tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines

AMBER ARCADES

Fading Lines

MusicCD

Heavenly Recordings
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It’s rather hard to find excellent indie pop from the Netherlands. I can only come up with names like Bettie Serveert, The Nightblooms and with some good will Salad, but there it stops (of course with the necessary apologies to those I forget).

Annelotte de Graaf puts all her compatriots in the shade with this debut. Oddly enough, she gets the praise of the alternative press in foreign countries, especially in England where she went on tour with Nada Surf and Palehound.

On her debut Fading Lines, Annelotte (who works for the UN tribunal for war crimes) gets her inspiration from the indie sound of the 90s, especially bands like Stereolab or 4AD-gods like Belly and Lush, and she never sounds as a copy.

The focus is clearly on Annelotte’s wonderful voice that is both sexy, sultry and naive. A daydreamer who knows what she wants and surrounds herself with delightful melodies. The songs are dominated by soaring guitars, and so a term like ethereal pop is almost inevitable.

Most of the songs (recorded in New York with Ben Greenberg, who also worked for Beach Fossils and Destruction Unit) are uptempo guitar songs with a high content of melancholy, and always with a nod to the shoegaze bands who invented the genre. Beautiful.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Excellente indiepop uit Nederland, het komt net iets te weinig voor. Ik kan alleen maar bands als Bettie Serveert, The Nightblooms en met wat goede wil Salad voor de geest halen, maar daar houdt het op (met uiteraard de nodige verontschuldigingen aan diegenen die ik ben vergeten).

Erg is dat niet, want Annelotte de Graaf zet op dit debuut zo wat al haar landgenoten probleemloos in de schaduw. Vreemd genoeg krijgt ze lovende woorden van de alternatieve pers in het buitenland, en dan vooral Engeland. Ze ging er al live spelen met Nada Surf en Palehound.

Op haar debuut Fading Lines grijpt Annelotte (die voor het UN-tribunaal van oorlogsmisdaden werkt) overduidelijk terug naar het indiegeluid van de jaren 90 zoals Stereolab en 4AD-goden als Belly of Lush, zonder dat de Nederlandse ook maar één seconde als een kopie klinkt.

Het zwaartepunt ligt duidelijk in Annelottes heerlijke stem die zowel sexy, zwoel als naïef klinkt. Een dagdromertje dat niet zo maar uit haar lood kan worden geslagen en zich omringt met verrukkelijke melodietjes. De songs worden overduidelijk gedomineerd door zweverige gitaaren, waardoor een term als ethereal pop bijna onafwendbaar is.

De meeste songs (opgenomen in New York met Ben Greenberg die ook voor Beach Fossils en Destruction Unit werkte) zijn uptempo gitaarsongs met een hoog melancholisch gehalte, en bijna altijd met een knipoog naar de shoegazebands die het genre hebben uitgevonden. Prachtig.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem