tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

02/12/2015 : ALICEWELL - Young Hearts (EP)

ALICEWELL

Young Hearts (EP)

MusicDigital
Alternative Rock

[75/100]   

Self-released
02/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Rock can be found in all colours, scents and flavours. And so, it's difficult to stand out or to make something new.

The Swedish band Alicewell tries to follow the league of The Fray, All Time Low and Billy Talent, or in other words: melodic alternative rock. Lost You Once is the single from this EP and has a sing-along content. The song opens with a reverberating guitar riff that could have been of Charlie Burchill. Young Hearts has a heavier bass and goes in the direction of punk rock. The vocals are fine, but for the rest it is a mediocre song that does not stick. Fireworks is also a song that starts with a guitar riff. The structure of this song is quite surprising!

Wide Awake has more potential: burly drums and the guitars are mixed in a radio friendly way. Somewhere To Belong has a pretty interesting intro, but again the chorus sounds too ordinary. A missed opportunity, because it could have been a top class song, now it is just a decent one. The fifth and last track is No Guilt: nice pop rock with a convincing singer at the helm.

On this EP we hear Alicewell as a solid band that sounds pretty radio friendly and melodious. Their song material is good, but it rarely gets above the average level. The vocals are at times more than good, just like the backing. It will be hard to stand out above the masses with this material, but with Lost You Once, Fireworks and Somewhere To Belong they almost succeed in doing so!

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/12/2015


NL

Rock vind je in alle kleuren, geuren en smaken. Het is dus moeilijk om nog op te vallen of iets nieuws te maken. De ene band klinkt bijgevolg al wat frisser of origineler dan de andere.

De Zweedse band Alicewell probeert het in het segment waar groepen zoals The Fray, All Time Low of Billy Talent hun stek hebben, of met andere woorden: melodieuze alternatieve rock. Lost You Once is de single van deze ep en die heeft een hoog meezinggehalte. Het nummer opent met een galmende gitaarriedel die van Charlie Burchill kon zijn. Young Hearts heeft een zwaardere bas en gaat een beetje in de richting van punkrock. Op het gebied van zang zit het hier goed, maar voor de rest is het een middelmatige song die niet echt blijft hangen. Fireworks is een song die opnieuw met een gitaarriff begint. Het nummer ontwikkelt zich eerst als een gewone rocksong, om dan plots stil te vallen voor een kort downbeat fragment. Best verrassend!

Wide Awake klinkt vrij potent: potige drums en gitaren die radiovriendelijk gemixt zijn. Somewhere To Belong heeft een vrij interessante intro, jammer genoeg klinkt het refrein wat gewoontjes. Een gemiste kans, want het kon een topnummer zijn, nu is het niet meer dan een degelijke song. De vijfde en laatste track is No Guilt: een leuke poprocker met een overtuigende zanger aan het roer.

Op deze ep horen we Alicewell als een degelijke band die vrij radiovriendelijk en melodieus klinkt. Hun songmateriaal is goed, maar komt niet altijd boven de middelmaat uit. De zang is bij momenten vrij goed geslaagd, net als de backing. Het zal moeilijk worden om met dit materiaal op te vallen tussen de massa, maar met Lost You Once, Fireworks en Somewhere To Belong slagen ze daar bijna in.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/12/2015


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice