tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan

AMI CANAAN MANN

Jackie & Ryan

Movie
Drama
Dutch FilmWorks
05/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps the name Ami Canaan Mann means nothing to you (and no, without some research work, he would also be an unknown to us). This American directed Texas Killing Fields with Chloë Grace Moretz when she still was the child star of Kick-Ass. This time Mann tried making a music film with Katherine Heigl in the lead. Indeed, the blonde can barely act, so we were anxiously awaiting what her singing would be like. That's not so bad, at least if you're fond of ordinary singer songwriter music. Unfortunately, Heigl still can’t act, and she is the reason why Jackie & Ryan was so boring.

In better times Jackie Laurel (Katherine Heigl) was a talented musician of whom producers thought that she’ll make it, but in the meantime she has become a housewife who is embroiled in a divorce, with her child being the victim of it. When Jackie gets hit by a car, Ryan (Ben Barnes) helps her. Ryan is a tramp who illegally travels with a freight train from one city to another to perform his songs. Ryan loves his freedom, but also music. It is especially the latter that Jackie rediscovers.

Those who are born with rock 'n roll in their blood will undoubtedly be upset when they see how Heigl plays the guitar. Maybe it has something to do with her previous moronic roles, but Mann never succeeds (even though it's not his fault) to convince the viewer that this woman has pledged her heart to music. Her opponent Ben Barnes is just as bad. The guy has a vagabond existence, but he looks more like a mannequin.

In short, Jackie & Ryan is just another Hollywood movie that wants to tell something about music, but fails completely, we’re not even mentioning the horrible soundtrack! If you want to see a movie about people who think they’re the new Bob Dylan, we advise you to watch Begin Again (with Keira Knightley) or Inside Llewyn Davis.

Didier BECU
05/09/2015


NL

Wellicht zegt de naam Ami Canaan Mann je niets (en neen, zonder het nodige opzoekingswerk zou hij ook voor ons een onbekende zijn). Deze Amerikaan maakte Texas Killing Fields met Chloë Grace Moretz toen ze nog het kindsterretje van Kick-Ass was. Deze keer probeert Mann het met een muziekfilm met Katherine Heigl in de hoofdrol. Inderdaad, de blondine kan amper acteren, dus werd het bang afwachten wat het resultaat van haar zangstem zou worden. Dat valt best mee, ten minste als je gek bent op platte singer songwritermuziek. Helaas kan Heigl wel nog geen greintje acteren, en zij is dan ook de reden waarom Jackie & Ryan een zeer saaie filmtrip werd.

In betere tijden was Jackie Laurel (Katherine Heigl) nog een veelbelovende zangeres waarvan de producers dachten dat ze het ooit ging maken, maar nu is ze een huissloofje geworden die bovendien nog eens in een echtscheiding is verwikkeld waarvan haar kind de dupe is. Wanneer Jackie pardoes omver wordt gereden, snelt Ryan (Ben Barnes) haar te hulp. Ryan is een zwerver die illegaal met een goederentrein van de ene stad naar de andere trekt om daar zijn liedjes te kunnen spelen. Ryan houdt van zijn vrijheid, maar ook van muziek. Het is vooral dat laatste wat Jackie herontdekt.

Mensen die met een flinke portie rock ’n roll in het bloed zijn geboren zullen zich ongetwijfeld ergeren als ze Heigl een gitaar zien vastpakken. Het heeft misschien iets te maken met haar vorige debiele rollen, maar nooit slaagt Mann (ook al is het niet zijn schuld) erin om de kijker te overtuigen dat deze vrouw haar hart aan muziek heeft verpand. Met haar tegenspeler Ben Barnes is het al even erg gesteld. De kerel heeft wel een zwerversbestaan, maar ziet er eerder als een mannequin uit.

Kortom, Jackie & Ryan is wederom zo’n Hollywoodfilm die iets wil vertellen over muziek maar daar geen seconde iets van bakt, over de afgrijselijke soundtrack zwijgen we zelfs! Indien je toch absoluut een film wil zien met mensen die zich de nieuwe Bob Dylan wanen, raden we je beter Begin Again (met jawel, Keira Knightley) of Inside Llewyn Davis aan.

Didier BECU
05/09/2015


05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan 05/09/2015 : AMI CANAAN MANN - Jackie & Ryan

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis