tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines

AMBER ARCADES

Fading Lines

MusicCD

Heavenly Recordings
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It’s rather hard to find excellent indie pop from the Netherlands. I can only come up with names like Bettie Serveert, The Nightblooms and with some good will Salad, but there it stops (of course with the necessary apologies to those I forget).

Annelotte de Graaf puts all her compatriots in the shade with this debut. Oddly enough, she gets the praise of the alternative press in foreign countries, especially in England where she went on tour with Nada Surf and Palehound.

On her debut Fading Lines, Annelotte (who works for the UN tribunal for war crimes) gets her inspiration from the indie sound of the 90s, especially bands like Stereolab or 4AD-gods like Belly and Lush, and she never sounds as a copy.

The focus is clearly on Annelotte’s wonderful voice that is both sexy, sultry and naive. A daydreamer who knows what she wants and surrounds herself with delightful melodies. The songs are dominated by soaring guitars, and so a term like ethereal pop is almost inevitable.

Most of the songs (recorded in New York with Ben Greenberg, who also worked for Beach Fossils and Destruction Unit) are uptempo guitar songs with a high content of melancholy, and always with a nod to the shoegaze bands who invented the genre. Beautiful.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Excellente indiepop uit Nederland, het komt net iets te weinig voor. Ik kan alleen maar bands als Bettie Serveert, The Nightblooms en met wat goede wil Salad voor de geest halen, maar daar houdt het op (met uiteraard de nodige verontschuldigingen aan diegenen die ik ben vergeten).

Erg is dat niet, want Annelotte de Graaf zet op dit debuut zo wat al haar landgenoten probleemloos in de schaduw. Vreemd genoeg krijgt ze lovende woorden van de alternatieve pers in het buitenland, en dan vooral Engeland. Ze ging er al live spelen met Nada Surf en Palehound.

Op haar debuut Fading Lines grijpt Annelotte (die voor het UN-tribunaal van oorlogsmisdaden werkt) overduidelijk terug naar het indiegeluid van de jaren 90 zoals Stereolab en 4AD-goden als Belly of Lush, zonder dat de Nederlandse ook maar één seconde als een kopie klinkt.

Het zwaartepunt ligt duidelijk in Annelottes heerlijke stem die zowel sexy, zwoel als naïef klinkt. Een dagdromertje dat niet zo maar uit haar lood kan worden geslagen en zich omringt met verrukkelijke melodietjes. De songs worden overduidelijk gedomineerd door zweverige gitaaren, waardoor een term als ethereal pop bijna onafwendbaar is.

De meeste songs (opgenomen in New York met Ben Greenberg die ook voor Beach Fossils en Destruction Unit werkte) zijn uptempo gitaarsongs met een hoog melancholisch gehalte, en bijna altijd met een knipoog naar de shoegazebands die het genre hebben uitgevonden. Prachtig.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
Blackened Bass Act, LUNA 13 Drops The Provocative LP, Gorgo & New Single, 'Hear My Call'
27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
Crossroads
27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover