tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/11/2013 : ANABELLE'S GARDEN - Time's no measure 1987-1993

ANABELLE'S GARDEN

Time's no measure 1987-1993

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDark WaveNeofolkNew wave

[84/100]   

Dais Records
26/11/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Often compared to contemporaries like Death in June, Sol Invictus, or Current 93 (they toured extensively with Sixth Comm), they managed to create music that existed both in that realm and beyond, labeled as psychedelic, punk, new wave, and goth. You can clearly hear respect given to This Mortal Coil, The Cure or The Wake – making them as easily filed among classic World Serpent releases, or they could also fit among 4AD or Factory.

'Vorwarts' is for example a song I would use as a nice example of a fan of the Sol Invictus sound, love it! 'In ein Morgen' has a more Cure minded sound, whilst the vocals remind me more of Goethes Erben. 'My unknown child' sounds a lot like Sol Invictus, with a bit more electronica. It's a nice and very melancholic song! 'Thoughts on Departure' sounds a bit like an early Clan of Xymox song. Love the lamenting guitar & the nice vocals. Somehow it's a very catchy song & it forces me to knot my head on the rhythm.
'The other front' sounds a bit like In Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio. Love the mantra, as if Indians are singing in the back. It's a very magical song. The guitars are very The Cure-minded. 'Winter Moon Descends' is a nice & soft musical interlude of '6:42'. It reminds me a bit of Dead Can Dance and their most Arabic period and I ladore it!
'A Path Towards Nothing' sounds musically speaking like The Cure during 'Disintegration'. The vocals are a bit special. It's all in all a nice song which reminds me sometimes of Silke Bisschoff (and I'm a big fan, but here raises the question: who was here first?).
'The Final Deed' almost sounds like a typical Neo Folk Marching song, including the drums! 'If' is a nice protest song, a great neofolk sound with a little bit of an 80's Goth influence, it's one of my favorite songs! 'Mit Blummen auf den Lippen' is a soft neo-Folk song, nothing more to add.
'Spring Day' sounds nice, as a typical spring day. The voice could have been a bit better tuned. I love the piano parts in it. 'Will you wait' sounds like a medieval love song, for sure in the beginning and then changes into a more neofolk sound. I love the lamenting voice! 'The Tears you Cried' might have been a Silke Bishoff song. Love the sound and the whispering voice, just as the roaring guitars.
'Meranda' starts softly with a gently weeping flute and a nice acoustic guitar. Slowly more instruments jump in. The sound gets more and more worked out. After a while a lamenting voice pops up, sometimes changes into a slightly raging one. This song has his ups & downs. 'Wa-Ba' is a very strange title, very mystic. After a while it starts to flourish and get a richer sound. 'If' comes back as Flo's remix. It's a bit weird to hear a remix at the end, but still it's a nice remix that changes the song into a more club minded song.

It was fun listening to songs from the 80's and the early 90's, however I have never heard of this band before. So now I'm glad I got into touch with this one...

Filip VAN MUYLEM
26/11/2013


 

Next reviews
FADERHEAD • FH4
TOBIAS LINDHOLM • Kapringen
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Hera, Protector Of Teddybears Since 2012
STEVEN KNIGHT • Hummingbird
GOUDI • Bissextile
HERRSCHAFT • Les 12 Vertiges
SCOTT STEWART • Dark Skies
ULRICH SEIDL • Paradies Trilogie
THE YOUNG GODS • Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013)
ZEROMANCER • Something For The Pain (best of)

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
SIEGFRIED • K
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me