tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/09/2013 : ALIEN HAND SYNDROME - Slumber

ALIEN HAND SYNDROME

Slumber

MusicCD
Cold WaveDark WaveGothic RockNew wavePost Rock

[90/100]   

Gentlemen's Rec.
23/09/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

After reviewing the first album of this band I hoped to get soon a new one my desk. I loved it and I must admit, after listening to this new one: I still love it and all the expectations just got confirmed!

The fragility, powerful choruses, great piano, the melancholy and bombastic vibe, the blending in of the male and female voices... Just love it all! It's a beauty, it's magical, scary, creepy and yet heavenly. Clemens Engert just knows how to create a world of his own with his music! Sometimes I think this music would be fine in a cabaret gothique somewhere in Paris, might be my imagination....

'Violent Yellow’ has a dramatic feed, very melancholic and still the guitar for example sounds very warm. Love the dramatic sound of the piano and the melancholic voice. This song has some dark charming spell.

'Zampano' starts with an intriguing piano and explodes and turns into a musical chaos. This one could be the younger version of Nick Cave (I hope without the drugs). I think a voxorgel is used, but I’m not sure (it's a nice addition).

'Ballad about the Cranes' sounds in the beginning as Parisienne from the 50's. For the first time we hear the angelic voice of Marilies Jagsch. It is indeed a ballad, floating on the sound of the Celli, with a spooky sound. The more I hear Marilies' voice, the more I think about another one (just frustration: can't think about her name).

'Slumber' is the first song where I could mention Placebo as in regard to Clemens voice. Nice celli & drums, it forces you to start moving on this song. This song might even get a chance on the dance floor. Love the bombastic feel & drive!

'Dot me' is a piano minded song, very breakable, emotional & intimate. Again love the addition of Marilies' voice. In the end it almost sounds like a depressing mantra.

'Daniel and the Lions' has a nice video & is the first single. Love the celli, gives it a warm sound. After a while this song becomes again very bombastic and almost like a lament. Drums and guitars have an important part in this one too.

Batty Street Lodger' is a slow one, love the chorus: 'I'm just a silly boy'. This song is almost a movie. Somehow my imagination starts to work while listening to it, start seeing landscapes and a little boy working his ass off. This song is very strong, very captivating.

'Dark was the night' is a great piano song, very dark and melancholic. This song is just as the title! I can say the same from 'Hedonic Treadmill', except that it's sometime a bit more bombastic. The celli gives it a bit of a darker mood, almost a depressive/ extremely sad mood. The chaotic end turns it into a real fight, as if one was really ending a personal war. 'Sore Moon' is also a sad piano/celli song. It's a very intimistic and emotional song. Marilies' voice in the end of the song sounds more like a siren and gives it a mystic vibe.

'Nihilistic Itching' is more an industrial cabaret versus Marilyn Manson interlude.

As bonus track we get 'Broomstick Jesus' (2013). On the first one it was already a great end song. On this one it's even better. Clemens Engert has found his way, for sure! I hope to see him on stage, I cross my fingers!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
23/09/2013


 

Next reviews
WIRE, MUM, WOLF EYES & ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF • Review of the concert at American Theater (AB) in Brussels on 21 September 2013
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
BEAST • Dead or Alive
DALAPLAN
AH CAMA-SOTZ • Obsession Diabolique
ARCHITECT • Mine
MIKA GOEDRIJK • Naked
JOSEPH RUBEN • PENTHOUSE NORTH
LUMINANCE • The Light Is Ours (EP)
NEON ELECTRONICS • 99 To 12

 

Other reviews from ALIEN HAND SYNDROME
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • The Sincere And The Cryptic

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
NORMORIA • Origin
AUTUMN • The Fall
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart