tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

08/12/2015 : ALEXEY PROTASOV (AMBASSADOR 21) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

ALEXEY PROTASOV (AMBASSADOR 21)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
08/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We recently asked Natasha of Ambassador 21 to come up with her ten favorite albums, and here’s the choice of Alexey!

It’s not easy to say that some albums (especially just 10 albums!) changed my life. In every period of life there are some pieces of art which continue to do so. So, the process is still going on. But I go back in time and pick up some albums which definitely brought something important to my life.

1. SEX PISTOLS - Never Mind The Bollocks Here’s The Sex Pistols
These guys completely changed pop culture then. And that’s what I’ve read about them even before I listend to their music. When I got a tape finally, I was mentally prepared and no one riff disappointed me. It was exactly what I needed in my teenage days - raw power, protest against everything and.. f**king catchy riffs, no?

2. DEAD KENNEDYS - Fresh Fruit For Rotting Vegetables
Sex Pistols and other 70s punks gave me a good bridge to 80's hardcore, and if I am asked to select just one band (and just one album of this band), it’ll be Dead Kennedys and the debut LP. Oh my, it was so intense, honest, with no mercy! Those guys definitely knew how to attract attention and I still love their music a lot.

3. THE PRODIGY - Fat Of The Land
I wasn’t in electronic music then, and Fat Of The Land was just like: what the fuck is that??? It was in the car with crazy people, who were not too drunk and stoned to drive (they were, but they didn’t realize it), so I listened to Fat Of The Land and all around, it was like it could be the last record I listen to in my life, but what the hell, it was such awesome music! Later came Junkie XL, Goon, Atari Teenage Riot, The Crystal Method and even such nerds like Chemical Brothers, but The Prodigy always were the best for me.

4. THE STOOGES - The Stooges and Fun House
I discovered these records many years ago on pirated, bad sounding Soviet vinyl – oh damn, it was something so cool! Ever hear about “punk” before punk? That was it! Still the best Iggy Pop albums for me. Still cool.

5. RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE - The Battle Of Los Angeles
One of the bands that kept its position so strong for years, so even haters probably never could say that this guys are just doing it for the money. It’s difficult to pick one album from Rage Against The Machine, but I take The Battle Of Los Angeles, even if I love all their albums. I love everything of this band: the music, the attitude, the words, the voice, the guitar, the bass, the drums.

6. ATARI TEENAGE RIOT - Delete Yourself
Probably, it did the same like Sex Pistols in the 70s and The Prodigy in the mid-90s. I didn’t hear anything like that before, even if I was in punk and hardcore music, genres without rules. But this kind of electronic music showed me that with new technologies, there are less rules you have to follow! It was great to listen to the record, and you never could guess what would happen in the next 5 seconds.

7. SKINNY PUPPY - Last Rights
Again, it’s very difficult to choose the best album by Skinny Puppy, but as I have to, I choose Last Rights (and Too Dark Park… and VIVIsectVI… and The Process…). It’s what hundreds of industrial bands are trying to be like today, but they all forget one simple thing : they aren't…

8. PUBLIC ENEMY - ‎It Takes A Nation Of Millions To Hold Us Back
Yes, I like good hip hop, and Public Enemy is not just good, it's the best! I really love the lyrics and energy, and the way of sampling things, I still learn lots of things from their music.

9. THE DJ PRODUCER - Doomsday Mechaniks
You can always get a clean imagine about what hardcore is from Doomsday Mechaniks. One of the best albums in its genre, and it’s difficult to overvalue The DJ Producer role in the history of hardcore techno. Whatever you want to know about this music, you get it all in Doomsday Mechaniks!

10. MINISTRY - Psalm 69: The Way To Succeed And The Way To Suck Eggs
That was music I always wanted to listen to: hard, catchy, well structured (yes, you’ve heard it correct), cynic, sarcastic, in your face! How to explain why I love it? Bing bing bang a bong bong bing bing binga binga banga bong bing bing bang a bang bang bing bong... 

Didier BECU
08/12/2015


NL

Onlangs vroegen we Natasha van Ambassador 21 om haar tien favoriete albums, en hier is de keuze van Alexey !

Het is niet gemakkelijk om zo maar sommige albums (vooral 10 albums!) uit te kiezen die mijn leven veranderden. In elke periode van het leven zijn er een platen die dat nog zullen doen. Dus, het proces is nog bezig. Maar goed, we proberen om terug in de tijd te gaan, op zoek naar enkele albums die iets belangrijks in mijn leven hebben veranderd.

1. SEX PISTOLS - Never Mind The Bollocks Here’s The Sex Pistols
In hun tijd veranderden die jongens compleet de popcultuur. En dat is wat ik heb gelezen over hen voordat ik ze beluisterde. Toen ik eindelijk een band had, was ik mentaal voorbereid en geen enkele riff ontgoochelde mij. Het was precies wat ik in mijn tienerjaren nodig had: brute kracht, protest tegen alles en.. pakkende riffs!

