tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/11/2013 : ANABELLE'S GARDEN - Time's no measure 1987-1993

ANABELLE'S GARDEN

Time's no measure 1987-1993

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDark WaveNeofolkNew wave

[84/100]   

Dais Records
26/11/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Often compared to contemporaries like Death in June, Sol Invictus, or Current 93 (they toured extensively with Sixth Comm), they managed to create music that existed both in that realm and beyond, labeled as psychedelic, punk, new wave, and goth. You can clearly hear respect given to This Mortal Coil, The Cure or The Wake – making them as easily filed among classic World Serpent releases, or they could also fit among 4AD or Factory.

'Vorwarts' is for example a song I would use as a nice example of a fan of the Sol Invictus sound, love it! 'In ein Morgen' has a more Cure minded sound, whilst the vocals remind me more of Goethes Erben. 'My unknown child' sounds a lot like Sol Invictus, with a bit more electronica. It's a nice and very melancholic song! 'Thoughts on Departure' sounds a bit like an early Clan of Xymox song. Love the lamenting guitar & the nice vocals. Somehow it's a very catchy song & it forces me to knot my head on the rhythm.
'The other front' sounds a bit like In Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio. Love the mantra, as if Indians are singing in the back. It's a very magical song. The guitars are very The Cure-minded. 'Winter Moon Descends' is a nice & soft musical interlude of '6:42'. It reminds me a bit of Dead Can Dance and their most Arabic period and I ladore it!
'A Path Towards Nothing' sounds musically speaking like The Cure during 'Disintegration'. The vocals are a bit special. It's all in all a nice song which reminds me sometimes of Silke Bisschoff (and I'm a big fan, but here raises the question: who was here first?).
'The Final Deed' almost sounds like a typical Neo Folk Marching song, including the drums! 'If' is a nice protest song, a great neofolk sound with a little bit of an 80's Goth influence, it's one of my favorite songs! 'Mit Blummen auf den Lippen' is a soft neo-Folk song, nothing more to add.
'Spring Day' sounds nice, as a typical spring day. The voice could have been a bit better tuned. I love the piano parts in it. 'Will you wait' sounds like a medieval love song, for sure in the beginning and then changes into a more neofolk sound. I love the lamenting voice! 'The Tears you Cried' might have been a Silke Bishoff song. Love the sound and the whispering voice, just as the roaring guitars.
'Meranda' starts softly with a gently weeping flute and a nice acoustic guitar. Slowly more instruments jump in. The sound gets more and more worked out. After a while a lamenting voice pops up, sometimes changes into a slightly raging one. This song has his ups & downs. 'Wa-Ba' is a very strange title, very mystic. After a while it starts to flourish and get a richer sound. 'If' comes back as Flo's remix. It's a bit weird to hear a remix at the end, but still it's a nice remix that changes the song into a more club minded song.

It was fun listening to songs from the 80's and the early 90's, however I have never heard of this band before. So now I'm glad I got into touch with this one...

Filip VAN MUYLEM
26/11/2013


 

Next reviews
FADERHEAD • FH4
TOBIAS LINDHOLM • Kapringen
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Hera, Protector Of Teddybears Since 2012
STEVEN KNIGHT • Hummingbird
GOUDI • Bissextile
HERRSCHAFT • Les 12 Vertiges
SCOTT STEWART • Dark Skies
ULRICH SEIDL • Paradies Trilogie
THE YOUNG GODS • Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013)
ZEROMANCER • Something For The Pain (best of)

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
SIEGFRIED • K
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl