tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan

AMI CANAAN MANN

Jackie & Ryan

Movie
Drama
Dutch FilmWorks
05/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps the name Ami Canaan Mann means nothing to you (and no, without some research work, he would also be an unknown to us). This American directed Texas Killing Fields with Chloë Grace Moretz when she still was the child star of Kick-Ass. This time Mann tried making a music film with Katherine Heigl in the lead. Indeed, the blonde can barely act, so we were anxiously awaiting what her singing would be like. That's not so bad, at least if you're fond of ordinary singer songwriter music. Unfortunately, Heigl still can’t act, and she is the reason why Jackie & Ryan was so boring.

In better times Jackie Laurel (Katherine Heigl) was a talented musician of whom producers thought that she’ll make it, but in the meantime she has become a housewife who is embroiled in a divorce, with her child being the victim of it. When Jackie gets hit by a car, Ryan (Ben Barnes) helps her. Ryan is a tramp who illegally travels with a freight train from one city to another to perform his songs. Ryan loves his freedom, but also music. It is especially the latter that Jackie rediscovers.

Those who are born with rock 'n roll in their blood will undoubtedly be upset when they see how Heigl plays the guitar. Maybe it has something to do with her previous moronic roles, but Mann never succeeds (even though it's not his fault) to convince the viewer that this woman has pledged her heart to music. Her opponent Ben Barnes is just as bad. The guy has a vagabond existence, but he looks more like a mannequin.

In short, Jackie & Ryan is just another Hollywood movie that wants to tell something about music, but fails completely, we’re not even mentioning the horrible soundtrack! If you want to see a movie about people who think they’re the new Bob Dylan, we advise you to watch Begin Again (with Keira Knightley) or Inside Llewyn Davis.

Didier BECU
05/09/2015


NL

Wellicht zegt de naam Ami Canaan Mann je niets (en neen, zonder het nodige opzoekingswerk zou hij ook voor ons een onbekende zijn). Deze Amerikaan maakte Texas Killing Fields met Chloë Grace Moretz toen ze nog het kindsterretje van Kick-Ass was. Deze keer probeert Mann het met een muziekfilm met Katherine Heigl in de hoofdrol. Inderdaad, de blondine kan amper acteren, dus werd het bang afwachten wat het resultaat van haar zangstem zou worden. Dat valt best mee, ten minste als je gek bent op platte singer songwritermuziek. Helaas kan Heigl wel nog geen greintje acteren, en zij is dan ook de reden waarom Jackie & Ryan een zeer saaie filmtrip werd.

In betere tijden was Jackie Laurel (Katherine Heigl) nog een veelbelovende zangeres waarvan de producers dachten dat ze het ooit ging maken, maar nu is ze een huissloofje geworden die bovendien nog eens in een echtscheiding is verwikkeld waarvan haar kind de dupe is. Wanneer Jackie pardoes omver wordt gereden, snelt Ryan (Ben Barnes) haar te hulp. Ryan is een zwerver die illegaal met een goederentrein van de ene stad naar de andere trekt om daar zijn liedjes te kunnen spelen. Ryan houdt van zijn vrijheid, maar ook van muziek. Het is vooral dat laatste wat Jackie herontdekt.

Mensen die met een flinke portie rock ’n roll in het bloed zijn geboren zullen zich ongetwijfeld ergeren als ze Heigl een gitaar zien vastpakken. Het heeft misschien iets te maken met haar vorige debiele rollen, maar nooit slaagt Mann (ook al is het niet zijn schuld) erin om de kijker te overtuigen dat deze vrouw haar hart aan muziek heeft verpand. Met haar tegenspeler Ben Barnes is het al even erg gesteld. De kerel heeft wel een zwerversbestaan, maar ziet er eerder als een mannequin uit.

Kortom, Jackie & Ryan is wederom zo’n Hollywoodfilm die iets wil vertellen over muziek maar daar geen seconde iets van bakt, over de afgrijselijke soundtrack zwijgen we zelfs! Indien je toch absoluut een film wil zien met mensen die zich de nieuwe Bob Dylan wanen, raden we je beter Begin Again (met jawel, Keira Knightley) of Inside Llewyn Davis aan.

Didier BECU
05/09/2015


05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer