tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/09/2013 : ALIEN HAND SYNDROME - Slumber

ALIEN HAND SYNDROME

Slumber

MusicCD
Cold WaveDark WaveGothic RockNew wavePost Rock

[90/100]   

Gentlemen's Rec.
23/09/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

After reviewing the first album of this band I hoped to get soon a new one my desk. I loved it and I must admit, after listening to this new one: I still love it and all the expectations just got confirmed!

The fragility, powerful choruses, great piano, the melancholy and bombastic vibe, the blending in of the male and female voices... Just love it all! It's a beauty, it's magical, scary, creepy and yet heavenly. Clemens Engert just knows how to create a world of his own with his music! Sometimes I think this music would be fine in a cabaret gothique somewhere in Paris, might be my imagination....

'Violent Yellow’ has a dramatic feed, very melancholic and still the guitar for example sounds very warm. Love the dramatic sound of the piano and the melancholic voice. This song has some dark charming spell.

'Zampano' starts with an intriguing piano and explodes and turns into a musical chaos. This one could be the younger version of Nick Cave (I hope without the drugs). I think a voxorgel is used, but I’m not sure (it's a nice addition).

'Ballad about the Cranes' sounds in the beginning as Parisienne from the 50's. For the first time we hear the angelic voice of Marilies Jagsch. It is indeed a ballad, floating on the sound of the Celli, with a spooky sound. The more I hear Marilies' voice, the more I think about another one (just frustration: can't think about her name).

'Slumber' is the first song where I could mention Placebo as in regard to Clemens voice. Nice celli & drums, it forces you to start moving on this song. This song might even get a chance on the dance floor. Love the bombastic feel & drive!

'Dot me' is a piano minded song, very breakable, emotional & intimate. Again love the addition of Marilies' voice. In the end it almost sounds like a depressing mantra.

'Daniel and the Lions' has a nice video & is the first single. Love the celli, gives it a warm sound. After a while this song becomes again very bombastic and almost like a lament. Drums and guitars have an important part in this one too.

Batty Street Lodger' is a slow one, love the chorus: 'I'm just a silly boy'. This song is almost a movie. Somehow my imagination starts to work while listening to it, start seeing landscapes and a little boy working his ass off. This song is very strong, very captivating.

'Dark was the night' is a great piano song, very dark and melancholic. This song is just as the title! I can say the same from 'Hedonic Treadmill', except that it's sometime a bit more bombastic. The celli gives it a bit of a darker mood, almost a depressive/ extremely sad mood. The chaotic end turns it into a real fight, as if one was really ending a personal war. 'Sore Moon' is also a sad piano/celli song. It's a very intimistic and emotional song. Marilies' voice in the end of the song sounds more like a siren and gives it a mystic vibe.

'Nihilistic Itching' is more an industrial cabaret versus Marilyn Manson interlude.

As bonus track we get 'Broomstick Jesus' (2013). On the first one it was already a great end song. On this one it's even better. Clemens Engert has found his way, for sure! I hope to see him on stage, I cross my fingers!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
23/09/2013


 

Next reviews
WIRE, MUM, WOLF EYES & ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF • Review of the concert at American Theater (AB) in Brussels on 21 September 2013
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
BEAST • Dead or Alive
DALAPLAN
AH CAMA-SOTZ • Obsession Diabolique
ARCHITECT • Mine
MIKA GOEDRIJK • Naked
JOSEPH RUBEN • PENTHOUSE NORTH
LUMINANCE • The Light Is Ours (EP)
NEON ELECTRONICS • 99 To 12

 

Other reviews from ALIEN HAND SYNDROME
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • The Sincere And The Cryptic

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
NORMORIA • Origin

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl