tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/11/2013 : ANABELLE'S GARDEN - Time's no measure 1987-1993

ANABELLE'S GARDEN

Time's no measure 1987-1993

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDark WaveNeofolkNew wave

[84/100]   

Dais Records
26/11/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Often compared to contemporaries like Death in June, Sol Invictus, or Current 93 (they toured extensively with Sixth Comm), they managed to create music that existed both in that realm and beyond, labeled as psychedelic, punk, new wave, and goth. You can clearly hear respect given to This Mortal Coil, The Cure or The Wake – making them as easily filed among classic World Serpent releases, or they could also fit among 4AD or Factory.

'Vorwarts' is for example a song I would use as a nice example of a fan of the Sol Invictus sound, love it! 'In ein Morgen' has a more Cure minded sound, whilst the vocals remind me more of Goethes Erben. 'My unknown child' sounds a lot like Sol Invictus, with a bit more electronica. It's a nice and very melancholic song! 'Thoughts on Departure' sounds a bit like an early Clan of Xymox song. Love the lamenting guitar & the nice vocals. Somehow it's a very catchy song & it forces me to knot my head on the rhythm.
'The other front' sounds a bit like In Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio. Love the mantra, as if Indians are singing in the back. It's a very magical song. The guitars are very The Cure-minded. 'Winter Moon Descends' is a nice & soft musical interlude of '6:42'. It reminds me a bit of Dead Can Dance and their most Arabic period and I ladore it!
'A Path Towards Nothing' sounds musically speaking like The Cure during 'Disintegration'. The vocals are a bit special. It's all in all a nice song which reminds me sometimes of Silke Bisschoff (and I'm a big fan, but here raises the question: who was here first?).
'The Final Deed' almost sounds like a typical Neo Folk Marching song, including the drums! 'If' is a nice protest song, a great neofolk sound with a little bit of an 80's Goth influence, it's one of my favorite songs! 'Mit Blummen auf den Lippen' is a soft neo-Folk song, nothing more to add.
'Spring Day' sounds nice, as a typical spring day. The voice could have been a bit better tuned. I love the piano parts in it. 'Will you wait' sounds like a medieval love song, for sure in the beginning and then changes into a more neofolk sound. I love the lamenting voice! 'The Tears you Cried' might have been a Silke Bishoff song. Love the sound and the whispering voice, just as the roaring guitars.
'Meranda' starts softly with a gently weeping flute and a nice acoustic guitar. Slowly more instruments jump in. The sound gets more and more worked out. After a while a lamenting voice pops up, sometimes changes into a slightly raging one. This song has his ups & downs. 'Wa-Ba' is a very strange title, very mystic. After a while it starts to flourish and get a richer sound. 'If' comes back as Flo's remix. It's a bit weird to hear a remix at the end, but still it's a nice remix that changes the song into a more club minded song.

It was fun listening to songs from the 80's and the early 90's, however I have never heard of this band before. So now I'm glad I got into touch with this one...

Filip VAN MUYLEM
26/11/2013


 

Next reviews
FADERHEAD • FH4
TOBIAS LINDHOLM • Kapringen
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Hera, Protector Of Teddybears Since 2012
STEVEN KNIGHT • Hummingbird
GOUDI • Bissextile
HERRSCHAFT • Les 12 Vertiges
SCOTT STEWART • Dark Skies
ULRICH SEIDL • Paradies Trilogie
THE YOUNG GODS • Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013)
ZEROMANCER • Something For The Pain (best of)

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night

Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr