tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan

AMI CANAAN MANN

Jackie & Ryan

Movie
Drama
Dutch FilmWorks
05/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps the name Ami Canaan Mann means nothing to you (and no, without some research work, he would also be an unknown to us). This American directed Texas Killing Fields with Chloë Grace Moretz when she still was the child star of Kick-Ass. This time Mann tried making a music film with Katherine Heigl in the lead. Indeed, the blonde can barely act, so we were anxiously awaiting what her singing would be like. That's not so bad, at least if you're fond of ordinary singer songwriter music. Unfortunately, Heigl still can’t act, and she is the reason why Jackie & Ryan was so boring.

In better times Jackie Laurel (Katherine Heigl) was a talented musician of whom producers thought that she’ll make it, but in the meantime she has become a housewife who is embroiled in a divorce, with her child being the victim of it. When Jackie gets hit by a car, Ryan (Ben Barnes) helps her. Ryan is a tramp who illegally travels with a freight train from one city to another to perform his songs. Ryan loves his freedom, but also music. It is especially the latter that Jackie rediscovers.

Those who are born with rock 'n roll in their blood will undoubtedly be upset when they see how Heigl plays the guitar. Maybe it has something to do with her previous moronic roles, but Mann never succeeds (even though it's not his fault) to convince the viewer that this woman has pledged her heart to music. Her opponent Ben Barnes is just as bad. The guy has a vagabond existence, but he looks more like a mannequin.

In short, Jackie & Ryan is just another Hollywood movie that wants to tell something about music, but fails completely, we’re not even mentioning the horrible soundtrack! If you want to see a movie about people who think they’re the new Bob Dylan, we advise you to watch Begin Again (with Keira Knightley) or Inside Llewyn Davis.

Didier BECU
05/09/2015


NL

Wellicht zegt de naam Ami Canaan Mann je niets (en neen, zonder het nodige opzoekingswerk zou hij ook voor ons een onbekende zijn). Deze Amerikaan maakte Texas Killing Fields met Chloë Grace Moretz toen ze nog het kindsterretje van Kick-Ass was. Deze keer probeert Mann het met een muziekfilm met Katherine Heigl in de hoofdrol. Inderdaad, de blondine kan amper acteren, dus werd het bang afwachten wat het resultaat van haar zangstem zou worden. Dat valt best mee, ten minste als je gek bent op platte singer songwritermuziek. Helaas kan Heigl wel nog geen greintje acteren, en zij is dan ook de reden waarom Jackie & Ryan een zeer saaie filmtrip werd.

In betere tijden was Jackie Laurel (Katherine Heigl) nog een veelbelovende zangeres waarvan de producers dachten dat ze het ooit ging maken, maar nu is ze een huissloofje geworden die bovendien nog eens in een echtscheiding is verwikkeld waarvan haar kind de dupe is. Wanneer Jackie pardoes omver wordt gereden, snelt Ryan (Ben Barnes) haar te hulp. Ryan is een zwerver die illegaal met een goederentrein van de ene stad naar de andere trekt om daar zijn liedjes te kunnen spelen. Ryan houdt van zijn vrijheid, maar ook van muziek. Het is vooral dat laatste wat Jackie herontdekt.

Mensen die met een flinke portie rock ’n roll in het bloed zijn geboren zullen zich ongetwijfeld ergeren als ze Heigl een gitaar zien vastpakken. Het heeft misschien iets te maken met haar vorige debiele rollen, maar nooit slaagt Mann (ook al is het niet zijn schuld) erin om de kijker te overtuigen dat deze vrouw haar hart aan muziek heeft verpand. Met haar tegenspeler Ben Barnes is het al even erg gesteld. De kerel heeft wel een zwerversbestaan, maar ziet er eerder als een mannequin uit.

Kortom, Jackie & Ryan is wederom zo’n Hollywoodfilm die iets wil vertellen over muziek maar daar geen seconde iets van bakt, over de afgrijselijke soundtrack zwijgen we zelfs! Indien je toch absoluut een film wil zien met mensen die zich de nieuwe Bob Dylan wanen, raden we je beter Begin Again (met jawel, Keira Knightley) of Inside Llewyn Davis aan.

Didier BECU
05/09/2015


05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)