tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : AMBER ARCADES - Fading Lines

AMBER ARCADES

Fading Lines

MusicCD

Heavenly Recordings
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It’s rather hard to find excellent indie pop from the Netherlands. I can only come up with names like Bettie Serveert, The Nightblooms and with some good will Salad, but there it stops (of course with the necessary apologies to those I forget).

Annelotte de Graaf puts all her compatriots in the shade with this debut. Oddly enough, she gets the praise of the alternative press in foreign countries, especially in England where she went on tour with Nada Surf and Palehound.

On her debut Fading Lines, Annelotte (who works for the UN tribunal for war crimes) gets her inspiration from the indie sound of the 90s, especially bands like Stereolab or 4AD-gods like Belly and Lush, and she never sounds as a copy.

The focus is clearly on Annelotte’s wonderful voice that is both sexy, sultry and naive. A daydreamer who knows what she wants and surrounds herself with delightful melodies. The songs are dominated by soaring guitars, and so a term like ethereal pop is almost inevitable.

Most of the songs (recorded in New York with Ben Greenberg, who also worked for Beach Fossils and Destruction Unit) are uptempo guitar songs with a high content of melancholy, and always with a nod to the shoegaze bands who invented the genre. Beautiful.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Excellente indiepop uit Nederland, het komt net iets te weinig voor. Ik kan alleen maar bands als Bettie Serveert, The Nightblooms en met wat goede wil Salad voor de geest halen, maar daar houdt het op (met uiteraard de nodige verontschuldigingen aan diegenen die ik ben vergeten).

Erg is dat niet, want Annelotte de Graaf zet op dit debuut zo wat al haar landgenoten probleemloos in de schaduw. Vreemd genoeg krijgt ze lovende woorden van de alternatieve pers in het buitenland, en dan vooral Engeland. Ze ging er al live spelen met Nada Surf en Palehound.

Op haar debuut Fading Lines grijpt Annelotte (die voor het UN-tribunaal van oorlogsmisdaden werkt) overduidelijk terug naar het indiegeluid van de jaren 90 zoals Stereolab en 4AD-goden als Belly of Lush, zonder dat de Nederlandse ook maar één seconde als een kopie klinkt.

Het zwaartepunt ligt duidelijk in Annelottes heerlijke stem die zowel sexy, zwoel als naïef klinkt. Een dagdromertje dat niet zo maar uit haar lood kan worden geslagen en zich omringt met verrukkelijke melodietjes. De songs worden overduidelijk gedomineerd door zweverige gitaaren, waardoor een term als ethereal pop bijna onafwendbaar is.

De meeste songs (opgenomen in New York met Ben Greenberg die ook voor Beach Fossils en Destruction Unit werkte) zijn uptempo gitaarsongs met een hoog melancholisch gehalte, en bijna altijd met een knipoog naar de shoegazebands die het genre hebben uitgevonden. Prachtig.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed