got touched by it. Serza offers you 70 minutes of music that is made for one purpose: for using your ears that is.

 

Didier BECU
01/04/2013


 

Next reviews
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • 30/3/2013 at Mons, Belgium | Saltatio Mortis, Daemonia Nymphe, Folk Noir & Asynje
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • 29/3/2013 at Mons, Belgium | Haggard, Stille Volk, Rastaban & Dark Poem
HENKE • HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013
NITON DECAY • Cage
FATAL CASUALTIES • Paria
AIRCRASH BUREAU • Pack leader
ROBOTIKO REJEKTO • Corporate power
CHAINREACTOR • The silence & The noise
MRDTC • #2 [We transfer]
SPETSNAZ • For Generations To Come

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL
JAN SWINBURNE • Consensual Enigmas

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide