tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/09/2013 : ALIEN HAND SYNDROME - Slumber

ALIEN HAND SYNDROME

Slumber

MusicCD
Cold WaveDark WaveGothic RockNew wavePost Rock

[90/100]   

Gentlemen's Rec.
23/09/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

After reviewing the first album of this band I hoped to get soon a new one my desk. I loved it and I must admit, after listening to this new one: I still love it and all the expectations just got confirmed!

The fragility, powerful choruses, great piano, the melancholy and bombastic vibe, the blending in of the male and female voices... Just love it all! It's a beauty, it's magical, scary, creepy and yet heavenly. Clemens Engert just knows how to create a world of his own with his music! Sometimes I think this music would be fine in a cabaret gothique somewhere in Paris, might be my imagination....

'Violent Yellow’ has a dramatic feed, very melancholic and still the guitar for example sounds very warm. Love the dramatic sound of the piano and the melancholic voice. This song has some dark charming spell.

'Zampano' starts with an intriguing piano and explodes and turns into a musical chaos. This one could be the younger version of Nick Cave (I hope without the drugs). I think a voxorgel is used, but I’m not sure (it's a nice addition).

'Ballad about the Cranes' sounds in the beginning as Parisienne from the 50's. For the first time we hear the angelic voice of Marilies Jagsch. It is indeed a ballad, floating on the sound of the Celli, with a spooky sound. The more I hear Marilies' voice, the more I think about another one (just frustration: can't think about her name).

'Slumber' is the first song where I could mention Placebo as in regard to Clemens voice. Nice celli & drums, it forces you to start moving on this song. This song might even get a chance on the dance floor. Love the bombastic feel & drive!

'Dot me' is a piano minded song, very breakable, emotional & intimate. Again love the addition of Marilies' voice. In the end it almost sounds like a depressing mantra.

'Daniel and the Lions' has a nice video & is the first single. Love the celli, gives it a warm sound. After a while this song becomes again very bombastic and almost like a lament. Drums and guitars have an important part in this one too.

Batty Street Lodger' is a slow one, love the chorus: 'I'm just a silly boy'. This song is almost a movie. Somehow my imagination starts to work while listening to it, start seeing landscapes and a little boy working his ass off. This song is very strong, very captivating.

'Dark was the night' is a great piano song, very dark and melancholic. This song is just as the title! I can say the same from 'Hedonic Treadmill', except that it's sometime a bit more bombastic. The celli gives it a bit of a darker mood, almost a depressive/ extremely sad mood. The chaotic end turns it into a real fight, as if one was really ending a personal war. 'Sore Moon' is also a sad piano/celli song. It's a very intimistic and emotional song. Marilies' voice in the end of the song sounds more like a siren and gives it a mystic vibe.

'Nihilistic Itching' is more an industrial cabaret versus Marilyn Manson interlude.

As bonus track we get 'Broomstick Jesus' (2013). On the first one it was already a great end song. On this one it's even better. Clemens Engert has found his way, for sure! I hope to see him on stage, I cross my fingers!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
23/09/2013


 

Next reviews
WIRE, MUM, WOLF EYES & ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF • Review of the concert at American Theater (AB) in Brussels on 21 September 2013
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
BEAST • Dead or Alive
DALAPLAN
AH CAMA-SOTZ • Obsession Diabolique
ARCHITECT • Mine
MIKA GOEDRIJK • Naked
JOSEPH RUBEN • PENTHOUSE NORTH
LUMINANCE • The Light Is Ours (EP)
NEON ELECTRONICS • 99 To 12

 

Other reviews from ALIEN HAND SYNDROME
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • The Sincere And The Cryptic

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 38 today!
08
10
'Deathgaze' Band VAZUM Unleashes Halloween-Themed Album, 'Rated V'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
17
10
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive
16
10
PIETER VERMEYEN
Deep Into The Woods
15
10
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
Gold (Live at WGT 2014)