2. DEAD KENNEDYS - Fresh Fruit For Rotting Vegetables
Sex Pistols en andere punks uit de 70s vormden een goede brug naar de jarentachtighardcore, en als ik daaruit moet kiezen (en dan slechts één album) zal het de debuutplaat van de Dead Kennedys zijn. Het was zo intens, eerlijk, zonder genade! Die jongens wisten zeker hoe ze de aandacht moesten trekken en ik hou nog steeds veel van hun muziek.

3. THE PRODIGY - Fat Of The Land
In die tijd was ik helemaal niet in elektronische muziek, maar toen ik Fat Of The Land hoorde, dacht ik: wat is dat ??? Dat was in de auto met een stel gekke mensen die net niet te dronken en te stoned waren om auto te kunnen rijden (ze waren dat in feite wel, maar ze wisten het niet), dus ik luisterde naar Fat Of The Land en het was alsof het de laatste plaat was waarnaar ik in mijn leven zou luisteren, maar wat de hel, het was zo’n geweldig muziek! Later was er Junkie XL, Goon, Atari Teenage Riot, The Crystal Method en zelfs nerds zoals Chemical Brothers, maar The Prodigy was altijd de beste voor mij.

4. THE STOOGES - The Stooges en Fun House
Ik ontdekte deze platen vele jaren geleden via illegaal, slecht klinkend Sovjet vinyl, maar het was zo cool! Ooit gehoord over punk nog voordat punk werd uitgevonden? Dat was het! Het zijn nog steeds de beste Iggy Pop-albums voor mij. En nog steeds cool.

5. RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE - The Battle Of Los Angeles
Een van de bands die sinds jaren hun positie zo sterk hebben bewaard dat zelfs haters waarschijnlijk nooit kunnen zeggen dat deze jongens het gewoon voor het geld doen. Het is moeilijk om een album van Rage Against The Machine eruit te halen, maar ik neem The Battle Of Los Angeles, zelfs als ik hou van al hun albums. Ik hou van alles: de muziek, de houding, de woorden, de stem, de gitaar, de bas, de drums.

6. ATARI TEENAGE RIOT - Delete Yourself
Waarschijnlijk deden die hetzelfde als de Sex Pistols in de jaren 70 en The Prodigy in het midden van de jaren 90. Ik heb niets zoals dat eerder gehoord, ook al zat ik volop in de punk- en hardcoremuziek, waar er geen regels zijn. Maar dit soort elektronische muziek liet zien dat je door nieuwe technologieën nog minder regels hoeft te volgen! Het was geweldig om naar die plaat te luisteren, je kon nooit raden wat er de komende 5 seconden zou gebeuren.

7. SKINNY PUPPY - Last Rights
Nogmaals, het is heel moeilijk om het beste album van Skinny Puppy te kiezen, maar als ik moet, dan kies ik Last Rights (en Too Dark Park... en VIVIsectVI... en The Process...). Het is wat vandaag honderden industriële bands proberen te zijn, maar allemaal vergeten ze slechts één klein ding: ze zijn het niet...

8. PUBLIC ENEMY - It Takes A Nation Of Millions To Hold Us Back
Ja, ik hou van goede hiphop, en Public Enemy is niet alleen goed, het is gewoon de beste! Ik hou echt van hun teksten en energie, en de manier van hoe ze samples gebruiken, ik leer nog steeds veel dingen uit hun muziek.

9. THE DJ PRODUCER - Doomsday Mechaniks
Je hebt altijd via Doomsday Mechaniks een ideaal beeld van wat hardcore is. Een van de beste albums in zijn genre, en welke rol The DJ Producer heeft gespeeld in de geschiedenis van hardcoretechno is nauwelijks te vatten in woorden. Alles wat je wil weten over deze muziek, vind je allemaal in Doomsday Mechaniks!

10. MINISTRY - Psalm 69: The Way To Succeed And The Way To Suck Eggs
Dat was muziek waarnaar ik altijd wilde luisteren: hard, catchy, goed gestructureerd (ja, je hebt dat goed gelezen), cynisch, sarcastisch, recht in je gezicht! Hoe moet ik je uitleggen dat ik ervan hou? Bing Bing bang bong bong bing bing binga binga Banga bong bing bing bang a bang bang bing bong...

Didier BECU
08/12/2015


08/12/2015 : ALEXEY PROTASOV (AMBASSADOR 21) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2015 : ALEXEY PROTASOV (AMBASSADOR 21) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2015 : ALEXEY PROTASOV (AMBASSADOR 21) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2015 : ALEXEY PROTASOV (AMBASSADOR 21) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2015 : ALEXEY PROTASOV (AMBASSADOR 21) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2015 : ALEXEY PROTASOV (AMBASSADOR 21) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2015 : ALEXEY PROTASOV (AMBASSADOR 21) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2015 : ALEXEY PROTASOV (AMBASSADOR 21) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2015 : ALEXEY PROTASOV (AMBASSADOR 21) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2015 : ALEXEY PROTASOV (AMBASSADOR 21) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2015 : ALEXEY PROTASOV (AMBASSADOR 21) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat