tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/09/2013 : ALIEN HAND SYNDROME - Slumber

ALIEN HAND SYNDROME

Slumber

MusicCD
Cold WaveDark WaveGothic RockNew wavePost Rock

[90/100]   

Gentlemen's Rec.
23/09/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

After reviewing the first album of this band I hoped to get soon a new one my desk. I loved it and I must admit, after listening to this new one: I still love it and all the expectations just got confirmed!

The fragility, powerful choruses, great piano, the melancholy and bombastic vibe, the blending in of the male and female voices... Just love it all! It's a beauty, it's magical, scary, creepy and yet heavenly. Clemens Engert just knows how to create a world of his own with his music! Sometimes I think this music would be fine in a cabaret gothique somewhere in Paris, might be my imagination....

'Violent Yellow’ has a dramatic feed, very melancholic and still the guitar for example sounds very warm. Love the dramatic sound of the piano and the melancholic voice. This song has some dark charming spell.

'Zampano' starts with an intriguing piano and explodes and turns into a musical chaos. This one could be the younger version of Nick Cave (I hope without the drugs). I think a voxorgel is used, but I’m not sure (it's a nice addition).

'Ballad about the Cranes' sounds in the beginning as Parisienne from the 50's. For the first time we hear the angelic voice of Marilies Jagsch. It is indeed a ballad, floating on the sound of the Celli, with a spooky sound. The more I hear Marilies' voice, the more I think about another one (just frustration: can't think about her name).

'Slumber' is the first song where I could mention Placebo as in regard to Clemens voice. Nice celli & drums, it forces you to start moving on this song. This song might even get a chance on the dance floor. Love the bombastic feel & drive!

'Dot me' is a piano minded song, very breakable, emotional & intimate. Again love the addition of Marilies' voice. In the end it almost sounds like a depressing mantra.

'Daniel and the Lions' has a nice video & is the first single. Love the celli, gives it a warm sound. After a while this song becomes again very bombastic and almost like a lament. Drums and guitars have an important part in this one too.

Batty Street Lodger' is a slow one, love the chorus: 'I'm just a silly boy'. This song is almost a movie. Somehow my imagination starts to work while listening to it, start seeing landscapes and a little boy working his ass off. This song is very strong, very captivating.

'Dark was the night' is a great piano song, very dark and melancholic. This song is just as the title! I can say the same from 'Hedonic Treadmill', except that it's sometime a bit more bombastic. The celli gives it a bit of a darker mood, almost a depressive/ extremely sad mood. The chaotic end turns it into a real fight, as if one was really ending a personal war. 'Sore Moon' is also a sad piano/celli song. It's a very intimistic and emotional song. Marilies' voice in the end of the song sounds more like a siren and gives it a mystic vibe.

'Nihilistic Itching' is more an industrial cabaret versus Marilyn Manson interlude.

As bonus track we get 'Broomstick Jesus' (2013). On the first one it was already a great end song. On this one it's even better. Clemens Engert has found his way, for sure! I hope to see him on stage, I cross my fingers!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
23/09/2013


 

Next reviews
WIRE, MUM, WOLF EYES & ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF • Review of the concert at American Theater (AB) in Brussels on 21 September 2013
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
BEAST • Dead or Alive
DALAPLAN
AH CAMA-SOTZ • Obsession Diabolique
ARCHITECT • Mine
MIKA GOEDRIJK • Naked
JOSEPH RUBEN • PENTHOUSE NORTH
LUMINANCE • The Light Is Ours (EP)
NEON ELECTRONICS • 99 To 12

 

Other reviews from ALIEN HAND SYNDROME
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • The Sincere And The Cryptic

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?