tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines

AMBER ARCADES

Fading Lines

MusicCD

Heavenly Recordings
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It’s rather hard to find excellent indie pop from the Netherlands. I can only come up with names like Bettie Serveert, The Nightblooms and with some good will Salad, but there it stops (of course with the necessary apologies to those I forget).

Annelotte de Graaf puts all her compatriots in the shade with this debut. Oddly enough, she gets the praise of the alternative press in foreign countries, especially in England where she went on tour with Nada Surf and Palehound.

On her debut Fading Lines, Annelotte (who works for the UN tribunal for war crimes) gets her inspiration from the indie sound of the 90s, especially bands like Stereolab or 4AD-gods like Belly and Lush, and she never sounds as a copy.

The focus is clearly on Annelotte’s wonderful voice that is both sexy, sultry and naive. A daydreamer who knows what she wants and surrounds herself with delightful melodies. The songs are dominated by soaring guitars, and so a term like ethereal pop is almost inevitable.

Most of the songs (recorded in New York with Ben Greenberg, who also worked for Beach Fossils and Destruction Unit) are uptempo guitar songs with a high content of melancholy, and always with a nod to the shoegaze bands who invented the genre. Beautiful.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Excellente indiepop uit Nederland, het komt net iets te weinig voor. Ik kan alleen maar bands als Bettie Serveert, The Nightblooms en met wat goede wil Salad voor de geest halen, maar daar houdt het op (met uiteraard de nodige verontschuldigingen aan diegenen die ik ben vergeten).

Erg is dat niet, want Annelotte de Graaf zet op dit debuut zo wat al haar landgenoten probleemloos in de schaduw. Vreemd genoeg krijgt ze lovende woorden van de alternatieve pers in het buitenland, en dan vooral Engeland. Ze ging er al live spelen met Nada Surf en Palehound.

Op haar debuut Fading Lines grijpt Annelotte (die voor het UN-tribunaal van oorlogsmisdaden werkt) overduidelijk terug naar het indiegeluid van de jaren 90 zoals Stereolab en 4AD-goden als Belly of Lush, zonder dat de Nederlandse ook maar één seconde als een kopie klinkt.

Het zwaartepunt ligt duidelijk in Annelottes heerlijke stem die zowel sexy, zwoel als naïef klinkt. Een dagdromertje dat niet zo maar uit haar lood kan worden geslagen en zich omringt met verrukkelijke melodietjes. De songs worden overduidelijk gedomineerd door zweverige gitaaren, waardoor een term als ethereal pop bijna onafwendbaar is.

De meeste songs (opgenomen in New York met Ben Greenberg die ook voor Beach Fossils en Destruction Unit werkte) zijn uptempo gitaarsongs met een hoog melancholisch gehalte, en bijna altijd met een knipoog naar de shoegazebands die het genre hebben uitgevonden. Prachtig.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked