tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines

AMBER ARCADES

Fading Lines

MusicCD

Heavenly Recordings
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It’s rather hard to find excellent indie pop from the Netherlands. I can only come up with names like Bettie Serveert, The Nightblooms and with some good will Salad, but there it stops (of course with the necessary apologies to those I forget).

Annelotte de Graaf puts all her compatriots in the shade with this debut. Oddly enough, she gets the praise of the alternative press in foreign countries, especially in England where she went on tour with Nada Surf and Palehound.

On her debut Fading Lines, Annelotte (who works for the UN tribunal for war crimes) gets her inspiration from the indie sound of the 90s, especially bands like Stereolab or 4AD-gods like Belly and Lush, and she never sounds as a copy.

The focus is clearly on Annelotte’s wonderful voice that is both sexy, sultry and naive. A daydreamer who knows what she wants and surrounds herself with delightful melodies. The songs are dominated by soaring guitars, and so a term like ethereal pop is almost inevitable.

Most of the songs (recorded in New York with Ben Greenberg, who also worked for Beach Fossils and Destruction Unit) are uptempo guitar songs with a high content of melancholy, and always with a nod to the shoegaze bands who invented the genre. Beautiful.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Excellente indiepop uit Nederland, het komt net iets te weinig voor. Ik kan alleen maar bands als Bettie Serveert, The Nightblooms en met wat goede wil Salad voor de geest halen, maar daar houdt het op (met uiteraard de nodige verontschuldigingen aan diegenen die ik ben vergeten).

Erg is dat niet, want Annelotte de Graaf zet op dit debuut zo wat al haar landgenoten probleemloos in de schaduw. Vreemd genoeg krijgt ze lovende woorden van de alternatieve pers in het buitenland, en dan vooral Engeland. Ze ging er al live spelen met Nada Surf en Palehound.

Op haar debuut Fading Lines grijpt Annelotte (die voor het UN-tribunaal van oorlogsmisdaden werkt) overduidelijk terug naar het indiegeluid van de jaren 90 zoals Stereolab en 4AD-goden als Belly of Lush, zonder dat de Nederlandse ook maar één seconde als een kopie klinkt.

Het zwaartepunt ligt duidelijk in Annelottes heerlijke stem die zowel sexy, zwoel als naïef klinkt. Een dagdromertje dat niet zo maar uit haar lood kan worden geslagen en zich omringt met verrukkelijke melodietjes. De songs worden overduidelijk gedomineerd door zweverige gitaaren, waardoor een term als ethereal pop bijna onafwendbaar is.

De meeste songs (opgenomen in New York met Ben Greenberg die ook voor Beach Fossils en Destruction Unit werkte) zijn uptempo gitaarsongs met een hoog melancholisch gehalte, en bijna altijd met een knipoog naar de shoegazebands die het genre hebben uitgevonden. Prachtig.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

06
06
I LIKE TRAINS
The Truth
05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE