tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/09/2013 : ALIEN HAND SYNDROME - Slumber

ALIEN HAND SYNDROME

Slumber

MusicCD
Cold WaveDark WaveGothic RockNew wavePost Rock

[90/100]   

Gentlemen's Rec.
23/09/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

After reviewing the first album of this band I hoped to get soon a new one my desk. I loved it and I must admit, after listening to this new one: I still love it and all the expectations just got confirmed!

The fragility, powerful choruses, great piano, the melancholy and bombastic vibe, the blending in of the male and female voices... Just love it all! It's a beauty, it's magical, scary, creepy and yet heavenly. Clemens Engert just knows how to create a world of his own with his music! Sometimes I think this music would be fine in a cabaret gothique somewhere in Paris, might be my imagination....

'Violent Yellow’ has a dramatic feed, very melancholic and still the guitar for example sounds very warm. Love the dramatic sound of the piano and the melancholic voice. This song has some dark charming spell.

'Zampano' starts with an intriguing piano and explodes and turns into a musical chaos. This one could be the younger version of Nick Cave (I hope without the drugs). I think a voxorgel is used, but I’m not sure (it's a nice addition).

'Ballad about the Cranes' sounds in the beginning as Parisienne from the 50's. For the first time we hear the angelic voice of Marilies Jagsch. It is indeed a ballad, floating on the sound of the Celli, with a spooky sound. The more I hear Marilies' voice, the more I think about another one (just frustration: can't think about her name).

'Slumber' is the first song where I could mention Placebo as in regard to Clemens voice. Nice celli & drums, it forces you to start moving on this song. This song might even get a chance on the dance floor. Love the bombastic feel & drive!

'Dot me' is a piano minded song, very breakable, emotional & intimate. Again love the addition of Marilies' voice. In the end it almost sounds like a depressing mantra.

'Daniel and the Lions' has a nice video & is the first single. Love the celli, gives it a warm sound. After a while this song becomes again very bombastic and almost like a lament. Drums and guitars have an important part in this one too.

Batty Street Lodger' is a slow one, love the chorus: 'I'm just a silly boy'. This song is almost a movie. Somehow my imagination starts to work while listening to it, start seeing landscapes and a little boy working his ass off. This song is very strong, very captivating.

'Dark was the night' is a great piano song, very dark and melancholic. This song is just as the title! I can say the same from 'Hedonic Treadmill', except that it's sometime a bit more bombastic. The celli gives it a bit of a darker mood, almost a depressive/ extremely sad mood. The chaotic end turns it into a real fight, as if one was really ending a personal war. 'Sore Moon' is also a sad piano/celli song. It's a very intimistic and emotional song. Marilies' voice in the end of the song sounds more like a siren and gives it a mystic vibe.

'Nihilistic Itching' is more an industrial cabaret versus Marilyn Manson interlude.

As bonus track we get 'Broomstick Jesus' (2013). On the first one it was already a great end song. On this one it's even better. Clemens Engert has found his way, for sure! I hope to see him on stage, I cross my fingers!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
23/09/2013


 

Next reviews
WIRE, MUM, WOLF EYES & ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF • Review of the concert at American Theater (AB) in Brussels on 21 September 2013
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
BEAST • Dead or Alive
DALAPLAN
AH CAMA-SOTZ • Obsession Diabolique
ARCHITECT • Mine
MIKA GOEDRIJK • Naked
JOSEPH RUBEN • PENTHOUSE NORTH
LUMINANCE • The Light Is Ours (EP)
NEON ELECTRONICS • 99 To 12

 

Other reviews from ALIEN HAND SYNDROME
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • The Sincere And The Cryptic

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
NORMORIA • Origin

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
11
FILTER
Hey Man, Nice Shot
20
11
COLD CAVE
Villains Of The Moon
19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other